DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-11, 13, 14, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. JP 2018-111582 A (hereinafter “Watanabe”) in view of Futaki et al. JP 05-130330 A (hereinafter “Futaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe, with reference to FIG. 7-9, discloses a conveyance device comprising:
a conveyor (31) to convey a medium (P);
a position sensor (one of 35-37) to detect a position of the medium conveyed by the conveyor; and
a background (70) facing the position sensor,
wherein the conveyor is to move the medium in the width direction of the medium.
Watanabe further teaches wherein the background is insertable and removable, but does not explicitly teach wherein the background is insertable and removable in a width direction of the medium crossing a conveyance direction of the medium.
Futaki teaches a background (white color reference plate 10, 11) that is insertable and removable in a width direction to facilitate replacement of a defective background.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Watanabe’s background to be insertable and removable in a width direction of the medium as taught Futaki in order to provide a known alternative arrangement of facilitating mounting and removal of the background for maintenance purposes.
Regarding claim 9, an image forming apparatus (FIG. 1) comprising: the conveyance device according to claim 1; and an image former forming device (4) configured to form an image on the medium conveyed by the conveyance device.
Regarding claim 10, refer to rejection of claim 1 as a guide, Watanabe further teaches a secondary transferer (20).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, a liquid discharge apparatus (shown for with electrographic printer but disclosure mentions the conveyance device for an “inkjet image formation device”) further comprising the conveyance device according to claim 1; and
a liquid discharger (inkjet printer).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the conveyor comprises a pair of registration roller (31 or 7).
Regarding claim 14, wherein: the position sensor is a contact image sensor.
Regarding claim 18, wherein: the image forming apparatus is an electrophotographic printer.
predictable result of providing an alternative means of forming an image on a sheet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 12, 15, 16, 17, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653