DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
One page of specification and one page of drawing (Fig. 10) were received on April 8, 2026. The specification and the drawing are NOT acceptable because the newly amended features are not disclosed in the original disclosure. Furthermore, the "deflector surface 228 includes a convex rounded deflector surface having a continuous radius of curvature across an entirety of the deflector surface 228" is not shown in the amended Fig. 10 because peripheral area of the deflector surface 228 seems linear and not having a continuous radius of curvature. Furthermore, Fig. 10 is a non-elected Species of the invention. See Election/Restrictions section below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7, 11, 15-17 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 15, 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II in the reply filed on July 15, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the species are independent or distinct because claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record. Furthermore, the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the convex rounded deflector surface having a continuous radius of curvature across an entirety of the deflector surface that is impacted by a water stream as recited in claims 12 and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the deflector grooves” in lines 2 and 3 should read -- the plurality of deflector grooves.-- Appropriate correction is required. Same objection applies to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that deflector plate comprising a convex rounded deflector surface having a continuous radius of curvature across an entirety of the deflector surface that is impacted by a water stream as recited in claims 12 and 19. In fact, the terms “convex rounded deflector” is not specifically disclose in the original disclosure. Paragraph [0018] discloses “In some embodiments, the deflector surface may include a rounded convex surface.” However, it is unclear if the “deflector surface” fully equates to the “convex rounded deflector (a deflector is more than just a surface of a deflector)” because the terms “convex rounded deflector” were never disclosed in the original disclosure. Furthermore, the feature of “continuous radius of curvature across an entirety of the deflector surface” is not disclosed in the specification and shown in the drawing. Clarification is respectful requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bentley et al. (US 20150102127. Bentley hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Bentley discloses a deflector plate (230. Figs. 1-12) for a sprinkler assembly (200), the deflector plate comprising: a central opening (246. Fig. 9) with a plurality of notches (six triangular notches near 246) extending radially outward (from X axis); a flat planar deflector surface (six lower flat tip end near 246. See Fig. 8 with additional annotations below) positioned adjacent the central opening, the deflector surface being free of slope or curvature and free of additional diverting structure; and a plurality of deflector grooves (232) extending radially outward from the flat deflector surface and in communication with the plurality of notches.
With respect to claim 2, Bentley discloses the deflector plate according to claim 1, wherein the notches are arrayed circumferentially about the central opening, and wherein side walls of adjacent ones of the notches meet at a point to define an inward-facing edge (that defines 214).
With respect to claim 3, Bentley discloses the deflector plate according to claim 2, wherein radially outermost walls of the notches extend farther outward than an outermost periphery of the flat deflector surface (Figs. 7 and 8).
With respect to claim 4, Bentley discloses the deflector plate according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of deflector grooves are configured to (capable of) create rotational torque (as a rotatable impeller. Abstract) on the deflector plate when water is deflected into the plurality of deflector grooves by the flat deflector surface.
With respect to claim 8, Bentley discloses wherein the (the combined six lower tip end near 246 having the form of a circle. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/circular) flat deflector surface is circular (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 9, Bentley discloses wherein the notches are spaced from the flat deflector surface (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 10, Bentley discloses wherein the central opening and the deflector grooves are configured such that a water stream flowing through the central opening and impacting the flat deflector surface is deflected outward into the deflector grooves (Fig. 3 and “flows of liquid (shown with arrows F).” [0037]).
With respect to claim 12, Bentley discloses a deflector plate (200. Figs. 1-12) comprising: (1) a flat planar deflector surface free of slope or curvature (six lower flat tip end near 246. See Fig. 8 with additional annotations below), wherein the flat planar deflector surface or the convex rounded deflector surface is disposed at (near) a center of the deflector plate and is free of additional diverting structure; and a plurality of deflector grooves (232) extending radially outward from the deflector surface, wherein the deflector surface is configured to deflect the water stream outward into the plurality of deflector grooves (Fig. 3 and “flows of liquid (shown with arrows F).” [0037]).
With respect to claim 13, Bentley discloses wherein the deflector surface comprises a flat (six lower tip end near 246. Fig. 8) surface.
With respect to claim 14, Bentley discloses the deflector plate according to claim 13, comprising a radiused area (near 316. Fig. 12) in each of the plurality of deflector grooves at radial outermost edges of the deflector surface.
With respect to claim 18, Bentley discloses wherein the deflector surface and the plurality of deflector grooves are disposed on a nozzle-facing (upward) side of the deflector plate.
With respect to claim 19, Bentley discloses a sprinkler (Figs. 1-12) comprising: a base unit (holder of 150 and 210. Figs. 2, 7 and 8) coupleable with a source of water under pressure (108. [0028]); a nozzle (200) disposed in the base unit; and a deflector plate (230) coupled with the base unit and disposed facing the nozzle, the deflector plate including: a flat planar deflector surface free of slope or curvature (six lower flat tip end near 246. See Fig. 8 with additional annotations below), wherein the flat planar deflector surface or the convex rounded deflector surface is disposed at (near) a center of the deflector plate and is free of additional diverting structure, and a plurality of deflector grooves (232) extending radially outward from the deflector surface, wherein the deflector surface is configured to (capable of) deflect water outward into the plurality of deflector grooves (Fig. 3 and “flows of liquid (shown with arrows F).” [0037]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the drawing objection, the Applicant argues that Fig. 10 discloses the claim limitation. Fig. 10 is a non-elected Species of the invention. See Election/Restrictions section above.
The applicant argues that Bentley fails to disclose a flat planar deflector surface free of slope or curvature and is free of additional diverting structure. The applicant’s argument has been considered but is moot due to the new and clarified interpretation of the Bentley reference. The flat planar deflector surface is now being interpreted as the six lower flat tip end near 246 shown in Fig. 8 with additional annotations above (see new rejection above). The six small vertical walls at the outer ends of the six lower flat tip end are not part of the “flat planar deflector surface.”
Conclusion
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 May 30, 2026