DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-10 and 12-17, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claim 1 or 11. Therefor for at least the reasons presented above for claims 1 and 11, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,10,11,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20210051588 A1) in view of Bao (US 20220015188 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a method of a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 4 UE1), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, Uu discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a Uu link between the base station and the first UE and first sidelink (SL) DRX configuration information for a first SL between the first UE and a second UE (Fig. 4; [0082] “As shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 402, the BS may configure a sidelink DRX configuration for sidelink DRX operation of UE1 on the sidelink, and may configure an access link DRX configuration for access link (Uu link) DRX operation of UE1 on the access link. [0087] As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 404, the BS may transmit an indication of the sidelink DRX configuration (which contains SL DRX state information) and the access link DRX configuration (which contains Uu DRX state information) to UE1 (first UE).”);
receiving, from the base station, DRX information indicating a Uu DRX information on the Uu link and a first SL DRX information on the first SL (Paragraphs [0083] and [0084] disclose the parameters included as part of the DRX configuration, which include start times for the “ON” and “sleep” states ((DRX) information).);
performing communication with the base station on the Uu link based on the Uu DRX information and the Uu DRX configuration information (Fig. 4; [0088] “As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 406, UE1 may perform… access link communication with the BS based at least in part on the access link DRX configuration (which contains Uu DRX state information).”); and
performing communication with the second UE on the first SL based on the first SL DRX information and the first SL DRX configuration information (Fig. 4; [0088] “As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 406, UE1 may perform sidelink communication with UE2 based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration (which contains SL DRX state information).”)
wherein the Uu DRX state indicates whether a Uu DRX operation is performed ([0064] “In some cases, a UE may perform DRX operation for an access link between the UE and a BS, to conserve battery life of the UE. DRX operation may include transitioning to a DRX sleep mode for a DRX sleep duration. In the DRX sleep mode, the UE may refrain from transmitting or receiving on the access link. Moreover, DRX operation may include periodically transitioning out of the DRX sleep mode and into a DRX on mode (or activate mode) for a DRX on duration to monitor for downlink communications from a BS”.) and the first SL DRX state indicates whether a first SL DRX operation is performed ([0070] “As further shown in FIG. 3, the UE may perform sidelink DRX operation based at least in part on a sidelink DRX cycle. The sidelink DRX cycle may include a combination of a sidelink DRX on mode and a sidelink DRX sleep mode. The UE may operate in the sidelink DRX sleep mode for a sidelink DRX sleep duration. In the sidelink DRX sleep mode, the UE may refrain from transmitting or receiving on the sidelink. Moreover, the UE may operate in the sidelink DRX on mode for a sidelink DRX on duration to monitor for sidelink communications from other UEs, to transmit sidelink communications to other UEs, and/or the like.”)
Wu does not teach the DRX information is DRX state information and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches the DRX information is DRX state information ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option.) and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information ([0119] The DRX state option may include activation or deactivation. If the DRX state option includes activation, the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation when receiving the DRX configuration information, to be specific, once receiving the DRX configuration information, the terminal device immediately starts to activate a DRX configuration (which is usually a default configuration or a specified DRX configuration), and performs the DRX operation by using the configuration, until control signaling of the network device is received again.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a length of a Uu DRX cycle associated with the Uu DRX operation on the Uu link is set based on the first SL DRX information ([0086] “Moreover, the BS may configure the sidelink DRX configuration and the access link DRX configuration such that the one or more parameters for sidelink DRX operation and the one or more parameters for access link DRX operation are the same parameters. …the sidelink DRX cycle duration and the access link DRX cycle duration to be the same duration (e.g., such that UE1 cycles through sidelink DRX sleep modes, sidelink DRX on modes, access link DRX sleep modes, and access link DRX on modes at the same cadence), and/or the like.” Paragraph [0086] discloses the base station can configure the length of the Uu DRX cycle (and other parameters) based on the SL DRX configuration, which includes the SL DRX state information.).
Wu does not teach the DRX information is DRX state.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches the DRX information is DRX state ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, information of an effective period in which the DRX state information is used.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches receiving, from the base station, information of an effective period in which the DRX state information is used ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option. [0122] When the network device sends the DRX configuration information to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may carry operation indication information. [0126] If the operation indication information is used to indicate that the terminal device activates the DRX state at the first occasion and performs the deactivation operation at the second occasion, further, a solution is as follows: [0128] If the first occasion is earlier than the second occasion, when receiving the DRX configuration information that carries the operation indication information, the terminal device starts to activate a DRX configuration (which is usually a default configuration or a specified DRX configuration) at the first occasion, and performs the deactivation operation on a current DRX configuration at the second occasion, until control signaling of the network device is received again. [0129] In this embodiment, the network device may further send condition information to the terminal device, where the condition information is used by the terminal device to automatically resume a specified DRX configuration. [0132] The condition information may include preset duration. The preset duration may be used by the terminal device to resume the specified DRX configuration when first duration is greater than or equal to the preset duration.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches a first user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; and a memory ([0012] “In some aspects, a UE for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory.”) storing instructions executable by the processor to perform:
receiving, from a base station, Uu discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a Uu link between the base station and the first UE and first sidelink (SL) DRX configuration information for a first SL between the first UE and a second UE (Fig. 4; [0082] “As shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 402, the BS may configure a sidelink DRX configuration for sidelink DRX operation of UE1 on the sidelink, and may configure an access link DRX configuration for access link (Uu link) DRX operation of UE1 on the access link. [0087] As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 404, the BS may transmit an indication of the sidelink DRX configuration (which contains SL DRX state information) and the access link DRX configuration (which contains Uu DRX state information) to UE1 (first UE).”);
receiving, from the base station, DRX information indicating a Uu DRX information on the Uu link and a first SL DRX information on the first SL (Paragraphs [0083] and [0084] disclose the parameters included as part of the DRX configuration, which include start times for the “ON” and “sleep” states ((DRX) information).);
performing communication with the base station on the Uu link based on the Uu DRX information and the Uu DRX configuration information (Fig. 4; [0088] “As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 406, UE1 may perform… access link communication with the BS based at least in part on the access link DRX configuration (which contains Uu DRX state information).”); and
performing communication with the second UE on the first SL based on the first SL DRX information and the first SL DRX configuration information (Fig. 4; [0088] “As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 406, UE1 may perform sidelink communication with UE2 based at least in part on the sidelink DRX configuration (which contains SL DRX state information).”)
wherein the Uu DRX state indicates whether a Uu DRX operation is performed ([0064] “In some cases, a UE may perform DRX operation for an access link between the UE and a BS, to conserve battery life of the UE. DRX operation may include transitioning to a DRX sleep mode for a DRX sleep duration. In the DRX sleep mode, the UE may refrain from transmitting or receiving on the access link. Moreover, DRX operation may include periodically transitioning out of the DRX sleep mode and into a DRX on mode (or activate mode) for a DRX on duration to monitor for downlink communications from a BS”.) and the first SL DRX state indicates whether a first SL DRX operation is performed ([0070] “As further shown in FIG. 3, the UE may perform sidelink DRX operation based at least in part on a sidelink DRX cycle. The sidelink DRX cycle may include a combination of a sidelink DRX on mode and a sidelink DRX sleep mode. The UE may operate in the sidelink DRX sleep mode for a sidelink DRX sleep duration. In the sidelink DRX sleep mode, the UE may refrain from transmitting or receiving on the sidelink. Moreover, the UE may operate in the sidelink DRX on mode for a sidelink DRX on duration to monitor for sidelink communications from other UEs, to transmit sidelink communications to other UEs, and/or the like.”)
Wu does not teach the DRX information is DRX state information and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches the DRX information is DRX state information ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option.) and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information ([0119] The DRX state option may include activation or deactivation. If the DRX state option includes activation, the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation when receiving the DRX configuration information, to be specific, once receiving the DRX configuration information, the terminal device immediately starts to activate a DRX configuration (which is usually a default configuration or a specified DRX configuration), and performs the DRX operation by using the configuration, until control signaling of the network device is received again.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the first UE according to claim 11, wherein a length of a Uu DRX cycle associated with the Uu DRX operation on the Uu link is set differently according to whether the first SL DRX operation is performed ([0086] “Moreover, the BS may configure the sidelink DRX configuration and the access link DRX configuration such that the one or more parameters for sidelink DRX operation and the one or more parameters for access link DRX operation are the same parameters. …the sidelink DRX cycle duration and the access link DRX cycle duration to be the same duration (e.g., such that UE1 cycles through sidelink DRX sleep modes, sidelink DRX on modes, access link DRX sleep modes, and access link DRX on modes at the same cadence), and/or the like.” Paragraph [0086] discloses the base station can configure the length of the Uu DRX cycle (and other parameters) based on the SL DRX configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, 9, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Bao; further in view of Wu (US 20240349397 A1); hereinafter Wu2.
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the DRX state information further indicates a second SL DRX state indicating whether a second SL DRX operation is performed on a second SL between the first UE and a third UE, and communication between the first UE and the third UE is performed based on the second SL DRX state.
Wu2, in the same field of endeavor of SL DRX teaches wherein the DRX information further indicates a second SL DRX information indicating whether a second SL DRX operation is performed on a second SL between the first UE and a third UE, and communication between the first UE and the third UE is performed based on the second SL DRX information (Fig. 2; [0050] “…a DRX configuration via Uu 218 (which can be designated to be used in Uu interface, or PC5 interface or both interfaces) in the form of RRC layer-3 signaling is provided from gNB 202 to second UE 206. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 (second SL) is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 (between the first UE and a third UE) by layer-3 signaling.” Base station 202 sends DRX state information for both the Uu link and the second SL between UE2 and UE5 of Fig. 2. The DRX configuration defines a “wake up” period and a sleep period which together define the DRX cycle (Fig. 5A and 5B). This can be viewed as state information, since it defines the ON (awake) or OFF (idle) states of the DRX cycles.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the SL DRX methods of Wu to the second SL between the first UE and a third UE of Wu2. The motivation to do so would have been to extend the teachings of Wu to multiple SL communications links.
Wu2 does not teach the DRX information is DRX state information and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches the DRX information is DRX state information ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option.) and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information ([0119] The DRX state option may include activation or deactivation. If the DRX state option includes activation, the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation when receiving the DRX configuration information, to be specific, once receiving the DRX configuration information, the terminal device immediately starts to activate a DRX configuration (which is usually a default configuration or a specified DRX configuration), and performs the DRX operation by using the configuration, until control signaling of the network device is received again.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches the method according to claim 1 but does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a DRX state table defining combinations of a plurality of Uu DRX states and a plurality of first SL DRX states, wherein the DRX state information indicates one combination among the combinations.
Wu2, in the same field of endeavor of SL DRX teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a DRX state table defining combinations of a plurality of Uu DRX information and a plurality of first SL DRX information, wherein the DRX information indicates one combination among the combinations ([0049] “In general, a first enhancement entails a gNB capable of triggering SL-DRX based on enhanced Uu MAC control element (CE) signaling to trigger UE to enter DRX. In the DRX command from gNB 202, an index may be used to point to one of the predefined (i.e., Uu or SL) DRX configurations (combinations of a plurality of Uu DRX information and a plurality of first SL DRX information). In one embodiment, this index is a pointer to a DRX configuration, such as a look-up table (a DRX state table). To perform the look-up, the table is predefined. And which index value corresponds to which DRX configuration is also predefined. This table can be part of RRC configuration via Uu RRC (sent from the base station). For example, a Uu DRX command to trigger SL DRX 214 is provided between gNB 202 and first UE 204 via MAC CE layer-2 signaling”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the SL DRX methods of Wu to include the DRX state table of Wu2. The motivation to do so would have been to achieve the potential benefits of SL/Uu DRX alignment (Wu2; [0055]).
Wu2 does not teach the DRX information is DRX state information and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches the DRX information is DRX state information ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option.) and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information ([0119] The DRX state option may include activation or deactivation. If the DRX state option includes activation, the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation when receiving the DRX configuration information, to be specific, once receiving the DRX configuration information, the terminal device immediately starts to activate a DRX configuration (which is usually a default configuration or a specified DRX configuration), and performs the DRX operation by using the configuration, until control signaling of the network device is received again.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising:
transmitting the DRX state table to the second UE (Fig. 2 shows SL DRX command 216, similar to Uu DRX command 214. If SL DRX command 216 contains the same index pointing to one of the predefined DRX configurations, then it follows that the second UE must also have received the DRX state table.); and
transmitting the DRX state information indicating the one combination among the combinations defined in the DRX state table to the second UE ([0049] “An SL DRX command 216 (also layer-2 signaling) is made between first UE 204 and fourth UE 208 (the second UE). The Uu DRX MAC CE layer-2 command includes a flag (or 2-bits) to point out to be used in Uu, in SL, or in both”.).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches the method according to claim 11 but does not explicitly teach wherein the DRX state information further indicates a second SL DRX state indicating whether a second SL DRX operation is performed on a second SL between the first UE and a third UE, and communication between the first UE and the third UE is performed based on the second SL DRX state.
Wu2, in the same field of endeavor of SL DRX teaches wherein the DRX information further indicates a second SL DRX information indicating whether a second SL DRX operation is performed on a second SL between the first UE and a third UE, and communication between the first UE and the third UE is performed based on the second SL DRX information (Fig. 2; [0050] “…a DRX configuration via Uu 218 (which can be designated to be used in Uu interface, or PC5 interface or both interfaces) in the form of RRC layer-3 signaling is provided from gNB 202 to second UE 206. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 (second SL) is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 (between the first UE and a third UE) by layer-3 signaling.” Base station 202 sends DRX state information for both the Uu link and the second SL between UE2 and UE5 of Fig. 2. The DRX configuration defines a “wake up” period and a sleep period which together define the DRX cycle (Fig. 5A and 5B). This can be viewed as state information, since it defines the ON (awake) or OFF (idle) states of the DRX cycles.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the SL DRX methods of Wu to the second SL between the first UE and a third UE of Wu2. The motivation to do so would have been to extend the teachings of Wu to multiple SL communications links.
Wu2 does not teach the DRX information is DRX state information and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches the DRX information is DRX state information ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option.) and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information ([0119] The DRX state option may include activation or deactivation. If the DRX state option includes activation, the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation when receiving the DRX configuration information, to be specific, once receiving the DRX configuration information, the terminal device immediately starts to activate a DRX configuration (which is usually a default configuration or a specified DRX configuration), and performs the DRX operation by using the configuration, until control signaling of the network device is received again.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches the first UE according to claim 11 but does not explicitly teach, wherein the instructions are further executed to perform: receiving, from the base station, a DRX state table defining combinations of a plurality of Uu DRX states and a plurality of first SL DRX states, wherein the DRX state information indicates one combination among the combinations.
Wu2, in the same field of endeavor of SL DRX teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a DRX state table defining combinations of a plurality of Uu DRX information and a plurality of first SL DRX information, wherein the DRX information indicates one combination among the combinations ([0049] “In general, a first enhancement entails a gNB capable of triggering SL-DRX based on enhanced Uu MAC control element (CE) signaling to trigger UE to enter DRX. In the DRX command from gNB 202, an index may be used to point to one of the predefined (i.e., Uu or SL) DRX configurations (combinations of a plurality of Uu DRX information and a plurality of first SL DRX information). In one embodiment, this index is a pointer to a DRX configuration, such as a look-up table (a DRX state table). To perform the look-up, the table is predefined. And which index value corresponds to which DRX configuration is also predefined. This table can be part of RRC configuration via Uu RRC (sent from the base station). For example, a Uu DRX command to trigger SL DRX 214 is provided between gNB 202 and first UE 204 via MAC CE layer-2 signaling”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the SL DRX methods of Wu to include the DRX state table of Wu2. The motivation to do so would have been to achieve the potential benefits of SL/Uu DRX alignment (Wu2; [0055]).
Wu2 does not teach the DRX information is DRX state information and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information.
Bao in the same field of endeavor of DRX configuration teaches the DRX information is DRX state information ([0118] When the DRX configuration information is sent to the terminal device, the DRX configuration information may further carry a DRX state option, and the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform, when receiving the DRX configuration information, an operation corresponding to the DRX state option.) and the DRX state is indicated by the DRX state information ([0119] The DRX state option may include activation or deactivation. If the DRX state option includes activation, the DRX state option is used by the terminal device to perform a DRX operation when receiving the DRX configuration information, to be specific, once receiving the DRX configuration information, the terminal device immediately starts to activate a DRX configuration (which is usually a default configuration or a specified DRX configuration), and performs the DRX operation by using the configuration, until control signaling of the network device is received again.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the DRX state information of Bao in the DRX configuration information of Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to configure a plurality of DRX configurations for the terminal device, and therefore, the network device can flexibly select a suitable DRX configuration based on a current service characteristic or battery status of the terminal device, so as to better adapt to a service transmission requirement of the terminal device, and save electricity of the terminal device. This improves battery efficiency and user experience (Bao; [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Bao, further in view of Ryu (US 20220053340 A1); hereinafter Ryu.
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the method according to claim 3 and teaches the concept of long and short Uu DRX cycles ([0084] “In some aspects, the access link DRX configuration may identify one or more parameters for access link DRX operation of UE1, such…an access link DRX cycle duration, a configuration for short access link DRX cycles and/or long access link DRX cycles”) but does not teach, wherein when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a first length is set, and when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a second length is set, the first length being shorter than the second length.
Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of DRX SL communications, teaches wherein when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a first length is set, and when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a second length is set, the first length being shorter than the second length ([0064] “UE 305-2 may have a Uu long cycle that causes the sidelink resource pool to fall outside of an active time.” Fig. 5A shows UE 120-2 is always active during the SL resource pool window, but the Uu DRX cycle is long compared to the Uu DRX cycle of the other UEs. This figure shows no common active time between the two links during the sidelink resource pool window, therefor communications will not occur. If the Uu DRX cycle of UE 120-2 where shorter, as shown for UE 120-1, there would be more opportunities for communication between the UE and the base station, to enable more sidelink communications as disclosed in paragraph [0078] and Fig. 5B. Thus Fig. 5A demonstrates that for optimal communication you want to set the Uu DRX cycle shorter when the SL DRX operation is not performed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the SL DRX methods of Wu and Bao with the teachings of Ryu for short and long Uu DRX cycles. The motivation to do so would have been to optimize power consumption to a traffic pattern on a sidelink (Ryu;[0008]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the first UE according to claim 13 3 and teaches the concept of long and short Uu DRX cycles ([0084] “In some aspects, the access link DRX configuration may identify one or more parameters for access link DRX operation of UE1, such…an access link DRX cycle duration, a configuration for short access link DRX cycles and/or long access link DRX cycles”) but does not teach, wherein when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a first length is set, and when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a second length is set, the first length being shorter than the second length.
Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of DRX SL communications, teaches wherein when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a first length is set, and when the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the Uu DRX cycle having a second length is set, the first length being shorter than the second length ([0064] “UE 305-2 may have a Uu long cycle that causes the sidelink resource pool to fall outside of an active time.” Fig. 5A shows UE 120-2 is always active during the SL resource pool window, but the Uu DRX cycle is long compared to the Uu DRX cycle of the other UEs. This figure shows no common active time between the two links during the sidelink resource pool window, therefor communications will not occur. If the Uu DRX cycle of UE 120-2 where shorter, as shown for UE 120-1, there would be more opportunities for communication between the UE and the base station, to enable more sidelink communications as disclosed in paragraph [0078] and Fig. 5B. Thus Fig. 5A demonstrates that for optimal communication you want to set the Uu DRX cycle shorter when the SL DRX operation is not performed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the SL DRX methods of Wu and Bao with the teachings of Ryu for short and long Uu DRX cycles. The motivation to do so would have been to optimize power consumption to a traffic pattern on a sidelink (Ryu;[0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Bao, in view of Park (US 20230363048 A1), further in view of RYU (US 20220053340 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wu and Bao teach the method according to claim 1 but do not teach, wherein the performing of the communication with the second UE comprises:
determining a number of SL resources reserved by one sidelink control information (SCI) based on a type of a Uu DRX cycle associated with the Uu DRX operation and the first SL DRX state; and
performing communication with the second UE using the SL resources reserved by the one SCI.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of DRX operations in SL communications, teaches
determining a number of SL resources reserved by one sidelink control information (SCI) based on a type of a DRX cycle associated with the DRX operation and the first SL DRX state ([0156] “With respect to the NR SL DRX configuration, the SCI specific DRX cycles / SCI specific SL active times and SCI specific onDuration may be applied in consideration of the SL time domain resource allocation characteristics. That is, when the Tx UE transmits SCI to the Rx UE performing a DRX operation, the Tx UE may indicate specified NR SL DRX configuration information in connection with the SCI transmission. [0158] That is, in FIG. 8, the SCI based DRX cycle may be based on time resource allocation information and resource reservation information indicated by the SCI. [0163] Also, based on the SCI based DRX cycle, the SCI based onDuration timer may be instructed to start at a time resource indicated for the TB transmission through the SCI.” SL resources set by SCI are based on a SL specific DRX (type of DRX) which contains the SL DRX state information and is associated with a DRX operation.); and
performing communication with the second UE using the SL resources reserved by the one SCI ([0163] “However, since the number of maximum time resource reservations indicated by the SCI may be a plurality, the UE may maintain an active state to perform a TB transmission at the time resource indicated by the SCI. Also, based on the SCI based DRX cycle, the SCI based onDuration timer may be instructed to start at a time resource indicated for the TB transmission through the SCI. Through this, the UE may receive the TB from a time resource indicated by the SCI.” Paragraph [0163] discloses the Rx UE receiving the TB sent by the Tx UE indicated by the SCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of DRX operation in SL communications of Wu and Bao to include the SCI specific DRX cycles of Park to determine SL resources reserved by an SCI based on a type of DRX cycle associated with a DRX operation and the first SL DRX state. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method and apparatus to flexibly set up an NR SL DRX configuration in consideration of the SL communication environments (Park; [0015]).
Park does not teach the type of DRX cycle is a Uu DRX cycle.
However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of DRX SL communication, teaches a Uu DRX cycle associated with the Uu DRX operation ([0009] “access link DRX configuration”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DRX operation method of Park with the DRX operation methods of Ryu. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for sidelink (specific) DRX (mode) configuration (Ryu; [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is a long cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed ([0123] “…the base station (e.g., gNB) may control the on-duration time interval through an RRC configuration of DRX or instruct to follow a long DRX cycle” (The type of Uu DRX cycle is a long cycle). “…the base station may recognize that a DL data transmission may not exist for the UE, and it may prevent the UE from being activated” (first SL DRX operation is not performed)), the number of SL resources is determined to be a preset maximum number ([0159] “…the UE may set the maximum number of time resource reservations, 2 or 3, through higher layer signaling”).
Park does not teach and when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is the long cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is determined to be less than the preset maximum number.
However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of DRX SL communication, teaches and when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is the long cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is determined to be less than the preset maximum number (Fig. 3 shows UE120-2 has a long Uu DRX cycle; Fig. 5a, [0062] “A sidelink resource pool may include a set of time and/or frequency resources allocated for sidelink activity. For example, a network controller, a BS, and/or the like may assign a set of resources in a network to a sidelink resource pool, and UEs in the network may perform sidelink activity during the sidelink resource pool.” [0064] “However, in some cases, as a result of a timing of the sidelink resource pool, in which UEs 305 may reserve resources for communication with each other, relative to a timing of DRX, at least one of the UEs 305 may be in an inactive time and an inactive mode. UE 305-2 may have a Uu long cycle that causes the sidelink resource pool to fall outside of an active time. As a result, for example, UE 305-1 may miss an opportunity for communication on the sidelink.” (Which means the number of SL resources is determined to be less than the preset maximum number.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DRX operation method of Park with the DRX operation methods of Ryu. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for sidelink (specific) DRX (mode) configuration (Ryu; [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the method according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is a short cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is determined to be smaller than a number of the SL resources determined when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is the short cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed.
However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of DRX SL communication, teaches wherein when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is a short cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is determined to be smaller than a number of the SL resources determined when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is the short cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed (Fig. 3 shows UE 120-1 has a short Uu DRX cycle; Fig. 5a shows when UE 120-1 is idle, first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is smaller (no resources are used since no transmissions are taking place) than when UE 120-1 is active, first SL DRX operation is not performed (transmissions can take place)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DRX operation method of Park with the DRX operation methods of Ryu. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for sidelink (specific) DRX (mode) configuration (Ryu; [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu and Bao teach the first UE according to claim 11 but do not teach, wherein the performing of the communication with the second UE comprises:
determining a number of SL resources reserved by one sidelink control information (SCI) based on a type of a Uu DRX cycle associated with the Uu DRX operation and the first SL DRX state; and
performing communication with the second UE using the SL resources reserved by the one SCI.
Park, in the same field of endeavor of DRX operations in SL communications, teaches
determining a number of SL resources reserved by one sidelink control information (SCI) based on a type of a DRX cycle associated with the DRX operation and the first SL DRX state ([0156] “With respect to the NR SL DRX configuration, the SCI specific DRX cycles / SCI specific SL active times and SCI specific onDuration may be applied in consideration of the SL time domain resource allocation characteristics. That is, when the Tx UE transmits SCI to the Rx UE performing a DRX operation, the Tx UE may indicate specified NR SL DRX configuration information in connection with the SCI transmission. [0158] That is, in FIG. 8, the SCI based DRX cycle may be based on time resource allocation information and resource reservation information indicated by the SCI. [0163] Also, based on the SCI based DRX cycle, the SCI based onDuration timer may be instructed to start at a time resource indicated for the TB transmission through the SCI.” SL resources set by SCI are based on a SL specific DRX (type of DRX) which contains the SL DRX state information and is associated with a DRX operation.); and
performing communication with the second UE using the SL resources reserved by the one SCI ([0163] “However, since the number of maximum time resource reservations indicated by the SCI may be a plurality, the UE may maintain an active state to perform a TB transmission at the time resource indicated by the SCI. Also, based on the SCI based DRX cycle, the SCI based onDuration timer may be instructed to start at a time resource indicated for the TB transmission through the SCI. Through this, the UE may receive the TB from a time resource indicated by the SCI.” Paragraph [0163] discloses the Rx UE receiving the TB sent by the Tx UE indicated by the SCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of DRX operation in SL communications of Wu to include the SCI specific DRX cycles of Park to determine SL resources reserved by an SCI based on a type of DRX cycle associated with a DRX operation and the first SL DRX state. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method and apparatus to flexibly set up an NR SL DRX configuration in consideration of the SL communication environments (Park; [0015]).
Park does not teach the type of DRX cycle is a Uu DRX cycle.
However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of DRX SL communication, teaches a Uu DRX cycle associated with the Uu DRX operation ([0009] “access link DRX configuration”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DRX operation method of Park with the DRX operation methods of Ryu. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for sidelink (specific) DRX (mode) configuration (Ryu; [0008]).
Regarding claim 16, Park teaches the first UE according to claim 15,
wherein when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is a long cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed ([0123] “…the base station (e.g., gNB) may control the on-duration time interval through an RRC configuration of DRX or instruct to follow a long DRX cycle” (The type of Uu DRX cycle is a long cycle). “…the base station may recognize that a DL data transmission may not exist for the UE, and it may prevent the UE from being activated” (first SL DRX operation is not performed)), the number of SL resources is determined to be a preset maximum number ([0159] “…the UE may set the maximum number of time resource reservations, 2 or 3, through higher layer signaling”).
Park does not teach and when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is the long cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is determined to be less than the preset maximum number.
However, Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of DRX SL communication, teaches and when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is the long cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is determined to be less than the preset maximum number (Fig. 3 shows UE120-2 has a long Uu DRX cycle; Fig. 5a, [0062] “A sidelink resource pool may include a set of time and/or frequency resources allocated for sidelink activity. For example, a network controller, a BS, and/or the like may assign a set of resources in a network to a sidelink resource pool, and UEs in the network may perform sidelink activity during the sidelink resource pool.” [0064] “However, in some cases, as a result of a timing of the sidelink resource pool, in which UEs 305 may reserve resources for communication with each other, relative to a timing of DRX, at least one of the UEs 305 may be in an inactive time and an inactive mode. UE 305-2 may have a Uu long cycle that causes the sidelink resource pool to fall outside of an active time. As a result, for example, UE 305-1 may miss an opportunity for communication on the sidelink.” (Which means the number of SL resources is determined to be less than the preset maximum number.), and
wherein when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is a short cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is determined to be smaller than a number of the SL resources determined when the type of the Uu DRX cycle is the short cycle and the first SL DRX state indicates that the first SL DRX operation is not performed (Fig. 3 shows UE 120-1 has a short Uu DRX cycle; Fig. 5a shows when UE 120-1 is idle, first SL DRX operation is performed, the number of SL resources is smaller (no resources are used since no transmissions are taking place) than when UE 120-1 is active, first SL DRX operation is not performed (transmissions can take place)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DRX operation method of Park with the DRX operation methods of Ryu. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for sidelink (specific) DRX (mode) configuration (Ryu; [0008]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465