This Office Action is in response to Application filed on July 20, 2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination; claims 21-26 were canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 20, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. US Publication No.. 2022/0345904.
Regarding claim 1, Jeon et al. disclose “An operating method of a first device communicating with a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN)” by providing a method of communication performed by a first apparatus with respect to a second apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (See Abstract), the operating method comprising: “receiving, from the second device, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) comprising a payload that comprises a trigger frame” (Paragraphs 0103-0104 describing at time t32, the beamformer may transmit a beamforming report poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the first to n-th beamformees. For example, an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time. The BFRP trigger frame may include information necessary for the first to n-th beamformees to transmit a feedback frame to a beamformer, e.g., an access point. For example, the BFRP trigger frame may include information on resources to be used in the uplink transmission); “receiving, from the second device, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) signal” (See Figure 5, Component S10; Paragraphs 0062- 0064 describing the beamformer 31 may generate an NDPA frame. For example, the beamformer 31 may select one beamformee 32 to perform channel sounding (or to provide beamforming) from among associated beamformers and generate an NDPA frame based on the selected beamformee 32. The NDPA frame may include a control frame, and the beamformee 32 may prepare for reception of an NDP based on the NDPA frame) and a null data packet (NDP) (See Figure 5, Component S12; Paragraph 0065 describing In operation S12, the beamformer 31 may generate an NDP corresponding to the beamformee 32; Paragraph 0038 describing the beamformee 22 may receive an NDP through the plurality of second antennas RX_A1 to RX_An); “preparing an uplink beamforming matrix based on a value of an uplink beamforming-related first sub-field included in a preamble of the PPDU” (Paragraphs 0039-0049; Figure 12 and corresponding text); “beamforming, according to the uplink beamforming matrix, the PPDU” (Paragraph 0103 describing an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time); and “transmitting the beamformed PPDU to the second device based on a value of an uplink beamforming-related second sub-field included in the trigger frame” (Paragraphs 0104 describing at time t42, after receiving the BFRP trigger frame, the first to n-th beamformees may transmit first to n-th feedback frames to the beamformer after the SIFS time. For example, each of the first to n-th beamformees may generate first to n-th feedback frames including channel information generated by channel estimation and phase information and transmit the first to n-th feedback frames to the beamformer. In an example embodiment, the first to n-th feedback frames may be aggregated in different bands. In some embodiments, the first to n-th feedback frames may be transmitted in bands corresponding to bands in which the first to n-th NDPs are transmitted. For example, the first feedback frame may be transmitted in the band in which the first NDP is transmitted).
As per claims 2-6, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the first sub-field is provided
in an extremely high throughput-signal (EHT-SIG) field of the preamble”; “wherein the first sub-field is provided in a universal-signal (U-SIG) field in the preamble”; “wherein the second sub-field is provided in a common information field of the trigger frame”; “wherein the second sub-field is provided in a user information field of the trigger frame”; “wherein the second sub-field is provided in a special user information field of the trigger frame” (Figures 9-11; Paragraphs 0093-0096).
As per claim 7, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein a value of the first sub-field
is commonly applied to both the first device and a third device in the WLAN, the second device communicating with the third device, and a value of the second sub-field is individually applied to the first device and not applied to the third device” (Paragraphs 0103-0106).
As per claim 8, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the preparing of the uplink
beamforming matrix comprises: estimating a downlink channel based on the trigger frame” (Paragraph 0102 describing the first to n-th beamformees may respectively estimate first to n-th channels (or first to n-th downlink channels) based on the sounding NDP to generate information on the estimated first to n-th channels. In an example embodiment, the first to n-th beamformees may respectively check that the first to n-th phase information PI1 to PIn is requested from subfields of the NDPA frame, and respectively generate the first to n-th phase information PI1 to Pin) ; and “determining the uplink beamforming matrix based on the estimated downlink channel” (Paragraph 0103 describing an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time);
As per claim 9, Jeon et al. disclose “transmitting uplink beamforming-related capacity information using the PPDU to the second device” (Paragraph 0105 describing the beamformer may perform beamforming on the first to n-th beamformees by using the first to n-th phase information PI1 to PIn included in the first to n-th feedback frames and transmit a PPDU beamformed based on a determined beamforming matrix to the first to n-th beamformees. In an example embodiment, the beamformed PPDU may include first to n-th PPDUs respectively corresponding to the first to n-th beamformees, and the first to n-th PPDUs may be aggregated in different bands).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon et al. disclose “An operating method of a first device communicating with a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN)” by providing a method of communication performed by a first apparatus with respect to a second apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (See Abstract), the operating method comprising: receiving, from the second device, a null data packet announcement (NDPA) signal (See Figure 5, Component S10; Paragraphs 0062- 0064 describing the beamformer 31 may generate an NDPA frame. For example, the beamformer 31 may select one beamformee 32 to perform channel sounding (or to provide beamforming) from among associated beamformers and generate an NDPA frame based on the selected beamformee 32. The NDPA frame may include a control frame, and the beamformee 32 may prepare for reception of an NDP based on the NDPA frame) and a null data packet (NDP) (See Figure 5, Component S12; Paragraph 0065 describing In operation S12, the beamformer 31 may generate an NDP corresponding to the beamformee 32; Paragraph 0038 describing the beamformee 22 may receive an NDP through the plurality of second antennas RX_A1 to RX_An); “preparing an uplink beamforming matrix based on the NDP” (Paragraphs 0039-0049); “receiving a trigger frame including an uplink beamforming-related sub-field from the second device” (Paragraphs 0103-0104 describing at time t32, the beamformer may transmit a beamforming report poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the first to n-th beamformees. For example, an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time. The BFRP trigger frame may include information necessary for the first to n-th beamformees to transmit a feedback frame to a beamformer, e.g., an access point. For example, the BFRP trigger frame may include information on resources to be used in the uplink transmission); “beamforming an uplink signal according to the uplink beamforming matrix based on a value of the sub-field” (Paragraph 0103 describing an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time); and “transmitting the beamformed uplink signal to the second device” (Paragraphs 0104 describing at time t42, after receiving the BFRP trigger frame, the first to n-th beamformees may transmit first to n-th feedback frames to the beamformer after the SIFS time. For example, each of the first to n-th beamformees may generate first to n-th feedback frames including channel information generated by channel estimation and phase information and transmit the first to n-th feedback frames to the beamformer. In an example embodiment, the first to n-th feedback frames may be aggregated in different bands. In some embodiments, the first to n-th feedback frames may be transmitted in bands corresponding to bands in which the first to n-th NDPs are transmitted. For example, the first feedback frame may be transmitted in the band in which the first NDP is transmitted).
As per claim 11, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the trigger frame comprises
a basic trigger frame, and the uplink signal that is beamformed is a beamformed physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU)” (Paragraphs 0073-0074).
As per claim 12, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the trigger frame comprises
a beamforming report poll (BFRP) trigger frame, and the uplink signal that is beamformed comprises a beamformed compressed beamforming report (CBR) frame” (Figures 8 and 12).
As per claim 13, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the trigger frame comprises
a new type trigger frame, and the uplink signal that is beamformed comprises a beamformed aggregated-media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (A-MPDU)” (Paragraphs 0103-0104 describing at time t32, the beamformer may transmit a beamforming report poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the first to n-th beamformees. For example, an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time. The BFRP trigger frame may include information necessary for the first to n-th beamformees to transmit a feedback frame to a beamformer, e.g., an access point. For example, the BFRP trigger frame may include information on resources to be used in the uplink transmission); (Paragraph 0103 describing an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time)
As per claim 14, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the beamformed A-MPDU comprises a physical layer protocol data unit ((PPDU) comprising data and corresponding to a first band and a compressed beamforming report (CBR) frame corresponding to a second band” (Paragraphs 0103-0104 describing at time t32, the beamformer may transmit a beamforming report poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the first to n-th beamformees. For example, an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time. The BFRP trigger frame may include information necessary for the first to n-th beamformees to transmit a feedback frame to a beamformer, e.g., an access point. For example, the BFRP trigger frame may include information on resources to be used in the uplink transmission); (Paragraph 0103 describing an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time)
As per claim 15, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the sub-field is arranged in
a trigger dependent user information sub-field of a user information field of the trigger frame” (Figures 9-11; Paragraphs 0093-0096).
As per claim 16, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the preparing the uplink
beamforming matrix comprises: estimating a downlink channel by decoding the NDP; and determining the uplink beamforming matrix based on the estimated downlink channel” (Paragraph 0102 describing the first to n-th beamformees may respectively estimate first to n-th channels (or first to n-th downlink channels) based on the sounding NDP to generate information on the estimated first to n-th channels. In an example embodiment, the first to n-th beamformees may respectively check that the first to n-th phase information PI1 to PIn is requested from subfields of the NDPA frame, and respectively generate the first to n-th phase information PI1 to Pin)
As per claim 17, Jeon et al. disclose “transmitting uplink beamforming-related capacity information using the NDP and the trigger frame to the second device” (Figure 8; Paragraphs 0090-0091 describing The RA field may include address information of a beamformer that receives the NDPA frame, and the TA field may include address information of a beamformer that transmits the NDPA frame).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon et al. disclose “An operating method of a first device communicating with a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN)” by providing a method of communication performed by a first apparatus with respect to a second apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (See Abstract), the operating method comprising: “receiving, from the second device, an aggregated-media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (A-MPDU) comprising a first trigger frame corresponding to a first band” (Figure 8; Paragraphs 0090-0091 describing The RA field may include address information of a beamformer that receives the NDPA frame, and the TA field may include address information of a beamformer that transmits the NDPA frame); “preparing an uplink beamforming matrix based on a value of an uplink beamforming related first sub-field included in a preamble corresponding to the first band of the A-MPDU” (Paragraphs 0039-0049); “beamforming, according to the uplink beamforming matrix, the A-MPDU” (Paragraphs 0103-0104 describing at time t32, the beamformer may transmit a beamforming report poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the first to n-th beamformees. For example, an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time. The BFRP trigger frame may include information necessary for the first to n-th beamformees to transmit a feedback frame to a beamformer, e.g., an access point. For example, the BFRP trigger frame may include information on resources to be used in the uplink transmission); (Paragraph 0103 describing an access point may transmit the sounding NDP to the first to n-th beamformees and then provide a BFRP trigger frame for triggering uplink transmission of the first to n-th beamformees to the first to n-th beamformees after an SIFS time); and “transmitting the beamformed A-MPDU to the second device based on a value of an uplink beamforming-related second sub-field included in the first trigger frame” (Paragraphs 0104 describing at time t42, after receiving the BFRP trigger frame, the first to n-th beamformees may transmit first to n-th feedback frames to the beamformer after the SIFS time. For example, each of the first to n-th beamformees may generate first to n-th feedback frames including channel information generated by channel estimation and phase information and transmit the first to n-th feedback frames to the beamformer. In an example embodiment, the first to n-th feedback frames may be aggregated in different bands. In some embodiments, the first to n-th feedback frames may be transmitted in bands corresponding to bands in which the first to n-th NDPs are transmitted. For example, the first feedback frame may be transmitted in the band in which the first NDP is transmitted).
As per claim 19, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the A-MPDU further comprises a second trigger frame corresponding to a second band and transmitted to a third device in the WLAN, the third device communicating with the second device” by providing method of communication performed by a first apparatus with respect to a second apparatus in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system including the first apparatus and the second apparatus, includes: transmitting a null data packet (NDP) based on a first protocol standard to the second apparatus; receiving a first feedback frame including information on an estimated first channel and phase information from the second apparatus in response to the NDP; performing beamforming with respect to the second apparatus by reflecting the phase information in the information on the estimated first channel; and transmitting a beamformed physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) to the second apparatus (See Abstract).
As per claim 20, Jeon et al. disclose “wherein the first band and the second band match to a frequency greater than or equal to 80 MHz” (See Paragraph 0004 describing that EHT intend to implement support of a 6 GHz unlicensed frequency band, bandwidth utilization of up to 320 MHz per channel).
Other References Cited
Jiang; Feng US-20170331534-A1 describing an apparatus that has a memory (2304). The processing circuitry determines beamforming vectors or matrixes from channel matrix estimate and smoothes the beamforming vectors or matrixes to generate smooth beamforming vectors or matrixes. The processing circuitry configures the station to transmit feedback in response to null data packet (NDP). The feedback comprises smooth beamforming vectors or matrixes. The processing circuitry decodes DL PPDU from access point. The DL PPDU beamformed based on the smooth beamforming vectors or matrixes.
SEOK; Yongho US-20160100396-A1 describing transmitting a signal field of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, where the signal field includes beamforming information indicating whether beamforming is applied to respective data units of the PPDU frame. The data units of the PPDU frame are transmitted, where the data units are individually beamformed or non-beamformed according to the beamforming information. The PPDU frame is transmitted on a transmission channel divided into a set of sub-channels.
LI QINGHUA EP-3319261-A1 describing an apparatus that has a processing circuity for encoding indication bits in a high-efficiency signal field in a preamble of a physical layer convergence A protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) indicates a backup mode. The processing circuitry is configured to select the indication bits, a Doppler bit, a dual carrier modulation (DCM) bit, a space-time block coding (STBC) bit, and a transmit beamforming bit. The processing circuitry configures the wireless device to transmit the PPDU to stations.
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
January 20, 2026