DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 16 are pending. Claims 17 – 26 are allowed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/20/2023 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhai (CN 217623489 U) – as cited by Applicant.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Zhai teaches a charging contact cleaner (Figs. 1 and 2) for an automated guided vehicle (AGV; Paragraphs [n0001] – [n0003]), comprising: a charging contact cleaning station located along a travel path of one or more AGVs (Paragraphs [n0002]), wherein the charging contact cleaning station (Fig. 2) comprises: at least one cleaning brush (cleaning brush, 6); and an actuator (push rod, 4) operatively connected to the at least one cleaning brush (6), wherein the at least one cleaning brush (6) simultaneously engages first and second charging contacts deployed from the AGV at the charging contact cleaning station (the limitation is directed toward the intended use of the brush as the AGV is not positively claimed; however, the brush od Zhai is capable of being used in such a manner as described since the electric push rod 4 drives the cleaning brush 6 to contact the chassis and move back and forth to clean the chassis position (Paragraph [n0022]), and wherein the at least one cleaning brush (6) is automatically moved by the actuator (4) relative to the first and second charging contacts for a predetermined cleaning duration to clean respective surfaces of the first and second charging contacts (Paragraph [n0025]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Zhai teaches the charging contact cleaner (Figs. 1 and 2) wherein the actuator (4) comprises a motor (Paragraph [n0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 5, 9 and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai (CN 217623489 U) – as cited by Applicant
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Zhai teaches the charging contact cleaner (Figs. 1 and 2) wherein the at least one cleaning brush (6) comprises a first cleaning brush and a second cleaning brush (Fig. 2).
Zhai does not explicitly teach the second cleaning brush is electrically insulated from the first cleaning brush; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Zhai to further include the second cleaning brush is electrically insulated from the first cleaning brush, as claimed, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). Duplicating the electrical components would allow for isolation of the two brushes and further protect the system and reduce electrical noises.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Zhai teaches the charging contact cleaner (Figs. 1 and 2) of claim 1, as discussed above.
Although Zhai teaches a base and brushes made out of a material, the reference does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one cleaning brush includes a plastic base and metallic wire bristles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Zhai to further include a plastic base and metallic wire bristles since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the cleaner (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Zhai teaches the charging contact cleaner (Figs. 1 and 2) wherein the actuator (push rod, 4) is a linear actuator (Fig. 2).
Zhai, however, teaches an electric actuator and does not explicitly teach the pneumatic actuator; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of th claimed invention to modify the actuator of Zhai to further include it being a pneumatic actuator, as claimed, because these two actuators were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an electric actuator for a pneumatic actuator.
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Zhai teaches the charging contact cleaner (Figs. 1 and 2) further comprising a mobile carriage (movable frame, 3) and a rail (lead screw, 2) that supports movements of the carriage (3), wherein the actuator (4) is operatively connected to the at least one cleaning brush (6) through the mobile carriage (3; Fig. 2).
Regarding Independent Claim 9, Zhai teaches a charging contact cleaner (Figs. 1 and 2)
for an automated guided vehicle (AGV; Paragraphs [n0001] – [n0003]), comprising: a charging contact cleaning station located along a travel path of one or more AGVs (Paragraphs [n0002]), wherein the charging contact cleaning station comprises: a flush-to-floor enclosure (support platform, 1); at least one cleaning brush (6) located within the flush-to-floor enclosure (1); and an actuator (4) located within the flush-to-floor enclosure (1) and operatively connected to the at least one cleaning brush (6), wherein the at least one cleaning brush (6) simultaneously engages first and second charging contacts deployed from the AGV at the charging contact cleaning station (the limitation is directed toward the intended use of the brush as the AGV is not positively claimed; however, the brush od Zhai is capable of being used in such a manner as described since the electric push rod 4 drives the cleaning brush 6 to contact the chassis and move back and forth to clean the chassis position (Paragraph [n0022]), and wherein the at least one cleaning brush (6) is automatically moved by the actuator relative to the first and second charging contacts to clean respective surfaces of the first and second charging contacts (Paragraph [n0022]).
Zhai does not explicitly teach the flush to floor enclosure is recessed in a floor on which the AGV travels; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Zhai to further include the flush to floor enclosure is recessed in a floor on which the AGV travels, as claimed, since it has been held that
forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Zhai teaches a charging contact cleaner comprising a flush to floor enclosure, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious a debris catch tray located within the flush-to-floor enclosure, wherein the debris catch tray is operatively connected to the actuator, and the at least one cleaning brush is mounted within the debris catch tray.
Claim 8 is further objected to as being a dependent or objected claim 7.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Zhai teaches a charging contact cleaner comprising a flush to floor enclosure, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious the flush-to-floor enclosure includes a cover plate, and the cover plate has an opening aligned with the at least one cleaning brush such that the at least one cleaning brush is exposed when the cover plate is attached to the flush-to-floor enclosure.
Claim 17 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The instant invention is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art because the prior art fails to teach, suggest or make obvious an automated guided vehicle (AGV) fleet system, comprising: a plurality AGVs located within a facility, each AGV having first and second deployable charging contacts for receiving charging current to charge a battery of the AGV; and a facility supervisory system in communication with the plurality of AGVs and the charging contact cleaning station.
Claims 18 – 26 are further allowed.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723