DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 24 February 2026.
Claims 1, 5, 11, and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s remarks filed on 24 February 2026:
a. Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 10 and 20 are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection presented hereon, as detailed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,436,937 B2 in view of Raptis, Ditmos (“Saga Transactions: what's old is new again.” A Curious Mind (online blog). Published 27 Aug 2019. Accessed 11 May 2026 from https://dimosr.github.io/saga-transactions, hereinafter referred to as Raptis).
Although the claims are not identical, claim 1 of the reference patent recites most of the features of examined claim 10, including an update to a particular row (claimed “update command that targets a particular data item”) and obtaining a lock that covers the particular row (claimed obtaining, for the local transactoin, a lock that covers the particualr data item). Although claim 1 of the reference patent does not recite any saga or saga-exclusive lock, Raptis teaches an update command that is part of a local transaciton of a particular saga (Raptis pp. 3-6) and a saga-exlusive lock that blocks transactions that are not part of the particular sage while allowing transactions that are part of the particular saga (Raptis pp. 6-7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1 of the reference patent to include the teachings of Raptis because the use of semantic locks provides a useful technique for concurrency control of saga transactions, preventing data anomalies (see Raptis p. 7). Examined claim 20 recites features analogous to those of claim 10, and for the same reasons set forth above, examined claim 20 is patentably indistinct from reference claim 1 as modified by Raptis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,874,822 B1, hereinafter referred to as Singh) in view of Raptis, Ditmos (“Saga Transactions: what's old is new again.” A Curious Mind (online blog). Published 27 Aug 2019. Accessed 11 May 2026 from https://dimosr.github.io/saga-transactions, hereinafter referred to as Raptis).
As to claim 10, Singh teaches a method comprising:
processing, at a database server, an update command that targets a particular data item (see Singh col. 11 L34-52: new order to be created in orders database);
wherein the update command is part of a local transaction of a particular saga (see Singh col. 11 L34-52: saga comprised of local transactions);
wherein processing the update command includes obtaining, for the local transaction, a lock that covers the particular data item (see Singh col. 16 L21-31: obtaining locks for a transaction; and see Singh col. 17 L2-12: the locks are acquired for all data items that participate in a transaction); and
while the lock is held by the local transaction:
based on the lock, blocking transactions that are not part of the particular saga from updating the particular data item (see Singh col. 16 L21-31: obtaining locks for a transaction; and see Singh col. 17 L2-12: the locks are acquired for all data items that participate in a transaction); and
wherein the method is performed by one or more computing devices (see Singh col. 28 L30-44 and Fig. 15: computer system 1500).
Singh does not appear to explicitly disclose a saga-exclusive lock; and based on the saga-exclusive lock, allowing other transactions that are part of the particular saga to update the particular data item.
However, Raptis teaches:
a saga-exclusive lock (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, preventing transactions from other sagas from making use of the data)
wherein processing the update command includes obtaining, for the local transaction, a saga- exclusive lock that covers the particular data item (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, preventing transactions from other sagas from making use of the data); and
while the saga-exclusive lock is held by the local transaction:
based on the saga-exclusive lock, blocking transactions that are not part of the particular saga from updating the particular data item (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, preventing transactions from other sagas from making use of the data); and
based on the saga-exclusive lock, allowing other transactions that are part of the particular saga to update the particular data item (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, allowing transactions that are part of the saga to access the data).
Singh and Raptis both relate to transaction concurrency control for saga-based transactions (see Singh col. 11 L34-52; and see Raptis pp. 5-7). Singh teaches the use of locks for transaction concurrency control, as set forth above, but Singh does not appear to explicitly disclose the use of saga-exclusive locks that allow transactions within a saga to update a data item. Raptis teaches saga-exclusive locks, as set forth above. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Singh with the teachings of Raptis because the use of semantic locks provides a useful technique for concurrency control of saga transactions, preventing data anomalies (see Raptis p. 7).
As to claim 20, Singh teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices (see Singh col. 28 L30-67 and Fig. 15: computer system 1500 having memory 1520 storing instructions for processor(s) 1510), cause:
processing, at a database server, an update command that targets a particular data item (see Singh col. 11 L34-52: new order to be created in orders database);
wherein the update command is part of a local transaction of a particular saga (see Singh col. 11 L34-52: saga comprised of local transactions);
wherein processing the update command includes obtaining, for the local transaction, a lock that covers the particular data item (see Singh col. 16 L21-31: obtaining locks for a transaction; and see Singh col. 17 L2-12: the locks are acquired for all data items that participate in a transaction); and
while the lock is held by the local transaction:
based on the lock, blocking transactions that are not part of the particular saga from updating the particular data item (see Singh col. 16 L21-31: obtaining locks for a transaction; and see Singh col. 17 L2-12: the locks are acquired for all data items that participate in a transaction).
Singh does not appear to explicitly disclose a saga-exclusive lock; and based on the saga-exclusive lock, allowing other transactions that are part of the particular saga to update the particular data item.
However, Raptis teaches:
a saga-exclusive lock (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, preventing transactions from other sagas from making use of the data)
wherein processing the update command includes obtaining, for the local transaction, a saga- exclusive lock that covers the particular data item (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, preventing transactions from other sagas from making use of the data); and
while the saga-exclusive lock is held by the local transaction:
based on the saga-exclusive lock, blocking transactions that are not part of the particular saga from updating the particular data item (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, preventing transactions from other sagas from making use of the data); and
based on the saga-exclusive lock, allowing other transactions that are part of the particular saga to update the particular data item (see Raptis pp. 6-7: a semantic lock is used to lock data for exclusive use by a particular saga, allowing transactions that are part of the saga to access the data).
Singh and Raptis both relate to transaction concurrency control for saga-based transactions (see Singh col. 11 L34-52; and see Raptis pp. 5-7). Singh teaches the use of locks for transaction concurrency control, as set forth above, but Singh does not appear to explicitly disclose the use of saga-exclusive locks that allow transactions within a saga to update a data item. Raptis teaches saga-exclusive locks, as set forth above. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Singh with the teachings of Raptis because the use of semantic locks provides a useful technique for concurrency control of saga transactions, preventing data anomalies (see Raptis p. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Umar Mian/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163