DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 251-295 are currently pending in this US patent application and were examined on their merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed in this application on 10/12/2024 and 10/08/2025 have been received and considered.
Claim Interpretation
Multiple claims recite limitations of the recited endophyte strains based on being “selected” for various properties (see claims 254, 257-259, 268-270, 280, and 282-284). The claims do not require any level of the various properties or any particular “selection” step. As such, any strains that meet the other structural requirements of the instant claims will be interpreted to be “selected” for the properties recited in the claims as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 252, 257, 268, 278, 282, and 293 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 252, 257, 268, 278, and 282 recite co-fermenting the recited strains in a “nitrogen limited” medium or selecting strains based on a “nitrogen limited” medium. The instant disclosure provides several examples of “nitrogen limited” media but does not explicitly define this term of degree. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine the metes and bounds of claims 252, 257, 268, 278, and 282 because it is not clear what concentrations of nitrogen in the medium would qualify as “nitrogen limited” and what concentrations would not be “nitrogen limited.” Therefore, claims 252, 257, 268, 278, and 282 are indefinite.
Claim 293 depends from claim 1, which has been canceled. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine the metes and bounds of claim 293, rendering it indefinite.
Therefore, claims 252, 257, 268, 278, 282, and 293 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted a “nitrogen limited” medium as recited in the instant claims to contain any level of nitrogen. The Examiner has interpreted claim 293 to depend from claim 251.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 266-271 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doty et al., Symbiosis 47: 23-33 (2009).
Doty teaches isolating endophytes from willow (Salix sitchensis) cuttings (see entire document, including page 24, right column, paragraph 3). Among the endophytes isolated were strains WW5, WW6, and WW7 (page 25, Table 1; reads on claim 266; Doty is an inventor of the instant application, and page 3 of the instant specification as filed indicates that strains WW5, WW6, and WW7 isolated from Salix sitchensis are of the species Sphingobium sp., Pseudomonas siliginis, and Curtobacterium salicaceae, respectively). Isolated endophytes were grown on a nitrogen-free medium containing phosphate buffer, nutrients, and 1% sucrose (page 25, right column, paragraph 1; reads on claims 266-271; see above under Claim Interpretation for the Examiner’s interpretation of strains “selected for” particular properties).
As such, claims 266-271 are anticipated by Doty and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 251-295 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2022/0142170 filed by Ambrose et al., published 05/22/2022, in view of Doty et al., Symbiosis 47: 23-33 (2009), and Rozahon et al., Int. J. System. Evol. Microbiol 64: 3215-3221 (2014).
Ambrose teaches methods of improving plant characteristics by introducing fungal endophytes to the plants (see entire document, including paragraph 0003). The endophyte composition may contain bacteria of genera including Bacillus, Curtobacterium, Pseudomonas, Rhizobium, and Sphingomonas (paragraph 0110). The complex endophyte may be cultured on a culture medium (paragraph 0123; cf. claims 251-252, 257-259, 261-262, 264, 266, 268-270, 275, 277-278, 280, 282-284, 288, and 292). The endophyte composition may be added as a coating onto seeds prior to planting and may be applied to the seeds and allowed to dry (paragraphs 0222 and 0246; cf. claims 277 and 289-290). The composition may be prepared as a microencapsulated particle (paragraph 0224; cf. claim 265). The composition may contain alginate (paragraph 0226), desiccants such as mannitol (paragraph 0229), and nutrient additives (paragraph 0231; cf. claims 255-256, 260, 266-267, 271, 276, 281, and 285). In one embodiment, the composition contains between 106 and 107 CFU/mL (paragraph 0238; cf. claims 253, 279, and 293-295).
However, Ambrose does not teach that the Curtobacterium, Pseudomonas, Rhizobium, and Sphingomonas strains in the endophyte composition are the ones recited in instant claim 251.
Doty teaches isolating endophytes from willow (Salix sitchensis) cuttings (see entire document, including page 24, right column, paragraph 3). Among the endophytes isolated were strains WW5, WW6, and WW7 (page 25, Table 1; cf. claims 251, 261-263, 266, 272-274, 277, and 286-287; Doty is an inventor of the instant application, and page 3 of the instant specification as filed indicates that strains WW5, WW6, and WW7 isolated from Salix sitchensis are of the species Sphingobium sp., Pseudomonas siliginis, and Curtobacterium salicaceae, respectively; page 11 of the instant specification as filed indicates that strains WW5, WW6, and WW7 make iron siderophore compounds as recited in instant claim 263).
Rozahon teaches that Rhizobium populi is a nitrogen-fixing, plant growth-promoting bacterium isolated from Populus euphratica trees (see entire document, including page 3215, abstract and left column, paragraph 1; cf. claims 251, 261-262, 266, 272-274, 277, and 286-287).
While Ambrose does not teach that the Curtobacterium, Pseudomonas, Rhizobium, and Sphingomonas strains in the endophyte composition are Sphingobium sp. WW5, Pseudomonas siliginis, Curtobacterium salicaceae, and Rhizobium populi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the WW5, WW6, and WW7 of Doty as the Sphingomonas, Pseudomonas, and Curtobacterium strains of Ambrose because Doty teaches that all of these microbes are endophytes isolated from plants. Similarly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the Rhizobium populi of Rozahon as the Rhizobium microbe in the endophyte composition of Ambrose because Rozahon teaches that Rhizobium populi is a nitrogen-fixing, plant growth-promoting bacterium isolated from Populus euphratica trees. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that using the strains of Doty and Rozahon in the endophyte composition of Ambrose would successfully result in the production of an endophyte composition that can improve plant characteristics.
Ambrose, Doty, and Rozahon do not teach that the endophyte composition contains the amounts recited in instant claims 293-295. However, the instantly recited amounts would be within the realm of routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 part II A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants' invention was made to determine all operable and optimal concentrations of the endophyte strains in the composition of Ambrose, Doty, and Rozahon because the concentrations of endophyte strains in a composition applied to plants are art-recognized, result-effective variables known to affect the characteristics of the plant to which the endophyte composition is applied, which would have been optimized in the art to provide the desired enhancement in plant characteristics.
Therefore, claims 251-295 are rendered obvious by Ambrose in view of Doty and Rozahon and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation…103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions……the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Erin M. Bowers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653 02/06/2026