DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 12/9/2025.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 9/22/2025.
Claims 1, 4, 8-11, 17, 19, and 20 have been amended with Claims 1, 19, and 20 independent and Claims 2-3 and 12-16 being cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-11, and 17-20 remain pending for examination.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendments to the claims received on 12/19/2025 in order to overcome objections in prior Office Action. These amendments are acceptable and objections listed in previous Office Action to the claims have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 7-13, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to Claims 1, 19, and 20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose preferential selection among both legacy random access and slice-specific random access, and wherein selection of slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases are met: the terminal device obtains an intended slice, an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice-specific random access, the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access, and the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Here, Agiwal et al. (US 2021/0185733 A1; hereinafter Agiwal) and Lohr et al. (US 2024/0064817 A1; hereinafter Lohr) were relied upon to disclose previously presented dependent claims 2 and 3 which has been incorporated into independent Claims 1, 19, and 20. As provided in the previous office action Agiwal discloses when to select 2-step vs. 4-step random access procedure (¶29-37; Fig. 1-3):
[0029] For certain events such as handover and beam failure recovery, if a dedicated preamble(s) and PUSCH resource(s) are assigned to the UE, during the first step of RA, i.e., during RA resource selection for MSGA transmission, the UE determines whether to transmit the dedicated preamble or a non-dedicated preamble. Dedicated preambles are typically provided for a subset of SSBs/CSI-RSs. If there is no SSB/CSI-RS having a DL RSRP above a threshold among the SSBs/CSI-RSs for which CFRA resources (i.e., dedicated preambles/ROs/PUSCH resources) are provided by the gNB, the UE selects a non-dedicated preamble. Otherwise, the UE selects the dedicated preamble. During the RA procedure, one RA attempt may be 2-step CFRA, while another RA attempt may be 2-step CBRA.
[0030] Upon initiation of an RA procedure, the UE first selects the carrier (i.e., an SUL or NUL). If the carrier to use for the RA procedure is explicitly signaled by the gNB, the UE selects the signaled carrier for performing the RA procedure. If the carrier to use for the RA procedure is not explicitly signaled by the gNB, and if the serving cell for the RA procedure is configured with the SUL and if the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL, then the UE selects the SUL carrier for performing the RA procedure. Otherwise, the UE selects the NUL carrier for performing the RA procedure. Upon selecting the UL carrier, the UE determines the UL and DL BWP for RA procedure as specified in section 5.15 of technical specification (TS) 38.321. The UE then determines whether to perform 2-step or 4-step RA for this RA procedure.
[0031] If this RA procedure is initiated by a PDCCH order and if the ra-PreambleIndex explicitly provided by PDCCH is not 0b000000, the UE selects 4-step RA.
[0032] Otherwise, if 2-step CFRA resources are signaled by the gNB for this RA procedure, the UE selects 2-step RA.
[0033] Otherwise, if 4-step CFRA resources are signaled by the gNB for this RA procedure, the UE selects 4-step RA.
[0034] Otherwise, if the UL BWP selected for this RA procedure is configured with only 2-step RA resources, the UE selects 2-step RA.
[0035] Otherwise, if the UL BWP selected for this RA procedure is configured with only 4-step RA resources, the UE selects 4-step RA.
[0036] Otherwise, if the UL BWP selected for this RA procedure is configured with both 2-step and 4-step RA resources and an RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is below a configured threshold, the UE selects 4-step RA. Otherwise, the UE selects 2-step RA.
Lohr is relied upon to disclose 2-step and 4-step slice-specific RA as well as legacy random access in addition to random access resource partitioning and prioritization in which the UE selects the RACH configuration that matches with the specific slice it wants access to (¶84):
[0078] As an alternative to configuring separate slice-specific RA resources in time/frequency, slice-specific RA resources may be shared with the legacy 4-step or 2-step CBRA resources in time/frequency. In this case the network has to apply proper RA resource partitioning with regards to the preambles and RACH occasions between the legacy and the slice-specific CBRA resources. The advantage of this solution is that no increase of initial UL BWP size may be required. On the other hand, it may negatively impact the UEs not supporting the slice-specific CBRA enhancements as the RA resources for those UEs may be significantly reduced depending on the number of slice configurations. This could result in higher random access collision probability and thus longer latency in accessing the network for those UEs. And further drawbacks may result from signaling of the slice-specific RA resources using S-NSSAI or SST values.
[0079] In order to realize slice-specific RACH configuration the following enhancements to CBRA procedure with regards to RA resource partitioning and prioritization are described:
[0080] Enhancement 1: Implicit signaling of slice-specific RACH configuration. Slice-specific RACH configuration (for RA resource partitioning and prioritization) is signaled in SIB (in an existing SIB or a new SIB) using an implicit approach and per PLMN to support RAN sharing. The UE uses this slice-specific RACH configuration in the initial UL BWP or another UL BWP if a separate UL BWP shall be used for slice-specific random access. For the latter case, the separate UL BWP identity may be signaled by the RAN node in SIB1 as part of e.g., IE BWP-UplinkCommon.
[0081] A new “Slice group identity” is defined for this implicit signaling. This new identifier is allocated by RAN node based on the allowed slices from the UE's context, e.g., allowed S-NSSAI values provided by CN. For instance, upon successful activation of the NAS connection, i.e., transition from CM-Idle to CM-Connected state, the AMF sends the UE context to the RAN including the list of allowed slices (the concerned messages are specified in 3GPP TS 24.501).
[0082] The allocation of allowed S-NSSAI to “Slice group identity” values is left to RAN node configuration or implementation, i.e., it allocates a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI only when the initial access to the corresponding slice shall be prioritized during CBRA procedure.
[0083] The RAN node may configure a mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value to the UE in an RRC message, e.g., the RRC release message, only after activation of AS security. The mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value may be valid for all PLMNs or valid per PLMN sharing the RAN.
[0084] The UE uses the received “Slice group identity” value(s) for initial access from RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE using CBRA resources. The UE selects the RACH configuration that matches with the specific slice it wants to access to. The length of the “Slice group identity” may be 8 bits (with value range from 0 to 255). The maximum number of slice-specific RACH configurations may be limited to e.g., 2, 4, 8 or 16.
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below and altered as required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al. (US 2021/0185733 A1; hereinafter Agiwal) and further in view of Lohr et al. (US 2024/0064817 A1; hereinafter Lohr).
Regarding Claim 1, Agiwal disclose(s):
A random access type selection method, applied to a terminal device, and the method comprising:
In response to a plurality of random access types being configured for the terminal device, prioritizing selection of a first random access type from the plurality of random access types to try to access; [ (See Agiwal ¶ 29-37; Fig. 1-3) ]
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access [ (See Agiwal ¶ 29-37; ¶65-78; Fig. 1-3)
[0030] Upon initiation of an RA procedure, the UE first selects the carrier (i.e., an SUL or NUL). If the carrier to use for the RA procedure is explicitly signaled by the gNB, the UE selects the signaled carrier for performing the RA procedure. If the carrier to use for the RA procedure is not explicitly signaled by the gNB, and if the serving cell for the RA procedure is configured with the SUL and if the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL, then the UE selects the SUL carrier for performing the RA procedure. Otherwise, the UE selects the NUL carrier for performing the RA procedure. Upon selecting the UL carrier, the UE determines the UL and DL BWP for RA procedure as specified in section 5.15 of technical specification (TS) 38.321. The UE then determines whether to perform 2-step or 4-step RA for this RA procedure.
[0031] If this RA procedure is initiated by a PDCCH order and if the ra-PreambleIndex explicitly provided by PDCCH is not 0b000000, the UE selects 4-step RA.
[0032] Otherwise, if 2-step CFRA resources are signaled by the gNB for this RA procedure, the UE selects 2-step RA.
[0033] Otherwise, if 4-step CFRA resources are signaled by the gNB for this RA procedure, the UE selects 4-step RA.
[0034] Otherwise, if the UL BWP selected for this RA procedure is configured with only 2-step RA resources, the UE selects 2-step RA.
[0035] Otherwise, if the UL BWP selected for this RA procedure is configured with only 4-step RA resources, the UE selects 4-step RA.
[0036] Otherwise, if the UL BWP selected for this RA procedure is configured with both 2-step and 4-step RA resources and an RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is below a configured threshold, the UE selects 4-step RA. Otherwise, the UE selects 2-step RA.
[0037] In the 2-step RA procedure, if the RA procedure is not successfully completed even after transmitting the MSGA a configurable number of times (e.g., indicated by a parameter msgATransMax), the UE switches to 4-step RA procedure. The UE performs RA attempts using the 4-step RA resources. If the UE is configured with 2-step CFRA resources, an RA attempt can be a 2-step CBRA or 2-step CFRA during the RA procedure. Switching to 4-step RA will result in not using the configured 2-step CFRA resources which are more efficient than 4-step RA resources. Therefore, an enhanced method is needed.
]
Agiwal does not disclose(s):
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access and slice- specific random access, the legacy random access comprises at least one of 2-step legacy random access or 4-step legacy random access, and the slice-specific random access comprises at least one of 2-step slice-specific random access or 4-step slice-specific random access.
wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the slice-specific random access;
wherein selection of the slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device obtains an intended slice;
an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice- specific random access;
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access; or
the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access.
However Lohr, analogous art also teaching random access procedures, does disclose:
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access and slice- specific random access, the legacy random access comprises at least one of 2-step legacy random access or 4-step legacy random access, and the slice-specific random access comprises at least one of 2-step slice-specific random access or 4-step slice-specific random access. [ (See Lohr ¶39-42; ¶75-80; Fig. 4)
[0076] FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary Abstract Syntax Notation 1 (“ASN.1”) IE 400 of signaling for separate slice-specific RACH configurations in time and frequency, e.g., which do not overlap with each other in frequency. In some embodiments, the separate slice-specific RACH configurations may be signaled for the initial UL bandwidth part (“BWP”) in SIB1 or new SIB (rachPerSlice-ConfigCommon-r17). Maximum number of slices (maxSlices-r17) may be e.g., 4, 8, 16, and the RACH configuration per slice (IE RachPerSlice-Config-r17) includes a slice identity (sliceId-r17) and RACH configuration for either 4-step or 2-step CBRA (rach-Config-FourStepRA-r17, rach-Config-TwoStepRA-r17). For the slice identity the S-NSSAI values or SST values may be used.
[0078] As an alternative to configuring separate slice-specific RA resources in time/frequency, slice-specific RA resources may be shared with the legacy 4-step or 2-step CBRA resources in time/frequency. In this case the network has to apply proper RA resource partitioning with regards to the preambles and RACH occasions between the legacy and the slice-specific CBRA resources. The advantage of this solution is that no increase of initial UL BWP size may be required. On the other hand, it may negatively impact the UEs not supporting the slice-specific CBRA enhancements as the RA resources for those UEs may be significantly reduced depending on the number of slice configurations. This could result in higher random access collision probability and thus longer latency in accessing the network for those UEs. And further drawbacks may result from signaling of the slice-specific RA resources using S-NSSAI or SST values.
].
wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the slice-specific random access; [
(See Lohr 79-84; ¶94-97; Fig. 5-6)
[0079] In order to realize slice-specific RACH c onfiguration the following enhancements to CBRA procedure with regards to RA resource partitioning and prioritization are described:
[0080] Enhancement 1: Implicit signaling of slice-specific RACH configuration. Slice-specific RACH configuration (for RA resource partitioning and prioritization) is signaled in SIB (in an existing SIB or a new SIB) using an implicit approach and per PLMN to support RAN sharing. The UE uses this slice-specific RACH configuration in the initial UL BWP or another UL BWP if a separate UL BWP shall be used for slice-specific random access. For the latter case, the separate UL BWP identity may be signaled by the RAN node in SIB1 as part of e.g., IE BWP-UplinkCommon.
].
wherein selection of the slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device obtains an intended slice; [See Lohr ¶76-84; Fig. 4-6]
an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice- specific random access; [See Lohr ¶84]
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access; or [See Lohr ¶83]
the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access. [(See Lohr ¶76-84; Fig. 4-6)
[0079] In order to realize slice-specific RACH configuration the following enhancements to CBRA procedure with regards to RA resource partitioning and prioritization are described:
[0080] Enhancement 1: Implicit signaling of slice-specific RACH configuration. Slice-specific RACH configuration (for RA resource partitioning and prioritization) is signaled in SIB (in an existing SIB or a new SIB) using an implicit approach and per PLMN to support RAN sharing. The UE uses this slice-specific RACH configuration in the initial UL BWP or another UL BWP if a separate UL BWP shall be used for slice-specific random access. For the latter case, the separate UL BWP identity may be signaled by the RAN node in SIB1 as part of e.g., IE BWP-UplinkCommon.
[0081] A new “Slice group identity” is defined for this implicit signaling. This new identifier is allocated by RAN node based on the allowed slices from the UE's context, e.g., allowed S-NSSAI values provided by CN. For instance, upon successful activation of the NAS connection, i.e., transition from CM-Idle to CM-Connected state, the AMF sends the UE context to the RAN including the list of allowed slices (the concerned messages are specified in 3GPP TS 24.501).
[0082] The allocation of allowed S-NSSAI to “Slice group identity” values is left to RAN node configuration or implementation, i.e., it allocates a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI only when the initial access to the corresponding slice shall be prioritized during CBRA procedure.
[0083] The RAN node may configure a mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value to the UE in an RRC message, e.g., the RRC release message, only after activation of AS security. The mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value may be valid for all PLMNs or valid per PLMN sharing the RAN.
[0084] The UE uses the received “Slice group identity” value(s) for initial access from RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE using CBRA resources. The UE selects the RACH configuration that matches with the specific slice it wants to access to. The length of the “Slice group identity” may be 8 bits (with value range from 0 to 255). The maximum number of slice-specific RACH configurations may be limited to e.g., 2, 4, 8 or 16.
].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Agiwal with that of Lohr to include slice-specific random access protocol in order to reduce random access collision probability and thus latency in accessing the network, as per Lohr (¶78), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 4, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the slice-specific random access comprising the 2-step slice-specific random access and the 4-step slice-specific random access, the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the 2-step slice-specific random access. [Agiwal discloses selecting 2-step random access according to various criteria (¶46; ¶65-78; Fig. 1A-D). Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)].
Regarding Claim 5, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 4, wherein selection of the 2-step slice-specific random access is prioritized when the following case is met:
a channel quality is greater than or equal to a first threshold value. [(see Agiwal ¶74)
[0074] Otherwise, if the UL BWP selected for this RA procedure is configured with both 2-step and 4-step RA resources and an RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is below a configured threshold, the UE selects 4-step RA. Otherwise, the UE selects 2-step RA.
Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)
]
Regarding Claim 6, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 4, further comprising:
in response to that the access attempt using the 2-step slice-specific random access fails or the maximum number of attempts is reached, selecting a second random access type to try to access. [(See Agiwal ¶37)
[0037] In the 2-step RA procedure, if the RA procedure is not successfully completed even after transmitting the MSGA a configurable number of times (e.g., indicated by a parameter msgATransMax), the UE switches to 4-step RA procedure. The UE performs RA attempts using the 4-step RA resources. If the UE is configured with 2-step CFRA resources, an RA attempt can be a 2-step CBRA or 2-step CFRA during the RA procedure. Switching to 4-step RA will result in not using the configured 2-step CFRA resources which are more efficient than 4-step RA resources. Therefore, an enhanced method is needed.
Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)].
Regarding Claim 7, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 6, wherein the second random access type is the 4- step slice-specific random access. [Agiwal discloses switching to a 4-step procedure (¶37; Fig. 1D/2D/3D). Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)].
Regarding Claim 8, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the 2-step slice-specific random access being not configured, the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the 4-step slice-specific random access. [Agiwal discloses a case where 2-step random access is not configured (¶35). Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)].
Regarding Claim 9, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the legacy random access or the slice-specific 4-step random access when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device is not configured with a resource for the 2-step slice-specific random access; and [Agiwal discloses a case where 4-step random access is selected because 2-step random access is not configured (¶29-37). Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)]
the intended slice of the terminal is not obtained. [Lohr discloses using common CBRA resources for 4-step or 2-step RA configured in the cell since Slice group identities have not been configured yet in the UE (¶99; Fig. 7)]
Regarding Claim 10, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 9, wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the 2-step legacy random access in the legacy random access when at least one of the following cases is met:
the channel quality is greater than or equal to a fourth threshold value; or [Agiwal ¶36]
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the 2-step legacy random access. [Agiwal ¶34]
Regarding Claim 11, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of random access types are selected in a descending order of priority as follows: the 2-step slice-specific random access, the 4-step slice-specific random access, the 2-step legacy random access, and the 4-step legacy random access. [Agiwal discloses selecting 2-step over 4-step in the case that RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is above a threshold (¶36). Lohr discloses selecting slice-specific RA when a UE uses slice-specific RACH configuration (¶80) and otherwise using common CBRA resources when slice group identities have not been configured (¶99)]
Regarding Claim 17, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further configured with at least one set of following threshold values:
a first threshold value used to determine to prioritize selection one of the 2-step slice-specific random access and the 4-step slice-specific random access based on a magnitude relationship between a channel quality and the first threshold value; or [(see Agiwal ¶74). Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)
an eighth threshold value and a ninth threshold value used to determine to prioritize selection one of the 2-step random access and the 4-step random access based on a magnitude relationship between a channel quality and the eighth and ninth threshold values.
Regarding Claim 18, Agiwal and Lohr disclose(s):
The method according to claim 17, wherein the threshold values are:
individually configured for each slice; or, individually configured for each slice group; or, common; [(See Agiwal ¶30; ¶65-78; Fig. 1)
[0030] Upon initiation of an RA procedure, the UE first selects the carrier (i.e., an SUL or NUL). If the carrier to use for the RA procedure is explicitly signaled by the gNB, the UE selects the signaled carrier for performing the RA procedure. If the carrier to use for the RA procedure is not explicitly signaled by the gNB, and if the serving cell for the RA procedure is configured with the SUL and if the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL, then the UE selects the SUL carrier for performing the RA procedure. Otherwise, the UE selects the NUL carrier for performing the RA procedure. Upon selecting the UL carrier, the UE determines the UL and DL BWP for RA procedure as specified in section 5.15 of technical specification (TS) 38.321. The UE then determines whether to perform 2-step or 4-step RA for this RA procedure.
[0078] Step 1: The UE identifies whether CFRA resources are provided by the gNB and whether there is at least one synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB)/channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) having a synchronization signal (SS)-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a threshold among the SSBs/CSI-RSs for which CFRA resources are provided, at operation 111. If CFRA resources are provided by the gNB and there is at least one SSB/CSI-RS having SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above the threshold among the SSBs/CSI-RSs for which CFRA resources are provided, the UE transmits the RA preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion and media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion using the assigned CFRA resources, at operation 112. Otherwise, the UE transmits the RA preamble in the PRACH occasion and MAC PDU in the PUSCH occasion using the contention based random access (CBRA) resources, at operation 113. In an embodiment, it is possible that a valid PUSCH occasion is not available corresponding to a selected SSB/CSI-RS, and in this case, the UE skips transmission of the message A (MSGA) MAC PDU.
]
wherein among the plurality of random access types, 2-step random access is configured with a corresponding maximum number of attempts. [See Agiwal ¶37. Lohr discloses slice-specific 2-step and 4-step random access types (¶75; Fig. 3-5)]
Regarding Claim 19, Agiwal disclose(s):
A terminal device comprising a processor; [ (See Agiwal ¶320; Fig. 4) ]
wherein the processor is configured to, in response to a plurality of random access types being configured for the terminal device, prioritize selection of a first random access type from the plurality of random access types to try to access; [ (See Agiwal ¶ 29-37; Fig. 1-3) ]
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access [ (See Agiwal ¶ 29-37; ¶65-78; Fig. 1-3)]
Agiwal does not disclose(s):
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access and slice- specific random access, the legacy random access comprises at least one of 2-step legacy random access or 4-step legacy random access, and the slice-specific random access comprises at least one of 2-step slice-specific random access or 4-step slice-specific random access.
wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the slice-specific random access;
wherein selection of the slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device obtains an intended slice;
an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice- specific random access;
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access; and
the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access.
However Lohr, analogous art also teaching random access procedures, does disclose:
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access and slice- specific random access, the legacy random access comprises at least one of 2-step legacy random access or 4-step legacy random access, and the slice-specific random access comprises at least one of 2-step slice-specific random access or 4-step slice-specific random access.[ (See Lohr ¶39-42; ¶75-80; Fig. 4)]
wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the slice-specific random access; (See Lohr 79-84; ¶94-97; Fig. 5-6)
[0079] In order to realize slice-specific RACH configuration the following enhancements to CBRA procedure with regards to RA resource partitioning and prioritization are described:
[0080] Enhancement 1: Implicit signaling of slice-specific RACH configuration. Slice-specific RACH configuration (for RA resource partitioning and prioritization) is signaled in SIB (in an existing SIB or a new SIB) using an implicit approach and per PLMN to support RAN sharing. The UE uses this slice-specific RACH configuration in the initial UL BWP or another UL BWP if a separate UL BWP shall be used for slice-specific random access. For the latter case, the separate UL BWP identity may be signaled by the RAN node in SIB1 as part of e.g., IE BWP-UplinkCommon.
].
wherein selection of the slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device obtains an intended slice; [See Lohr ¶76-84; Fig. 4-6]
an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice- specific random access; [See Lohr ¶84]
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access; and[See Lohr ¶83]
the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access. [(See Lohr ¶76-84; Fig. 4-6)
[0079] In order to realize slice-specific RACH configuration the following enhancements to CBRA procedure with regards to RA resource partitioning and prioritization are described:
[0080] Enhancement 1: Implicit signaling of slice-specific RACH configuration. Slice-specific RACH configuration (for RA resource partitioning and prioritization) is signaled in SIB (in an existing SIB or a new SIB) using an implicit approach and per PLMN to support RAN sharing. The UE uses this slice-specific RACH configuration in the initial UL BWP or another UL BWP if a separate UL BWP shall be used for slice-specific random access. For the latter case, the separate UL BWP identity may be signaled by the RAN node in SIB1 as part of e.g., IE BWP-UplinkCommon.
[0081] A new “Slice group identity” is defined for this implicit signaling. This new identifier is allocated by RAN node based on the allowed slices from the UE's context, e.g., allowed S-NSSAI values provided by CN. For instance, upon successful activation of the NAS connection, i.e., transition from CM-Idle to CM-Connected state, the AMF sends the UE context to the RAN including the list of allowed slices (the concerned messages are specified in 3GPP TS 24.501).
[0082] The allocation of allowed S-NSSAI to “Slice group identity” values is left to RAN node configuration or implementation, i.e., it allocates a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI only when the initial access to the corresponding slice shall be prioritized during CBRA procedure.
[0083] The RAN node may configure a mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value to the UE in an RRC message, e.g., the RRC release message, only after activation of AS security. The mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value may be valid for all PLMNs or valid per PLMN sharing the RAN.
[0084] The UE uses the received “Slice group identity” value(s) for initial access from RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE using CBRA resources. The UE selects the RACH configuration that matches with the specific slice it wants to access to. The length of the “Slice group identity” may be 8 bits (with value range from 0 to 255). The maximum number of slice-specific RACH configurations may be limited to e.g., 2, 4, 8 or 16.
].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Agiwal with that of Lohr to include slice-specific random access protocol in order to reduce random access collision probability and thus latency in accessing the network, as per Lohr (¶78), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 20, Agiwal disclose(s):
A network device comprising a transceiver; [ (See Agiwal ¶320; Fig. 4) ]
wherein the transceiver is configured to send random access configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the random access configuration information is used to configure a plurality of random access types for the terminal device to select from, and the terminal device is used to prioritize selection of a first random access type from the plurality of random access types to try to access; [ (See Agiwal ¶ 29-37; ¶320 Fig. 3-4) ]
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access [ (See Agiwal ¶ 29-37; ¶65-78; Fig. 1-3)]
wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the slice-specific random access;
wherein selection of the slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device obtains an intended slice;
an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice- specific random access;
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access; and
the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access.
Agiwal does not disclose(s):
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access and slice- specific random access, the legacy random access comprises at least one of 2-step legacy random access or 4-step legacy random access, and the slice-specific random access comprises at least one of 2-step slice-specific random access or 4-step slice-specific random access.
wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the slice-specific random access;
wherein selection of the slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device obtains an intended slice;
an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice- specific random access;
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access; and
the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access.
However Lohr, analogous art also teaching random access procedures, does disclose:
wherein the plurality of random access types comprise legacy random access and slice- specific random access, the legacy random access comprises at least one of 2-step legacy random access or 4-step legacy random access, and the slice-specific random access comprises at least one of 2-step slice-specific random access or 4-step slice-specific random access. [(See Lohr ¶39-42; ¶75-80; Fig. 4)]
wherein the first random access type which is prioritized to be selected is the slice-specific random access; [
(See Lohr 79-84; ¶94-97; Fig. 5-6)
[0079] In order to realize slice-specific RACH configuration the following enhancements to CBRA procedure with regards to RA resource partitioning and prioritization are described:
[0080] Enhancement 1: Implicit signaling of slice-specific RACH configuration. Slice-specific RACH configuration (for RA resource partitioning and prioritization) is signaled in SIB (in an existing SIB or a new SIB) using an implicit approach and per PLMN to support RAN sharing. The UE uses this slice-specific RACH configuration in the initial UL BWP or another UL BWP if a separate UL BWP shall be used for slice-specific random access. For the latter case, the separate UL BWP identity may be signaled by the RAN node in SIB1 as part of e.g., IE BWP-UplinkCommon.
].
wherein selection of the slice-specific random access is prioritized when at least one of the following cases is met:
the terminal device obtains an intended slice; (See Lohr ¶76-84; Fig. 4-6)
an intended slice of the terminal device is the same as a slice corresponding to the slice- specific random access; [See Lohr ¶84]
the terminal device is configured with a resource for the slice-specific random access; and [See Lohr ¶83]
the terminal device supports the slice-specific random access. [(See Lohr ¶76-84; Fig. 4-6)
[0079] In order to realize slice-specific RACH configuration the following enhancements to CBRA procedure with regards to RA resource partitioning and prioritization are described:
[0080] Enhancement 1: Implicit signaling of slice-specific RACH configuration. Slice-specific RACH configuration (for RA resource partitioning and prioritization) is signaled in SIB (in an existing SIB or a new SIB) using an implicit approach and per PLMN to support RAN sharing. The UE uses this slice-specific RACH configuration in the initial UL BWP or another UL BWP if a separate UL BWP shall be used for slice-specific random access. For the latter case, the separate UL BWP identity may be signaled by the RAN node in SIB1 as part of e.g., IE BWP-UplinkCommon.
[0081] A new “Slice group identity” is defined for this implicit signaling. This new identifier is allocated by RAN node based on the allowed slices from the UE's context, e.g., allowed S-NSSAI values provided by CN. For instance, upon successful activation of the NAS connection, i.e., transition from CM-Idle to CM-Connected state, the AMF sends the UE context to the RAN including the list of allowed slices (the concerned messages are specified in 3GPP TS 24.501).
[0082] The allocation of allowed S-NSSAI to “Slice group identity” values is left to RAN node configuration or implementation, i.e., it allocates a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI only when the initial access to the corresponding slice shall be prioritized during CBRA procedure.
[0083] The RAN node may configure a mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value to the UE in an RRC message, e.g., the RRC release message, only after activation of AS security. The mapping of a “Slice group identity” to an allowed S-NSSAI value may be valid for all PLMNs or valid per PLMN sharing the RAN.
[0084] The UE uses the received “Slice group identity” value(s) for initial access from RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE using CBRA resources. The UE selects the RACH configuration that matches with the specific slice it wants to access to. The length of the “Slice group identity” may be 8 bits (with value range from 0 to 255). The maximum number of slice-specific RACH configurations may be limited to e.g., 2, 4, 8 or 16.
].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Agiwal with that of Lohr to include slice-specific random access protocol in order to reduce random access collision probability and thus latency in accessing the network, as per Lohr (¶78), with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468