DETAILED ACTION
102 Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 31-38 and 42-48 under 35 USC 102(a)(1), outlined in the previous Office Action, has been overcome by inventor’s amendment. The amendment narrows the scope of the claimed subject matter such that it no longer reads on the cited art.
The rejection of claim 49 under 35 USC 102(a)(1), outlined in the previous Office Action, has been overcome by inventor’s amendment. The amendment cancels the claim.
103 Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claim 39-41 under 35 USC 103, outlined in the previous Office Action, is withdrawn and reformulated below in light of inventor’s amendment. (The amendment cancels claim 39.)
The rejection of claim 50 under 35 USC 103, outlined in the previous Office Action, has been overcome by inventor’s amendment. The amendment cancels the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, NEW
Claims 31-38 and 40-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69, prior art or record, and further in view of CN 1692902 A, whose corresponding English machine translation (Google) has been relied upon for purposes of this Office Action.
Inventor teaches a method of treating a patient after a MI comprising initiating administration of colchicine, in tablet form, at a daily low dose within about 3 days of the MI (independent claim 31). Dependent claim 32 (from claim 31) teaches that percutaneous coronary intervention was performed to treat the MI. Dependent claim 33 (from claim 31) teaches that the patient was prescribed a medication. Dependent claim 34 (from claim 33) teaches the medication is at least one of an antiplatelet agent, aspirin and a statin. Dependent claim 35 (from claim 31) teaches that the patient is at a lower risk of a cardiovascular event relative to a patient not administered colchicine. Dependent claim 36 (from claim 35) teaches the cardiovascular event is an ischemic cardiovascular event, resuscitated cardiac arrest, MI, stroke, or urgent hospitalization for angina requiring coronary revascularization. Dependent claim 37 (from claim 31) teaches that the patient has atherosclerotic coronary artery disease. Dependent claim 38 (from claim 31) teaches that the administration of colchicine is initiated upon assessment in an emergency department, or a medical office. Dependent claim 40 (from claim 31) teaches that the table is coated. Dependent claim 41 (from claim 40) teaches that the tablet is film coated. Dependent claim 42 (from claim 31) teaches a dosage of colchicine of 0.3-0.7 mg. Dependent claim 43 (from claim 42) teaches a dosage 0.4-0.6 mg. Dependent claim 44 (from claim 36) teaches a dosage of colchicine of 0.5 mg. Dependent claim 45 (from claim 31) teaches administration of colchicine once, twice or three times per day. Dependent claim 46 (from claim 45) teaches once per day. Dependent claim 47 (from claim 31) teaches administration of colchicine without preloading. Dependent claim 48 (from claim 31) teaches that the patient is an adult human.
American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69 teaches a method of treating adult human patients (>18 years old) after a myocardial infarction (MI) comprising administering low dose (0.5 mg once daily) colchicine within 7 days of the MI (abstract; page 63, column 1, Methods). The examiner notes for clarity of the record that the prior art teaching of administration within 7 days fully encompasses the instant teaching of within about 3 days of the MI.
The reference is drawn to a pilot, randomized, double blind, placebo-controlled trial whose patients were recruited at Royal Perth Hospital, Perth Australia (abstract; page 63, column 1, Methods).
The patients, in some cases, had been prescribed medications such as antiplatelet agents, aspirin, or a statin (page 65, Table 1). Patients, in some cases, had had a prior myocardial revascularization (page 65, Table 1).
Patients administered colchicine were at a lower risk of a cardiovascular event, such as MI, relative to a patient not being administered colchicine (page 66, column 1, Clinical outcomes, tolerability and safety).
CN 1692902 A teaches a film-coated tablet of colchicine (abstract; translation page 3, Summary of the Invention).
Inventor principally distinguishes over American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69 in that a particular oral delivery vehicle for the colchicine is taught: tablet, coated tablet, film-coated tablet. However, colchicine formulated as tablets, coated tablets and/or film-coated tablets are well-known in the art, as evidenced by, for instance, CN 1692902 A. One of ordinary skill (a highly skilled individual such as, for instance, a clinical physician) would have found it obvious, before the effective filing date of the instant invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to formulate an oral dose of colchicine in the form or a tablet, coated tablet or film-coated tablet. One ordinary skill would have done so in order to take advantage of, for instance, the ease and simplicity of administering a dosage formulated as a tablet once - or multiple times - per day for both the physician and the patient.
Claim 32 is included in this rejection because its limitation “…percutaneous coronary intervention…” is encompassed by the prior art teaching - because a percutaneous coronary intervention is simply a type myocardial revascularization.
Claim 37 is included in this rejection because its limitation “…the patient has atherosclerotic coronary artery disease…” is intrinsic to the prior art. This is so because the cited art explicitly teaches that inflammation is central to the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis and its acute manifestations (page 62, column 1, line 1) and the point of the American Heart Journal (September 2019), Vol. 215, pp. 62-69 study, and those of prior related studies, is the targeting of inflammatory mechanisms in order to reduce the risk of atherosclerosis and its acute complications (page 67, column 2, Prior Studies) - such as myocardial infarction, stroke, etc.
Double Patenting Rejections Withdrawn
The statutory double patenting rejection of claims 49 and 50, outlined in the previous Office Action, has been overcome by inventor’s amendment. The amendment cancels the claims.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claim 39, outlined in the previous Office Action, has been overcome by inventor’s amendment. The amendment cancels the claim.
Double Patenting Rejections, MAINTAINED
Claims 31-38 and 40-48 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 12-19, and 24-26 of (parent) U.S. Patent No. 11,400,063 B2, prior art of record. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The patented claims and those of the instant invention are drawn, essentially, to the same method of treating a patient after having a myocardial infarction. In fact, the subject matter of patented claims 2-6 is identical to that of instant claims 33-35 (where instant claim 34 is a condensed recitation of limitations spread over 3 claims in the patent: claims 3-5); the subject matter of patented claims 7 and 9 is drawn to 2 separate limitations recited in instant claim 36 (which also adds several more limitations with respect to the cardiovascular event); and the subject matter of patented claims 12, 13, 15-19 and 24-26 is identical to that of instant claims 37-38, 40-46 and 48. Significantly, the limitations of instant independent claim 31 and instant dependent claims 32 and 47 are all recited in patented independent claim 1.
As can be seen from the brief outline above, the claims of the patent and those of the instant invention are related, essentially, in a species/genus fashion. That is, the patented method is, essentially, a narrower teaching of the broader method taught by the instant application. Note, however, that if a generic claim is presented in a separate application after the issuance of a patent claiming one or more species within the scope of the generic claim, the generic claim may be rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting. (MPEP 806.04(i).)
Inventor has not addressed the rejection other than to state that a Terminal Disclaimer will be filed, if appropriate, upon indication of otherwise allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN J DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614 4/10/2026