DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation that the amount of (meth)acrylate is from 5 to 90%, and the claim also recites that the claim is 20 to 80%, and 40 to 70%, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (WO 2013/067947).
With regards to claim 1, Zhang teaches an adhesive composition (abstract) that contains a (meth)acrylate monomer, an epoxy resin, and a cationic photopolymerization initiator (abstract) wherein the epoxy is an aliphatic compound (page 2). Zhang further teaches the adhesive to include a radical photopolymerization initiator that includes an acylphosphine peroxide (page 14) and a curing agent that includes tertiary amines (reading on the accelerator) (page 16). Zhang teaches the amount of the epoxy to be 35 parts and the amount of the (meth)acrylates to be 13 parts (page 21 example 1) reading on a ratio of 2.7:1.
With regards to claim 2, Zhang teaches the (meth)acrylate compound to include monomers (abstract).
With regards to claim 3, Zhang teaches the curing agent to include tertiary amines (page 17).
With regards to claim 5, Zhang teaches the epoxy to be a polyglycidyl ether of aliphatic polyols (page 4).
With regards to claim 6, Zhang teaches the cationic photopolymerization initiator to include sulfonium salts and iodonium salts (page 4)
With regards to claim 7, Zhang teaches the amount of the (meth)acrylate monomer to be 13 parts and the total amount of the (meth)acrylate to be 58 parts (page 21 example 1) in a composition having 100 parts, reading on 13 and 58% respectively.
With regards to claim 8, Zhang teaches the amount of the epoxy compound to be 35 parts (page 21 example 1) in a composition having 100 parts, reading on 35%.
With regards to claim 9, Zhang teaches the amount of the epoxy to be 35 parts and the amount of the (meth)acrylates to be 13 parts (page 21 example 1) reading on a ratio of 2.7:1.
With regards to claim 10, Zhang teaches the amount of the (meth)acrylate monomer to be 13 parts and the total amount of the (meth)acrylate to be 58 parts (page 21 example 1) in a composition having 100 parts, reading on 13 and 58% respectively, the amount of the epoxy compound to be 35 parts (page 21 example 1) in a composition having 100 parts, reading on 35%, the amount of amine curing agent to be from 0 to 65 parts based on 100 parts of the adhesive composition (page 15) with the preferred amount of additive to be 2% (page 21 example 1), the amount of radical photopolymerization initiator to be from 1 to 5 parts based on 100 parts of the adhesive composition with a preferred amount of 2% (page 21 example 1), the amount of epoxy to be 35%, and the amount of cationic photoinitiator to be 1.5% (page 21 example 1) with the total amount of those components being equal to 100%.
With regards to claim 11, Zhang teaches the components to be mixed without the initiators at room temperature (22°C) followed by mixing in the initiators while maintaining the temperature (pages 20-21 example 1).
With regards to claims 12 and 15-16, Zhang teaches the adhesive composition to be applied to a glass plate (reading on a substrate) wherein the substrate was exposed to ultraviolet radiation with an PC plate substrate on the other side of the substrate (pages 19-20).
With regards to claims 13 and 14, Zhang teaches the adhesive composition to form a cured product by light irradiation (pages 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (WO 2013/067947) in view of Jacobine et al (US 2003/0060588).
The disclosure of Zhang is adequately set forth in paragraph 7 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 4, Zhang does not teach the claimed accelerator to include Sacchrin and acetyl-2-phenylhydrazine.
Jacobine teaches an acrylate resin (title) that is used in an adhesive (0002) that includes a photoinitiator (0058) and an anerobic cure inducing compound to include saccharin and acetyl phenylhydrazine (0060) and teaches the motivation for adding said compounds to be because it allows for the composition to be cured anerobically. Zhang and Jacobine are analogous in the art of curable adhesive compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the initiator of Jacobine to the composition of Zhang, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763