DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 8-15, and 18– 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (US. 20200223318).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches a mobility charging device comprising:
a measurement unit configured to measure a voltage of a battery of a mobility device when the mobility device is electrically connected to an input/output interface (figure 1 item 122 paragraph [0022] discloses a sensor to measure the voltage of the battery 120 of the mobility or vehicle);
a determination unit configured to receive the voltage of the battery from the measurement unit, and determine a charging mode among a plurality of charging modes according to the voltage of the battery (paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a determination unit, interpreted as a battery management system 102 which stores a plurality of charging modes or profiles according to the voltage of the battery); and
a charging unit configured to differently set cut-off voltages correspondingly to the plurality of charging modes, and provide charging voltage corresponding to a cut-off voltage set correspondingly to the charging mode to the mobility device through the input/output interface (paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined);
wherein the plurality of charging modes includes a fourth charging mode (figure 4 shows a plurality of charging modes or profiles in a lookup table), determined when the measured voltage of the battery is included in the charging range overlapping between the second charging range and a third charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a fourth charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage), and
wherein the mobility charging device further comprises a battery management unit configured to receive or extract battery information from the mobility device (figure 1 item 102 discloses a battery management system configured to receive information such as battery voltage. [0015] discloses wherein the battery management system is connected, or has at least one interface for interacting with the mobility or EV),
the battery management unit is configured to set the cut-off voltage as a second voltage or a third voltage based on the battery information (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types, including a fourth battery type. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a fourth charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Campbell figure 1 shows a battery management system which selects different charging modes or profiles
Campbell figure 4 shows a lookup table of charging profiles according to the State of Charge of the vehicle battery as a function of the measured voltage.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell teaches the mobility charging device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of charging modes includes a first charging mode, the second charging mode, the third charging mode, wherein the determination unit is configured to:
determine the first charging mode when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a first charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a first charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage);
determine the second charging mode when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a second charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a second charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage);
determine the third charging mode when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a third charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a third charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage); and
Regarding claim 3, Campbell teaches the mobility charging device of claim 2, wherein, when the first charging mode is determined from the determination unit, the charging unit sets the cut-off voltage as a first voltage, recognizes the battery as a first type battery in response to the first voltage, and provides a first charging voltage to the mobility device (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a first charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Regarding claim 4, Campbell teaches the mobility charging device of claim 2, wherein, when the second charging mode is determined from the determination unit, the charging unit sets the cut-off voltage as a second voltage, recognizes the battery as a second type battery in response to the set second voltage, and provides a second charging voltage to the mobility device (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types, including a second battery type. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a second charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Regarding claim 5, Campbell teaches the mobility charging device of claim 2, wherein, when the third charging mode is determined from the determination unit, the charging unit sets the cut-off voltage as a third voltage, recognizes the battery as a third type battery in response to the set third voltage, and provides the third charging voltage to the mobility device (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types, including a third battery type. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a third charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell teaches the mobility charging device of claim 1, wherein, when the second voltage set by the battery management unit is transmitted, the charging unit recognizes the battery as the second type battery in response to the transmitted second voltage, and provides a second charging voltage to the mobility device (figure 4 and paragraphs [0039] – [0040] discloses wherein a voltage is set when the charging profile is selected and the charging is provided to the mobility or EV).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell teaches the mobility charging device of claim 1, wherein, when the third voltage set by the battery management unit is transmitted, the charging unit recognizes the battery as a third type battery in response to the transmitted third voltage, and provides a third charging voltage to the mobility device (figure 4 and paragraphs [0039] – [0040] discloses wherein a voltage is set when the charging profile is selected and the charging is provided to the mobility or EV).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell teaches the mobility charging device of claim 1, wherein the input/output interface comprises: a plurality of power terminals electrically connected to the mobility device (paragraph [0037] discloses wherein the charging station may include a plurality of units and cables to connect to a mobility or EV); an indicator configured to display a charging state of the mobility device (figure 5 discloses a display item 535 to display information to the user); and a connection unit configured to provide mobility information related to the mobility device (figure 5, [0036] and [0054] discloses wherein information on the mobility or EV is communicated via connectors, wires or ports).
Regarding claim 11 Campbell teaches a mobility charging method using a mobility charging device having a processor, the method comprising steps of: measuring a voltage of a battery of the mobility device under the control of the processor when the mobility device is electrically connected to an input/output interface (figure 1 item 122 paragraph [0022] discloses a sensor to measure the voltage of the battery 120 of the mobility or vehicle);
receiving the measured voltage of the battery under the control of the processor, and determining a charging mode among a plurality of charging modes according to the measured voltage of the battery; differently setting cut-off voltages correspondingly to the plurality of determined charging modes under the control of the processor (paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a determination unit, interpreted as a battery management system 102 which stores a plurality of charging modes or profiles according to the voltage of the battery);
providing charging voltage corresponding to a cut-off voltage set correspondingly to the charging mode to the mobility device through the input/output interface under the control of the processor (paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined)
wherein determining the charging modes includes determining a fourth charging mode (figure 4 shows a plurality of charging modes or profiles in a lookup table), determined when the measured voltage of the battery is included in the charging range overlapping between the second charging range and a third charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a fourth charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage), and
wherein the mobility charging device further comprises a battery management unit configured to receive or extract battery information from the mobility device (figure 1 item 102 discloses a battery management system configured to receive information such as battery voltage. [0015] discloses wherein the battery management system is connected, or has at least one interface for interacting with the mobility or EV),
the battery management unit is configured to set the cut-off voltage as a second voltage or a third voltage based on the battery information when the fourth charging mode is determined (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types, including a fourth battery type. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a fourth charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Regarding claim 12, Campbell teaches the mobility charging method of claim 11, wherein the plurality of charging modes further comprises a first charging mode, a second charging mode, and a third charging mode, (figure 4 shows a plurality of charging modes or profiles in a lookup table), and the step of determining comprises:
determining the first charging mode when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a first charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a first charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage);
determining the second charging mode when the measured voltage of the battery is included in the second charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a second charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage);
determining the third charging mode when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a third charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a third charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage); and
determining the fourth charging mode when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a charging range overlapping between the second charging range and the third charging range (figure 4 and paragraph [0022] discloses wherein a state-of-charge is determined from a measured voltage. The electrical sensor 122 or the battery management system 102 can reference a discharge lookup table that equate voltages to predicted SoCs. [0050] discloses wherein the battery management system chooses a fourth charging mode or profile based on the state of charge as a function of the measured voltage).
Regarding claim 13, Campbell teaches the mobility charging method of claim 12, further comprising: setting the cut-off voltage to a first voltage when the first charging mode is determined; recognizing the battery as a first type battery in response to the set first voltage; and providing a first charging voltage to the mobility device (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a first charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Regarding claim 14, Campbell teaches the mobility charging method of claim 12, further comprising: setting the cut-off voltage to the second voltage when the second charging mode is determined; recognizing the battery as a second type battery in response to the set second voltage; and providing a second charging voltage to the mobility device (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types, including a second battery type. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a second charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Regarding claim 15, Campbell teaches the mobility charging method of claim 12, further comprising: setting the cut-off voltage to the third voltage when the third charging mode is determined; recognizing the battery as a third type battery in response to the set third voltage; and providing a third charging voltage to the mobility device (paragraph [0015] discloses wherein the electric vehicle may be different types of vehicles and [0025]-[0026] discloses different types of batteries. [0041] discloses wherein the plurality of lookup tables is stored for a plurality different battery types, including a third battery type. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a cut-off voltage, interpreted as an upper limit for the voltage of the battery to be charged, is determined. Paragraph [0050] discloses wherein the charging profile provides a third charging voltage with a specific charging rate).
Regarding claim 18, Campbell teaches the mobility charging method of claim 11, further comprising: recognizing when the second voltage is transmitted, the battery as a second type battery in response to the transmitted second voltage when the set second voltage is transmitted; and providing a second charging voltage to the mobility device (paragraphs [0039] – [0040] discloses wherein a voltage is set when the charging profile is selected and the charging is provided to the mobility or EV).
Regarding claim 19, Campbell teaches the mobility charging method of claim 11, further comprising: recognizing, when the third voltage is transmitted, the battery as a third type battery in response to the transmitted third voltage; and providing a third charging voltage to the mobility device (figure 4 and paragraphs [0039] – [0040] discloses wherein a voltage is set when the charging profile is selected and the charging is provided to the mobility or EV).
Regarding claim 20, Campbell teaches the mobility charging method of claim 12, wherein the input/output interface comprises: a plurality of power terminals electrically connected to the mobility device (paragraph [0037] discloses wherein the charging station may include a plurality of units and cables to connect to a mobility or EV);
an indicator configured to display a charging state of the mobility device (figure 5 discloses a display item 535 to display information to the user); and
a connection unit configured to provide mobility information related to the mobility device (figure 5, [0036] and [0054] discloses wherein information on the mobility or EV is communicated via connectors, wires or ports).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Campbell reference does not explicitly teach or suggest wherein “the plurality of charging modes includes a fourth charging mode determined when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a charging range overlapping between a second charging range and a third charging range…” Campbell discloses in paragraphs [0039] – [0040] wherein a plurality of charging modes, interpreted as charging profiles are generated based on different measured parameters, including battery voltage. The applicant argues that the Campbell reference does not explicitly disclose an “overlapping” voltage. This “overlapping voltage” is merely disclosed as another range of a suggested voltages of 41.6V~42V in which to choose a charging mode. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a plurality of charging modes or charging profiles are generated based on a detected voltage value. Thus, when a voltage is in a value of 41.6V-42V, the controller can use a lookup table to determine the charging mode, which may be first, second, third, fourth, etc charging mode. Figure 4 also shows a sample lookup table, which uses overlapping values of temperature and state of charge to provide different charging modes or profiles.
For these reasons, the argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claims 2 – 5, 8 and 10, the claims are dependent upon claim 1 and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 11, as disclosed above in claim 1, the applicant argues that the Campbell reference does not explicitly teach or suggest wherein “the plurality of charging modes includes a fourth charging mode determined when the measured voltage of the battery is included in a charging range overlapping between a second charging range and a third charging range…” Campbell discloses in paragraphs [0039] – [0040] wherein a plurality of charging modes, interpreted as charging profiles are generated based on different measured parameters, including battery voltage. The applicant argues that the Campbell reference does not explicitly disclose an “overlapping” voltage. This “overlapping voltage” is merely disclosed as another range of a suggested voltages of 41.6V~42V in which to choose a charging mode. Paragraph [0035] discloses wherein a plurality of charging modes or charging profiles are generated based on a detected voltage value. Thus, when a voltage is in a value of 41.6V-42V, the controller can use a lookup table to determine the charging mode, which may be first, second, third, fourth, etc charging mode. Figure 4 also shows a sample lookup table, which uses overlapping values of temperature and state of charge to provide different charging modes or profiles.
For these reasons, the argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claims 12 – 15 and 18 - 20, the claims are dependent upon claim 11 and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20130214738 A1 Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Chen; Jiong Et Al.
Us 20090143929 A1 Multi-Mode Charging System Eberhard; Martin Forest Et Al.
Us 20210376647 A1 A Charger Device Geddadi; Krishnamohan Et Al.
Us 20200006960 A1 Charging Device And Method Thereof Huang; Chen-Fu
Us 12576741 B2 Multi-Port Multi-Battery Pack Hao; Lei Et Al.
Us 20150280486 A1 Switching Mode Charger For Charging System Hsu; Chih-Yuan
Us 20140210449 A1 Operating Mode Of Charging Ichikawa; Shinji Et Al.
Us 20230398882 A1 Charging Management Apparatus Kim; Nah Young Et Al.
Us 20230261493 A1 Adaptive Battery Charging System Lacaux; Frederic Et Al.
Us 20180134166 A1 Charging Station Li; Jiecheng Et Al.
Us 20120109798 A1 Managing Renewable Energy Shelton; John Christopher Et Al.
Us 20130020993 A1 Multi-Mode EV Charging Station Taddeo; Stephen R. Et Al.
Us 20240239225 A1 Charger Selection System Takegata; Masaaki Et Al.
Us 20180354379 A1 Portable And Mobile Power Supply Wu; Walter
Us 20200361340 A1 Fast-Charging Battery Wang; Yue-Yun Et Al.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859