This office action is in response to remarks filed on 11/10/2025.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-19 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 9, 16, and 18 are amended. Claims 2, 10, and 20 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
Objection to claim 9 is withdrawn based on amendments to this claim.
Claims 1, 9, 16, and 18 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 12. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeine et al (US11025080B2) (hereinafter "Zeine") in view of Li et al (US20220021240A1) (hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 1, Zeine discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a sensor, a plurality signals broadcast at a plurality of frequencies (Col. 5, Ln. 25-28: The wireless power receiver clients 102a-102n and/or the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to operate in a multipath wireless power delivery environment.), each signal of the plurality of signals broadcast at a different frequency of the plurality of frequencies (Col. 4, Ln. 59-62: In some embodiments, the data communication antennas can communicate via Bluetooth™, Wi-Fi™, ZigBee™, etc. Other data communication protocols are also possible.),
converting a first signal of the plurality of signals to a current; and (Col. 13, Ln. 5-11: The passive energy harvesting component 630 is adapted to harvest passive RF energy, convert the energy to DC power, and store the DC power in the energy storage device 650. As discussed herein, the passive energy harvesting component 630 harvests ambient RF energy (e.g., Wi-Fi, cellular, etc.) to trickle charge the energy storage device 650 with minimal or no power usage.)
energizing the sensor using the current (Col. 10, Ln. 36-37: An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly. Col. 9, Ln. 42-45: The rectifier 450 receives the combined power transmission signal from the combiner 455, if present, which is fed through the power meter 440 to the battery 420 for charging. Col. 9, Ln. 65-37 and Col. 10, Ln. 1: It may be noted that, although the battery 420 is shown as charged by, and providing power to, the wireless power receiver client 400, the receiver may also receive its power directly from the rectifier 450.).
Zeine fails to disclose a method comprising: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz.
However, Li discloses a method comprising: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz ([0057] The energy harvesting antennas A2 can receive the microwaves in a RF frequency band (the RF frequency band may be, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz; the RF frequency band may also be 900 MHz or other proper frequency bands), piezoelectric energy, thermoelectric energy or other energies, and convert the energy into a low voltage. Then, the voltage transformation module 21 can adjust the low voltage by a first boosting stage in order to charge the energy converting and storage unit C.).
Zeine and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zeine with Li to create a method comprising: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide energy to remote sensors operating in the Wi-Fi band.
Regarding claim 3, Zeine fails to disclose the method, wherein the first signal is in the range of 2.4 GHz and 2.6 GHz.
However, Li discloses the method, wherein the first signal is in the range of 2.4 GHz and 2.6 GHz ([0057] The energy harvesting antennas A2 can receive the microwaves in a RF frequency band (the RF frequency band may be, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz; the RF frequency band may also be 900 MHz or other proper frequency bands), piezoelectric energy, thermoelectric energy or other energies, and convert the energy into a low voltage. Then, the voltage transformation module 21 can adjust the low voltage by a first boosting stage in order to charge the energy converting and storage unit C.).
Zeine and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zeine with Li to create the method, wherein the first signal is in the range of 2.4 GHz and 2.6 GHz.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide energy to remote sensors operating in the Wi-Fi band.
Regarding claim 4, Zeine discloses the method, further comprising establishing a communication channel with a network core via a base station, the communication channel utilizing a second signal of the plurality of signals as a downlink (Col. 6, Ln. 9-14: Initially, communication is established between the wireless power transmission system 101 and the power receiver client 103. The initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101.).
Regarding claim 5, Zeine discloses the method, further comprising transmitting a data packet via the communication channel (Col. 4, Ln. 43-46: the wireless power transmission system 101 can have an embedded Wi-Fi hub for data communications via one or more antennas or transceivers. Col. 8, Ln. 7-12: wireless power receiver clients can access, track and/or otherwise obtain IoT information about the device in which the wireless power receiver client is embedded and provide that IoT information to the wireless power transmission system 300 over a data connection.).
Regarding claim 6, Zeine discloses the method, wherein the data packet comprises a quantification of the current transmitted to the remote device as a measure of power (Col. 8, Ln. 62-67 and Col. 9, Ln. 1-2: the MBC can also identify and/or otherwise select available clients that will have their status queried in the Client Query Table (CQT). Clients that are placed in the CQT are those on “standby”, e.g., not receiving a charge. The BBS and PS are calculated based on vital information about the clients such as, for example, battery status, current activity/usage, how much longer the client has until it runs out of power, priority in terms of usage, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Zeine discloses the method, further comprising charging a battery electrically coupled to the remote Sensor (Col. 8, Ln. 7-12: wireless power receiver clients can access, track and/or otherwise obtain IoT information about the device in which the wireless power receiver client is embedded and provide that IoT information to the wireless power transmission system 300 over a data connection. Col. 10, Ln. 36-37: An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly. Col. 9, Ln. 42-45: The rectifier 450 receives the combined power transmission signal from the combiner 455, if present, which is fed through the power meter 440 to the battery 420 for charging. Col. 9, Ln. 65-37 and Col. 10, Ln. 1: It may be noted that, although the battery 420 is shown as charged by, and providing power to, the wireless power receiver client 400, the receiver may also receive its power directly from the rectifier 450.)
Regarding claim 9, Zeine discloses a system comprising:
a remote sensor (Col. 10, Ln. 36-40: An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly. For example, a device receiving power may integrate motion detection mechanisms such as accelerometers or equivalent mechanisms to detect motion.) including at least one Antenna (Col. 9, Ln. 19-21: the receiver 400 includes control logic 410, battery 420, an IoT control module 425, communication block 430 and associated antenna 470) communicatively coupled to a rectifier circuit (Col. 9, Ln. 19-21: the receiver 400 includes control logic 410, battery 420, an IoT control module 425, communication block 430 and associated antenna 470, power meter 440, rectifier 450);
computer readable memory storing instructions that when executed by the remote Sensor cause the remote sensor device to perform operations including (Col. 16, Ln. 26-33: FIG. 13 depicts a diagrammatic representation of a machine, in the example form, of a computer system within which a set of instructions, for causing the machine to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein, may be executed. In the example of FIG. 13, the computer system includes a processor, memory, non-volatile memory, and an interface device):
receiving, via the at least one antenna, a plurality signals broadcast at a plurality of frequencies (Col. 5, Ln. 25-28: The wireless power receiver clients 102a-102n and/or the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to operate in a multipath wireless power delivery environment.), each signal of the plurality of signals broadcast at a different frequency of the plurality of frequencies (Col. 4, Ln. 59-62: In some embodiments, the data communication antennas can communicate via Bluetooth™, Wi-Fi™, ZigBee™, etc. Other data communication protocols are also possible.);
converting, via the rectifier, a first signal of the plurality of signals to a current; and transmitting the current to a remote device (Col. 13, Ln. 5-11: The passive energy harvesting component 630 is adapted to harvest passive RF energy, convert the energy to DC power, and store the DC power in the energy storage device 650. As discussed herein, the passive energy harvesting component 630 harvests ambient RF energy (e.g., Wi-Fi, cellular, etc.) to trickle charge the energy storage device 650 with minimal or no power usage.).
Zeine fails to disclose a system comprising: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz.
However, Li discloses a system comprising: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz ([0057] The energy harvesting antennas A2 can receive the microwaves in a RF frequency band (the RF frequency band may be, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz; the RF frequency band may also be 900 MHz or other proper frequency bands), piezoelectric energy, thermoelectric energy or other energies, and convert the energy into a low voltage. Then, the voltage transformation module 21 can adjust the low voltage by a first boosting stage in order to charge the energy converting and storage unit C.).
Zeine and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zeine with Li to create a system comprising: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide energy to remote sensors operating in the Wi-Fi band.
Regarding claim 11, Zeine fails to disclose the system, wherein the first signal is in the range of 2.4 GHz and 2.6 GHz.
However, Li discloses the system, wherein the first signal is in the range of 2.4 GHz and 2.6 GHz ([0057] The energy harvesting antennas A2 can receive the microwaves in a RF frequency band (the RF frequency band may be, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz; the RF frequency band may also be 900 MHz or other proper frequency bands), piezoelectric energy, thermoelectric energy or other energies, and convert the energy into a low voltage. Then, the voltage transformation module 21 can adjust the low voltage by a first boosting stage in order to charge the energy converting and storage unit C.).
Zeine and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zeine with Li to create the system, wherein the first signal is in the range of 2.4 GHz and 2.6 GHz.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide energy to remote sensors operating in the Wi-Fi band.
Regarding claim 12, Zeine discloses the system, wherein the operations further include establishing a communication channel with a network core via a base station, the communication channel utilizing a second signal of the plurality of signals as a downlink (Col. 6, Ln. 9-14: Initially, communication is established between the wireless power transmission system 101 and the power receiver client 103. The initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101.).
Regarding claim 13, Zeine discloses the system, wherein the operations further include establishing a communication channel with a network core via a base station, the communication channel utilizing a second signal of the plurality of signals as a downlink (Col. 6, Ln. 9-14: Initially, communication is established between the wireless power transmission system 101 and the power receiver client 103. The initial communication can be, for example, a data communication link that is established via one or more antennas 104 of the wireless power transmission system 101.).
Regarding claim 14, Zeine discloses the system, wherein the operations further include transmitting a data packet via the communication channel (Col. 4, Ln. 43-46: the wireless power transmission system 101 can have an embedded Wi-Fi hub for data communications via one or more antennas or transceivers. Col. 8, Ln. 7-12: wireless power receiver clients can access, track and/or otherwise obtain IoT information about the device in which the wireless power receiver client is embedded and provide that IoT information to the wireless power transmission system 300 over a data connection.).
Regarding claim 16, Zeine discloses the system, wherein the system further comprises a battery electrically coupled to the remote sensor ((Col. 8, Ln. 7-12: wireless power receiver clients can access, track and/or otherwise obtain IoT information about the device in which the wireless power receiver client is embedded and provide that IoT information to the wireless power transmission system 300 over a data connection. Col. 10, Ln. 36-37: An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly. Col. 9, Ln. 42-45: The rectifier 450 receives the combined power transmission signal from the combiner 455, if present, which is fed through the power meter 440 to the battery 420 for charging. Col. 9, Ln. 65-37 and Col. 10, Ln. 1: It may be noted that, although the battery 420 is shown as charged by, and providing power to, the wireless power receiver client 400, the receiver may also receive its power directly from the rectifier 450.).
Regarding claim 17, Zeine discloses the system, further comprising charging the battery (Col. 9, Ln. 42-45: The rectifier 450 receives the combined power transmission signal from the combiner 455, if present, which is fed through the power meter 440 to the battery 420 for charging.).
Regarding claim 18, Zeine discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to:
receive, by a Sensor, a plurality signals broadcast at a plurality of frequencies (Col. 5, Ln. 25-28: The wireless power receiver clients 102a-102n and/or the wireless power transmission systems 101a-101n are configured to operate in a multipath wireless power delivery environment.), each signal of the plurality of signals broadcast at a different frequency of the plurality of frequencies (Col. 4, Ln. 59-62: In some embodiments, the data communication antennas can communicate via Bluetooth™, Wi-Fi™, ZigBee™, etc. Other data communication protocols are also possible.);
convert a first signal of the plurality of signals to a current (Col. 13, Ln. 5-11: The passive energy harvesting component 630 is adapted to harvest passive RF energy, convert the energy to DC power, and store the DC power in the energy storage device 650. As discussed herein, the passive energy harvesting component 630 harvests ambient RF energy (e.g., Wi-Fi, cellular, etc.) to trickle charge the energy storage device 650 with minimal or no power usage.);
and energize the Sensor using the current (Col. 10, Ln. 36-37: An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly. Col. 9, Ln. 42-45: The rectifier 450 receives the combined power transmission signal from the combiner 455, if present, which is fed through the power meter 440 to the battery 420 for charging. Col. 9, Ln. 65-37 and Col. 10, Ln. 1: It may be noted that, although the battery 420 is shown as charged by, and providing power to, the wireless power receiver client 400, the receiver may also receive its power directly from the rectifier 450.).
Zeine fails to disclose the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz.
However, Li discloses the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz ([0057] The energy harvesting antennas A2 can receive the microwaves in a RF frequency band (the RF frequency band may be, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz; the RF frequency band may also be 900 MHz or other proper frequency bands), piezoelectric energy, thermoelectric energy or other energies, and convert the energy into a low voltage. Then, the voltage transformation module 21 can adjust the low voltage by a first boosting stage in order to charge the energy converting and storage unit C.).
Zeine and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of remote sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zeine with Li to create the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to: wherein the plurality of frequencies are in the range of 2.1 GHz and 86 GHz.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide energy to remote sensors operating in the Wi-Fi band.
Regarding claim 19, Zeine discloses the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the instructions further configure the computer to charge a battery electrically coupled to the remote Sensor (Col. 8, Ln. 7-12: wireless power receiver clients can access, track and/or otherwise obtain IoT information about the device in which the wireless power receiver client is embedded and provide that IoT information to the wireless power transmission system 300 over a data connection. Col. 10, Ln. 36-37: An optional motion sensor 495 can detect motion and signal the control logic 410 to act accordingly. Col. 9, Ln. 42-45: The rectifier 450 receives the combined power transmission signal from the combiner 455, if present, which is fed through the power meter 440 to the battery 420 for charging. Col. 9, Ln. 65-37 and Col. 10, Ln. 1: It may be noted that, although the battery 420 is shown as charged by, and providing power to, the wireless power receiver client 400, the receiver may also receive its power directly from the rectifier 450.).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeine in view of Li as applied to claims 1, 9, or 18 above, and further in view of Gunter et al (US12107644B1) (hereinafter "Gunter").
Regarding claim 7, Zeine, as modified by Li, fails to disclose the method, wherein the data packet comprises at least one of temperature data, precipitation data, wind speed data, wind direction data, or atmospheric pressure data.
However, Gunter discloses the method, wherein the data packet comprises at least one of temperature data, precipitation data, wind speed data, wind direction data, or atmospheric pressure data (Col. 5, Ln. 1-4: the invention is a vehicle-roadway interface for power and data exchange with roadway sensors system for use on a roadway or a road surface with at least one vehicle … Col. 5, Ln. 13-18: a power emitting antenna providing a direct wireless beacon power source to a power harvesting antenna of each of the plurality of passive roadway-based beacons during interactive close proximity between the at least one equipped vehicle and each of the plurality of passive roadway-based beacons … Col. 5, Ln. 44-45: the at least one beacon data packet having the temperature data, the moisture data).
Zeine, as modified by Li, and Gunter are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless power and data exchange.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zeine, as modified by Li, with Gunter to create the method, wherein the data packet comprises at least one of temperature data, precipitation data, wind speed data, wind direction data, or atmospheric pressure data.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a means of powering remote low-power and low-data usage devices.
Regarding claim 15, Zeine, as modified by Li, fails to disclose the system, wherein the data packet comprises at least one of temperature data, precipitation data, wind speed data, wind direction data, or atmospheric pressure data.
However, Gunter discloses the system, wherein the data packet comprises at least one of temperature data, precipitation data, wind speed data, wind direction data, or atmospheric pressure data (Col. 5, Ln. 1-4: the invention is a vehicle-roadway interface for power and data exchange with roadway sensors system for use on a roadway or a road surface with at least one vehicle … Col. 5, Ln. 13-18: a power emitting antenna providing a direct wireless beacon power source to a power harvesting antenna of each of the plurality of passive roadway-based beacons during interactive close proximity between the at least one equipped vehicle and each of the plurality of passive roadway-based beacons … Col. 5, Ln. 44-45: the at least one beacon data packet having the temperature data, the moisture data).
Zeine, as modified by Li, and Gunter are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless power and data exchange.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zeine, as modified by Li, with Gunter to create the system, wherein the data packet comprises at least one of temperature data, precipitation data, wind speed data, wind direction data, or atmospheric pressure data.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a means of powering remote low-power and low-data usage devices.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 13, the Applicant's remarks (pg. 1) states "Additionally, Applicant has cancelled claim 13. Applicant respectfully requests that these objections be withdrawn in view of the clarifying amendment and the recommended cancellation." However, the claims filed on 11/10/2025 do not indicate any changes or deletion for claim 13. For purposes of examination, the claim presented on 11/10/2025 will be entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 18, and their associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419