DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/3/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimoto CN 213253359 in view of Jun Yoshino et al. US 2014/0001113.
Claim 1, Kamimoto teaches a filter cartridge (300) comprising: a filter body (314) having a first and second end and an inner peripheral surface, an end plug (310) disposed in the first end of the filter body, the end plug having an inner end extending into the filter body, an outer end and an outer peripheral surface wherein the end plug is configured to move axially away from the filter body in response to fluid pressure within the filter body (fig. 3, pg. 2, par 4 and 8, pg. 3, par 1, pg. 5, par 6). Kamimoto does not specifically teach a seal between the end plug and the filter body. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that a seal would be necessary between the end plug and the filter body to prevent fluid from leaking out of the cartridge and the only portion of the end plug in contact with the filter body is the outer peripheral surface in contact with the inner peripheral surface of the filter body (fig. 3).
Yoshino teaches a filter cartridge comprising: a filter body (10) having a first and second end and an inner peripheral surface, an end plug (20) disposed in the first end of the filter body, the end plug having an inner end extending into the filter body, an outer end and an outer peripheral surface, a peripheral seal (30) located between the outer peripheral surface of the end plug and the inner peripheral surface of the filter body, where the end plug is capable of moving axially away from the filter body (1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the seal arrangement of Yoshino as it assures adequate tightness of the closure of the open end of the housing by the lid (par 25).
Claims 2, Kamimoto further teaches a face seal (306) on an outer end surface of the end plug and surrounding a fluid port (304) located on the outer end surface of the end plug (fig. 3).
Claim 6, Yoshino further teaches two peripheral seals are provided between the outer peripheral surface of the end plug and the inner peripheral surface of the filter body (fig. 1-6).
Claim 3, Kamimoto further teaches the end plug is a first end plug, and further comprising: a second end plug (318) disposed in the second end of the filter body, the second end plug having an inner end extending into the filter body, an outer end and an outer peripheral surface, and a fluid port (322) formed in the outer end where the second end plug is configured to move axially away from the filter body in response to fluid pressure within the filter body (fig. 3, pg. 2, par 4 and 8, pg. 3, par 1, pg. 5, par 6, pg. 6, par 7, pg. 7, par 3). Kamimoto does not specifically teach a seal between the second end plug and the filter body. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that a seal would be necessary between the second end plug and the filter body to prevent fluid from leaking out of the cartridge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the seal of Yoshino for the same reasons stated above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 4, Kamimoto further teaches the end plugs include a stepped portion disposed between a cap portion and an inner neck portion, the stepped portion having a larger diameter than that of the inner neck portion and a smaller diameter than that of the cap portion (fig. 3, see above).
Claim 5, Yoshino further teaches the end plug includes a stepped portion disposed between a cap portion and an inner neck portion, the stepped portion having a larger diameter than that of the inner neck portion and a smaller diameter than that of the cap portion, and a recess aligned with the stepped portion and disposed between the cap portion and the end plug and the respective end of the filter body, wherein the recess is capable of receiving a removal tool (fig. 6).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimoto CN 213253359 in view of Jun Yoshino et al. US 2014/0001113 as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Stankowski et al. US 6,652,749.
Claim 7, Kamimoto in view of Yoshino teaches the cartridge of claim 2 but does not teach the end plug including a secondary face seal surrounding at least one secondary fluid port.
Providing a secondary port on an end plug is known as demonstrated by Stankowski (110, 110a, 110b) (fig. 6) to allow multiple connections and thereby multiple flows to and from the cartridge from a manifold. Additionally, Stankowski teaches each port would need to be surrounded by a seal. Providing a face seal is a common feature, as demonstrated by both Kamimoto and Stankowski (fig. 12) and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art as a way to form a proper seal around each port to prevent fluid leaks during use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that any modification of Kamimoto in light of Yoshino to include a peripheral seal would result in the seal being located in the recess (316) as shown in applicant’s annotated figure in the remarks. However, modifying Kamimoto in light of Yoshino would not lead one of skill in the art to place the seal as stated by applicant. The seal of Yoshino is located between an outer peripheral surface of the plug and an inner peripheral surface of the filter body (fig. 6) in the exact same location shown in applicant’s figure 5. There is nothing the cited prior art that would lead one of ordinary skill to place the seal in the position stated by the applicant.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 4 are addressed in the body of the rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779