DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,128,028 issued to McBrady et al. (“McBrady”) in view of JP 2019-196934 by Nishida et al. (“Nishida”) as listed in the IDS dated 3/7/2024.
As for claim 1, McBrady discloses a thermal type flowmeter comprising:
a channel member (126) configured to cause a liquid flowing in from an inflow port (252) to flow out of an outflow port (254);
a plate member (112) attached to the channel member and defining, together with the channel member, a measuring channel (114) used for measuring a flow rate of a liquid; and
a sensor unit (122),
wherein the channel member (126) includes
a flat surface (Fig. 1B) in which a first groove (forming 114) having a predetermined width and extending straight along an axis is formed,
an inflow channel (116) having a circular cross section (see Fig. 1A), the inflow channel (116) being connected to a first end in an axis direction along the axis of the first groove (114), the inflow channel being formed inside the channel member (see Fig. 1B) by cutting the channel member (the process of making the inflow channel does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art), and a liquid flowing in from the inflow port (252) being guided to the inflow channel (implied by Figs. 1B and 2), the liquid flowing in the inflow channel being in direct contact therewith (see Fig. 1B), and
an outflow channel (118) having a circular cross section (see Fig. 1), the outflow channel (118) being connected to a second end in the axis direction of the first groove (114), the outflow channel being formed inside the channel member (see Fig. 1B) by cutting the channel member (the process of making the inflow channel does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art), and configured to guide a liquid to the outflow port (implied by Figs. 1B and 2), the liquid flowing in the outflow channel being in direct contact therewith (see Fig. 1B), and
wherein each of a first inner diameter (width of 116 in Fig. 1B) of a position of the flat surface at which the inflow channel is opened and a second inner diameter (width of 118 in Fig. 1B) of a position of the flat surface at which the outflow channel is opened is larger than a width (vertical dimension of 114 in Fig. 1B) of the first groove (114).
McBrady does not disclose that the channel member is made of resin. Instead, McBrady discloses that the channel member can be made of silicon or other suitable wafer materials.
However, Nishida discloses a channel member (120) that is made of resin (pdms; paragraph [0006]).
Because McBrady and Nishida both disclose materials for making a channel member, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the resin of Nishida for the material of McBrady to achieve the predictable result of providing a material with which to make a channel member.
McBrady as presently modified by Nishida does not disclose a sensor unit having a heating resistor and a temperature detecting resistor as recited. Instead, McBrady discloses a generic sensor unit (122) that can determine a rate of flow of a fluid (McBrady: col. 4, lines 27-30).
However, Nishida discloses a sensor unit (110a) having a heating resistor and a temperature detecting resistor (paragraph [0044]), the heating resistor being configured to transfer heat to a plate member (Paragraphs [0044] and [0006], and the temperature detecting resistor being configured to determine a temperature of the plate member to which heat of the liquid flowing through the measuring channel is transferred (paragraphs [0044] and [0006]). Nishida discloses that the sensor unit determines a rate of flow of a fluid (paragraph [0044]).
Because McBrady and Nishida both disclose sensor units that determine a rate of flow of a fluid, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the sensor unit of Nishida for the sensor unit of McBrady to achieve the predictable result of providing a sensor unit that determines a rate of flow of a fluid.
As for claim 2, McBrady as modified by Nishida discloses that each of the first inner diameter and the second inner diameter is 1.5 times or greater of the width of the first groove (McBrady: see Fig. 1B, where the widths of 116 and 118 are ~2 times as large as the vertical dimension of 114).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,128,028 issued to McBrady et al. (“McBrady”) in view of JP 2019-196934 by Nishida et al. (“Nishida”) as listed in the IDS dated 3/7/2024 in view of U.S. Patent 9,816,846 issued to Islam et al. (“Islam”).
As for claim 3, McBrady as modified by Nishida discloses the thermal type flowmeter according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
McBrady as modified by Nishida does not disclose that the width of the first groove is 0.2 mm or greater and 1 mm or less because Nishida does not disclose the size of the measurement channel of the thermal type flowmeter.
However, Islam discloses a measurement channel of a thermal type flow meter that has a width that is 0.2 mm or greater and 1 mm or less (col. 8, lines 43-45).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the width of the first groove of McBrady and Nishida to be 0.2 mm or greater and 1 mm or less as disclosed by Islam in order to allow the thermal type flow meter to be used for steam flow (Islam: col. 1, lines 27-34 and col. 8, lines 39-45).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,128,028 issued to McBrady et al. (“McBrady”) in view of JP 2019-196934 by Nishida et al. (“Nishida”) as listed in the IDS dated 3/7/2024as listed in the IDS dated 3/7/2024 in view of U.S. Patent 7,117,736 issued to Kamiunten et al. (“Kamiunten”).
As for claim 4, McBrady as modified by Nishida discloses the thermal type flowmeter according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
McBrady as modified by Nishida does not disclose that the plate member is formed of sapphire or glassy carbon.
However, Kamiunten discloses a plate member (4) that is formed of sapphire (col. 9, line 6-11) or glassy carbon.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the plate member of McBrady and Nishida to made of sapphire or glassy carbon as disclosed by Kamiunten in order to provide corrosion resistance (Kamiunten: col. 9, lines 6-11).
As for claim 5, McBrady as modified by Nishida discloses the thermal type flowmeter according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
McBrady as modified by Nishida does not disclose that the sensor unit is deposited on the plate member.
However, Kamiunten discloses a sensor unit that is deposited on a plate member (col. 3, lines 27-40).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the flowmeter of McBrady and Nishida by depositing the sensor unit as disclosed by Kamiunten in order to provide a well-known method for making a sensor unit.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,128,028 issued to McBrady et al. (“McBrady”) in view of JP 2019-196934 by Nishida et al. (“Nishida”) as listed in the IDS dated 3/7/2024 in view of U.S. Patent 6,591,674 issued to Gehman et al. (“Gehman”).
As for claim 6, McBrady as modified by Nishida discloses the thermal type flowmeter according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
McBrady as modified by Nishida does not disclose a second groove annularly extending so as to surround the first groove is formed in the flat surface,
the thermal type flowmeter further comprising an annular seal member inserted in the second groove and contacted with the plate member to form an annular seal area surrounding the first groove.
However, Gehman discloses a second groove (holding 39; see Figs. 2 and 5) annularly extending so as to surround a first groove is formed in a flat surface,
and an annular seal member (39) inserted in the second groove and contacted with a plate member (32) to form an annular seal area surrounding the first groove.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the thermal type flowmeter of McBrady and Nishida to include the second groove and annular seal member as disclosed by Gehman in order to reduce leakage (Gehman: col. 7, lines 40-49).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,128,028 issued to McBrady et al. (“McBrady”) in view of JP 2019-196934 by Nishida et al. (“Nishida”) as listed in the IDS dated 3/7/2024 in view of U.S. Patent 10,605,641 issued to Badarlis et al. (“Badarlis”).
As for claim 7, McBrady as modified by Nishida discloses the thermal type flowmeter according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
McBrady as modified by Nishida does not disclose that the sensor unit is arranged at a position closer to the outflow channel than to the inflow channel in the axis direction. Instead, McBrady and Nishida discloses a sensor unit that is arranged equidistant from the inflow and outflow channels to measure a flow rate (McBrady: 122, see Fig. 1B; and Nishida: see Fig. 1).
However, Badarlis discloses a sensor unit that (11a-11c) is arranged at a position closer to the outflow channel than to the inflow channel in the axis direction (see Figs. 1-3). Badarlis discloses that the sensor unit measures a flow rate at this position (col. 11, lines 15-48).
Because Badarlis, McBrady and Nishida disclose positions of sensor units, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the position of Badarlis for the position of McBrady and Nishida to achieve the predictable result of providing a sensor unit at a position at which a fluid flow rate can be measured.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,128,028 issued to McBrady et al. (“McBrady”) in view of JP 2019-196934 by Nishida et al. (“Nishida”) as listed in the IDS dated 3/7/2024 in view of U.S. Patent 8,166,814 issued to Ike et al. (“Ike”).
As for claim 8, McBrady discloses a manufacturing method of a thermal type flowmeter, wherein the thermal type flowmeter comprising
a channel member (126) configured to cause a liquid flowing in from an inflow port (252) to flow out of an outflow port (254);
a plate member (112) attached to the channel member and defining, together with the channel member, a measuring channel (114) used for measuring a flow rate of a liquid; and
a sensor unit (122),
the manufacturing method comprising:
shaping a flat surface (see Fig. 1B) of the channel member (126) to form a first groove (114) having a predetermined width and extending straight along an axis;
shaping the channel member (126) to form an inflow channel (116) having a circular cross section (see Fig. 1A) inside the channel member, the inflow channel (116) being connected to a first end in an axis direction along the axis of the first groove (114), and a liquid flowing in from the inflow port (252) being guided to the inflow channel (implied by Figs. 1B and 2), the liquid being in direct contact with the inflow channel (see Fig. 1B);
shaping the channel member (126) to form an outflow channel (118) having a circular cross section (see Fig. 1A) inside the channel member, the outflow channel (118) being connected to a second end in the axis direction of the first groove (114) and configured to guide a liquid to the outflow port (implied by Figs. 1B and 2), the liquid being in direct contact the outflow channel (see Fig. 1B); and
forming the measuring channel by attaching the plate member to the flat surface of the channel member in which the first groove, the inflow channel, and the outflow channel are formed (see Fig. 1B),
wherein each of a first inner diameter (width of 116 in Fig. 1B) of a position of the flat surface at which the inflow channel is opened and a second inner diameter (width of 118 in Fig. 1B) of a position of the flat surface at which the outflow channel is opened is larger than a width (vertical dimension of 114 in Fig. 1B) of the first groove (114).
McBrady does not disclose that the channel member is made of resin. Instead, McBrady discloses that the channel member can be made of silicon or other suitable wafer materials.
However, Nishida discloses a channel member (120) that is made of resin (pdms; paragraph [0006]).
Because McBrady and Nishida both disclose materials for making a channel member, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the resin of Nishida for the material of McBrady to achieve the predictable result of providing a material with which to make a channel member.
McBrady as presently modified by Nishida does not disclose a sensor unit having a heating resistor and a temperature detecting resistor as recited. Instead, McBrady discloses a generic sensor unit (122) that can determine a rate of flow of a fluid (McBrady: col. 4, lines 27-30).
However, Nishida discloses a sensor unit (110a) having a heating resistor and a temperature detecting resistor (paragraph [0044]), the heating resistor being configured to transfer heat to a plate member (Paragraphs [0044] and [0006], and the temperature detecting resistor being configured to determine a temperature of the plate member to which heat of the liquid flowing through the measuring channel is transferred (paragraphs [0044] and [0006]). Nishida discloses that the sensor unit determines a rate of flow of a fluid (paragraph [0044]).
Because McBrady and Nishida both disclose sensor units that determine a rate of flow of a fluid, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the sensor unit of Nishida for the sensor unit of McBrady to achieve the predictable result of providing a sensor unit that determines a rate of flow of a fluid.
McBrady as modified by Nishida does not explicitly disclose that the shaping of the flat surface to form the first groove, and the shaping of the channel member to form the inflow and outflow channels is performed by cutting. Instead, McBrady implies that photolithography or other generic processes are used (McBrady: col. 3, lines 48-62 and col. 4, lines 9-14).
However, Ike discloses that shaping of a flat surface to form a first groove, and shaping of a channel member to form inflow and outflow channels is performed by cutting (end milling; col. 8, lines 61-64 and col. 9, lines 33-35).
Because McBrady and Ike both disclose methods of forming grooves, inflow channels and outflow channels, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the cutting of Ike for the shaping of McBrady in order to form grooves, inflow channels and outflow channels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853