DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31-38 and 42-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69, cited in the IDS.
The reference teaches a method of treating adult human patients (>18 years old) after a myocardial infarction (MI) comprising administering low dose (0.5 mg once daily) colchicine within 7 days of the MI (abstract; page 63, column 1, Methods). The examiner notes for clarity of the record that the prior art teaching of administration within 7 days fully encompasses the instant teaching of within about 3 days of the MI.
The reference is drawn to a pilot, randomized, double blind, placebo-controlled trial whose patients were recruited at Royal Perth Hospital, Perth Australia (abstract; page 63, column 1, Methods).
The patients, in some cases, had been prescribed medications such as antiplatelet agents, aspirin, or a statin (page 65, Table 1). Patients, in some cases, had had a prior myocardial revascularization (page 65, Table 1).
Patients administered colchicine were at a lower risk of a cardiovascular event, such as MI, relative to a patient not being administered colchicine (page 66, column 1, Clinical outcomes, tolerability and safety).
Claim 32 is included in this rejection because its limitation “…percutaneous coronary intervention…” is encompassed by the prior art teaching - because a percutaneous coronary intervention is simply a type myocardial revascularization.
Claim 37 is included in this rejection because its limitation “…the patient has atherosclerotic coronary artery disease…” is intrinsic to the prior art. This is so because the cited art explicitly teaches that inflammation is central to the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis and its acute manifestations (page 62, column 1, line 1) and the point of the American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69 study, and those of prior related studies, is the targeting of inflammatory mechanisms in order to reduce the risk of atherosclerosis and its acute complications (page 67, column 2, Prior Studies) - such as myocardial infarction, stroke, etc.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being clearly anticipated by Colchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial (COLCOT) (COLCOT), 3/8/2017 update, 8 pages.
The reference teaches the administration of colchicine (0.5 mg per day for an estimated 2 years), or a matching placebo, to patients who have suffered a documented acute myocardial infarction within the last 30 days, in order to evaluate whether long-term treatment with colchicine reduces rates of cardiovascular events in patients after myocardial infarction (page 1/8, Purpose).
The examiner notes for clarity of the record that a daily dose of 0.5 mg of colchicine is considered by inventor to be a “low dose” of colchicine (specification page 2, line 13).
The examiner further notes for clarity of the record that the preamble of the claim “A method of reducing the risk of a stroke…” cannot be considered limiting, and as such is given no patentable weight, because it simply expresses an intended result of the one positively recited method step in the body of the claim. That is, the body of the claim defines a structurally complete invention. Note the discussion at MPEP 2111.02 (II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69, cited in the IDS.
Inventor teaches a method of treating a patient after having a myocardial infarction (MI) by administering daily low dose colchicine within about 3 days of the MI and where the colchicine is in the form of a tablet (claim 39), a coated tablet (claim 40), or a film-coated tablet (claim 41).
American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69 has been outlined above (102 rejection).
Inventor principally distinguishes over the cited art in that a particular oral delivery vehicle for the colchicine is taught: tablet, coated tablet, film-coated tablet. However, as the cited art explicitly states, colchicine is known in the art as is a cheap, once daily, oral treatment for the targeting of inflammatory mechanisms (page 68, column 1, text line 2). One of ordinary skill (a highly skilled individual such as, for instance, an experienced cardiologist or compounding pharmacist) would have found it obvious, before the effective filing date of the instant invention and absent unexpected results, to administer an oral dosage of colchicine by any convenient orally appropriate means - such a tablet, a coated tablet or a film-coated tablet - motivated and guided by ordinary clinical considerations (efficacy, ease of use and thus patient compliance, ability to tailor dissolution rates, etc.).
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial (COLCOT) (COLCOT), 3/8/2017 update, 8 pages and further in view of Journal of Clinical Medicine (2018), 7, 564, 13 pages.
Inventor teaches a method reducing the risk of a stroke in a patient after having a myocardial infarction comprising administering colchicine at a daily low dose within about 4 to 7 days of the myocardial infarction.
Colchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial (COLCOT) (COLCOT) teaches the administration of colchicine (0.5 mg per day for an estimated 2 years), or a matching placebo, to patients who have suffered a documented acute myocardial infarction within the last 30 days, in order to evaluate whether long-term treatment with colchicine reduces rates of cardiovascular events in patients after myocardial infarction (page 1/8, Purpose). As the reference notes, atherosclerosis is the most common cause of myocardial infarction, stroke and peripheral arterial disease and research has clearly demonstrated that inflammation plays a key role in the initiation, progression and manifestations of atherosclerosis (page 4/8, Detailed Description). Patients are first treated according to national guidelines and, after completing any planned percutaneous revascularization procedures associated with the initial myocardial infarction, treatment with colchicine begins (page 1/8, Purpose).
The examiner notes for clarity of the record that a daily dose of 0.5 mg of colchicine is considered by inventor to be a “low dose” of colchicine (specification page 2, line 13).
Journal of Clinical Medicine (2018), 7, 564, 13 pages, teaches that for low-risk patients, after an uncomplicated myocardial infarction, that hospital discharge occurs after 3 days (abstract; page 1/13, 1. Introduction).
Inventor distinguishes over the cited art in that a narrower treatment window of 4 to 7 days after the myocardial infarction is explicitly taught. However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found it obvious to optimize this treatment window because it is in essence a results effective variable.
As Colchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial (COLCOT) (COLCOT) makes clear, it is already known in the art that inflammation plays a key role in the initiation, progression and manifestations of atherosclerosis and that atherosclerosis is the most common cause of inter alia stroke. That being the case, one of ordinary skill (a highly skilled individual such as an experienced cardiologist) would have been motivated, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to mitigate the body’s inflammatory response soon after the initial myocardial infarction has been treated according to national guidelines and after completing any planned percutaneous revascularization procedures. This treatment according to national guidelines, and any necessary revascularization is, essentially, the period in which the patient would be initially hospitalized (typically 3 days, as evidenced by Journal of Clinical Medicine (2018), 7, 564, 13 pages). That is, Colchicine Cardiovascular Outcomes Trial (COLCOT) (COLCOT) teaches, essentially, that colchicine administration begins after at least 3 days (i.e. after discharge). The instant treatment window of 4-7 days is simply the optimization of the initiation of colchicine treatment in order to begin to mitigate inflammation - essentially, the sooner the better - which contributes to the initiation, progression and manifestations of atherosclerosis, after a patient’s initial hospital stay for a myocardial infarction.
The examiner notes for clarity of the record that the preamble of the claim “A method of reducing the risk of a stroke…” cannot be considered limiting, and as such is given no patentable weight, because it simply expresses an intended result of the one positively recited method step in the body of the claim. That is, the body of the claim defines a structurally complete invention. Note the discussion at MPEP 2111.02 (II).
Double Patenting, Statutory
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 27 and 28 of prior (parent) U.S. Patent No. 11,400,063 B2, cited in the IDS. The claims are identical. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Double Patenting, Nonstatutory
Claims 31-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 12-19, and 24-26 of (parent) U.S. Patent No. 11,400,063 B2, cited in the IDS. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The patented claims and those of the instant invention are drawn, essentially, to the same method of treating a patient after having a myocardial infarction. In fact the subject matter of patented claims 2-6 is identical to that of instant claims 33-35 (where instant claim 34 is a condensed recitation of limitations spread over 3 claims in the patent: claims 3-5); the subject matter of patented claims 7 and 9 is drawn to 2 separate limitations recited in instant claim 36 (which also adds several more limitation with respect to the cardiovascular event); and the subject matter of patented claims 12-19 and 24-26 is identical to that of instant claims 37-46 and 48. Significantly, the limitations of instant independent claim 31 and instant dependent claims 32 and 47 are all recited in patented independent claim 1. That being the case, the claims of the patent and those of the instant invention are related, essentially, in a species/genus fashion. That is, the patented method is a narrower teaching of the broader method taught by the instant application. Note, however, that if a generic claim is presented in a separate application after the issuance of a patent claiming one or more species within the scope of the generic claim, the generic claim may be rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting. (MPEP 806.04(i).)
Conclusion
/BRIAN J DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614 10/24/2025