DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 5/11/26. Accordingly the application has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2,5-6,8-14,16-17 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 now recites “a waterproofing element” where “the waterproofing element comprises a planar member defining a lower surface” and “further comprises at least one abutment feature extending from the lower surface of the planar member at or adjacent a first end thereof configured for abutment with a roof batten” and then recites “a located and waterproofing device” and “the device having a short edge which is dimensioned to rest against and be secured to a batten; and a long edge whose upper portion rests on an upper surface of the batten and whose lower portion rests on a lower slate or stone”. As best understood from figure 13 (the elected embodiment) and the specification at pages 15-16, the system has batten and a single element, the element includes the short edge and long edge. The claims recite two separate structures and two separate battens. It is unclear how the system has both a waterproofing element with an abutment feature for abutment with a batten and a locating and waterproofing device with a short and long edge to be secured to a separate batten. It is unclear how the abutment feature of the element is different than the short and long edge of the device. It is unclear if the “a batten” at line 11 is the same as or in addition to the “a roof batten” in line 8, causing confusion regarding the scope of the claimed invention. The claim does not appear consistent with the disclosure and elected embodiment. As best understood the system of claim 1 comprises a waterproofing element comprising a planar member with a lower surface, at least one abutment feature, and has a short and long edge for abutment with a batten. This is how the claim will be interpreted. Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites “including a locating and waterproofing device” and then recites “comprising: installing a waterproofing element”. The claim further recites “resting a short edge of the locating and waterproofing device against a batten and securing the locating and waterproofing device to the batten” and “a long edge of the locating and waterproofing device rests on an upper surface of the batten”. It is unclear if the short and long edge of the device are the same as or in addition to the “at least one abutment feature extending from the lower surface of the planar member… configured for abutment with a roof batten”. It is unclear if the waterproofing element is the same as or in addition to the locating and waterproofing device causing confusion regarding the scope of the claimed invention (see similar note in claim 1 above). The specification and figure 13 describe and depict only a single element not two separate element and device. Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,5,6,8,9,11-14,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibbs (6052961) in view of Williams (20130160388).
Claim 1. Gibbs discloses a roof mounting system comprising:
A waterproofing element (any of the embodiments of 16) composed of water-impermeable material (where it can be plastic as noted at col. 15, lines 25-35, the embodiment of figure 49 where pan 16 is plastic and/or where it is disclosed at least at col. 5 where the pan 16 creates a barrier so water does not penetrate), in which the waterproofing element comprises a planar member defining a lower surface (as seen in the figures) that is positioned adjacent upper surfaces of a pair of adjacent roof tiles or slabs (as seen in the figures) and extending across a join provided therebetween to prevent water ingress therethrough, the waterproofing element further comprises at least one abutment feature (generally 26/28 or as otherwise marked in the various embodiments) extending from the lower surface of the planar member, at or adjacent a first end thereof, configured for abutment with a roof batten (14);
a locating and waterproofing device (26/28 as noted above as best understood based on pages 15-16 of applicants specification and figure 13) is formed from a water impermeable medium (where it can be plastic as noted at col. 15, lines 25-35, the embodiment of figure 49 where pan 16 is plastic and/or where it is disclosed at least at col. 5 where the pan 16 creates a barrier so water does not penetrate), the locating a waterproofing device having a short edge (at 26) which is dimensioned to rest against, and be secured to a batten (14); and a long edge (16/22), whose upper portion rests on an upper surface of the batten (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure) and whose lower portion (at 24) rests on a lower slate or stone (18) and is sandwiched between the lower slate or stone and an upper slate or stone (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure);
wherein a continuous barrier (such as at 26 or 28 and/or as similarly located in the various embodiments including but not limited to 138,366,414,482) is formed along the long edge to provide a water resistant barrier and to create a void between the lower slate or stone and the upper slate or stone (as seen in the figures).
Gibbs does not expressly disclose at least one foam member located on the lower surface of the planar member, the at least one foam member being located at or adjacent an opposed second end of the planar member.
Williams discloses that is known to have foam member (34/36 as noted at paragraph 0037) located at a lower surface of a planar member. Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the planar member to have a foam member located on a lower surface at or adjacent the opposed second end of the planar member to achieve the predictable result of thermal insulation and cushioning to reduce vibrations of the stacked layered assembly of slate or stone roof tiles or slabs.
Claim 2. The roof mounting system according to claim 1 wherein the continuous barrier is formed as a curved corner between the short edge and the long edge (as seen in the figures).
Claim 5. The roof mounting system according to claim 1 wherein a raised portion (such as 50 or 76 or 48 or 126 or 364 or 410 or as noted at col. 7, lines 65-67) is provided on the long edge between the continuous barrier and a tip (the bottom end) of the long edge.
Claim 6. The roof mounting system according to claim 5 wherein the raised portion (as seen in the figures) is an undulation formed integrally with the long edge.
Claim 8. The roof mounting system according to claim 1 wherein a strip (such as 362 or 414 or 126 or 132 or 76) is provided on the long edge (as seen in the various figures).
Claim 9. The roof mounting system according to claim 1 is formed from a synthetic plastics material (where it can be plastic as noted at col. 15, lines 25-35, the embodiment of figure 49 where pan 16 is plastic).
Claims 11-14. Gibbs in view of Williams discloses the roof mounting system according to claim 1 but does not expressly disclose wherein the locating and waterproofing device is provided in a length less than 2.0 m; or
wherein the thickness of the locating and waterproofing device is between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm; or
wherein the length of the short edge is between 1.0 cm and 3.5 cm; or
wherein the length of the long edge is between 20 cm and 60 cm, according to the corresponding variable size of slates being used.
Gibbs is silent regarding the dimensions of the device. However, the device is a for a slate roofing installation. Applicant has not disclosed that the device is provided in a length less than 2.0 m; or
wherein the thickness of the device is between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm; or
wherein the length of the short edge is between 1.0 cm and 3.5 cm; or
wherein the length of the long edge is between 20 cm and 60 cm, according to the corresponding variable size of slates being used, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the device, or applicant' s invention, would perform equally well with a variety of dimensions as noted in applicants disclosure and claims.
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Gibbs such that the device is provided in a length less than 2.0 m; or
wherein the thickness of the device is between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm; or
wherein the length of the short edge is between 1.0 cm and 3.5 cm; or
wherein the length of the long edge is between 20 cm and 60 cm, according to the corresponding variable size of slates being used, to achieve the predictable result of a securely attached device that provides waterproofing and resists undesired separation, because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Gibbs.
Claim 16. Gibbs discloses a method of installing a roof mounting system including a locating and waterproofing device (16 as seen in the various embodiments) comprising:
installing a waterproofing element (16 as in any of the embodiments noted through the figures and disclosure) comprised of water-impermeable material, the waterproofing element comprising a planar member (where 16 includes a planar member) defining a lower surface that is positioned adjacent upper surfaces of a pair of adjacent roof tiles or slabs and extending across a join provided therebetween (as seen in the various embodiments) to prevent water ingress therethough, the waterproofing element further comprising a least one abutment feature (generally 26/28 or as otherwise marked in the various embodiments) extending from the lower surface of the planar member, at or adjacent a first end thereof, configured for abutment with a roof batten;
resting a short edge of the locating and waterproofing device against a batten (14) and securing the locating and waterproofing device to the batten using a securement means (the hook as described at Col. 6, lines 42-49,) so that a long edge of the locating and waterproofing device rests on an upper surface of the batten (as seen in the figures) and so that a lower portion of the locating and waterproofing device rests on a lower slate or stone (18); placing an upper slate or stone (18 as seen in the figures) on the locating and waterproofing device, so that the locating and waterproofing device is sandwiched between the lower slate or stone, wherein
continuous barrier (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure) is formed along the long edge to provide a water resistant barrier, and
a void is created between the lower slate or stone and the upper slate or stone (as seen in the figures).
Gibbs does not expressly disclose the roof mounting system further comprising at least one foam member located on the lower surface of the planar member, the at least one foam member being located at or adjacent and opposed second end of the planar member.
Williams discloses that is known to have foam member (34/36 as noted at paragraph 0037) located at a lower surface of a planar member. Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the planar member to have a foam member located on a lower surface at or adjacent the opposed second end of the planar member to achieve the predictable result of thermal insulation and cushioning to reduce vibrations of the stacked layered assembly of slate or stone roof tiles or slabs.
Claim 17. The method of installing a roof mounting system including a locating and waterproofing device according to claim 16 wherein the upper slate or stone with a slate is secured with a slate hook (such as 414,364,126,132,76 as seen in the various embodiments).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibbs (6052961) in view of Williams (20130160388) and further in view of Italiane (20090241450).
Claim 10. Gibbs discloses the roof mounting system according to claim 9 but does not disclose wherein the synthetic plastics material is polypropylene and/or glass reinforced polymers (GRP). However it is known in the art to make a roofing device of polypropylene, for example Italiane discloses a roofing product made of polypropylene (paragraph 0048,0175,0199). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the plastic material of Gibbs to polypropylene as taught by Italiane, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In the instant case it would have been obvious for at least the reason of it weather resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are drawn to the newly added claim limitations which were not previously considered and therefore are not persuasive. The rejection above clearly demonstrates Gibbs in view of Williams and Italiane disclose the claims as amended, and as best understood in view of the indefiniteness as presented above, thus applicants arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments to the claims necessitate the new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JESSICA L. LAUX
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JESSICA L LAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635