DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, claim 1 recites “means for determining concentration of macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF) or fragment thereof and N-terminal prohormone of brain natriuretic peptide (Nt-proBNP) or fragment thereof in a sample from a subject”, which has been interpreted to mean any mechanism by which MIF, Nt-proBNP (or BNP) or troponin can be determined (assayed or quantified). For instance, plasma MIF, Nt-proBNP (or BNP) or troponin may be determined in a sample using any method known to those skilled in the art for detecting proteins including, but not limited to, for example immunoassays such as, for example ELISA, enzyme immunoassay (EIA), Western blot, slot blot, dot blot, or immunoprecipitation followed by sodium dodecyl sulfate polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis, (SDS-PAGE), chromatography and the like (as described on page 24 of the instant specification).
In addition, claim 2 recites “means for performing an immunoassay”, which is interpreted as immunoassays such as, for example ELISA, enzyme immunoassay (EIA), Western blot, slot blot, dot blot, or immunoprecipitation followed by sodium dodecyl sulfate polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis, (SDS-PAGE), chromatography, dendrimer-enhanced radial partition immunoassays and immunofluorescence assays (as described on pages 24-25 of the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amir et al (US PGPub 2015/0065372 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, Amir et al teaches a device comprising means for determining concentration of macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF) or fragment thereof and N-terminal prohormone of brain natriuretic peptide (Nt-proBNP) or fragment thereof in a sample from a subject (such as an immunoassay, such as ELISA or SDS-PAGE, for use in a method of treating acute coronary syndrome (ACS) in the subject (see [0013]-[0014], [0121], [0139], [0191] and [0217]).
Regarding Claim 3, Amir et al teaches that the device is a point of care device (see [0155]).
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henkin (US PGPub 2011/0166166 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, Henkin teaches a device comprising means for determining concentration of macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF) or fragment thereof and N-terminal prohormone of brain natriuretic peptide (Nt-proBNP) or fragment thereof in a sample from a subject (such as an immunoassay, such as ELISA or SDS-PAGE, for use in a method of treating acute coronary syndrome (ACS) in the subject (see [0039], [0175], [0224] and [0227]).
Regarding Claim 3, Henkin teaches that the device is a point of care device (see [0006], [0012] and [0058]).
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buechler et al (US PGPub 2005/0148029).
Regarding Claims 1-2, Buechler et al teaches a device comprising means for determining concentration of macrophage migration inhibitory factor (MIF) or fragment thereof and N-terminal prohormone of brain natriuretic peptide (Nt-proBNP) or fragment thereof in a sample from a subject (such as an immunoassay, such as ELISA), for use in a method of treating acute coronary syndrome (ACS) in the subject ([0026], [0034], [0040] and [0149]).
Regarding Claim 3, Buechler et al teaches that the device is a point of care device (see [0027], [0043] and [0122]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
BEINEKE et al (US PGPub 20180356432) discloses markers (such as MIF and NT-proBN and methods useful for assessing coronary artery disease in a subject are provided, along with related kits, systems, and media. Also provided are predictive models, based on the markers, as well as computer systems, and software embodiments of the models for scoring and optionally classifying samples (see abstract, [0102] and Figure 1A).
/JENNIFER WECKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797