DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 13, 16-18, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan (USPUB 2022/0077707).
As to Claim 1, Yan discloses a power system comprising: an input configured to be coupled to at least one power source; an output configured to be coupled to at least one load; an energy-storage-device connection configured to be coupled to at least one energy-storage device; at least one power converter; and at least one controller configured to: control the at least one power converter to provide power to the output in a battery mode of operation, determine one or more battery-mode parameters associated with the battery mode of operation, determine a maximum state-of-charge (SOC) limit based on the one or more battery-mode parameters, and control the at least one power converter to charge the at least one energy-storage device to the maximum SOC limit (Figure 1 and 2, Paragraphs 25-27).
As to Claim 2, Yan discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein the at least one power source includes a first power source and a second power source (Paragraph 13).
As to Claim 8, Yan discloses the power system of claim 2, wherein the first power source includes a generator and the second power source includes a utility mains (Paragraph 15).
As to Claim 9, Yan discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein the one or more battery-mode parameters include one or more of a load profile of the at least one load, a total necessary runtime of the at least one energy-storage device, or a total available runtime of the at least one energy-storage device in the battery mode (Figure 4B).
As to Claim 10, Yan discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to: determine, based on the one or more battery-mode parameters, a maximum expected runtime of the at least one energy-storage device; and determine the maximum SOC limit based on the maximum expected runtime of the at least one energy-storage device (Figure 4B).
As to Claim 13, Yan discloses the power system of claim 1, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to: monitor the one or more battery-mode parameters for changes while the at least one energy-storage device discharges; identify a change in the one or more battery-mode parameters while the at least one energy-storage device discharges; and lower a battery cut-off voltage of the at least one energy-storage device responsive to identifying the change in the one or more battery-mode parameters (Figure 4C).
As to Claim 16, Yan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon sequences of computer-executable instructions for controlling a power system configured to provide output power derived from at least one energy-storage device to at least one load in a battery mode of operation, the sequences of computer-executable instructions including instructions that instruct at least one processor to: determine one or more battery-mode parameters associated with the battery mode of operation; determine a maximum state-of-charge (SOC) limit based on the one or more battery-mode parameters; and control the power system to limit charging of the at least one energy-storage device to the maximum SOC limit (Figure 1 and 2, Paragraphs 25-27).
As to Claim 17, Yan discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more battery-mode parameters include one or more of a load profile of the at least one load, a total necessary runtime of the at least one energy-storage device, or a total available runtime of the at least one energy-storage device in the battery mode (Figure 4B).
As to Claim 18, Yan discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: determine, based on the one or more battery-mode parameters, a maximum expected runtime of the at least one energy-storage device; and determine the maximum SOC limit based on the maximum expected runtime of the at least one energy-storage device (Figure 4B).
As to Claim 21, Yan discloses a method of controlling a power system configured to provide output power derived from at least one energy-storage device to at least one load in a battery mode of operation, the method comprising: determining one or more battery-mode parameters associated with the battery mode of operation; determining a maximum state-of-charge (SOC) limit based on the one or more battery-mode parameters; and controlling the power system to limit charging of the at least one energy-storage device to the maximum SOC limit (Figure 1 and 2, Paragraphs 25-27).
As to Claim 22, Yan discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the one or more battery-mode parameters include one or more of a load profile of the at least one load, a total necessary runtime of the at least one energy-storage device, or a total available runtime of the at least one energy-storage device in the battery mode (Figure 1 and 2, Paragraphs 25-27).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 11-12, 14-15, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859