DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically claim 1 initially introduces “a subsequent printing job” in line 8. The claim then again introduces “a subsequent printing job” in line 10. Then, the claim references “the obtained subsequent printing job” in lines 11 and 12-13. It is unclear which “subsequent printing job” that “the obtained subsequent printing job” refers to- or if the two instances of “a subsequent printing job” are, in fact, the same subsequent printing job. Consequently, the metes and bounds of claim 1 are unclear and claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention. Claims 2-5 are rejected as dependent upon claim 1 and therefore containing the same defect. Claims 6, 7, and 24 are drawn to similar subject matter, additionally recite the same defect, and are therefore also similarly rejected. Claims 3-5 contain further references to “the subsequent printing job”, further creating confusion as to which subsequent print job is being referenced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanabe (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2017/0344862).
Regarding claim 1, Tanabe (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2017/0344862) discloses:
An information processing apparatus that can communicate with an image forming apparatus (see, for example, Figure 3, paragraphs [0012], [0041]), comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function as:
a reception unit configured to receive printing setting information used for printing processing of a current printing job that is currently running in the image forming apparatus (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0084], a first job is currently being processed);
an obtainment unit configured to obtain a subsequent printing job registered on a printing queue (Figure 4, paragraphs [0078]-[0081], the second job print settings are acquired); and
a control unit configured to transmit a subsequent printing job, without a printing processing start command and printing setting information, corresponding to the obtained subsequent printing job, to the image forming apparatus, in a case where it is possible to perform continuous printing processing in the image forming apparatus based on printing setting information on the received current printing job and printing setting information on the obtained subsequent printing job (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item)
Regarding claim 2, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the printing setting information includes a type of sheet and a sheet size (paragraph [0051], the sheet size and type are included in the setting information)
Regarding claim 3, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the continuous printing processing is to feed a medium of the subsequent printing job while the image forming apparatus is printing a last page of the printing processing of the current printing job (paragraphs [0007], [0075], claim 1, sheet feeding for a second job occurs before completion of the first job)
Regarding claim 4, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein, in a case where the reception unit receives information of setting to allow execution of the continuous printing processing from the image forming apparatus and also it is possible to perform the continuous printing processing in the image forming apparatus, the control unit transmits the subsequent printing job without the printing processing start command and the printing setting information to the image forming apparatus (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item)
Regarding claim 5, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein, in a case where the reception unit receives information of setting to not allow execution of the continuous printing processing from the image forming apparatus, the control unit does not transmit the subsequent printing job without the printing processing start command and the printing setting information to the image forming apparatus (paragraph [0096]-[0098], the user can transmit only the print data for the jobs that is continuously executable)
Regarding claim 6, the structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 6. Thus, claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. The computer readable medium is explicitly taught as evidenced by paragraph [0115] of Tanabe.
Regarding claim 8, Tanabe discloses:
An image forming apparatus that can communicate with an information processing apparatus, comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function as:
a reception unit configured to receive a printing job from the information processing apparatus (Figure 4, paragraphs [0078]-[0081], the second job print settings are acquired); and
a printing control unit configured to perform continuous printing processing on the received printing job in a case where the reception unit receives a printing job without a printing processing start command and printing setting information (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item)
Regarding claim 9, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the continuous printing processing is to feed a medium of a next printing job while printing a last page of printing processing of a current printing job (paragraphs [0007], [0075], claim 1, sheet feeding for a second job occurs before completion of the first job)
Regarding claim 10, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor and/or the at least one circuit further function as:
a setting unit that sets whether to allow or to not allow execution of the continuous printing processing (Figure 4, elements S404, S405, paragraphs [0081]-[0091], YES vs. NO at S404 and S405)
Regarding claim 11, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein, in a case where the setting unit performs setting to allow execution of the continuous printing processing, and also the reception unit receives a printing job without a printing processing start command and printing setting information, the printing control unit performs the continuous printing processing (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item)
Regarding claim 12, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein, in a case where the setting unit performs setting to not allow execution of the continuous printing processing, the printing control unit does not perform the continuous printing processing (Figure 4, elements S404, S405, paragraphs [0081]-[0091], if NO at S404 or S405, continuous printing is not performed)
Regarding claim 13, the structural elements of apparatus claim 8 perform all of the steps of method claim 13. Thus, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 8 are applicable. The computer readable medium is explicitly taught as evidenced by paragraph [0115] of Tanabe.
Regarding claim 15, Tanabe discloses:
An image forming apparatus that can communicate with an information processing apparatus, comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function as:
a reception unit configured to receive a printing job from the information processing apparatus (Figure 4, paragraphs [0078]-[0081], the second job print settings are acquired); and
a printing control unit configured to perform continuous printing processing on the received printing job in a case where it is possible to perform the continuous printing processing based on printing setting information on a current printing job and printing setting information on the received printing job (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item)
Regarding claim 16, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the printing setting information includes a type of sheet and a sheet size (paragraph [0051], the sheet size and type are included in the setting information)
Regarding claim 17, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the continuous printing processing is to feed a medium of a next printing job while printing a last page of printing processing of the current printing job (paragraphs [0007], [0075], claim 1, sheet feeding for a second job occurs before completion of the first job)
Regarding claim 18, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the continuous printing processing is to not execute processing of a printing processing end command of the current printing job (paragraphs [0007], [0075], claim 1, sheet feeding for a second job occurs before completion of the first job such that second job printing occurs immediately following the first job without any stoppage (“end”))
Regarding claim 19, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor and/or the at least one circuit further function as:
a setting unit that sets whether to allow or to not allow execution of the continuous printing processing (Figure 4, elements S404, S405, paragraphs [0081]-[0091], YES vs. NO at S404 and S405)
Regarding claim 20, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein ,in a case where the setting unit performs setting to allow execution of the continuous printing processing, and also the reception unit receives a printing job without a printing processing start command and printing setting information, the printing control unit performs the continuous printing processing (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item)
Regarding claim 21, Tanabe additionally discloses:
wherein, in a case where the setting unit performs setting to not allow execution of the continuous printing processing, the printing control unit does not perform the continuous printing processing (Figure 4, elements S404, S405, paragraphs [0081]-[0091], if NO at S404 or S405, continuous printing is not performed)
Regarding claim 22, the structural elements of apparatus claim 8 perform all of the steps of method claim 15. Thus, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, arguments analogous to claim 15 are applicable. The computer readable medium is explicitly taught as evidenced by paragraph [0115] of Tanabe.
Regarding claim 24, Tanabe discloses:
An image forming system, comprising:
an information processing apparatus (see for example paragraph [0031], external apparatus); and
an image forming apparatus that can communicate with the information processing apparatus (see, for example, Figure 3, paragraphs [0012], [0041]), wherein the information processing apparatus comprises:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function as:
a reception unit configured to receive printing setting information used for printing processing of a current printing job that is currently running in the image forming apparatus from the image forming apparatus (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0084], a first job is currently being processed);
an obtainment unit configured to obtain a subsequent printing job registered on a printing queue (Figure 4, paragraphs [0078]-[0081], the second job print settings are acquired); and
a control unit configured to transmit a subsequent printing job, without a printing processing start command and printing setting information, corresponding to the obtained subsequent printing job, to the image forming apparatus in a case where it is possible to perform continuous printing processing in the image forming apparatus based on printing setting information on the received current printing job and printing setting information on the obtained subsequent printing job (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item), and
the image forming apparatus comprises:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function as:
a reception unit configured to receive a printing job from the information processing apparatus (Figure 4, paragraphs [0078]-[0081], the second job print settings are acquired); and
a printing control unit configured to perform the continuous printing processing on the received printing job in a case where the reception unit receives the printing job without the printing processing start command and the printing setting information (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item).
Regarding claim 25, Tanabe discloses:
An image forming system, comprising:
an information processing apparatus (see for example paragraph [0031], external apparatus); and
an image forming apparatus that can communicate with the information processing apparatus (see, for example, Figure 3, paragraphs [0012], [0041]), wherein
the information processing apparatus comprises:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function as:
a transmission unit configured to transmit a printing job to the image forming apparatus (paragraphs [0078]-[0094], for example, first and second print jobs), and the image forming apparatus comprises:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function as:
a reception unit configured to receive a printing job from the information processing apparatus (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0084], a first job is currently being processed);; and
a printing control unit configured to perform continuous printing processing on the received printing job in a case where it is possible to perform the continuous printing processing based on printing setting information a current printing job and printing setting information on the received printing job (Figure 4, paragraph [0078]-[0081], it is evaluated whether or not the second job can be continuously printed (i.e., without a separate start command after the first print job start and without stopping in-between the first job and the second job) – the settings for the second job are additionally obtained – the continuous printing is executable when the current received print setting for the first job and the second print setting for the second job share a specific print item)
Conclusion
/JOHN R WALLACE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682