Status of Claims
This communication is a Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendment for application number 18/224,522 received on 08/07/2025.
In accordance with Applicant’s amendment, claims 1-23 are amended. Claims 1-23 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/07/2025 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection set forth in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Response to §101 arguments – Applicant’s arguments (Remarks at pgs. 14-20) with respect to the §101 rejections previously applied to the original claims are primarily raised in support of the amended claims. The amendments and supporting arguments are believed to be fully addressed in the updated §101 rejections below.
Response to §103 arguments – Applicant’s arguments (Remarks at pgs. 21-27) with respect to the §103 rejections previously applied to the original claims are primarily raised in support of the amended claims. The amendments and supporting arguments are believed to be fully addressed in the updated §103 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as further set forth in MPEP 2106.
Step 1: The claimed invention is analyzed to determine if it falls outside one of the four statutory categories of invention. See MPEP 2106.03
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are directed to a method (i.e., Process), and claim(s) 14-23 is/are directed to a system (i.e., Machine). Therefore, claims 1-23 are directed to patent eligible categories of invention. Accordingly, the claims satisfy Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry.
Step 2A, Prong 1: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether they recite a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04
Independent claims 1 and 14 recite a method and a system for the acquisition of components. As drafted, the limitations recited by claims 1, and 14 fall under the “Mental Processes” abstract idea group by setting forth activities that could be performed mentally by a human (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III), and “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea group, directed to “Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People” (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II).
Independent claims 1 and 14 recite a method and a system comprising at least one programmable integrated circuit, with the following limitations:
obtain one or more inward data factors that include at least one of workspace configuration or one or more usage patterns on how a given user utilizes existing information handling system hardware components of a local information handling system, (The step to “obtain one or more inward data factors” could be accomplished mentally, such as by human observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the help of pen and paper. Additionally, even if considered as an additional element, this step amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity as mere data gathering.);
determine an identity of multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are different from the local information handling system and that currently physically exist and are available in at least one warehouse by automatically reading barcodes or radio frequency identification (RFID) tags of all the available information handling system hardware components that are currently physically present within the warehouse, (The step to “determine an identity” could be accomplished mentally, such as by human observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the help of pen and paper. Additionally, even when considering the limitation for “automatically reading barcodes or radio frequency identification (RFID) tags” as an additional element, this step amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity as pre-solution activity directed to mere data gathering.);
obtain one or more outward data factors for each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are different from the local information handling system and that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse, the one or more outward data factors including at least one of device or system life cycle data, manufacturer report/s, or manufacturer certification/s for each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types, (The step to “obtain one or more outward data factors” could be accomplished mentally, such as by human observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the help of pen and paper. Additionally, even if considered as an additional element, this step amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity as mere data gathering.);
then combine the inward data factors with the outward data factors of each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse to determine a hardware component acquisition score for each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse, (The steps to “combine the inward data factors with the outward data factors” and “determine a hardware component acquisition score“ could be accomplished mentally, such as by human observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the help of pen and paper.);
then compare the hardware component acquisition scores of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse to each other, (The step to “compare the hardware component acquisition scores“ could be accomplished mentally, such as by human observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the help of pen and paper.);
and then select a given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse that has the highest hardware component acquisition score relative to all other of the multiple different available information handling system types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse; (The step to “select a given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types “ could be accomplished mentally, such as by human observation, evaluation, judgement, or with the help of pen and paper.);
and then automatically in response to the selection of the given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware components types by the at least one programmable integrated circuit: executing the at least one programmable integrated circuit to automatically physically acquire the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types for the given user of the local information handling system by automatically deploying a shipping robot or drone to carry the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types to physically transfer the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types from a first physical location of the warehouse to a second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system. (But for the additional elements – underlined – recited in this claim limitation, the limitation to “automatically physically acquire the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types” recites an abstract idea based on the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea group, directed to “Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People”. Additionally, even when considering the limitation for “automatically physically acquire the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types for the given user of the local information handling system by automatically deploying a shipping robot or drone to carry the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types to physically transfer the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types from a first physical location of the warehouse to a second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user” as an additional element, this step amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity as post-solution activity directed to insignificant application.).
The additional elements beyond the abstract idea for consideration under Step 2A, Prong 2, and Step 2B recited by independent claims 1/9/10 are: at least one programmable integrated circuit, and shipping robot or drone.
Dependent claims 2-13, and 15-23 further narrows the abstract idea and introduce the following additional elements for consideration under said steps: peripheral devices or other devices connected to the local information handling system, unsupervised machine learning, machine learning, host programmable integrated circuit, and local information handling system.
Step 2A, Prong 2: An evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
Regarding the computing additional elements, namely at least one programmable integrated circuit from the independent claims, and peripheral devices or other devices connected to the local information handling system, unsupervised machine learning, machine learning, host programmable integrated circuit, and local information handling system, from the dependent claims, these additional elements have been evaluated but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (generic computing environment). See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (generic computing environment). With respect to the shipping robot or drone, it has been considered under Step 2A Prong Two, however the shipping robot or drone is recited at a high level of generality and fails to provide a technical improvement or otherwise integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 2B: The claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for "inventive concept." See MPEP 2106.05.
Regarding the computing additional elements, namely at least one programmable integrated circuit from the independent claims, and peripheral devices or other devices connected to the local information handling system, unsupervised machine learning, machine learning, host programmable integrated circuit, and local information handling system, from the dependent claims, these additional element(s) has/have been evaluated, but fail to add significantly more to the claims because they amount to using generic computing elements (computer hardware) or instructions/software (engine) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (network computing environment, the internet, online) and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Applicant’s specification recites the computing additional elements at a high level of generality. Therefore, the additional elements merely describe generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) merely serve to tie the abstract idea to a particular operating environment, which does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. See, e.g., Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015). With respect to the shipping robot or drone, it has been considered under Step 2B, however the shipping robot or drone is recited at a high level of generality and fails to provide a technical improvement or otherwise add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Furthermore, even if the obtain one or more inward data factors, automatically reading barcodes or radio frequency identification (RFID) tags, obtain one or more outward data factors, and automatically physically acquire the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types for the given user of the local information handling system by automatically deploying a shipping robot or drone to carry the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types to physically transfer the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types from a first physical location of the warehouse to a second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user steps are interpreted as additional elements, these activities at most amount to insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering and insignificant application, respectively), which does not add significantly more to the abstract idea, as noted in MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, obtain one or more inward data factors, automatically reading barcodes or radio frequency identification (RFID) tags, and obtain one or more outward data factors extra-solution activity have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional, and thus insufficient to add significantly more to the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(d) - Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The ordered combination of elements in the claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 14, 16-18, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karro et al. (US 20180253709 A1, hereinafter “Karro”), in view of Cochran et al. (US 20190197643 A1, hereinafter “Cochran”), in further view of Roy et al. (US 20190172012 A1, hereinafter “Roy”).
Regarding claims 1/14: Karro teaches a programmable integrated circuit ([0030] The term “engine” as used herein is defined as a real-world device, component, or arrangement of components implemented using hardware, such as by an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or field-programmable gate array (FPGA)); and a system comprising at least one programmable integrated circuit ([0030] the system or components thereof can comprise or include various modules or engines, each of which is constructed, programmed, configured, or otherwise adapted, to autonomously carry out a function or set of functions. The term “engine” as used herein is defined as a real-world device, component, or arrangement of components implemented using hardware, such as by an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or field-programmable gate array (FPGA)) that is programmed to:
obtain one or more inward data factors that include at least one of workspace configuration or one or more usage patterns on how a given user utilizes existing information handling system hardware components of a local information handling system, ([0007] Such data can include, for example, the age of the equipment, the frequency and/or extent of IT past repairs, the amount of usage of the equipment, the sales revenue generated by the equipment, the location of the site, and information regarding local competitors.);
determine an identity of multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are different from the local information handling system and that currently physically exist ([0020] For example, a scanner 108A can pass data communicating the identity of one or more items to be purchased, returned, or the like to the primary computer 104.; [0022] the POS system 102 can store IT asset information, such as age of the equipment (i.e., years in service), and the frequency and/or extent of IT maintenance calls and/or repairs.; [0042] in response to a user selection certain equipment type, for example, lighting systems within a given region, user interface 132 can display in a map form, or other view, the locations of retail sites having lighting systems with certain characteristics);
obtain one or more outward data factors for each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are different from the local information handling system and that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse, the one or more outward data factors including at least one of device or system life cycle data, manufacturer report/s, or manufacturer certification/s for each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types, ([0041] Within any particular critical site, additional factors or information (e.g., age, years in service, expected useful life, category average, etc.) then can be used or applied to particular systems to determine if or when each system should or will be replaced.; [0042] in response to a user selection certain equipment type, for example, lighting systems within a given region, user interface 132 can display in a map form, or other view, the locations of retail sites having lighting systems with certain characteristics);
then combine the inward data factors with the outward data factors of each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse to determine a hardware component acquisition score for each of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse, ([0009] In one embodiment, the present disclosure provides a system for assessing site-wide equipment replacement criticality that comprises, at each of a plurality of sites, a point-of-sale (POS) system having a years in service number and configured to accumulate transaction data, the transaction data comprising an item rate of a number of items in each transaction processed by the POS system, a total number of transactions processed by the POS system, one or more diagnostic alerts generated by the POS system, a site revenue value, and; a transaction database configured to receive the years in service number and the transaction data comprising the item rate, the total number of transactions, and the site revenue value from the POS system at each of the plurality of sites; [0042] in response to a user selection certain equipment type, for example, lighting systems within a given region, user interface 132 can display in a map form, or other view, the locations of retail sites having lighting systems with certain characteristics);
then compare the hardware component acquisition scores of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse to each other, ([0016] FIG. 3 is a schematic depicting a system configured to assess site-wide IT equipment replacement criticality in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure.; [0039] The weighted comparisons for each of the fields can then be added together to form a criticality score. In one embodiment, for a given retail site 114A.sub.1, a criticality score of less than 1.1 indicates that replacement of the IT equipment is of a low priority, a criticality score of between 1.1 and 1.24 indicates that the replacement of the IT equipment is of a medium priority, a criticality score of between 1.25 and 1.39 indicates that the replacement of the IT equipment is of a high priority, and a critical score of above 1.4 indicates that the replacement of the IT equipment is critical (i.e., of the highest priority). In other embodiments, criticality scores can be curved, or other divisions of scores can be used, to determine the relative prioritization (e.g., low, medium, high, critical).; [0040] In other embodiments, the described systems and methods can be utilized for more general IT and/or sitewide equipment replacement criticality scores for other electronic devices utilized within the retail environment, not being limited to POS systems 102. For example, in one embodiment, the described systems and methods can be utilized to generate criticality scores for servers, inventory systems, switches, handheld devices, security systems, refrigeration and/or other food preservation equipment, lighting, photocopy equipment, communications equipment, and/or other devices or equipment that may be used in a retail store or other site environment.; [0042] in response to a user selection certain equipment type, for example, lighting systems within a given region, user interface 132 can display in a map form, or other view, the locations of retail sites having lighting systems with certain characteristics);
and then select a given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse that has the highest hardware component acquisition score relative to all other of the multiple different available information handling system types that are determined to currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse; ([0042] As depicted in FIG. 3, in one embodiment, the criticality scores can be presented to a user via a user interface 132.; [0041] a sitewide criticality score can be computed as discussed herein in order to identify a relative ranking of sites, or sites in more critical need of IT equipment attention. Within any particular critical site, additional factors or information (e.g., age, years in service, expected useful life, category average, etc.) then can be used or applied to particular systems to determine if or when each system should or will be replaced.; [0042] in response to a user selection certain equipment type, for example, lighting systems within a given region, user interface 132 can display in a map form, or other view, the locations of retail sites having lighting systems with certain characteristics; [0044] The criticality data can enable a service technician to repair or replace only those POS systems 102 having a higher criticality score.);
Karro doesn’t teach:
and are available in at least one warehouse by automatically reading barcodes or radio frequency identification (RFID) tags of all the available information handling system hardware components that are currently physically present within the warehouse,
and then automatically in response to the selection of the given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware components types by the at least one programmable integrated circuit: executing the at least one programmable integrated circuit to automatically physically acquire the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types for the given user of the local information handling system
by automatically deploying a shipping robot or drone to carry the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types to physically transfer the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types from a first physical location of the warehouse to a second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system.
Cochran teaches:
and then automatically in response to the selection of the given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware components types by the at least one programmable integrated circuit: executing the at least one programmable integrated circuit to automatically physically acquire the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types for the given user of the local information handling system ([0030] a “transport task” can generally involve a UAV picking up an item or item from one location (e.g., a source location specified by the item provider), delivering the item or items to another location, and returning to a base location (e.g., a UAV nest or charging station); [0094] In some embodiments, dispatch of the UAVs 304 may additionally or alternatively be accomplished via one or more automated processes.; [0104] the local dispatch system 312 may be implemented by a computing system installed at a building, such as a warehouse, where the deployment system(s) 314 and UAV(s) 304 that are associated with the particular local dispatch system 312 are also located. In other embodiments, the local dispatch system 312 may be implemented at a location that is remote to its associated deployment system(s) 314 and UAV(s) 304.);
by automatically deploying a shipping robot or drone to carry the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types to physically transfer the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types from a first physical location of the warehouse to a second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system. ([0030] Note that herein, a “transport task” can generally involve a UAV picking up an item or item from one location (e.g., a source location specified by the item provider), delivering the item or items to another location); [0031] Further, it should be understood that an “item providers” may include any entity that has items to be delivered to any type of “recipient.” Item recipients may be any entities or locations capable of receiving delivery of an item, such as merchants, vendors, dealers, retailers, seller, shippers, and laypersons, among other possibilities.; [0050] For example, a remote operator could control high level navigation decisions for a UAV, such as by specifying that the UAV should travel from one location to another (e.g., from a warehouse in a suburban area to a delivery address in a nearby city), while the UAV's navigation system autonomously controls more fine-grained navigation decisions, such as the specific route to take between the two locations, specific flight controls to achieve the route and avoid obstacles while navigating the route, and so on.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Karro with Cochran’s feature(s) listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to achieve a desired distribution of UAVs at a certain time (Cochran; [0032]). By incorporating the teachings of Cochran, one would’ve been able to use a drone or robot to deliver the requested goods.
The combination of Karro and Cochran doesn’t teach:
and are available in at least one warehouse by automatically reading barcodes or radio frequency identification (RFID) tags of all the available information handling system hardware components that are currently physically present within the warehouse,
Roy teaches:
and are available in at least one warehouse by automatically reading barcodes or radio frequency identification (RFID) tags of all the available information handling system hardware components that are currently physically present within the warehouse, ([0047] the fulfillment capability and warehouse management system 206 manages inventory, fulfills orders, scans inventory to an order, tracks order status, and delivers supplies for each case in consolidated containers to the hospital at agreed time windows. In some embodiments, the in-hospital supply management system 208 accounts for the containerized orders received at the hospital for each patient procedure and adds to case cart processing efforts. The in-hospital management system 208 may utilize a variety of existing tools such as manual systems entry, mobile scanners, RFID scanners, voice recognition, cameras, and/or blockchain technology to account for the received orders.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Karro and Cochran with Roy’s feature(s) listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to create customized orders using the procedure schedule data and the preference card data (Roy; [0047]). By incorporating the teachings of Roy, one would’ve been able to use RFID tags to keep track of available inventory.
Regarding claim 3: Karro further teaches:
further comprising placing the acquired given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types into operation at the second physical location for the given user of the local information handling system after physically transferring the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types from the first physical location of the warehouse to the second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system. ([0044] Automatically created service requests can reduce costs and increase the reliability of systems at retail sites 114. For example, by dispatching a service technician to repair, replace, or upgrade a component of POS system 102 prior to total failure, downtime can be avoided. In addition, by determining a criticality score based on granular actual use data, unnecessarily early service on components can be avoided. For example each retail site may have high-use and low-use POS systems 102. Without granular criticality data, a retailer may choose to repair or replace all POS systems 102 in order to avoid costly downtime. The criticality data can enable a service technician to repair or replace only those POS systems 102 having a higher criticality score. This can additionally benefit a retailer where full refreshes of retail equipment can be extremely costly, requiring a large investment of labor and capital, while normal service calls can be relatively low cost. In these situations, it can be especially beneficial to request a number of additional smaller service calls in order to extend the time needed between full refreshes (or mitigate the need for a full refresh altogether).; [0045] In embodiments, a service scheduling system can use criticality score, alerts, or other data to modify the parameters of a previously scheduled service call to include one or more additional work items at a particular retail site. This can enable service technicians to be more efficient where a high priority service call is necessary at a retail site where a number of lower priority service items can also be addressed.).
Regarding claims 4/16: Karro further teaches:
further comprising executing the at least one programmable integrated circuit to obtain the one or more inward data factors by monitoring and gathering data regarding at least one of past workspace configuration or usage trends of the local information handling system for the given user of the local information handling system. ([0007] Instead of relying on subjective employee opinions for the identification and prioritization IT equipment replacement, as is done in conventional systems, embodiments of the present disclosure utilize only objective data from actual stores. Such data can include, for example, the age of the equipment, the frequency and/or extent of IT past repairs, the amount of usage of the equipment).
Regarding claims 5/17: Karro further teaches:
further comprising executing the at least one programmable integrated circuit to obtain the one or more outward data factors across a network from one or more remote information handling systems. ([0008] Collected usage data for a given retail site can be combined with usage data from other sites across a retail network to compute network averages for each aspect of actual usage data.; [0041] Within any particular critical site, additional factors or information (e.g., age, years in service, expected useful life, category average, etc.) then can be used or applied to particular systems to determine if or when each system should or will be replaced).
Regarding claims 6/18: Karro further teaches:
where the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types correspond to types of information handling system hardware components that are contained within an inventory of information handling system hardware components that currently physically exist and are available in the at least one warehouse. ([0043] Requesting service can comprise creating and sending one or more messages including a service request, creating an entry in a service database including the location and type of service required, scheduling a service call based on technician and/or material availability, or the like.; [0044] Automatically created service requests can reduce costs and increase the reliability of systems at retail sites 114. For example, by dispatching a service technician to repair, replace, or upgrade a component of POS system 102 prior to total failure).
Regarding claims 8/20: Karro further teaches:
further comprising executing the at least one programmable integrated circuit to display on a display device at least one of
the identity of the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types, ([0020] For example, a scanner 108A can pass data communicating the identity of one or more items to be purchased, returned, or the like to the primary computer 104.; [0042] in response to a user selection certain equipment type, for example, lighting systems within a given region);
the hardware component acquisition score for each given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types,
or the hardware component acquisition score for only the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types. ([0042] For example, in response to a user selection certain equipment type, for example, lighting systems within a given region, user interface 132 can display in a map form, or other view, the locations of retail sites having lighting systems with certain characteristics (such as criticality score).).
Regarding claims 9/21: Karro further teaches:
where the executing the at least one programmable integrated circuit to automatically physically acquire selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types for the given user of the local information handling system comprises: executing at least first one programmable integrated circuit to automatically transmit a transfer request across a network to a second programmable integrated circuit… ([0044] Automatically created service requests can reduce costs and increase the reliability of systems at retail sites 114. For example, by dispatching a service technician to repair, replace, or upgrade a component of POS system 102 prior to total failure, downtime can be avoided.; [0030] The term “engine” as used herein is defined as a real-world device, component, or arrangement of components implemented using hardware, such as by an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or field-programmable gate array (FPGA)… In certain implementations, at least a portion, and in some cases, all, of an engine can be executed on the processor(s) of one or more computing platforms that are made up of hardware (e.g., one or more processors, data storage devices such as memory or drive storage, input/output facilities such as network interface devices, video devices, keyboard, mouse or touchscreen devices, etc.) that execute an operating system, system programs, and application programs, while also implementing the engine using multitasking, multithreading, distributed (e.g., cluster, peer-peer, cloud, etc.) processing where appropriate, or other such techniques.);
…from an existing inventory that currently physically exists and is available in the at least one warehouse and that contains the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types; ([0043] Requesting service can comprise creating and sending one or more messages including a service request, creating an entry in a service database including the location and type of service required, scheduling a service call based on technician and/or material availability, or the like.; [0044] Automatically created service requests can reduce costs and increase the reliability of systems at retail sites 114. For example, by dispatching a service technician to repair, replace, or upgrade a component of POS system 102 prior to total failure).
Karro doesn’t teach:
…for physical transfer of the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types to the second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system…
and executing the second programmable integrated circuit to automatically respond to the transfer request by physically transferring the selected type of available information handling system hardware component to the second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system.
Cochran further teaches:
…for physical transfer of the selected given one of the multiple different available information handling system hardware component types to the second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system… ([0030] a “transport task” can generally involve a UAV picking up an item or item from one location (e.g., a source location specified by the item provider), delivering the item or items to another location, and returning to a base location (e.g., a UAV nest or charging station); [0094] In some embodiments, dispatch of the UAVs 304 may additionally or alternatively be accomplished via one or more automated processes.; [0104] the local dispatch system 312 may be implemented by a computing system installed at a building, such as a warehouse, where the deployment system(s) 314 and UAV(s) 304 that are associated with the particular local dispatch system 312 are also located. In other embodiments, the local dispatch system 312 may be implemented at a location that is remote to its associated deployment system(s) 314 and UAV(s) 304.);
and executing the second programmable integrated circuit to automatically respond to the transfer request by physically transferring the selected type of available information handling system hardware component to the second physical location of the local information handling system and the given user of the local information handling system. ([0054] UAV 200 also includes one or more processors 208. A processor 208 may be a general-purpose processor or a special purpose processor (e.g., digital signal processors, application specific integrated circuits, etc.).; ([0030] a “transport task” can generally involve a UAV picking up an item or item from one location (e.g., a source location specified by the item provider), delivering the item or items to another location, and returning to a base location (e.g., a UAV nest or charging station); [0094] In some embodiments, dispatch of the UAVs 304 may additionally or alternatively be accomplished via one or more automated processes.; [0104] the local dispatch system 312 may be implemented by a computing system installed at a building, such as a warehouse, where the deployment system(s) 314 and UAV(s) 304 that are associated with the particular local dispatch system 312 are also located. In other embodiments, the local dispatch system 312 may be implemented at a location that is remote to its associated deployment system(s) 314 and UAV(s) 304.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Karro, Cochran and Roy with Cochran’s feature(s) listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to achieve a desired distribution of UAVs at a certain time (Cochran; [0032]). By incorporating the teachings of Cochran, one would’ve been able to deliver the requested goods.
Regarding claims 10/22: Karro further teaches:
where the at least one programmable integrated circuit is an integral host programmable integrated circuit component of the local information handling system. ([0030] The term “engine” as used herein is defined as a real-world device, component, or arrangement of components implemented using hardware, such as by an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or field-programmable gate array (FPGA)).
Regarding claims 11/23: Karro further teaches:
where the at least one programmable integrated circuit is an integral component of an administrative information handling system that is coupled by a network to the local information handling system. ([0030] In embodiments, the system or components thereof can comprise or include various modules or engines, each of which is constructed, programmed, configured, or otherwise adapted, to autonomously carry out a function or set of functions. The term “engine” as used herein is defined as a real-world device, component, or arrangement of components implemented using hardware, such as by an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or field-programmable gate array (FPGA), for example, or as a combination of hardware and software, such as by a microprocessor system and a set of program instructions that adapt the engine to implement the particular functionality, which (while being executed) transform the microprocessor system into a special-purpose device.).
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karro et al. (US 20180253709 A1, hereinafter “Karro”), in view of Cochran et al. (US 20190197643 A1, hereinafter “Cochran”), in further view of Roy et al. (US 20190172012 A1, hereinafter “Roy”) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, in further view of Srinivasan et al. (US 20210256066 A1, hereinafter “Srinivasan”), in further view of Saratsis et al. (US 20180260920 A1, hereinafter “Saratsis”).
Regarding claims 2/15: Karro further teaches:
where the workspace configuration inward data factors comprise at least one of data that specifies an identity of a number or a type of peripheral devices or other devices connected to the local information handling system; ([0019] the POS system 102 can include a central or primary computer 104, a monitor 106 (e.g., a cashier facing monitor 106), one or more input devices 108 (e.g., scanners 108A, keyboards 108B, scales, or the like), one or more payment devices 110 (e.g., cash drawers 110A, card readers 110B) for receiving or returning payments, one or more output devices 112 (e.g., customer facing display 112A or monitor 112A, receipt printer 112B) or combinations thereof.
and where the device or system life cycle data of the outward data factors comprise at least one of supply chain management information, energy and type of material used in manufacturing information, end-user delivery information, durability and life expectancy information, repair and refurbishment capability information, or end-of-life recycling potential information. ([0041] additional factors or information (e.g., age, years in service, expected useful life, category average, etc.) then can be used or applied to particular systems to determine if or when each system should or will be replaced.).
Karro doesn’t teach:
and where the usage pattern inward data factors comprise at least one of battery utilization pattern, central processing unit (CPU) resource utilization, graphics resource utilization, memory resource utilization, or user application