DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “swept frequency synthesizer” (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 11-13, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2019/0238178 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al. discloses a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) system (fig. 1), comprising: a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) station, comprising: a DAS transmitter (optical pulse source and acoustic source), arranged to launch an outbound DAS signal through an optical fiber (¶ [0037]), over at least one span (the DAS signal is sent over a span); a DAS receiver, arranged to receive a backscatter Rayleigh signal, based upon the DAS signal (a receiver is arranged to receive a backscatter Rayleigh signal; fig. 5 and ¶ [0037]); and at least one component (pulse generating circuit; fig. 3), coupled to the DAS transmitter, the DAS receiver, or both, and arranged to increase a sensitivity for sensing of the DAS system (the frequency-hopping pulse generation circuit is coupled to the DAS transmitter and receiver and arranged to increase sensing sensitivity; ¶¶ [0003-0004, 0042]).
Regarding claims 2, Huang et al. discloses wherein the at least one component (pulse generating circuit; fig. 3) comprises: a first acousto-optic modulator (AOM-1), arranged to receive the outbound DAS signal (AOM-1 receives an outbound DAS signal; ¶ [0043]); a first amplifier (optical amplifier in recirculating loop; fig. 3 and ¶ [0042]), to receive a first output signal of the first AOM (AOM-1) and to increase an intensity of the outbound DAS signal (the recirculation loop reduces the influence of noise which increases an intensity of the DAS signal; ¶ [0044]); and a second AOM (AOM-2), arranged to receive an output of the first amplifier (AOM-2 receives an output of the optical amplifier; fig. 3); receiving the outbound DAS signal at a first acousto-optic modulator (AOM); receiving and an increasing an intensity of a first output signal of the first AOM at a first amplifier; and receiving an output of the first amplifier at a second AOM.
Regarding claim 3, Huang et al. discloses wherein a first width of the output signal of the first AOM (AOM-1) is greater than a second width of a second output signal of the second AOM (AOM-2), and wherein the second output signal is centered in time on the first output signal (a width between pulses, or period, of the DAS signal from AOM-2 can be tuned to be less than a period of AOM-1; fig. 3 and ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Huang et al. discloses wherein the at least one component (pulse generating circuit; fig. 3) comprises: a narrow bandwidth optical filter (optical bandpass filter; ¶ [0044]), located in the DAS receiver and arranged to receive the backscatter Rayleigh signal, wherein the narrow bandwidth optical filter (BPF) has a bandwidth, the bandwidth being less than 10 GHz (bandwidth of filtered backscatter Rayleigh signal is less than 10 GHz; fig. 5); wherein the bandwidth is less than 1 GHz (bandwidth of filtered backscatter Rayleigh signal is less than 1 GHz; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Huang et al. discloses a receiver power tracker (erbium-doped fiber amplifier EDFA; ¶ [0042]), arranged to attenuate or reduce an amplification of the backscatter Rayleigh signal, from a beginning of the at least one span (EDFA gain inside the recirculation loop equalizes power levels; ¶ [0044]).
Regarding method claims 11-13, 16, and 18 are the method steps thereof are met by the operation of the apparatus of Huang et al. as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2019/0238178 A1) in view of Alfataierge (US 2023/0184622 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Huang et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Although Huang et al. is silent on the particular pulse width formula, the relationship between refractive index, gauge length, and pulse width is known in the art of DAS optical fiber sensing.
Alfataierge teaches that a pulse width is equal to n*GL/c, where n is a refractive index of the optical fiber, GL is a gauge length of the optical fiber in meters, and c is speed of light (GL
=
C
(
P
w
+
P
s
)
/
n
,where Pw is a pulse width, n is a refractive index of the optical fiber, and c is the speed of light in a vacuum and with algebraic manipulation arrives at the claimed relationship; ¶ [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Huang et al. with the pulse width relationship as taught in Alfataierge as this would apply a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2019/0238178 A1) in view of Bhatta et al. (Dynamic Measurements of 1000 Microstrains Using Chirped-Pulse Phase-Sensitive Optical Time-Domain Reflectometery).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Huang et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claims 1 and 11, respectively, and further discloses, receiving the outbound DAS signal at a first amplifier (optical amplifier in recirculating loop; fig. 3 and ¶ [0042]); and receiving an output of the first amplifier at a narrow bandwidth optical filter (optical bandpass filter; ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 20, Huang et al. discloses a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) system (fig. 1), comprising: a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) station, comprising: a DAS transmitter (optical pulse source and acoustic source), arranged to launch an outbound DAS signal through an optical fiber (¶ [0037]), over at least one span (the DAS signal is sent over a span); a DAS receiver, arranged to receive a backscatter Rayleigh signal, based upon the DAS signal (a receiver is arranged to receive a backscatter Rayleigh signal; fig. 5 and ¶ [0037]); a first acousto-optic modulator (AOM-1), arranged to receive the outbound DAS signal (AOM-1 receives an outbound DAS signal; ¶ [0043]); a first amplifier (optical amplifier in recirculating loop; fig. 3 and ¶ [0042]), to receive a first output signal of the first AOM (AOM-1) and to increase an intensity of the outbound DAS signal (the recirculation loop reduces the influence of noise which increases an intensity of the DAS signal; ¶ [0044]); and a second AOM (AOM-2), arranged to receive an output of the first amplifier (AOM-2 receives an output of the optical amplifier; fig. 3); and a narrow bandwidth optical filter (optical bandpass filter), arranged to receive an output of the first amplifier at a narrow bandwidth optical filter (¶ [0044]).
Huang et al. is silent on the optical filter bandwidth is between 1 and 10 GHz.
Bhatta et al. teaches a DAS fiber optic sensing system (fig. 1) wherein a narrow bandwidth optical filter (second narrowband filter) has a bandwidth, the bandwidth being between 1 GHz and 10 GHz (after additional amplification, spectral cleaning by the second narrowband filter, and power adjustment, the Rayleigh back-scattered signal enters the photodetector of 9.5 GHz bandwidth; page 4891, col. 1, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Huang et al. with the filter bandwidth as taught in Bhatta et al. to provide a DAS system that more accurately measures large strains over a span (page 4893, Conclusions, first paragraph).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2019/0238178 A1) in view of Hartog et al. (US 2013/00113629 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Huang et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Huang et al. is silent on a frequency shifter.
Hartog et al. teaches a fiber optic sensing system (fig. 23) including an optical frequency shifter (¶ [0128]), coupled between a transmitter (102) and receiver (522); and a swept frequency synthesizer (510), coupled to the optical frequency shifter (¶ [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Huang et al. with the frequency shifting of Hartog et al. to improve detection of backscatter signals in an optical fiber by frequency shifting the pulse signal (Hartog et al., ¶¶ [0043-0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein the receiver power tracker comprises: an optical programable attenuator having an attenuation that is relatively larger at the beginning of the at least one span, wherein the attenuation gradually decreases to zero at an end of the at least one span; or an optical pre-amplifier having a relatively smaller current or relatively smaller gain for the outbound DAS signal from the beginning of the at least one span, and a relatively larger current or a relatively larger gain for the outbound DAS signal, when coming from an end of the at least one span” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claims 10 and 19.
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852