DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on June 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsionsky et al (US Patent Application 2018/0238882) in view of Bard et al (US Patent Application 2007/0034529).
Regarding claims 1-7, Tsionsky et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Tsionsky et al teaches a medium/electrolyte comprising ECL moiety and ECL co-reactant (Paragraph 99). Tsionsky et al further teaches ECL labels comprising organometallic complexes of ruthenium in the presence of a co-reactant (Paragraphs 38, 63). Tsionsky et al further teaches the pH of the composition is 6-9 (Paragraph 105). Tsionsky et al further teaches the composition is preferably aqueous and can also comprise organic liquids such as acetonitrile, dimethylformamide, methanol and ethanol in order to form the electrolyte (Paragraph 198). Tsionsky et al further teaches the ECL co-reactant comprises an amine (Paragraph 106) in the amount from 10-800mM (which overlaps the instantly claimed range) (Paragraph 90). However, Tsionsky et al fails to specifically disclose the coreactant is 4-DMPAP.
In the same field of endeavor, Bard et al teaches a solution/electrolyte comprising an ECL moiety/label which can comprise a metal containing organic compound wherein the metal is ruthenium and a coreactant (Paragraphs 72-73, 189). Bard et al further teaches the coreactant comprises an amine such as TPA or 2-dimethylaminopyridine (Paragraphs 89-106).
With regard to 4-DMAP, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided 4-DMAP in Tsionsky et al in view of Bard et al as simple substitution of one known amine coreactant for ECL labels/moieties for another amine coreactant for ECL labels/moieties would only be obvious the ordinary artisan. Both Tsionsky et al and Bard et al teach amine containing compounds as the preferred coreactants and discuss TPA as the known coreactant, Bard et al only teaches 2-dimethylaminopyridine, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have substituted 2-dimethylaminopyridine with its homologues (4-dimethylaminopyridine) because characteristics normally possessed by members of homologous series are principally the same, and vary but gradually from member to member; chemists knowing properties of one member of series would in general know what to expect in adjacent member, see In re Henze, 85 USPQ 261.
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 September 17, 2026