DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, regarding claim 18, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that while claim 18 has been amended to include the new limitation of “the first privilege is greater than the second privilege”, it does not include the specific limitations regarding a first controller and a second controller, with the second namespace identifier including information to identify the “first controller”, as in amended claims 1 and 16.
As indicated below, it appears that applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 16 are not supported by applicant’s specification as originally filed, describing which controller of the first and second would constitute a “parent” vs. “child” controller and would have greater privileges. It the context of the claims it appears the “second controller” is the parent controller, and thus the second privilege should be greater than the first, and not the reverse as claimed.
This is further seen in various dependent claims, such as claim 9, which indicates that the first controller is a child controller and the second controller is a parent controller, while applicant’s specification and applicant’s own arguments indicate the parent controller should have the greater privilege.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9-16, 22, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the first privilege is greater than the second privilege” which is not supported by applicant’s specification as originally filed in combination with the additional claim limitations of
“wherein the second namespace identifier comprises:
first information to determine the first namespace identifier; and
second information to identify the first controller.”
As per applicant’s specification (see paragraph 80 of applicant’s specification), and applicant’s arguments (see page 8 of applicant’s response), a parent controller has greater privileges than a child controller.
Thus, the language of “wherein the first privilege is greater than the second privilege” appears to require that the “first controller” is a parent controller and the “second controller” is a child controller.
The later language of “wherein the second namespace identifier comprises: first information to determine the first namespace identifier; and second information to identify the first controller”, however, appears to require the opposite in that the “first controller” is a child controller and the “second controller” is a parent controller.
As per applicant’s specification (see Fig. 5, paragraph 55, 80, 102-106, of applicant’s specification), and applicant’s arguments (see page 8 of applicant’s response), a parent controller uses a global NSID, which maps the global NSID to a local NSID and a child controller.
Thus, as the “global NSID”, which includes a local NSID and a child controller ID, is utilized by a parent controller, it appears the “second controller” is a parent controller and the “first controller” is a child controller, as currently claimed.
There does not appear to be any specific support for the first child controller to have greater privileges than the second parent controller.
While applicant’s specification appears to describe and support a “parent controller” having a greater privilege than a “child controller”, this is the opposite of what is currently claimed, which does not appear to be supported by applicant’s specification as originally filed.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the first privilege is greater than the second privilege” which is not supported by applicant’s specification as originally filed in combination with the additional claim limitations of
“wherein the second namespace identifier comprises:
first information to determine the first namespace identifier; and
second information to identify the first controller.”
As per applicant’s specification (see paragraph 80 of applicant’s specification), and applicant’s arguments (see page 8 of applicant’s response), a parent controller has greater privileges than a child controller.
Thus, the language of “wherein the first privilege is greater than the second privilege” appears to require that the “first controller” is a parent controller and the “second controller” is a child controller.
The later language of “wherein the second namespace identifier comprises: first information to determine the first namespace identifier; and second information to identify the first controller”, however, appears to require the opposite in that the “first controller” is a child controller and the “second controller” is a parent controller.
As per applicant’s specification (see Fig. 5, paragraph 55, 80, 102-106, of applicant’s specification), and applicant’s arguments (see page 8 of applicant’s response), a parent controller uses a global NSID, which maps the global NSID to a local NSID and a child controller.
Thus, as the “global NSID”, which includes a local NSID and a child controller ID, is utilized by a parent controller, it appears the “second controller” is a parent controller and the “first controller” is a child controller, as currently claimed.
There does not appear to be any specific support for the first child controller to have greater privileges than the second parent controller.
While applicant’s specification appears to describe and support a “parent controller” having a greater privilege than a “child controller”, this is the opposite of what is currently claimed, which does not appear to be supported by applicant’s specification as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puttagunta et al. (Puttagunta) (US 10,880,205) (of record) in view of Niell et al. (Niell) (US 2020/0278893) (of record).
As to claim 18, Puttagunta discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1-2, column 2, line 25-49) comprising:
a first user (hosts; Fig. 1-2, column 2, line 25-49) having a first privilege (host membership/ ownership/ permission to access; column 3, line 5, column 3, line 52-65, column 4, line 12-29, column 6, line 12-29), wherein the first user is configured to perform, based on the first privilege, using a first namespace identifier, a first access of a namespace of a device (accessing storage device via “first path” or “alternative path”; column 1, line 37-61, column 4, line 50-column 5, line 27, column 6, line 43-48);
a second user (hosts; Fig. 1-2, column 2, line 25-49) having a first privilege (host membership/ ownership/ permission to access; column 3, line 5, column 3, line 52-65, column 4, line 12-29, column 6, line 12-29), wherein the second user is configured to perform, using a second namespace identifier, a second access of the namespace of the device (accessing storage device via “first path” or “alternate path”, Fig. 3; column 4, line 50-column 5, line 27, column 6, line 57-61);
wherein the first user comprises first hardware. first software, or a combination of first hardware and first software, and the second user comprises second hardware, second software, or a combination of second hardware and second software (column 2, line 25-49, column 3, line 18-32);
wherein the second namespace identifier comprises:
first information to determine the first namespace identifier (Fig. 3; column 4, line 50-column 5, line 27); and
second information to identify a controller of the device, wherein the controller is used for the second access (controller field to ID controller; Fig. 3; column 4, line 50-column 5, line 27),
they fail to specifically disclose wherein the first privilege is greater than the second privilege.
In an analogous art, Niell discloses a storage system (Fig. 2, paragraph 18-29) wherein plural requesters may access storage addresses within a namespace to read/write data based upon their permission levels (paragraph 14-15, 24-30, 33, 40-41), wherein a first privilege is greater than a second privilege (requestors assigned different permission levels for requests; paragraph 24-27, 33-37, 40-41, 95-98) so as increase security and limit specific actions to requestors with the proper permission (paragraph 24-27, 33-37, 40-41, 95-98).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puttagunta’s system to include wherein the first privilege is greater than the second privilege, as taught in combination with Niell, for the typical benefit of increasing security and limiting specific actions to requestors with the proper permission (paragraph 24-27, 33-37, 40-41, 95-98).
As to claim 20, Puttagunta and Niell disclose wherein the second user is configured to migrate the first use (see Niell at migrating virtual environment, including host virtual machine, and corresponding access rules; Fig. 5, paragraph 44-53).
As to claim 21, Puttagunta and Niell disclose wherein the device is a first device, the namespace is a first namespace (see Puttagunta at Fig. 1-3; column 2, line 25-49), and the second user is configured to copy, from the first namespace to a second namespace at a second device, user data (migrating virtual environment, including host virtual machine, and corresponding access rules; see Niell at Fig. 5, paragraph 44-53).
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424