DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 07/20/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/20/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to due to the following informalities:
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.83(a) because the drawings do not show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Specifically, the following features are not identified in the drawings:
Claims 1-16 recites “1. A method for controlling charging of multiple electric vehicles (EVs)” and “A computer-implemented method for controlling charging of a large number of electric vehicles (EVs)” which structures are not identified in the drawing.
Specifically the drawings does not show method steps or diagrams of the claimed methods of claims 1-16.
Correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11 and 12 recites “the charging type” and “demand type” which lack antecedence basis.
Examiner will examine/interpret as “the charging demand type “ .
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,11-12, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okumura (US 20240005236).
As to claim 1, Okumura discloses a method for controlling charging of multiple electric vehicles (EVs) (Fig. 1,10 and 17) arriving at, and departing from, different charging stations at different times (Fig. 10 arrival and departure times of EV001-EV004. Fig. 1 showing multiple charging units/stations 14 ), comprising, by one or more processors:
scheduling charging of each EV of the multiple EVs responsive to which one of a plurality of categories each EV is assigned ([0056]- [0058] and Fig. 10 and 17 a schedule enabling the EVs 15 to charging/discharging can be managed), each EV assigned to one of the categories according to an arrival time at an associated one of the different charging stations (Fig. 10, “arrival time”) a departure time from the associated one of the different charging stations (Fig. 10, “departure time”) an initial state of charge (SoC) of the EV (Fig. 10, “SOC at arrival”) and a target SoC of the EV (Fig. 10, “SOC at departure”); and
controlling charging of each EV responsive to the scheduling of charging for the assigned category of each EV ([0056]-[0058] By managing this information, a schedule enabling the EVs 15 to charging/discharging can be managed).
As to claim 2, Okumura discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising assigning each EV to one of the categories according to one of a plurality of charging demand types designated by the EV ([0056]-[0058] Fig. 4, [0056] In Step S105, the schedule information includes SOC at arrival and SOC at departure).
As to claim 11. Okumura discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling charging of a large number of electric vehicles (EVs) arriving and departing different charging stations at different times, the method comprising, by one or more computers ([0087] and Fig. 1 The charging/discharging control device 13 includes … a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a storage device 303 and an output interface 304):
assigning one of a plurality of categories to each EV that arrives at a charging station (Fig. 10 arrival and departure times of EV001-EV004. Fig. 1 showing multiple charging units/stations 14. [0057]-[0058] and Fig. 10 a schedule enabling the EVs 15 to charging/discharging can be managed), depending on arrival time to the charging station (Fig. 10, “arrival time”) designated departure time from the charging station (Fig. 10, “departure time”), initial state of charge (SoC) of the EV (Fig. 10, “SOC at arrival”), target SoC of the EV(Fig. 10, “SOC at departure”); and a charging demand type specified by the EV ([0056]-[0058] Fig. 4, [0056] In Step S105, the schedule information includes SOC at arrival and SOC at departure).
scheduling charging of each EV according to which of the plurality of categories the EV has been assigned and the charging type specified by the EV ([0057]-[0058] By managing this information, a schedule enabling the EVs 15 to charging/discharging can be managed); and
controlling charging of each EV based on the scheduling ([0057]-[0058] and Fig. 17 S101-S202 By managing this information, a schedule enabling the EVs 15 to charging/discharging can be managed).
As to claim 12, Okumura discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the demand type specified by the EV corresponds to a flexible demand type ([0043] and Fig.4 the maximum SOC, the minimum SOC), wherein EVs specifying the flexible demand type specify a minimum target SoC and a maximum target SoC ([0043] of Okumura and Fig.4 the maximum SOC, the minimum SOC), and wherein controlling charging is based on the minimum target SoC and the maximum target SoC specified by the EV (Fig. 17 [0041]- [0043] FIG. 4 is a table illustrating an example of the EV information stored in the EV information management unit 101. The EV information management unit 101 stores the EV information. As the EV information, the EV information management unit 101 stores … the maximum SOC, the minimum SOC. In Step S101-S202, the EV information is input to the charging/discharging control device 13).
As to claim 17, Okumura discloses a system (Fig. 1,10 and 17) comprising:
a plurality of electric vehicle (EV) charging stations each configured to charge a plugged EV during a time period specified by at least one remotely-located processor (Fig. 1,10 and 17. [0087] and Fig. 1 The charging/discharging control device 13 includes … a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a storage device 303 and an output interface 304)), the processor configured to schedule charging of EVs for all of the charging stations by scheduling a plurality of charging categories(Fig. 10 arrival and departure times of EV001-EV004. Fig. 1 showing multiple charging units/stations 14. [0057]-[0058] and Fig. 10 a schedule enabling the EVs 15 to charging/discharging can be managed) , each EV assigned to one of the plurality of categories by the processor based on arrival time to a charging station(Fig. 10, “arrival time”) , expected departure time from the charging station(Fig. 10, “departure time”), state of charge (SoC) of the EV upon arrival(Fig. 10, “SOC at arrival”), target SoC of the EV before the expected departure time (Fig. 10, “SOC at departure”);, and a charging demand type specified by the EV ([0056]-[0058] Fig. 4, [0056] In Step S105, the schedule information includes SOC at arrival and SOC at departure).
As to claim 18, Okumura discloses the system of claim 17 wherein each of the plurality of charging stations includes a processor configured to control charging of an associated plugged EV according to the charging schedule ([0087] and Fig. 1 The charging/discharging control device 13 includes … a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a storage device 303 and an output interface 304).
As to claim 19, Okumura discloses the system of claim 17 wherein the processor is configured to schedule charging of EVs based on a minimum and maximum available power provided from an associated electric grid (Fig. 17 [0041]- [0043] FIG. 4 is a table illustrating an example of the EV information stored in the EV information management unit 101. The EV information management unit 101 stores the EV information. As the EV information, the EV information management unit 101 stores … the maximum SOC, the minimum SOC. In Step S101-S202, the EV information is input to the charging/discharging control device 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura (US 20240005236) in view of Paul (US 20120245750).
As to claim 3, Okumura discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the plurality of charging demand types includes a flexible charging demand ([0043] and Fig.4 the maximum SOC, the minimum SOC).
Okumura does not disclose/teach charging demand types includes a reliable charging demand.
Paul teaches charging demand types includes a reliable charging demand. ([0100] Required charging power PEV(t) at each time is calculated (S206).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Okumura to include charging demand types includes a reliable charging demand in order to ensure the vehicle arrive at its required destination.
As to claim 4, Okumura in view Paul discloses the method of claim 3 wherein scheduling charging of each EV designating the flexible charging demand includes scheduling the charging responsive to a specified minimum target SoC and a specified maximum target SoC of the EV (Fig. 17 [0041]- [0043] FIG. 4 is a table illustrating an example of the EV information stored in the EV information management unit 101. The EV information management unit 101 stores the EV information. As the EV information, the EV information management unit 101 stores … the maximum SOC, the minimum SOC. In Step S101-S202, the EV information is input to the charging/discharging control device 13).
As to claim 5, Okumura in view Paul teaches the method of claim 3 wherein scheduling charging of each EV comprises: scheduling charging of EVs designating the flexible charging demand based on the specified minimum target SoC of the EVs designated the flexible charging demand ([0043] of Okumura and Fig.4 the maximum SOC, the minimum SOC).
Okumura does not disclose/teach scheduling charging of EVs designating the reliable charging demand assuming the EVs designating the reliable charging demand will consume all available electricity during a specified time period based on an associated grid upper demand band for the specified period
Paul teaches scheduling charging of EVs designating the reliable charging demand assuming the EVs designating the reliable charging demand will consume all available electricity during a specified time period based on an associated grid upper demand band for the specified period ([0100] of Paul. Required charging power P EV(t) at each time is calculated (S206). If required charging power PEV(t) exceeds available electric power at any time (S207: YES), that is, if available electric power is not sufficient, charging time slots for EVs are adjusted according to their priorities (S208);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Okumura to schedule charging of EVs designating the reliable charging demand assuming the EVs designating the reliable charging demand will consume all available electricity during a specified time period based on an associated grid upper demand band for the specified period in order to include charging demand types includes a reliable charging demand in order to ensure the vehicle arrive at its required destination.
As to claim 6, Okumura in view Paul teaches the method of claim 3 wherein scheduling charging of each EV comprises: allocating available electricity from an electrical grid to each of the plurality of categories based on a cost associated with allocated available electricity ([0050] when a reduction in power costs imposed through charging/discharging the EV 15 is sought),
Okumura does not disclose/teach allocating available electricity from an electrical grid to each of the plurality of categories based on a number of EVs in each category arriving at the charging stations during a designated time period the allocated available electricity limited by a minimum of remaining electricity available for each category and charging capacity of the multiple EVs.
Paul teaches allocating available electricity from an electrical grid to each of the plurality of categories based on a number of EVs in each category arriving at the charging stations during a designated time period ([0020] of Paul The scheduling unit calculates available average energy by dividing electric energy available from the power source by the total number of the expected electric vehicles and the electric vehicles waiting for charging), the allocated available electricity limited by a minimum of remaining electricity available for each category ([0098] … dividing electric energy available from the power source by the total number of the expected electric vehicles and the electric vehicles waiting for charging) and charging capacity of the multiple EVs ([0021] The scheduling unit calculates required (demanded) charging energy for each of the electric vehicles waiting for charging based on the profile/charging information database.[0022] The scheduling unit determines the first group of waiting electric vehicles each of whose required charging energy is equal to or smaller than the available average energy, calculates the difference between the available average energy and the required charging energy for each of the first group of waiting electric vehicles, and sets the supplied charging energy of each of the first group of waiting electric vehicles to the required charging energy.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Paul to allocate available electricity from an electrical grid to each of the plurality of categories based on a number of EVs in each category arriving at the charging stations during a designated time period the allocated available electricity limited by a minimum of remaining electricity available for each category and charging capacity of the multiple EVs in order to ensure all EVs receive enough power to get to their destination or to another charging station.
As to claim 16, Okumura discloses the method of claim 11,
Okumura does not disclose/teach wherein the scheduling is based on a statistical distribution of arrival times to the charging stations and designated departure times from the charging stations
Paul teaches wherein the scheduling is based on a statistical distribution of arrival times to the charging stations and designated departure times from the charging stations ([0028] The EV charging prediction data 3 includes expected arrival times of EVs and information about their profiles. Several examples of how to obtain this data. are given below. [0030] Averages of arrival time, departure time, and amount of charge can be considered as predicted arrival time, predicted departure time).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Okumura to wherein the scheduling is based on a statistical distribution of arrival times to the charging stations and designated departure times from the charging stations in order to plan ahead for future demand and ensure the future demand is met for users.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10,13-15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the claim objection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 7, Although the prior art discloses a method for controlling charging of multiple electric vehicles (EVs) arriving at, and departing from, different charging stations at different times, comprising, by one or more processors: scheduling charging of each EV of the multiple EVs responsive to which one of a plurality of categories each EV is assigned, each EV assigned to one of the categories according to an arrival time at an associated one of the different charging stations, a departure time from the associated one of the different charging stations, an initial state of charge (SoC) of the EV, and a target SoC of the EV; and controlling charging of each EV responsive to the scheduling of charging for the assigned category of each EV, wherein the plurality of charging demand types includes a reliable charging demand and a flexible charging demand, wherein scheduling charging of each EV comprises: allocating available electricity from an electrical grid to each of the plurality of categories based on a number of EVs in each category arriving at the charging stations during a designated time period and a cost associated with allocated available electricity, the allocated available electricity limited by a minimum of remaining electricity available for each category and charging capacity of the multiple EVs, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the cost associated with the allocated available electricity corresponds to a net cost corresponding to cost of electricity supplied by an electric grid less a cost associated with a penalty corresponding to the allocated available electricity corresponding to EVs designating the reliable charging demand being insufficient to charge the EVs designating the reliable charging demand to associated target SoCs.”
Regarding dependent claim 8, Although the prior art discloses a method for controlling charging of multiple electric vehicles (EVs) arriving at, and departing from, different charging stations at different times, comprising, by one or more processors: scheduling charging of each EV of the multiple EVs responsive to which one of a plurality of categories each EV is assigned, each EV assigned to one of the categories according to an arrival time at an associated one of the different charging stations, a departure time from the associated one of the different charging stations, an initial state of charge (SoC) of the EV, and a target SoC of the EV; and controlling charging of each EV responsive to the scheduling of charging for the assigned category of each EV, wherein the plurality of charging demand types includes a reliable charging demand and a flexible charging demand, wherein scheduling charging of each EV comprises: allocating available electricity from an electrical grid to each of the plurality of categories based on a number of EVs in each category arriving at the charging stations during a designated time period and a cost associated with allocated available electricity, the allocated available electricity limited by a minimum of remaining electricity available for each category and charging capacity of the multiple EVs, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the cost associated with the allocated available electricity corresponds to a net cost corresponding to cost of electricity supplied by an electric grid less a cost associated with a penalty corresponding to the allocated available electricity corresponding to EVs designating the flexible charging demand being insufficient to charge the EVs designating the reliable charging demand to associated minimum target SoCs”
Regarding dependent claim 9, Although the prior art discloses a method for controlling charging of multiple electric vehicles (EVs) arriving at, and departing from, different charging stations at different times, comprising, by one or more processors: scheduling charging of each EV of the multiple EVs responsive to which one of a plurality of categories each EV is assigned, each EV assigned to one of the categories according to an arrival time at an associated one of the different charging stations, a departure time from the associated one of the different charging stations, an initial state of charge (SoC) of the EV, and a target SoC of the EV; and controlling charging of each EV responsive to the scheduling of charging for the assigned category of each EV, wherein the plurality of charging demand types includes a reliable charging demand and a flexible charging demand, wherein scheduling charging of each EV comprises: allocating available electricity from an electrical grid to each of the plurality of categories based on a number of EVs in each category arriving at the charging stations during a designated time period and a cost associated with allocated available electricity, the allocated available electricity limited by a minimum of remaining electricity available for each category and charging capacity of the multiple EVs, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein scheduling charging of each EV comprises: determining a number of EVs in each category designating a reliable charging demand and arriving at a specified time using a designated statistical distribution; allocating electricity from the grid available for charging to each category designating the reliable charging demand for a second specified time period; associating electricity cost of electricity allocated to each category designating a reliable charging demand; and allocating any electricity available after satisfying the reliable charging demand for the second specified time period to EVs designating the flexible charging demand.”
Regarding dependent claim 13, Although the prior art discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling charging of a large number of electric vehicles (EVs) arriving and departing different charging stations at different times, the method comprising, by one or more computers: assigning one of a plurality of categories to each EV that arrives at a charging station depending on arrival time to the charging station, designated departure time from the charging station, initial state of charge (SoC) of the EV, target SoC of the EV, and a charging demand type specified by the EV; scheduling charging of each EV according to which of the plurality of categories the EV has been assigned and the charging type specified by the EV; and controlling charging of each EV based on the scheduling, wherein the demand type specified by the EV corresponds to a flexible demand type, wherein EVs specifying the flexible demand type specify a minimum target SoC and a maximum target SoC, and wherein controlling charging is based on the minimum target SoC and the maximum target SoC specified by the EV, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of “wherein, for categories associated with the flexible demand type, the scheduling is based on controlling the charging to satisfy the minimum target SoC for each EV specifying the flexible demand type, and continuing to charge to the maximum target SoC responsive to profit associated with charging to the maximum target SoC exceeding a threshold.”
Regarding dependent claim 20, Although the prior art discloses a system comprising: a plurality of electric vehicle (EV) charging stations each configured to charge a plugged EV during a time period specified by at least one remotely-located processor, the processor configured to schedule charging of EVs for all of the charging stations by scheduling a plurality of charging categories, each EV assigned to one of the plurality of categories by the processor based on arrival time to a charging station, expected departure time from the charging station, state of charge (SoC) of the EV upon arrival, target SoC of the EV before the expected departure time, and a charging demand type specified by the EV, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the charging demand type includes a flexible demand having an associated minimum target SoC and maximum target SoC specified by the EV, and wherein the processor is further configured to schedule charging of EVs to provide the minimum target SoC for all EVs specifying the flexible demand, and to continue charging the EVs specifying the flexible demand above the minimum target SoC only if an associated profit exceeds a threshold.”
Dependent claims 10 and 14-15 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moura et al (US 20220188946) is cited for having the user is presented with menu of price-differentiated charging services, which differ in per-unit price and the energy delivery schedule.
GALBRAITH (US 20240343149) A reward value may be determined and applied for an instance of a target SoC for an EV being reached before the scheduled departure time of the EV, and/or a penalty value in the opposite case.
Garg ([0039] 20240140244) is cited for having custom-character includes the energy cost for charging all vehicles in the fleet and a penalty custom-character. custom-character models the cost of not meeting the energy demand of vehicles by their departure deadlines,
Yang (US 20230069004) is cited for having at least one winning bid price paid by the charging station for participating in demand bidding in each to-be-planned pane, a payment price per unit electric power paid by the charging station in each to-be-planned pane, a penalty price per unit electric power paid by the charging station when the electric vehicle is not fully charged.
LINCHIEH (US 20250135938 ) is cited for having The diagrams show some constraints imposed by EV user preferences, which are charging goals of EVs, and some example parameters such as an arrival date and time and an arrival SoC of an EV. The constraints include a target SoC, which is typically the minimum SoC to which the EV should be charged, and a target departure date and time of the EV from the charge point. The arrival date and time and arrival SoC of the EV relate to the status of the EV when it arrives at or is physically connected to a charge point. This information may be obtained by the charging system in any suitable way, including via wired or wireless communications between the EV and the charge point or in any other way. A period between when an EV arrives, meaning when it is plugged in to a charge point, and when the EV departs or is scheduled to depart, and during which charging occurs, may generally referred to as a charging session.
Paluszek (US 20180254643) A system for recharging electric vehicles that optimizes the distribution of power to the users. The system meets the requirements of all the users for charging within their available time window while minimizing the cost of charging for the charging station.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859