Election/Restrictions
Applicant's reply to the Restriction Requirement, dated February 21, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has elected, without traverse, Invention I: claims 33-41 and 47, and a peptide comprising SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2.
Claims 33-47 are pending in the application. Claims 35-36 and 42-47 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (42-46) or species (35-36 and 47), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 21, 2026.
Claims 33-34 and 38-41 are therefore under examination before the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bandman (US20040249127A1).
Bandman teaches a peptide of SEQ ID NO: 13, which comprises both ERFNSITSAYYR (Applicant's SEQ ID NO: 1) and CKSTVGVDFKI (Applicant's SEQ ID NO: 2), as evidenced below:
Bandman also teaches that said peptide may be chimeric (para. 0240).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-34 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandman (US20040249127A1) in view of Porgador (WO2018109771A1).
The teachings of Bandman have been described supra. However, Bandman does not teach a linker or encapsulation.
Porgador teaches a linker that connects the first and second moieties of a chimeric peptide (para. 006 and 016).
Porgador further teaches that the linker may be a chemical moiety or a polypeptide chain of fifteen amino acids or less (para. 084), which is pertinent to claims 39-40.
Porgador further teaches that the above chimeric peptide may be encapsulated in a liposome (para. 0134), which is pertinent to claim 41.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bandman and Porgador to arrive at the claimed invention. Chimeric peptides comprising Applicant's SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 were known in the art, according to the teachings of Bandman. The use of linkers to join moieties of a chimeric peptide, as well as encapsulation in liposomes, are taught by Porgador. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply the improvements to chimeric peptides taught by Porgador to the chimeric peptide of Bandman by known methods, with each performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644