DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the communications filed on May 4, 2026. The Applicant’s Amendment and Request for Reconsideration has been received and entered.
Claims 1-18 are currently pending. Claims 19-25 have been cancelled. Claims 1-18 have been examined in this application. Claims 1, 17, and 18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-18 under 35 USC 101, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth infra.
Additionally, regarding Applicant’s assertions that using a small set of 2D product images taken from a fixed number of predetermined angles is "less computationally demanding than conventional methods", the Examiner respectfully notes that the limitations reciting the 2D images have been rejected under 112(a) and 112(b) and interpreted accordingly, found infra.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Particularly, Applicant’s arguments are directed to the instantly amended claims, and are thus moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre- AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre- AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, and similarly claims 17 and 18, recite:
guiding, using AR, the user to capture a predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, with the mobile device, at respective camera positions and orientations relative to the indicated position of the proxy product model in the user's space, wherein the guiding comprises:
at each position of the predetermined number of positions, guiding the user to position the camera at a height and to orient the camera at an orientation, wherein the height and orientation correspond to a respective one of a plurality of shot angles at which 2D images of products were taken while curating the product catalog;
wherein the at least one 2D image was generated by compositing, based on the dimensions for the proxy product model and the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, one or more 2D images of products from the product catalog with at least one of the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, and
wherein the one or more 2D images of products are identified based on (i) compatibility of dimensions of the products with the dimensions for the proxy product model and (ii) compatibility of shot angles at which the one or more 2D images of products were taken with the shot angles at which the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space were captured;
The recited subject matter of claims 1, 17, and 18 do not conform to the disclosure in such a manner that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being adequately described as the invention or as subject matter which the Applicant actually had possession of at the time of the invention. A review of the disclosure does not reveal the manner in which these steps were performed with 2D images, including a predetermined number of 2D images.
It is noted that this is not an enablement rejection. Applicant's failure to disclose any meaningful structures/algorithms regarding these limitations raises questions concerning whether Applicant truly had possession of these features at the time of filing.
Claims 2-16 depend from claim 1 and thus inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. -112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA , the applicant, regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and similarly claims 17 and 18, recite:
guiding, using AR, the user to capture a predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, with the mobile device, at respective camera positions and orientations relative to the indicated position of the proxy product model in the user's space, wherein the guiding comprises:
at each position of the predetermined number of positions, guiding the user to position the camera at a height and to orient the camera at an orientation, wherein the height and orientation correspond to a respective one of a plurality of shot angles at which 2D images of products were taken while curating the product catalog;
wherein the at least one 2D image was generated by compositing, based on the dimensions for the proxy product model and the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, one or more 2D images of products from the product catalog with at least one of the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, and
wherein the one or more 2D images of products are identified based on (i) compatibility of dimensions of the products with the dimensions for the proxy product model and (ii) compatibility of shot angles at which the one or more 2D images of products were taken with the shot angles at which the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space were captured;
The metes and bounds of this claim are unclear because a person having ordinary skill in the art cannot determine how to avoid infringement. As discussed above, the disclosure does not disclose any meaningful structure/algorithm explaining how one would perform these steps with 2D images, including a predetermined number of 2D images.
For examination purposes, Examiner has interpreted the terms “2D images” and “predetermined number of 2D images” as merely “images”.
Claims 2-16 depend from claim 1 and thus inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1. When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Step 2A – Prong One. If the claims fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon.
Step 2A – Prong Two. If the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, it must then be determined whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. If the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, then the claims are directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2B. If the claims are directed to a judicial exception, it must be evaluated whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e. “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception.
In the instant case, claims 1-16 are directed to a process; claim 17 is directed to a machine; and claim 18 is directed to a manufacture.
A claim “recites” an abstract idea if there are identifiable limitations that fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106. In the instant case, claim 1, and similarly claims 17 and 18, recite the steps of: receiving information indicating a position in the user's space at which to place a proxy product model serving as a proxy for a product of a first type; generating a visualization of the proxy product model, at the indicated position, in the user's space; receiving information indicating dimensions for the proxy product model; guiding the user to capture a predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space at respective camera positions and orientations relative to the indicated position of the proxy product model in the user's space, wherein the guiding comprises: displaying floor prompt indicators at a predetermined number of positions relative to the indicated position of the proxy product model; at each position of the predetermined number of positions, guiding the user to position the camera at a height and to orient the camera at an orientation, wherein the height and orientation correspond to a respective one of a plurality of shot angles at which 2D images of products were taken while curating the product catalog; obtaining, based on the information indicating the dimensions for the proxy product model and the one or more images of the user's space, at least one 2D image of at least one product of the first type in the user's space, wherein the at least one 2D image was generated by, based on the dimensions for the proxy product model and the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, one or more 2D images of products from the product catalog with at least one of the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, and wherein the one or more 2D images of products are identified based on (i) compatibility of dimensions of the products with the dimensions for the proxy product model and (ii) compatibility of shot angles at which the one or more 2D images of products were taken with the shot angles at which the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space were captured; and displaying the at least one 2D image of the at least one product -- these claim limitations set forth certain methods of organizing human activity, particularly commercial interactions including advertising, marketing, and sales activities/behaviors.
Further, the limitations of the claims are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Taking the independent claim elements separately, the additional elements of performing the steps using at least one computer hardware processor, by a mobile device having a camera, using augmented reality (AR), with the mobile device, compositing, and with at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing processor- executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one computer hardware processor, cause the at least one computer hardware processor to perform a method -- merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Additionally, taking the dependent claim elements separately, the additional elements of performing the steps via a webpage also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Considered in combination, the steps of Applicant’s method add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately.
Thus, claims 1-18 are directed to an abstract idea.
Regarding the independent claims, the technical elements of performing the steps using at least one computer hardware processor, by a mobile device having a camera, using augmented reality (AR), with the mobile device, compositing, and with at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing processor- executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one computer hardware processor, cause the at least one computer hardware processor to perform a method -- merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Additionally, regarding the dependent claims, the technical elements of performing the steps via a webpage also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment.
When considering the elements and combinations of elements, the claim(s) as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not amount to an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment; the claims merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer; or the claims amounts to nothing more than requiring a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, claims 1-18 are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 USC 101 based upon the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anadure (US PGP 2020/0273195) in view of Chuah (US Pat. No. 10,643,344) in view of Wu (US PGP 2014/0247325).
As per claim 1, Anadure teaches method for generating two-dimensional (2D) product images in a user's space, the method comprising:
using at least one computer hardware processor to perform:
receiving, by a mobile device having a camera, information indicating a position in the user's space at which to place a proxy product model serving as a proxy for a product of a first type; (Anadure: Fig. 1; [0036]; Figs. 3-6; [0048]-[0061] (To begin in this example, a computing device 102 of a user captures a live stream of digital images 112 of a physical environment 108, in which, the computing device is disposed through use of a digital camera 110 (block 702). FIG. 3, for instance, depicts an example 300 of user interaction with the computing device 102 through use of first, second, and third stages 302, 304, 306. At the first stage 302, the live stream of digital images 112 is output in a user interface 120 by a display device 122 of the computing device 102. . . . The AR manager module 116, for instance, may output an option 308 in the user interface 120 to receive a search input. . . . the text “kitchen appliances” is received as a user input. A shape selection module 202 is then employed by the AR manager module 116 to receive a user input to select a geometric shape 204 (block 704). . . . At the first stage 402, the selected geometric shape 408 is displayed by a display device 122 of the computing device 102 as augmented reality digital content included as part of the live stream of digital images 112 (block 706). . . . This may be performed in a variety of ways. In a first example, the search result 222 includes a ranked listing of items of digital content 124, e.g., as a listing of different appliances based on “how well” these items satisfy the search input 218 and/or the size 212 of the search query 216. In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.))
generating, using augmented reality (AR), a visualization of the proxy product model, at the indicated position, in the user's space; (Anadure: Figs. 3-4; [0048]-[0060] (At the first stage 402, the selected geometric shape 408 is displayed by a display device 122 of the computing device 102 as augmented reality digital content included as part of the live stream of digital images 112 (block 706). As a result, the geometric shape augments the user's view of the live stream of digital images 112 captured of the physical environment 108 to appear “as if it is really there.”))
receiving information indicating dimensions for the proxy product model; (Anadure: Figs. 3-4; [0050]-[0055] (In a three dimensional example, the shape may specify a volume, e.g., the area on the surface as well as a height. . . . A user input is also received via the display device 122 as manipulating the geometric shape as part of the live stream of digital images (block 708). The selected shape 204, for instance, may be communicated by the shape selection module 202 to a shape manipulation module 206. The shape manipulation module 206 is representative of functionality of the AR manager module 116 that accepts user inputs to modify a location and/or size of the geometric shape 308, e.g., height, width, depth or other dimensions of the selected geometric shape 408. . . . In one example, the geometric shape 408 is output at the first stage 402 of FIG. 4 along with instructions to “size and positions shape” 410. A user input is received at the second stage 404 to change one or more dimensions of the shape 408 as well as position of the shape within a view of the live stream of digital images 112 in the user interface 120 as captured from the physical environment 108. The user inputs, for instance, may select edges or points along a border of the shape to resize dimensions of the shape via touchscreen functionality of the display device 122.))
. . . , using AR, the user to capture a predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, with the mobile device, at respective camera positions and orientations relative to the indicated position of the proxy product model in the user's space, wherein the guiding comprises; (Anadure: [0056] (The shape size determination module 210, for instance, may first determine dimensions of the physical environment 108. This may be determined in a variety of ways. In one example, the dimensions of the physical environment 108 are determined from the live stream of digital images 112 based on parallax, e.g., in the object that are closer to the digital camera 110 exhibit greater amounts of movement that objects that are further away from the digital camera 110, e.g., in successive and/or stereoscopic images.))
. . . the indicated position of the proxy product model; (Anadure: Fig.; [0052]-[0054] (The shape manipulation module 206 is representative of functionality of the AR manager module 116 that accepts user inputs to modify a location and/or size of the geometric shape 308, e.g., height, width, depth or other dimensions of the selected geometric shape 408. In one example, the geometric shape 408 is output at the first stage 402 of FIG. 4 along with instructions to “size and positions shape” 410. A user input is received at the second stage 404 to change one or more dimensions of the shape 408 as well as position of the shape within a view of the live stream of digital images 112 in the user interface 120 as captured from the physical environment 108. . . . The user inputs may also select internal portions of the shape to position the shape 408 within a desired location of the user interface 120, e.g., to “drag” the geometric shape 408 to a desired location such as to appear positioned on a countertop as illustrated . . . . In this way, shape selection may be used to define a corresponding position and size within the user interface 120.))
. . . 2D images of products were taken while curating the product catalog; (Anadure: Fig. 9; [0060] (As shown in FIG. 9, for instance, the user interface 120 includes first, second, and third product listings 902, 904, 906. These listings include respective options that are user selectable to “assess fit” 908, 910, 912 of a respective item.)
obtaining, based on the information indicating the dimensions for the proxy product model and the one or more images of the user's space, at least one 2D image of at least one product of the first type in the user's space; and (Anadure: Figs. 3-6; [0048]-[0061] (Once the dimensions of the physical environment are determined, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 are then determined with respect to those dimensions. Returning again to FIG. 4, for instance, dimensions of the countertop may be determined, and from this, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 as positioned on the countertop based on those dimensions. In this way, the size 212 calculated by the shape size determination module 210 specifies a relationship of the manipulated shape 208 to a view of the physical environment 108 via the live stream of digital images 112 as augmented reality digital content. The size 212 is then communicated from the shape size determination module 210 to a search query generation module 214 to generate a search query 216 that includes a search input 218 and the size 212 (block 712). The search input 218, for instance, may include the text used to initiate the sizing technique above, e.g., “kitchen appliances.” The search input 218, along with the size 212, form a search query 216 that is used as a basis to perform a search. . . . The service provider system 104 includes a search manager module 220 that search digital content 124 that relates to kitchen appliances 502 as specified by the search input 218 and that has a size that approximates and/or is less than the size 212 specified by the search query 216, e.g., within a threshold amount such as a defined percentage. This is used to generate a search result 222 that is then communicated back to the computing device 102. . . . In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.); [0006] (object included in a digital image (e.g., a two-dimensional digital image); [0050]; [0055]; [0068])
wherein the at least one 2D image was generated by compositing, based on the dimensions for the proxy product model and the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, one or more 2D images of products from the product catalog with at least one of the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space, and (Anadure: Figs. 3-6; [0048]-[0061] (Once the dimensions of the physical environment are determined, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 are then determined with respect to those dimensions. Returning again to FIG. 4, for instance, dimensions of the countertop may be determined, and from this, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 as positioned on the countertop based on those dimensions. In this way, the size 212 calculated by the shape size determination module 210 specifies a relationship of the manipulated shape 208 to a view of the physical environment 108 via the live stream of digital images 112 as augmented reality digital content. The size 212 is then communicated from the shape size determination module 210 to a search query generation module 214 to generate a search query 216 that includes a search input 218 and the size 212 (block 712). The search input 218, for instance, may include the text used to initiate the sizing technique above, e.g., “kitchen appliances.” The search input 218, along with the size 212, form a search query 216 that is used as a basis to perform a search. . . . The service provider system 104 includes a search manager module 220 that search digital content 124 that relates to kitchen appliances 502 as specified by the search input 218 and that has a size that approximates and/or is less than the size 212 specified by the search query 216, e.g., within a threshold amount such as a defined percentage. This is used to generate a search result 222 that is then communicated back to the computing device 102. . . . In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.); [0006] (object included in a digital image (e.g., a two-dimensional digital image); [0050]; [0055]; [0068])
wherein the one or more 2D images of products are identified based on (i) compatibility of dimensions of the products with the dimensions for the proxy product model and (ii) compatibility of shot angles at which the one or more 2D images of products were taken with the shot angles at which the predetermined number of 2D images of the user's space were captured; (Anadure: Figs. 3-6; [0048]-[0061] (Returning again to FIG. 4, for instance, dimensions of the countertop may be determined, and from this, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 as positioned on the countertop based on those dimensions. In this way, the size 212 calculated by the shape size determination module 210 specifies a relationship of the manipulated shape 208 to a view of the physical environment 108 via the live stream of digital images 112 as augmented reality digital content. The size 212 is then communicated from the shape size determination module 210 to a search query generation module 214 to generate a search query 216 that includes a search input 218 and the size 212 (block 712). The search input 218, for instance, may include the text used to initiate the sizing technique above, e.g., “kitchen appliances.” The search input 218, along with the size 212, form a search query 216 that is used as a basis to perform a search. . . . The service provider system 104 includes a search manager module 220 that search digital content 124 that relates to kitchen appliances 502 as specified by the search input 218 and that has a size that approximates and/or is less than the size 212 specified by the search query 216, e.g., within a threshold amount such as a defined percentage. This is used to generate a search result 222 that is then communicated back to the computing device 102. . . . The search result 222 is then displayed that is generated based on the search of digital content 124 performed using the search query 216 (block 714). This may be performed in a variety of ways. In a first example, the search result 222 includes a ranked listing of items of digital content 124, e.g., as a listing of different appliances based on “how well” these items satisfy the search input 218 and/or the size 212 of the search query 216. In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.); [0006] (object included in a digital image (e.g., a two-dimensional digital image); [0050]; [0055]; [0068])
displaying the at least one 2D image of the at least one product. (Anadure: Fig. 6; [0060]-[0061] (In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.); [0046] (FIG. 5 depicts a system 500 in an example implementation of performing a search using the search query generated by the system 200 of FIG. 2. FIG. 6 depicts an example implementation 600 of output of a search result of the search performed in FIG. 5 as augmented reality digital content as part of a live feed of digital images.); [0028] (Results of the search are then output by the computing device, e.g., as a ranked listing, as augmented reality digital content as replacing the geometric shape, and so forth. A user, for instance, may “swipe through” the search results viewed as augmented reality digital content as part of the live stream of digital images to navigate sequentially through the search results to locate a particular product of interest, which may then be purchased from the service provider system.); [0006] (object included in a digital image (e.g., a two-dimensional digital image); [0050]; [0055]; [0068])
Anadure does not explicitly disclose the following known techniques which are taught by Chuah:
guiding, using AR, the user to capture one or more images of the user's space, with the mobile device, at one or more respective camera positions and/or orientations relative to the indicated position of the . . . model in the user's space (Chuah: Fig. 14A-14J (We’ll have you take panoramas from the corners of you room [Wingdings font/0xE0] Stand Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Aim Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Take a panorama”); Col. 80, Ln. 15 through Col. 82, Ln. 40 (During such movement of the user device toward an image capture location, position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame may be tracked, upon receiving user consent, in order to determine whether the user device has moved toward the defined or selected image capture location within the room. . . FIG. 14E illustrates an example user interface screen related to further beginning the image capture process using panorama paths, upon receiving user consent. For example, the example user interface screen may include an arrow 1410 and a textual cue 1412 related to orienting a field of view of an imaging sensor of the user device at an image capture location associated with the panorama path and defined within the local coordinate frame of the room. As described herein, a sweep starting point, a direction of sweep, and a sweep ending point may be defined and associated with the image capture location. Thus, the arrow 1410 and the textual cue 1412 may guide the user to orient a field of view of the imaging sensor of the user device toward a sweep starting point to capture images at the image capture location, upon receiving user consent. In addition, imaging data captured via an imaging sensor of the user device may be presented via a display of the user device.); Figs 9A-9L)
displaying, using the AR, floor prompt indicators at a predetermined number of positions relative to the indicated position . . . ; (Chuah: Figs. 4B-4G (displaying prompt indicators on floor); Col. 23, Ln. 20 through Col. 24, Ln. 40 (FIG. 4B illustrates an example user interface screen related to initializing one or more sensors of the user device, designating a local coordinate frame for operation of the user device, and determining a floor plane of the room using the user device. For example, the example user interface screen may include an indication 406 related to initializing the user device and determining a floor plane of the room, such as pointing the user device toward the floor such that a field of view of an imaging sensor of the user device includes at least a portion of the floor and moving the user device while maintaining at least a portion of the floor within the field of view of the imaging sensor. In addition, imaging data captured via an imaging sensor of the user device may be presented via a display of the user device . . . In addition, as described herein, the user device may designate a local coordinate frame for operation of the user device, and may determine a home or starting position within the local coordinate frame relative to which movement of the user device may be tracked, upon receiving user consent, within the local coordinate frame. . . . Further, in some example embodiments, the horizontal line indication 408 may be generated and projected within three-dimensional space relative to imaging data that is presented via a display of the user device, and the horizontal line indication 408 may be projected onto a floor or floor plane of the room or space to facilitate identification of one or more walls or wall planes . . .); Figs. 14B-14D; (“Stand Here”); Col 79; Lns 45-62 (Further, the arrow 1406 and the textual cue 1408 may be presented via the display of the user device to guide the user to move the user device toward the image capture location that is generated for presentation at a particular location within the local coordinate frame. For example, the arrow 1406 may be generated, presented, and updated to point in a particular direction, e.g., toward the image capture location, based on position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame, and the particular location or position of the image capture location within the local coordinate frame. Further, the textual cue 1408 may be generated, presented, and updated to follow or remain adjacent to the presented arrow 1406. Moreover, the arrow 1406 and the textual cue 1408 may be presented generally closer to the floor of the room (or other surface having identifiable features) in order to avoid tracking loss by the imaging sensor of the user device.))
at each position of the predetermined number of positions, guiding the user to position the camera at a height and to orient the camera at an orientation, . . . (Chuah: Figs. 4B-4G; Fig. 14A-14J (We’ll have you take panoramas from the corners of you room [Wingdings font/0xE0] Stand Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Aim Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Take a panorama”); Col. 77, Ln. 1 through Col. 78, Ln. 9 (Accordingly, to avoid tracking loss during traversal along image capture paths 1332 and during orientation at image capture locations 1330, the various arrows, cues, guides, or other indications may be generated for presentation at locations within the local coordinate frame in order to maintain at least a portion of a floor (or other surfaces having sufficient identifiable features) within a field of view of an imaging sensor of the user device. For example, the various arrows, cues, guides, or other indications may be generated for presentation at locations within the local coordinate frame to guide a user to move, rotate, turn, sweep, and/or otherwise orient a user device in particular directions or with particular orientations in order to maintain sufficient identifiable features within the field of view of the imaging sensor of the user device and thereby avoid tracking loss.); Col. 83, Lns 11-60 (FIG. 14G illustrates a further example user interface screen related to further beginning the image capture process using panorama paths, upon receiving user consent. For example, the example user interface screen may include the arrow 1410 and the textual cue 1412 related to orienting a field of view of an imaging sensor of the user device at an image capture location associated with the panorama path and defined within the local coordinate frame of the room. As described herein, a sweep starting point, a direction of sweep, and a sweep ending point may be defined and associated with the image capture location. Thus, the arrow 1410 and the textual cue 1412 may guide the user to orient a field of view of the imaging sensor of the user device toward a sweep starting point to capture images at the image capture location, upon receiving user consent. In addition, imaging data captured via an imaging sensor of the user device may be presented via a display of the user device.); Col. 48, Lns 10-40 (FIG. 9C illustrates an example user interface screen related to facing toward a ring path within the room that is presented via the display of the device, and aligning a target along the ring path within a reticle that are also presented via the display of the user device. For example, the example user interface screen may include an indication 908 related to facing toward the ring path presented via the display of the user device, and aligning the target within the reticle presented via the display of the user device. In addition, imaging data captured via an imaging sensor of the user device may be presented via a display of the user device. A ring path 910 may be generated for presentation at a particular location, including a particular height, within the local coordinate frame, e.g., substantially centered within the room.))
This known technique is applicable to the method of Anadure as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to capturing user’s environment for augmented reality display.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Chuah would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Chuah to the teachings of Anadure would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such guiding and indicator features into similar methods. Further, applying the guiding, using AR, the user to capture one or more images of the user's space, with the mobile device, at one or more respective camera positions and/or orientations relative to the indicated position, in the user's space; displaying, using the AR, floor prompt indicators at a predetermined number of positions relative to the indicated position; and at each position of the predetermined number of positions, guiding the user to position the camera at a height and to orient the camera at an orientation to the teachings of Anadure would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would allow generation of augmented reality environments that simulate actual or real-world environments, with reduced time, cost, and/or specialized training and skills (Chuah: Col. 1, Lns. 5-24)
Anadure/Chuah do not explicitly disclose the following known technique which is taught by Wu:
. . . , wherein the height and orientation correspond to a respective one of a plurality of shot angles at which 2D images of products were taken . . . ; (Wu: Fig. 5; [0043]-[0047] (FIG. 5 illustrates an example camera display 500 for capturing a 3-D image at a given location. In some examples, camera display 500 includes an image view 510-A. Image view 510-A may be what a user observes when first orienting a camera to capture a first of a series of images according to a suggested 3-D model. For these examples, camera display 500 includes upper left/right direction indicators 505-1 and 505-2 as well as lower left/right direction indicators 505-3 and 505-4. Similar to FIGS. 3 and 4, camera display 500 also includes tilt up/down indicators 315-1 and 315-2 as well as compass direction indicator 320 and location indicator 330. According to some examples, FIG. 5 also shows a left 3-D model indicator 525-1 and a right 3-D model indicator 525-2. For these examples, suggestion manager 120 may include logic and/or features configured to determine a suggested 3-D model to capture a 3-D image at a given location. For example, the user may orient a camera such that the camera centers a front view of the chair shown in image view 510-A between upper and lower indicators 505-1 to 505-4. Since this may be the first image capture of the chair, left/right 3-D model indicators 525-1 and 525-2 in image view 510-A may include no indications of which subsequent image to capture. In some examples, responsive to the user capturing the image shown in image view 510-A, suggestion manager 120 may update the 3-D image and then determine an updated suggested camera pose based on both the updated 3-D image and the suggested 3-D model. For these examples, an updated suggested camera pose is shown in FIG. 5 via various indicators around image view 510-B. For example, compass direction indicator 320 indicates a change from a north (N) facing direction in image view 510-A to now an east (E) facing direction in image view 510-B. Also, upper/lower indicators 505-1 to 505-4 indicate suggestions on how to center the next image. As mentioned above for image view 510-A, an image was captured of the front of the chair. Thus, the solid right 3-D model indicator 525-2 may indicate that previous image capture and the clear left 3-D model indicator 525-1 may indicate that the next picture is to be taken of the back of the chair according to the suggested 3-D model. Although not shown in FIG. 5, up/down 3-D model indicators may also be included in camera display 500. For example, a suggested 3-D model may include capturing images from above and/or below an object as well as around a horizontal axis as mentioned above. These up/down 3-D model indicators may also indicate which images of the suggested 3-D model have been captured.))
This known technique is applicable to the method of Anadure/Chuah as they share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to guiding user in capturing images.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wu would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Wu to the teachings of Anadure/Chuah would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such corresponding height and orientation features into similar methods. Further, applying the height and orientation correspond to a respective one of a plurality of shot angles at which 2D images of products were taken to the height and orientation of Anadure would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would allow the user to capture a 3-D image from a first series of images (Wu: [0043]-[0047])
As per claim 2, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach further comprising:
detecting a surface in the user's space, wherein the surface is near the indicated position in the user's space, (Anadure: Figs. 3-4; [0056]-[0057] (The shape size determination module 210, for instance, may first determine dimensions of the physical environment 108. This may be determined in a variety of ways. In one example, the dimensions of the physical environment 108 are determined from the live stream of digital images 112 based on parallax, e.g., in the object that are closer to the digital camera 110 exhibit greater amounts of movement that objects that are further away from the digital camera 110, e.g., in successive and/or stereoscopic images. . . . Returning again to FIG. 4, for instance, dimensions of the countertop may be determined, and from this, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 as positioned on the countertop based on those dimensions.))
wherein generating the visualization of the proxy product model comprises generating the visualization of the proxy product model positioned on the surface. (Anadure: Figs. 3-4; [0056]-[0057] (Returning again to FIG. 4, for instance, dimensions of the countertop may be determined, and from this, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 as positioned on the countertop based on those dimensions. In this way, the size 212 calculated by the shape size determination module 210 specifies a relationship of the manipulated shape 208 to a view of the physical environment 108 via the live stream of digital images 112 as augmented reality digital content.))
As per claim 3, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein the surface is a horizontal surface or an upright surface. (Anadure: Figs. 3-4 (displaying horizontal countertop surface); [0056]-[0057] (countertop))
As per claim 4, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach:
receiving user input indicating a selection of the first type of product; and (Anadure: Figs. 3-4; [0048]-[0050] (The AR manager module 116, for instance, may output an option 308 in the user interface 120 to receive a search input. The search input may be provided in a variety of ways, such as input directly via text, converted using speech-to-text recognition based on a spoken utterance, and so forth. In the illustrated example of the first stage 302, the text “kitchen appliances” is received as a user input.))
identifying the proxy product model based on the selection of the first type of product. (Anadure: Figs. 3-4; [0048]-[0050] (The AR manager module 116, for instance, may output an option 308 in the user interface 120 to receive a search input. The search input may be provided in a variety of ways, such as input directly via text, converted using speech-to-text recognition based on a spoken utterance, and so forth. In the illustrated example of the first stage 302, the text “kitchen appliances” is received as a user input. A shape selection module 202 is then employed by the AR manager module 116 to receive a user input to select a geometric shape 204 (block 704). Continuing with the example 300 of FIG. 3, an option is output in the user interface by the shape selection module 202 to “select shape to calculate size” 310 in response to receipt of the search input. Selection of this option at the second stage 304 causes output of a plurality of predefined geometric shapes (e.g., two or three dimensions) in the user interface 120 at the third stage 306. From these options, a user input is received to select a particular shape, e.g., via touchscreen functionality by a user's hand 312, a cursor control device, spoken utterance, and so on.))
As per claim 5, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein receiving the information indicating dimensions for the proxy product model comprises receiving information indicating width, height, and/or depth of a bounding box of the proxy product model. (Anadure: Figs. 3-4; [0050]-[0055] (In a three dimensional example, the shape may specify a volume, e.g., the area on the surface as well as a height. . . . A user input is also received via the display device 122 as manipulating the geometric shape as part of the live stream of digital images (block 708). The selected shape 204, for instance, may be communicated by the shape selection module 202 to a shape manipulation module 206. The shape manipulation module 206 is representative of functionality of the AR manager module 116 that accepts user inputs to modify a location and/or size of the geometric shape 308, e.g., height, width, depth or other dimensions of the selected geometric shape 408.))
As per claim 6, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein the guiding comprises:
guiding the user to capture a first image of the user's space by:
guiding the user to be at a first position, and (Chuah: Fig. 14A-14J (We’ll have you take panoramas from the corners of you room [Wingdings font/0xE0] Stand Here); Col. 79, Ln. 15 through Col. 81, Ln. 8 (For example, the example user interface screen may include the textual cue 1408 related to moving to an image capture location associated with the panorama path and defined within the local coordinate frame of the room. . . . In other embodiments, an image capture location within the room at which to begin the image capture process may be selected based on position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame of the room, e.g., an image capture location closest to a current position and orientation of the user device may be selected to begin the image capture process. In addition, imaging data captured via an imaging sensor of the user device may be presented via a display of the user device. Further, the textual cue 1408 may be presented via the display of the user device to guide the user to move the user device toward the image capture location that is generated for presentation at a particular location within the local coordinate frame. . . . During such movement of the user device toward an image capture location, position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame may be tracked, upon receiving user consent, in order to determine whether the user device has moved toward the defined or selected image capture location within the room; Figs 9A-9L)
guiding the user, when at the first position, to position the camera at a first height and to orient the camera of the mobile device in a first orientation. (Chuah: Fig. 14A-14J (We’ll have you take panoramas from the corners of you room [Wingdings font/0xE0] Stand Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Aim Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Take a panorama”); Col. 80, Ln. 15 through Col. 84, Ln. 35 (During such movement of the user device toward an image capture location, position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame may be tracked, upon receiving user consent, in order to determine whether the user device has moved toward the defined or selected image capture location within the room. . . FIG. 14E illustrates an example user interface screen related to further beginning the image capture process using panorama paths, upon receiving user consent. For example, the example user interface screen may include an arrow 1410 and a textual cue 1412 related to orienting a field of view of an imaging sensor of the user device at an image capture location associated with the panorama path and defined within the local coordinate frame of the room. As described herein, a sweep starting point, a direction of sweep, and a sweep ending point may be defined and associated with the image capture location. Thus, the arrow 1410 and the textual cue 1412 may guide the user to orient a field of view of the imaging sensor of the user device toward a sweep starting point to capture images at the image capture location, upon receiving user consent. In addition, imaging data captured via an imaging sensor of the user device may be presented via a display of the user device.); Figs 9A-9L)
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Chuah to the teachings of Anadure is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 7, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein guiding the user to the first position comprises displaying a visual indicator for the position to the user using AR. (Chuah: Fig. 14A-14J (displaying “Stand Here” and arrow visual indicators); Col. 79, Ln. 15 through Col. 81, Ln. 8 (For example, the example user interface screen may include an arrow 1406 and a textual cue 1408 related to moving to an image capture location associated with the panorama path and defined within the local coordinate frame of the room. . . . Further, the arrow 1406 and the textual cue 1408 may be presented via the display of the user device to guide the user to move the user device toward the image capture location that is generated for presentation at a particular location within the local coordinate frame. For example, the arrow 1406 may be generated, presented, and updated to point in a particular direction, e.g., toward the image capture location, based on position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame, and the particular location or position of the image capture location within the local coordinate frame. Further, the textual cue 1408 may be generated, presented, and updated to follow or remain adjacent to the presented arrow 1406. Moreover, the arrow 1406 and the textual cue 1408 may be presented generally closer to the floor of the room (or other surface having identifiable features) in order to avoid tracking loss by the imaging sensor of the user device. . . . Further, the textual cue 1408 may be presented via the display of the user device to guide the user to move the user device toward the image capture location that is generated for presentation at a particular location within the local coordinate frame.; Figs 9A-9L)
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Chuah to the teachings of Anadure is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 8, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein displaying the visual indicator comprises displaying the visual indicator on a surface on which the user is to stand. (Chuah: Fig. 14B (displaying “Stand Here” and arrow visual indicators on floor); Fig. 14D (displaying “Stand Here” visual indicator on chair to stand on); (Col. 79, Ln. 15 through Col. 81, Ln. 8 (Further, the arrow 1406 and the textual cue 1408 may be presented via the display of the user device to guide the user to move the user device toward the image capture location that is generated for presentation at a particular location within the local coordinate frame. For example, the arrow 1406 may be generated, presented, and updated to point in a particular direction, e.g., toward the image capture location, based on position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame, and the particular location or position of the image capture location within the local coordinate frame. Further, the textual cue 1408 may be generated, presented, and updated to follow or remain adjacent to the presented arrow 1406. Moreover, the arrow 1406 and the textual cue 1408 may be presented generally closer to the floor of the room (or other surface having identifiable features) in order to avoid tracking loss by the imaging sensor of the user device))
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Chuah to the teachings of Anadure is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 9, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein guiding the user to orient the camera in the first orientation comprises guiding the user, using AR, to orient the camera to have a pitch, roll, and/or yaw angle, each of which is a specified value or any value occurring within a specified range of values. (Chuah: Fig. 14A-14J (We’ll have you take panoramas from the corners of you room [Wingdings font/0xE0] Stand Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Aim Here [Wingdings font/0xE0] Take a panorama”); Col. 81, Ln. 8 through Col. 88, Ln. 14 (FIG. 14E illustrates an example user interface screen related to further beginning the image capture process using panorama paths, upon receiving user consent. For example, the example user interface screen may include an arrow 1410 and a textual cue 1412 related to orienting a field of view of an imaging sensor of the user device at an image capture location associated with the panorama path and defined within the local coordinate frame of the room. As described herein, a sweep starting point, a direction of sweep, and a sweep ending point may be defined and associated with the image capture location. Thus, the arrow 1410 and the textual cue 1412 may guide the user to orient a field of view of the imaging sensor of the user device toward a sweep starting point to capture images at the image capture location, upon receiving user consent. In addition, imaging data captured via an imaging sensor of the user device may be presented via a display of the user device. . . . During sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor, the arrow 1418 may be generated to present a direction of sweep, e.g., left-to-right, as shown in FIG. 14H. In addition, the image capture progress bar or block 1416 may be generated, presented, and updated to indicate progress of image capture during the sweep of the user device at the image capture location, upon receiving user consent. Further, the image capture progress bar or block 1416 and/or the arrow 1418 may be presented with a first size, shape, orientation, thickness, color, transparency, and/or other visual characteristic during successful sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor and corresponding capture of imaging data, e.g., vertical angle or orientation, sweep rate, sweep movement, and/or other aspects of the sweep movement are within acceptable thresholds or ranges, and the image capture progress bar or block 1416 and/or the arrow 1418 may be presented with a second size, shape, orientation, thickness, color, transparency, and/or other visual characteristic during unsuccessful sweep of the field of view of the imaging sensor and corresponding capture of imaging data, e.g., vertical angle or orientation, sweep rate, sweep movement, and/or other aspects of the sweep movement are outside acceptable thresholds or ranges.); Figs 9A-9L); Examiner notes panorama path uses yaw angle.)
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Chuah to the teachings of Anadure is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 10, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein the guiding further comprises:
guiding the user to capture one or more additional images of the user's space by:
guiding the user to one or more additional positions, and (Chuah: Figs. 14A-14P (We’ll have you take panoramas from the corners of you room [Wingdings font/0xE0] Stand Here); Col. 87, Ln. 25 through Col. 90, Ln. 11 (FIG. 14M illustrates an example user interface screen related to continuing the image capture process at an additional (or second) image capture location of the panorama path, upon receiving user consent. For example, the example user interface screen may include a textual cue 1408 (and possibly an arrow, as described herein) related to moving to an additional image capture location associated with the panorama path and defined within the local coordinate frame of the room. In some embodiments, an additional image capture location within the room at which to continue the image capture process may be defined or determined according to a direction or order of traversal during the panorama path generation process. . . . Further, the textual cue 1408 may be presented via the display of the user device to guide the user to move the user device toward the additional image capture location that is generated for presentation at a particular location within the local coordinate frame. For example, the textual cue 1408 may be generated, presented, and updated at a particular location or position associated with the additional image capture location, based on position and orientation data of the user device within the local coordinate frame, and the particular location or position of the additional image capture location within the local coordinate frame. Moreover, the textual cue 1408 may be presented generally closer to the floor of the room (or other surface having identifiable features) in order to avoid tracking loss by the imaging sensor of the user device.; Figs 9A-9L)
at each particular position of the one or more additional positions, guiding the user, when at the particular position, to orient the camera of the mobile device in a specified orientation for the particular position. (Chuah: Figs. 14A-14P); Col. 87, Ln. 25 through Col. 90, Ln. 11 (In addition, the example user interface screen may also include a panorama path traversal progress indicator 1426, which may be generated to present indications related to the number of image capture locations of the panorama path, and to present indications related to progress of traversal and image capture at each of the image capture locations of the panorama path. As shown in FIG. 14M, image capture may be completed at one image capture location, and three additional image capture locations of the panorama path may remain to be completed, upon receiving user consent. With respect to the additional (or second) image capture location described with respect to FIG. 14M, the various steps, processes, and operations described herein with respect to FIGS. 14B-14L may be substantially repeated in order to traverse to the additional image capture location, orient a field of view of an imaging sensor of the user device at the additional image capture location, and sweep the field of view of the imaging sensor at the additional image capture location to capture imaging data ))
The motivation for applying the known techniques of Chuah to the teachings of Anadure is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of Claim 1.
As per claim 11, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein obtaining the at least one image of a product of the first type in the user's space comprises:
sending, from the mobile device via at least one communication network to at least one computer, (1) the information indicating the position in the user's space at which to place a proxy product model, (2) the information indicating the dimensions for the proxy product model, and (3) the one or more images of the user's space; and (Anadure: Figs. 1-2; [0034]-[0043] (The illustrated environment 100 includes a computing device 102 that is communicatively coupled to a service provider system 104 via a network 106.); Figs. 3-6; [0048]-[0061] (To begin in this example, a computing device 102 of a user captures a live stream of digital images 112 of a physical environment 108, in which, the computing device is disposed through use of a digital camera 110 (block 702). . . In a three dimensional example, the shape may specify a volume, e.g., the area on the surface as well as a height. . . . As a result, the geometric shape augments the user's view of the live stream of digital images 112 captured of the physical environment 108 to appear “as if it is really there.” A user input is also received via the display device 122 as manipulating the geometric shape as part of the live stream of digital images (block 708). The selected shape 204, for instance, may be communicated by the shape selection module 202 to a shape manipulation module 206. The shape manipulation module 206 is representative of functionality of the AR manager module 116 that accepts user inputs to modify a location and/or size of the geometric shape 308, e.g., height, width, depth or other dimensions of the selected geometric shape 408. . . . In one example, the geometric shape 408 is output at the first stage 402 of FIG. 4 along with instructions to “size and positions shape” 410. A user input is received at the second stage 404 to change one or more dimensions of the shape 408 as well as position of the shape within a view of the live stream of digital images 112 in the user interface 120 as captured from the physical environment 108. The user inputs, for instance, may select edges or points along a border of the shape to resize dimensions of the shape via touchscreen functionality of the display device 122. . . . The shape size determination module 210, for instance, may first determine dimensions of the physical environment 108. This may be determined in a variety of ways. In one example, the dimensions of the physical environment 108 are determined from the live stream of digital images 112 based on parallax, e.g., in the object that are closer to the digital camera 110 exhibit greater amounts of movement that objects that are further away from the digital camera 110, e.g., in successive and/or stereoscopic images.))
receiving, by the mobile device via the at least one communication network from the at least one computer, the at least one image of the at least one product of the first type in the user's space. (Anadure: Figs. 1-2; [0034]-[0043] (The illustrated environment 100 includes a computing device 102 that is communicatively coupled to a service provider system 104 via a network 106.); [0046] (FIG. 5 depicts a system 500 in an example implementation of performing a search using the search query generated by the system 200 of FIG. 2. FIG. 6 depicts an example implementation 600 of output of a search result of the search performed in FIG. 5 as augmented reality digital content as part of a live feed of digital images.); Figs. 5-6; [0058]-[0061] (The search input 218, for instance, may include the text used to initiate the sizing technique above, e.g., “kitchen appliances.” The search input 218, along with the size 212, form a search query 216 that is used as a basis to perform a search. . . . The service provider system 104 includes a search manager module 220 that search digital content 124 that relates to kitchen appliances 502 as specified by the search input 218 and that has a size that approximates and/or is less than the size 212 specified by the search query 216, e.g., within a threshold amount such as a defined percentage. This is used to generate a search result 222 that is then communicated back to the computing device 102. . . . In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.))
As per claim 12, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein obtaining the at least one image of the at least one product of the first type in the user's space comprises:
identifying a plurality of candidate product images, the identifying comprising searching a catalog of images of products of the first type to identify images of products whose dimensions are compatible with the dimensions for the proxy product model and which were taken from camera orientations compatible with the camera orientations used to capture the one or more images of the user's space; and (Anadure: [0046] (FIG. 5 depicts a system 500 in an example implementation of performing a search using the search query generated by the system 200 of FIG. 2. FIG. 6 depicts an example implementation 600 of output of a search result of the search performed in FIG. 5 as augmented reality digital content as part of a live feed of digital images.); Figs. 3-6; [0048]-[0061] (Once the dimensions of the physical environment are determined, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 are then determined with respect to those dimensions. Returning again to FIG. 4, for instance, dimensions of the countertop may be determined, and from this, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 as positioned on the countertop based on those dimensions. In this way, the size 212 calculated by the shape size determination module 210 specifies a relationship of the manipulated shape 208 to a view of the physical environment 108 via the live stream of digital images 112 as augmented reality digital content. The size 212 is then communicated from the shape size determination module 210 to a search query generation module 214 to generate a search query 216 that includes a search input 218 and the size 212 (block 712). The search input 218, for instance, may include the text used to initiate the sizing technique above, e.g., “kitchen appliances.” The search input 218, along with the size 212, form a search query 216 that is used as a basis to perform a search. . . . The service provider system 104 includes a search manager module 220 that search digital content 124 that relates to kitchen appliances 502 as specified by the search input 218 and that has a size that approximates and/or is less than the size 212 specified by the search query 216, e.g., within a threshold amount such as a defined percentage. This is used to generate a search result 222 that is then communicated back to the computing device 102. . . . In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.); [0027]-[0031] (User inputs, for instance, may be used to position the geometric shape at a particular location within the view of the physical environment, resize one or more dimensions of the geometric shape, orient the shape, and so forth . . . . Continuing with the previous example, a user may select a rectangular geometric shape. The rectangular geometric shape is then positioned and sized by the user with respect to a view of a countertop, on which, the kitchen appliance that is a subject of a search input is to be placed. A size of the geometric shape (e.g., dimensions) is then used as part of a search query along with text of the search input “kitchen appliance” to locate kitchen appliances that fit those dimensions. Results of the search are then output by the computing device, e.g., as a ranked listing, as augmented reality digital content as replacing the geometric shape, and so forth. A user, for instance, may “swipe through” the search results viewed as augmented reality digital content as part of the live stream of digital images to navigate sequentially through the search results to locate a particular product of interest, which may then be purchased from the service provider system.))
generating one or more product images by compositing one or more of the plurality of candidate product images with at least one of the one or more images of the user's space. (Anadure: Fig. 6; [0060]-[0061] (In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.); [0046] (FIG. 5 depicts a system 500 in an example implementation of performing a search using the search query generated by the system 200 of FIG. 2. FIG. 6 depicts an example implementation 600 of output of a search result of the search performed in FIG. 5 as augmented reality digital content as part of a live feed of digital images.); [0028] (Results of the search are then output by the computing device, e.g., as a ranked listing, as augmented reality digital content as replacing the geometric shape, and so forth. A user, for instance, may “swipe through” the search results viewed as augmented reality digital content as part of the live stream of digital images to navigate sequentially through the search results to locate a particular product of interest, which may then be purchased from the service provider system.))
As per claim 13, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein the identifying comprises searching the catalog of images of products of the first type to identifying images of products whose dimensions are dominated by the dimensions for the proxy product model. (Anadure: [0028] (A size of the geometric shape (e.g., dimensions) is then used as part of a search query along with text of the search input “kitchen appliance” to locate kitchen appliances that fit those dimensions. Results of the search are then output by the computing device, e.g., as a ranked listing, as augmented reality digital content as replacing the geometric shape, and so forth. A user, for instance, may “swipe through” the search results viewed as augmented reality digital content as part of the live stream of digital images to navigate sequentially through the search results to locate a particular product of interest, which may then be purchased from the service provider system.)); [0046] (FIG. 5 depicts a system 500 in an example implementation of performing a search using the search query generated by the system 200 of FIG. 2. FIG. 6 depicts an example implementation 600 of output of a search result of the search performed in FIG. 5 as augmented reality digital content as part of a live feed of digital images.); Figs. 3-6; [0048]-[0061] (Once the dimensions of the physical environment are determined, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 are then determined with respect to those dimensions. Returning again to FIG. 4, for instance, dimensions of the countertop may be determined, and from this, dimensions of the manipulated shape 208 as positioned on the countertop based on those dimensions. In this way, the size 212 calculated by the shape size determination module 210 specifies a relationship of the manipulated shape 208 to a view of the physical environment 108 via the live stream of digital images 112 as augmented reality digital content. The size 212 is then communicated from the shape size determination module 210 to a search query generation module 214 to generate a search query 216 that includes a search input 218 and the size 212 (block 712). The search input 218, for instance, may include the text used to initiate the sizing technique above, e.g., “kitchen appliances.” The search input 218, along with the size 212, form a search query 216 that is used as a basis to perform a search. . . . The service provider system 104 includes a search manager module 220 that search digital content 124 that relates to kitchen appliances 502 as specified by the search input 218 and that has a size that approximates and/or is less than the size 212 specified by the search query 216, e.g., within a threshold amount such as a defined percentage. This is used to generate a search result 222 that is then communicated back to the computing device 102. . . . In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.))
As per claim 14, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein obtaining the at least one image of the at least one product of the first type in the user's space comprises:
obtaining a plurality of images of a plurality of products of the first type in the user's space. (Anadure: [0028] (A size of the geometric shape (e.g., dimensions) is then used as part of a search query along with text of the search input “kitchen appliance” to locate kitchen appliances that fit those dimensions. Results of the search are then output by the computing device, e.g., as a ranked listing, as augmented reality digital content as replacing the geometric shape, and so forth. A user, for instance, may “swipe through” the search results viewed as augmented reality digital content as part of the live stream of digital images to navigate sequentially through the search results to locate a particular product of interest, which may then be purchased from the service provider system.); Figs. 5-6; [0058]-[0061] (In another example 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6, the search result 222 is displayed as augmented reality digital content with the user interface 120 as part of the live stream of digital images 112.))
As per claim 15, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein obtaining the plurality of images comprises:
obtaining at least one webpage comprising the plurality of images. (Anadure: Figs. 5-6; [0040]-[0043]( The digital content 124, for instance, may be configured as thousands and even millions of webpages, each listing a respective item for sale. . . . In order to supplement the search of the digital content 124, the AR digital content 118 is configured in this example to specify a geometric shape of a location in a physical environment 108, at which, a product is to be placed. . . . In this way, a user may quickly navigate through the millions of items of digital content 124 to locate a desired product in an efficient and accurate manner.); [0028])
As per claim 16, Anadure/Chuah/Wu teach wherein the at least one product of the first type comprises an article of furniture, a fixture, an appliance, art, flooring, or wallpaper. (Anadure: Fig. 5 (Kitchen Appliances 502); Fig. 6 (displaying mixer kitchen appliance); [0058]-[0061] (kitchen appliances); [0004]).
As per claims 17 and 18, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to claim 1 and are therefore rejected in the same manner as this claim, as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Delgado (US PGP 2022/0130126) – device provide the user with a prompt to move the user device from side to side or in a panning motion in order to facilitate surface detection, the prompt may be in the form of an animation.
Dryer (US Pat No 11,797,146) -- displaying guides that extend from the first location in the representation of the field of view from which dimensions are determined.
Delgado (US PGP 2022/0157035)—augmented reality display of shoppable products
Wang (US PGP 2020/0379625) – manipulating virtual furniture in augmented reality
Yeap (US PGP 2019/0312985) -- view orientation indicator indicating a position at which the photographer should stand when capturing the missing digital image and the angle at which the missing digital image should be captured
Andersen, Daniel, Peter Villano, and Voicu Popescu. "AR HMD guidance for controlled hand-held 3D acquisition." IEEE transactions on visualization and computer graphics 25.11 (2019): 3073-3082. – 3D reconstruction that uses photos captured through guidance as input
/JENNIFER V LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/Jeffrey A. Smith/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3688