DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (USPGPUB 2017/0327255) and further in view of Geltser et al. (USPGPUB 2019/0021956).
Regarding claim 1, KIM discloses an automatic tablet feeding apparatus comprising:
a guide duct (10, support body 12, [0034]) having a receiving space defined therein to receive tablets introduced thereinto and to guide the tablets downward;
a slider (30) formed to be inclined downward toward the receiving space and to provide a tablet conveyance passage (Figs. 2, 5);
a first vibrator (33) accommodated in one of a plurality of side pockets provided on an outer side portion of the slider,
an elastic support plate (see paragraph [0043]) received in an outer side surface of the slider.
However, they do not disclose:
the first vibrator being configured to output vibration energy in response to an external control signal and to be adjustable in output frequency;
a vibrator controller configured to control the output frequency of the first vibrator; and
wherein the vibrator controller comprises:
a smoothing circuit unit configured to smooth a DC voltage;
a main controller configured to generate a PWM control signal; and
a voltage variable switching unit configured to vary the DC voltage smoothed by the smoothing circuit unit in response to the PWM control signal from the main controller and to apply the DC voltage to the first vibrator.
Geltser et al. disclose:
the first vibrator being configured to output vibration energy in response to an external control signal and to be adjustable in output frequency (see paragraph [0041]);
a vibrator controller configured to control the output frequency of the first vibrator (see paragraph [0041]); and
wherein the vibrator controller comprises:
a smoothing circuit unit configured to smooth a DC voltage (see paragraphs [0039]-[0040] and [0128]);
a main controller configured to generate a PWM control signal (see paragraphs [0039]-[0040] and [0128]); and
a voltage variable switching unit configured to vary the DC voltage smoothed by the smoothing circuit unit in response to the PWM control signal from the main controller and to apply the DC voltage to the first vibrator (see paragraphs [0039]-[0040] and [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by KIM by including an apparatus comprising: the first vibrator being configured to output vibration energy in response to an external control signal and to be adjustable in output frequency; a vibrator controller configured to control the output frequency of the first vibrator; and wherein the vibrator controller comprises: a smoothing circuit unit configured to smooth a DC voltage; a main controller configured to generate a PWM control signal; and a voltage variable switching unit configured to vary the DC voltage smoothed by the smoothing circuit unit in response to the PWM control signal from the main controller and to apply the DC voltage to the first vibrator, as disclosed by Geltser et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing control circuitry to enhance the vibration controls for the apparatus (see paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, KIM discloses the automatic tablet feeding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the elastic support plate is made of sheet spring (see Figure 2) or stainless steel so as to have a predetermined thickness (see paragraph [0043] and Figure 2). However, they do not disclose sheet spring steel or stainless steel. Nevertheless, such a modification would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because sheet spring steel or stainless steel are well-known materials and the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 7, KIM discloses the automatic tablet feeding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the elastic support plate (32) is removably received in an insertion recess formed in the outer side surface of the slider (see Figures 2 and 5).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (USPGPUB 2017/0327255) in view of Geltser et al. (USPGPUB 2019/0021956) as applied to claims 1, 6, and 7 above, and further in view of Heinz (USPGPUB 2012/0228321).
Regarding claim 3, KIM in view of Geltser et al. disclose the automatic tablet feeding apparatus according to claim 1. Furthermore, KIM disclose an apparatus wherein, when the tablets are detected by an exit sensor (34). However, they do not specifically disclose detection functionality such that the output frequency of the first vibrator is reduced in order to reduce a conveyance speed of the tablets. Heinz discloses an apparatus comprising detection functionality such that the output frequency of the first vibrator is reduced in order to reduce a conveyance speed of the tablets (see paragraph [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by KIM in view of Geltser et al. by including an apparatus comprising detection functionality such that the output frequency of the first vibrator is reduced in order to reduce a conveyance speed of the tablets, as disclosed by Heinz, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing an improvement to the counting operation (see paragraph [0010]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: dependent claim 2 discloses, “a second vibrator accommodated in a remaining one of the plurality of side pockets, the second vibrator being configured to be fixed in output frequency” which, in combination with the rest of the claim language of claims 1 and 2, teaches an apparatus that is novel over the prior art of record. Dependent claim 4 discloses, “an extension portion bent and extending upward from the base portion and coupled to the slider so as to be vibrated simultaneously with the slider, and wherein the extension portion and the base portion are formed to be perpendicular to each other through one bending process” which, in combination with the rest of the claim language of claims 1 and 4, teaches an apparatus that is novel over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
12/11/2025
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655