DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0043705 A1~ hereinafter “Lim”) of record in view of Kim (EP: 3496177).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Lim discloses (in at least figs. 4 and 9H) an organic light emitting diode display device, comprising: a substrate (111) having first and second subpixels (P1, P2); an interlayer insulating layer (115; [0053]) on the substrate and having a trench (T; [0053]) between the first and second subpixels; a first electrode (120) disposed on the interlayer insulating layer in each of the first and second subpixels (see at least fig. 4); a bank layer (125) covering an edge portion of the first electrode and exposing a central portion of the first electrode (120); an emitting layer (130) and a second electrode (140) sequentially disposed on the bank layer (125) and the first electrode (120) exposed through the bank layer (see at least fig. 4); and a passivation layer (150) disposed on the second electrode (140).
Lim does not expressly disclose the passivation layer wrapping the emitting layer and the second electrode, wherein the passivation layer contacts a sidewall of the trench, a side of the emitting layer, a side surface of the electrode, and a top surface of the second electrode.
Kim discloses a display device (title; at least fig. 7) comprised of, in part, a passivation layer (271; abstract; fig. 7) disposed on the second electrode (263), and wrapped the light-emitting layer (262) and the second electrode (263), wherein the passivation layer (271) contacts a side wall of the trench (EH1), a side of the emitting layer (262), a side surface of the electrode (263), and a top surface of the second electrode (263) in order to prevent oxygen and/or moisture from penetrating into the light-emitting element layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the organic light emitting diode display device of Lim with the passivation layer teaching of Kim for the benefit of preventing oxygen and/or moisture from penetrating into the light-emitting element layer.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses (at least fig. 7) the passivation layer (TFE1) extends to cover a top surface and a side surface of the emitting layer (172) and the second electrode (173) and contacts a sidewall of the trench (see fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 4) the emitting layer (130) includes a first stack (130a; [0073]-[0074]) on the first electrode (120), a charge generating layer (131b, 132b) on the first stack and a second stack (131c, 132c) on the charge generating layer.
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 4) the charge generating layer (131b, 132b) and the second electrode (140) at the trench are insulated from each other.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 9) an oxidation portion having an insulation property disposed at an approaching portion of the charge generating layer and the second electrode and disposed over the trench ([0186]; i.e. as the insulating layer is heated, it is understood that an oxidation portion is disposed at an approaching portion of the charge generating layer and the second electrode and disposed over the trench).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Lim as modified by Kim does not expressly disclose a thickness of each of the first stack, the charge generating layer, the second electrode at the trench is smaller than a thickness of each of the first stack, the charge generating layer, the second stack and the second electrode at other portion except for the trench.
However, Lim discloses ([0092]) “the charge generating layer 130b has high resistance as its thickness becomes thin in the trench T. Lim further discloses (in at least [0073]) “A width of the trench T may be designed considering a thickness of each of first stacks 131a, 132a, and 133a, charge generating layers 131b, 132b, and 133b and second stacks 131c, 132c, and 133c of the light emitting layer 130 and the second electrode 140.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming a thickness of each of the first stack of Lim, the charge generating layer, the second electrode at the trench is smaller than a thickness of each of the first stack, the charge generating layer, the second stack and the second electrode at other portion except for the trench, since it has been held that a mere change in the size of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 7-5, 16 and 17, Lim as modified by Kim does not expressly disclose a width of the trench is equal to or greater than 0.6 times of a thickness of the emitting layer; and a width of the trench is equal to or smaller than 1.0 μm.
However, Lim discloses (in at least [0078]) “an optimal width of the trench T may be varied depending on a thickness of each of the second electrode 140, the first stacks 131a, 132a, and 133a of the light emitting layer 130, the charge generating layers 131b, 132b, and 133b and the second stacks 131c, 132c, and 133c.” Lim further discloses ([0073]) “A width of the trench T may be designed considering a thickness of each of first stacks 131a, 132a, and 133a, charge generating layers 131b, 132b, and 133b and second stacks 131c, 132c, and 133c of the light emitting layer 130 and the second electrode 140.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the width of the trench of Lim equal to or greater than 0.6 times of a thickness of the emitting layer and equal to or smaller than 1.0 μm, since it has been held that a mere change in the size of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination of Lim and Kim discloses (in at least fig. 4 Lim; fig. 7 Kim) a thin film transistor (TFT) between the substrate (111) and the interlayer insulating layer (115) in each of the first and second subpixels, and the thin film transistor connected to the first electrode (120); and first, second and third encapsulating layers (271, 272, 273) sequentially disposed on the passivation layer (150).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 4) the passivation layer (150) is formed through an atomic layer deposition method ([0138]).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 4) the forming the emitting layer comprises: forming a first stack (130a) on the first electrode; forming a charge generating layer (131b, 132b) on the first stack; and forming a second stack (131c, 132c) on the charge generating layer.
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 4) the charge generating layer (131b, 132b) and the second electrode (140) at the trench (T) are insulated from each other.
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 4) the charge generating layer (131b, 132b) contacts a sidewall of the trench (T) and a side surface of the first stack (130a) and the passivation layer (150) contacts a top surface of the second electrode (140).
Lim does not expressly disclose the passivation layer contacts the sidewall of the trench, a side surface of the charge generating layer, a side surface of the second electrode, and a top surface of the second electrode.
However, Lim discloses (in at least fig. 4) a second passivation layer (160) contacts the sidewall of the trench (T), a side surface of the second electrode (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the two passivation layers of Lim as one, wherein it contacts the sidewall of the trench, a side surface of the charge generating layer, a side surface of the second electrode, and a top surface of the second electrode in order to reduce the manufacturing steps. Also, it has been held that making an old device portable or movable without producing any new an unexpected result involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses (in at least figs. 4 and 9) the oxidation portion includes a first oxidation portion which is an oxide of the charge generating layer (131b, 132b) and a second oxidation portion which is an oxide of the second electrode ([0186]; i.e. it is understood that this is happened when the insulating layer is heated).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875