DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species V (claims 1-7, 9, and 11-20) in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0062732 (Raber).
Regarding claim 1, Raber discloses a grip system 100 for use with exercise equipment 11 having a shaft 102 (system 100 includes cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices 101 provided on a grip portion 102 of a barbell 11 - para 0044, FIG. 1), the grip system comprising a slidable grip assembly 101, wherein the grip assembly 101 defines a central bore 113 configured to fit around the exercise equipment shaft 11 (para 0051, FIGS. 1-5) and comprises:
a) a tubular base having a first end, a second end, an inner surface, and an outer surface (the cushioned-free spinning roller protective devices 101 may generally have a shape that is a right circular hollow cylinder, also known as a cylindrical shell - para 0051, FIGS. 1-5; the cushioned-free spinning roller protective devices 101 each has a first end, second end, inner surface and outer surface with a central bore 113 extending therebetween as shown in FIGS. 1-5), wherein the grip assembly central bore 113 extends from the first end of the tubular base to the second end of the tubular base and is at least partly surrounded by the inner surface of the tubular base (FIGS. 1-5), the tubular base comprising:
i) a first tubular base section 106 having an inner surface, and outer surface, a first edge, and a second edge (first half of cushioned, free-spinning roller protective device 101 includes an inner surface, outer surface, first edge, and second edge as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2D, 3, 4, and 5 - para 0057);
ii) a second tubular base section 108 having an inner surface, an outer surface, a first edge, and a second edge (second half of cushioned, free-spinning roller protective device 101 includes an inner surface, outer surface, first edge, and second edge as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2D, 3, 4, and 5 - para 0057); and
iii) a first fastener 127 for attaching the first edge of the first tubular base section 106 to the first edge of the second tubular base section 108 (The first half 106 includes a recessed portion 117 that is intended to mate with an extended portion 115 of the second half 108. The recessed portion 117 and the extended portion 115 may snap together using, for example, snaps 127 as depicted in FIG. 4 on one-half that snap into holes 129 in the other half - para 0057), wherein the inner surfaces of the first and second tubular base sections 106,108 surround the central bore 113 of the grip assembly 101 when the second edge of the second tubular base section 108 is positioned near the second edge of the tubular base section (FIGS. 2A-5);
b) a slide segment 119 disposed within the central bore 113 of the grip assembly 101 and attached to the inner surface of the tubular base (FIGS. 2D-2E), wherein the slide segment 119 is configured to facilitate translation of the tubular base along the shaft 102 of the exercise equipment 11 (grouping of small bearings 119 may contact the barbell 11 and provide a low-friction, rolling surface for the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices - para 0055); and
c) a hand grip 123 at least partly attached to the outer surface of the tubular base (both halves 106,108 of the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective device 101 may include a cushioning material 123, which is capable of being gripped by a user’s hand, attached to the outer surface of the tubular base - para 0061, FIGS. 2D-2E and 4-5).
Regarding claim 4, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, and further discloses a shaft sleeve 15 configured to attach around the exercise equipment shaft 102 in a fixed position relative to the exercise equipment 11 and positioned to cooperate with the slide segment of the grip assembly (plate-loading portions 15 may removably attached to the barbell and can cooperate with the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices by serving as a stopping interface - para 0059, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the slide segment 119 of the grip assembly comprises a friction-reducing material positioned to encourage lateral translation along the shaft (grouping of small bearings 119 may contact the barbell 11 and provide a low-friction, rolling surface for the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices - para 0055).
Regarding claim 7, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the slide segment 119 of the grip assembly comprises a plurality of bearings positioned to encourage lateral translation along the shaft (grouping of small bearings 119 may contact the barbell 11 and provide a low-friction, rolling surface for the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices - para 0055).
Regarding claim 9, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the hand grip 123 of the grip assembly 101 is integral with the tubular base of the grip assembly (each cushioned, free-spinning roller protective device 101 may be formed of a single, integrated unit - paras 0058-0059; the lower layer 125 and the cushioning material 123 may be co-molded, and thus made integral - para 0061).
Regarding claim 11, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the slide segment 119 of the grip assembly further comprises: a) a first slide segment section attached to the inner surface of the first tubular base section (two small bearings 119 are attached to the inner surface of the first half 106 as shown in FIGS. 2D-2E); and b) a second slide segment section attached to the inner surface of the second tubular base section (two small bearings 119 are attached to the inner surface of the second half 108 as shown in FIGS. 2D-2E).
Regarding claim 12, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first tubular base section 106 of the grip assembly pivotally attaches at the first edge of the first tubular base section to the second tubular base section 108 of the grip assembly 101 at the first edge of the second tubular base section (FIGS. 2D-2E).
Regarding claim 13, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 12, and further discloses wherein the grip assembly 101 further comprises a hinge 131 connected to the first edge of the first tubular base section 106 and the first edge of the second tubular section 108 (FIGS. 2D-2E).
Regarding claim 14, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the grip assembly 101 further comprises a second fastener 127 for attaching the second edge of the first tubular base section 106 to the second edge of the second tubular base section 108 (two pairs of snaps 127 are shown in FIG. 4 at each edge of the first and second halves 106,108).
Regarding claim 15, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the second fastener 127 of the grip assembly comprises a lock assembly (snaps 127 are typically spring-assisted with a bias towards closure or secure attachment and thus inherently comprises a lock assembly - para 0057, FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the first and second fasteners 127 of the grip assembly comprise snap fasteners (snaps 127 are used to fasten the first half 106 to the second half 108 of the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices 101 - para 0057, FIG. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raber in view of US 5,152,731 (Troutman).
Regarding claims 2-3, Raber teaches the grip system of claim 1, but does not disclose a medial stopper configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment adjacent a first end of the grip assembly and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment (claim 2); and a lateral stopper configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment adjacent a second end of the grip assembly and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment (claim 3).
Troutman teaches an analogous slidable grip system 10 for use with a barbell 2 (FIGS. 1-8), wherein the grip system 10 comprises a medial stopper 12 configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 adjacent a first end of the grip assembly 10 and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 (There are four stop members 12 located on the bar to limit the axial travel of the grips 10. As shown in FIG. 1, there are two stop members located between the grips that function to limit the inward travel of the grips. As also shown, there are two stop members located on the bar outboard of the grips that function to limit the outward travel of each grip - Col 4:21-33, FIG. 1); and a lateral stopper 12 configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 adjacent a second end of the grip assembly 10 and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 (There are four stop members 12 located on the bar to limit the axial travel of the grips 10. As shown in FIG. 1, there are two stop members located between the grips that function to limit the inward travel of the grips. As also shown, there are two stop members located on the bar outboard of the grips that function to limit the outward travel of each grip - Col 4:21-33, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raber’s invention with the stop members as taught by Troutman in order to allow the user to configure the device in accordance with the requirements of any particular exercise and/or to conform to the limitations dictated by the dimensions of the user’s body (see Troutman: Col 3:38-45).
Regarding claim 5, modified Raber teaches the grip system of claim 3, and Raber further discloses a shaft sleeve 15 configured to attach around the exercise equipment shaft 102 in a fixed position relative to the exercise equipment 11 and positioned to cooperate with the slide segment of the grip assembly (plate-loading portions 15 may removably attached to the barbell and can cooperate with the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices by serving as a stopping interface - para 0059, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Raber discloses a slidable grip system 100 for use with exercise equipment 11 having a shaft 102 (system 100 includes cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices 101 provided on a grip portion 102 of a barbell 11 - para 0044, FIG. 1), the grip system 100 comprising:
a) a grip assembly 101, wherein the grip assembly 101 defines a central bore 113 configured to fit around the exercise equipment shaft 102 (para 0051, FIGS. 1-5) and comprises:
i) a tubular base having a first end, a second end, an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the grip assembly central bore extends from the first end of the tubular base to the second end of the tubular base and is at least partly surrounded by the inner surface of the tubular base (the cushioned-free spinning roller protective devices 101 may generally have a shape that is a right circular hollow cylinder, also known as a cylindrical shell - para 0051, FIGS. 1-5; the cushioned-free spinning roller protective devices 101 each has a first end, second end, inner surface and outer surface with a central bore 113 extending therebetween as shown in FIGS. 1-5), the tubular base comprising:
1. a first tubular base section 106 having an inner surface, an outer surface, a first edge, and a second edge (first half of cushioned, free-spinning roller protective device 101 includes an inner surface, outer surface, first edge, and second edge as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2D, 3, 4, and 5 - para 0057);
2. a second tubular base section 108 having an inner surface, and outer surface, a first edge, and a second edge (second half of cushioned, free-spinning roller protective device 101 includes an inner surface, outer surface, first edge, and second edge as shown in FIGS. 2A, 2D, 3, 4, and 5 - para 0057); and
3. a first fastener 127 for attaching the first edge of the first tubular base section to the first edge of the second tubular base section (The first half 106 includes a recessed portion 117 that is intended to mate with an extended portion 115 of the second half 108. The recessed portion 117 and the extended portion 115 may snap together using, for example, snaps 127 as depicted in FIG. 4 on one-half that snap into holes 129 in the other half - para 0057), wherein the inner surfaces of the first and second tubular base sections 106,108 surround the central bore 113 of the grip assembly 101 when the second edge of the second tubular base section 108 is positioned near the second edge of the first tubular base section 106 (FIGS. 2A-5); and
ii) a slide segment 119 disposed within the central bore 113 of the grip assembly 101 and attached to the inner surface of the tubular base (FIGS. 2D-2E), wherein the slide segment 119 is configured to facilitate translation of the tubular base along the shaft 102 of the exercise equipment 11 (grouping of small bearings 119 may contact the barbell 11 and provide a low-friction, rolling surface for the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices - para 0055).
However, Raber does not disclose b) a medial stopper configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment adjacent a first end of the grip assembly and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment; and c) a lateral stopper configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment adjacent a second end of the grip assembly and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment.
Troutman teaches an analogous slidable grip system 10 for use with a barbell 2 (FIGS. 1-8), wherein the grip system 10 comprises a medial stopper 12 configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 adjacent a first end of the grip assembly 10 and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 (There are four stop members 12 located on the bar to limit the axial travel of the grips 10. As shown in FIG. 1, there are two stop members located between the grips that function to limit the inward travel of the grips. As also shown, there are two stop members located on the bar outboard of the grips that function to limit the outward travel of each grip - Col 4:21-33, FIG. 1); and a lateral stopper 12 configured to attach to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 adjacent a second end of the grip assembly 10 and in a fixed position relative to the shaft of the exercise equipment 2 (There are four stop members 12 located on the bar to limit the axial travel of the grips 10. As shown in FIG. 1, there are two stop members located between the grips that function to limit the inward travel of the grips. As also shown, there are two stop members located on the bar outboard of the grips that function to limit the outward travel of each grip - Col 4:21-33, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raber’s invention with the stop members as taught by Troutman in order to allow the user to configure the device in accordance with the requirements of any particular exercise and/or to conform to the limitations dictated by the dimensions of the user’s body (see Troutman: Col 3:38-45).
Regarding claim 18, modified Raber teaches the grip system of claim 17, and Raber further discloses a shaft sleeve 15 configured to attach around the exercise equipment shaft 102 in a fixed position relative to the exercise equipment 11 and positioned to cooperate with the slide segment of the grip assembly (plate-loading portions 15 may removably attached to the barbell and can cooperate with the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices by serving as a stopping interface - para 0059, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Raber teaches the grip system of claim 18, and Raber further discloses wherein the slide segment 119 of the grip assembly comprises a friction-reducing material positioned to encourage lateral translation along the shaft (grouping of small bearings 119 may contact the barbell 11 and provide a low-friction, rolling surface for the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices - para 0055).
Regarding claim 20, modified Raber teaches the grip system of claim 18, and Raber further discloses wherein the slide segment 119 of the grip assembly comprises a plurality of bearings positioned to encourage lateral translation along the shaft (grouping of small bearings 119 may contact the barbell 11 and provide a low-friction, rolling surface for the cushioned, free-spinning roller protective devices - para 0055).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Joshua Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784