Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 21-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al. US 2020/0404305
Ye discloses:
1. and under similar/complementary rationales 11, 25. An image decoding method, comprising: determining a syntax element of a current block (0105-0112 0166-72); performing inter prediction on the current block using the syntax element, wherein the syntax element of the current block is determined based on information of a plurality of reference blocks which are adjacent to the current block, the plurality of reference blocks comprise at least a first reference block, a second reference block and a third reference block, and the syntax element of the current block is determined using both a first syntax element of the first reference block and a second syntax element of the second reference block in a case that a third syntax element of the third reference block is unavailable (0105-0112 0166-72; Fig. 8).
In regard to claim 24-28, it is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a bitstream generated by acts. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is NOT implementing any actual method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a series of acts. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant therefore seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream comprising video information) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, the identified claim and any claims depending therefrom are directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by a series of acts) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. Therefore, the claim is anticipated by
LG, which discloses
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information generated by acts (0210)
10. and 22 and 27. The method of claim 7, wherein the plurality of reference blocks are determined to be at least three among a top left neighboring block, a top neighboring block, a top right neighboring block, a bottom left neighboring block, a bottom neighboring block, and a temporally corresponding block (0105-0112 0166-72; Fig. 8).
21. 23. And 28. The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a value of the syntax element of the current block is determined using both a value of the first syntax element of the first reference block and a value of the second syntax element of the second reference block (0105-0112 0166-72; Fig. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8, 9, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of KR 101561461 Kyung Hee university from IDS translation attached and further in view of KR20180059444 Lg electronics from IDS hereinafter LG2 translation in parent.
8. 18, The method of claim 1,
Ye does not explicitly disclose the following, however LG2 teaches wherein the syntax element of the current block includes information on an adaptive motion vector resolution of the current block. (0092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to coding efficiency may be increased by adaptively adjusting a range or resolution of a motion vector (LG2 0092)
9. 19 and 26. The method of claim 1,
Ye does not explicitly disclose the following, however LG2 teaches wherein the syntax element of the current block includes an interpolation filter index used to determine an interpolation filter coefficient for the current block. (0086; 0092).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to coding efficiency may be increased by adaptively adjusting a range or resolution of a motion vector (LG2 0092)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2483