Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
1. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
2. It is unclear in claim 5 if “one ionomeric separation layer” (narrow limitation) is a requirement of claim 1 since claim 1 also includes “two ionomeric separation layers” (broad limitation). The use of a narrow numerical range that falls within a broader range in the same claim may render the claim indefinite when the boundaries of the claim are not discernible (MPEP 2173.05(c)).
Use of a narrow numerical range that falls within a broader range in the same claim may render the claim indefinite when the boundaries of the claim are not discernible. Description of examples and preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than in a single claim. A narrower range or preferred embodiment may also be set forth in another independent claim or in a dependent claim. If stated in a single claim, examples and preferences lead to confusion over the intended scope of the claim. In those instances where it is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph should be made. The Examiner should analyze whether the metes and bounds of the claim are clearly set forth. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
3. In claim 6, the limitation “the respective separation layers” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hunegnaw et al. (US20200216968).
5. Regarding claims 1-4, 6-12, Hunegnaw teaches a membrane assembly for an electrochemical device (see Figs. below), the membrane assembly comprising at least one separation layer that includes surface-charged particles, wherein the surface-charged particles have a surface excess of charges, imparting ion conductivity along that surface when hydrated (see Figs. below).
6. Regarding claim 3, Hunegnaw teaches wherein (i) the at least one separation layer comprises one separation layer that includes surface-charged particles and has a thickness of at least 30 µm (cathode buffer layer is less than 50 μm [0260]).
7. Regarding claim 6, Hunegnaw wherein a weight % of surface-charged particles in the respective separation layers with surface-charged particles is at least 60% (ion-conducting polymer makes up somewhere in the range between 30 and 70 wt % [0200]) and the respective separation layer is thinner than 1 µm (In general, the thickness of the cathode buffer layer is…200 nm [0259]).
8. Regarding claim 12, Hunegnaw teaches a membrane assembly for an electrochemical device (see Fig. below), the membrane assembly comprising: at least one ionomeric separation layer having a total thickness larger than 1 µm, and at least one protective layer comprising nanoparticles, set adjacent to an anode and/or a cathode of the electrochemical device, and being less than 10 µm thick, wherein the at least one protective layer is configured to separate the at least one ionomeric separation layer from respective anode and/or cathode, and has an ion- conductivity that is smaller than 10 mS/cm (see Fig. below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (US20160064770).
10. Regarding claims 12-15, Lee teaches a membrane assembly for an electrochemical device (see Fig. below), the membrane assembly comprising: at least one ionomeric separation layer having a total thickness larger than 1 µm, and at least one protective layer comprising nanoparticles, set adjacent to an anode and/or a cathode of the electrochemical device, and being less than 10 µm thick or less than 5 µm thick, wherein the at least one protective layer is configured to separate the at least one ionomeric separation layer from respective anode and/or cathode, and has an ion- conductivity that is smaller than 10 mS/cm (see Fig. below).
11. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunegnaw et al. (US20200216968) in view of Lee et al. (US20160064770).
12. Hunegnaw is silent about claims 13-15.
13. Lee teaches components (see Fig. below) for the benefit of an electrochemical device that operates at a high voltage [0043]
14. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hunegnaw with Lee’s electrochemical device that operates at a high voltage [0043].
Conclusion
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752