DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “configured to” in claims 2, 6, 8, 9, 10, 15, and any other claims dependent upon those claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Liu et al. (TW I567454 B).
Regarding independent claim 1, Liu (‘454) teaches in figures 1-2 and the corresponding text, a surface light source device (2) comprising a plurality of light source blocks (each row, no number)) arranged in a first direction (arrows pointing up) and a second direction (arrows pointing down) orthogonal to the first direction, wherein each of the plurality of light source blocks includes one or more lines (top row) of a light-emitting element array including a plurality of light-emitting elements (20) arranged in the first direction; wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a plurality of light emission chips (101) arranged in the first direction, the plurality of light emission chips being different from each other in color of emission light (RGB and 201, 202, 203); and wherein in the one or more lines of the light-emitting element array in the light source block, colors of light emitted from all of the light emission chips at both end portions are the same.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Liu (‘454) teaches the plurality of light-emitting elements includes a red emission chip (201) configured to emit red light, a green light emission chip (202) configured to emit green light, and a blue emission chip (203) configured to emit blue light.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Liu (‘454) teaches each of the plurality of light source blocks, a plurality of lines of the light-emitting element array is disposed in the second direction (bottom row).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Liu (‘454) teaches the plurality of light-emitting elements, a first light-emitting element and a second light-emitting element adjacent to each other are disposed such that a color of light emitted from a light emission chip at a position closest to the second light-emitting element in the first light-emitting element and a color of light emitted from a light emission chip at a position closest to the first light-emitting element in the second light-emitting element are the same (Z adjacent to Z and Y adjacent to Y in figure 2 for each diode package 20 across a row).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Liu (‘454) teaches the plurality of light-emitting elements is disposed in a rectangular grid (figures 2 and 3).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Liu (‘454) teaches a plurality of light flux controlling members (120, 41) configured to control light emitted from the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Liu (‘454) teaches each of the plurality of light flux controlling members includes a scattering member.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Liu (‘454) teaches each of the plurality of light source blocks includes one line of the light- emitting element array, wherein each of the plurality of light source blocks further includes one light flux controlling member configured to control light emitted from the one line of the light-emitting element array, and wherein the light flux controlling member is configured such that light advances farther in the second direction than in the first direction.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Liu (‘454) teaches an order of the plurality of light emission chips is the same in a first light source block and a second light source block adjacent to each other in the first direction among the plurality of light source blocks (similar to claim 4).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Liu (‘454) teaches an order of the plurality of light emission chips is the same in a third light source block (no number) and a fourth light source block (no number) adjacent to each other in the second direction among the plurality of light source blocks (note there are 4 rows shown).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Liu (‘454) teaches a diffusion plate (120, 41) configured to diffuse light emitted from the plurality of light-emitting elements while transmitting the light emitted from the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (TW I567454 B), of record.
Regarding dependent claims 12, 16, and 17, the claim limitations all disclose a distance or size which is not disclosed by Liu et al. (‘454).
However, Liu (‘454) does teach the general claimed structure of the invention. The claims distances or sizes do not appear critical to the claimed invention and furthermore the structure of Liu (‘454) could teach the claimed distances or sizes depending upon how small or large the device (a notebook computer or an LCD TV) is made for the purpose of providing an efficient backlight source.
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the backlight structure of Liu for the purpose of providing an efficient backlight source. The actual sizes and distances are a matter of obvious choices in design based upon the intended size of the display.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (TW I567454 B) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0280163), both of record.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Liu (‘454) teaches all of the claimed limitations expect for the light flux controlling member includes: an incidence surface that is an inner surface of a recess opening at a bottom surface, the incidence surface being disposed to intersect optical axes of an even number of the light-emitting elements; a total reflection surface configured to reflect at least in the second direction light entered from the incidence surface; and an emission surface configured to emit to outside light reflected by the total reflection surface, and wherein the total reflection surface includes: two first total reflection surfaces extending along the first direction and each including two end portions in the first direction; and two second total reflection surfaces each configured to connect both ends of the two first total reflection surfaces in the first direction.
Further regarding claim 9, Li et al. (‘163) discloses a surface light source comprised of, in part, in figures 3-5 and the corresponding text, the light flux controlling member (600) includes: an incidence surface that is an inner surface of a recess (500) opening at a bottom surface (3), the incidence surface being disposed to intersect optical axes of an even number of the light-emitting elements; a total reflection surface (no number) configured to reflect at least in the second direction light entered from the incidence surface (no number, top of (200)); and an emission surface (no number) configured to emit to outside light reflected by the total reflection surface, and wherein the total reflection surface includes: two first total reflection surfaces (intersecting directions of (500) extending along the first direction and each including two end portions in the first direction; and two second total reflection surfaces each configured to connect both ends of the two first total reflection surfaces in the first direction for the purpose of reducing internal reflection of light and thus improve the brightness of the display.
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the light flux controlling member and total reflection surface of Li in the display of Liu for the purpose of reducing internal reflection of light and thus improve the brightness of the display.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Li et al. (‘163) discloses each of the two second total reflection surfaces is disposed such that the greater a distance from the optical axis in the first direction, the farther each of the two second total reflection surfaces is from the light-emitting element in a direction along the optical axis, each of the two second total reflection surfaces including an inner end portion disposed on an optical axis side and an outer end portion disposed at a position farther from the optical axis than the inner end portion in the first direction, wherein the incidence surface includes: a first incidence surface disposed opposite to a light-emitting surface of the light-emitting element; and a second incidence surface configured to connect the first incidence surface and the bottom surface, and wherein in the first direction, an end portion of the first incidence surface is disposed on inside than the inner end portion of the second total reflection surface.
The reason for combing is the same as for claim 9 above.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Li et al. (‘163) discloses in the first direction, the optical axis of the light-emitting element at both ends included in the light- emitting element array in the light source block coincides with the end portion of the first incidence surface.
The reason for combing is the same as for claim 9 above.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875