DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 07/26/2023 and 07/29/2024 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, a term, “A” should read –An--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 15, the claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to mere software per se.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A indoor unit power consumption detection method, comprising:
acquiring a multi-split air conditioner operation mode and multi-split air conditioner information of a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner and determining to-be-detected indoor units based on the multi-split air conditioner information;
acquiring indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units, and determining a target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode and the indoor unit operation modes, the to-be-detected indoor units;
acquiring indoor unit information of the target indoor unit and outdoor unit information of the heat recovery multi-split air conditioner; and
determining a total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the indoor unit information and the outdoor unit information.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Step 1: under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (Process).
Step 2A, Prong One: under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the groupings of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation that falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mathematical concepts - mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations and mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, the limitations of “determining a total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the indoor unit information and the outdoor unit information” is mental process (evaluation or judgement) based mathematical calculations (see para. [0047] of instant application). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mathematical concepts or human mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” and “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claims 8 and 15.
Step 2A, Prong Two: under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Therefore, none of the additional elements indicate a practical application.
Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
In Claim 1: an indoor unit power consumption detection method (preamble); steps of acquiring a multi-split air conditioner operation mode and multi-split air conditioner information of a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner and determining to-be-detected indoor units based on the multi-split air conditioner information, acquiring indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units, and determining a target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode and the indoor unit operation modes, the to-be-detected indoor units, and acquiring indoor unit information of the target indoor unit and outdoor unit information of the heat recovery multi-split air conditioner;
In Claim 8: a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner (preamble); memory; a processor; an indoor unit power consumption detection program; steps of acquiring a multi-split air conditioner operation mode and multi-split air conditioner information of a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner and determining to-be-detected indoor units based on the multi-split air conditioner information, acquiring indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units, and determining a target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode and the indoor unit operation modes, the to-be-detected indoor units, and acquiring indoor unit information of the target indoor unit and outdoor unit information of the heat recovery multi-split air conditioner; and
In Claim 15: a computer storage medium, having an indoor unit power consumption detection program stored thereon, wherein the indoor unit power consumption detection program, when executed by a processor (preamble); steps of acquiring a multi-split air conditioner operation mode and multi-split air conditioner information of a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner and determining to-be-detected indoor units based on the multi-split air conditioner information, acquiring indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units, and determining a target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode and the indoor unit operation modes, the to-be-detected indoor units, and acquiring indoor unit information of the target indoor unit and outdoor unit information of the heat recovery multi-split air conditioner.
The additional elements such as memory, processor, and a computer storage medium in claims 1, 8, and 15 are recited at a high-level of generality (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further, note that steps of acquiring a multi-split air conditioner operation mode and multi-split air conditioner information of a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner and determining to-be-detected indoor units based on the multi-split air conditioner information, acquiring indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units, and determining a target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode and the indoor unit operation modes, the to-be-detected indoor units, and acquiring indoor unit information of the target indoor unit and outdoor unit information of the heat recovery multi-split air conditioner is insignificant (data gathering) extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, none of the additional elements indicate a practical application.
Further, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these additional elements/steps are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the relevant based on the prior art of record (Liu, Bu et al. (US 2019/0056139 A1). For example, Liu and Bu teach acquiring a multi-split air conditioner operation mode and multi-split air conditioner information of a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner and determining to-be-detected indoor units based on the multi-split air conditioner information (page 11, lines 22-23 and page 12, lines 10-11 of Liu; paras. [0030], [0039], [0042]-[0044] of Bu), acquiring indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units (page 6, lines 42-44 and page 11, lines 22-23 of Liu; paras. [0039], [0042]-[0044] of Bu), and determining a target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode and the indoor unit operation modes, the to-be-detected indoor units, and acquiring indoor unit information of the target indoor unit and outdoor unit information of the heat recovery multi-split air conditioner (page 6, lines 42-45 and page 11, lines 22-23 of Liu; paras. [0039], [0042]-[0044] of Bu). Therefore, independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20, all features recited in these claims are abstract ideas (Claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, 20) or abstract ideas and insignificant solution activity (Claims 4, 5, 7, 9, 11-12 14, 16, 18, 19) as all features found in these claims are directed towards mental process including mathematical calculations. The explanation for the rejection of Claims 1, 8, and 15 therefore is incorporated herein and applied to Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-18. These claims therefore stand rejected for similar reasons as explained in above Claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 110296512 A1,” hereinafter referred to as “Liu”) (cited in IDS dated July 26, 2023). Note that the cited paragraphs come from the provided English machine translation of the above document.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses indoor unit power consumption detection method (page 3, lines 12-13: the power of motor of the target indoor unit of the electricity charge to be calculated), comprising:
acquiring a multi-split air conditioner operation mode (page 11, lines 22-23: Each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode) and multi-split air conditioner information of a heat recovery multi-split air conditioner (page 11, lines 22-23: each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode); page 12, line 14: adjusts temperature) and determining to-be-detected indoor units based on the multi-split air conditioner information (page 12, lines 10-11: target indoor unit in air conditioner system and interior machine type parameter);
acquiring indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units ( page 11, lines 22-23: operational mode), and determining a target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode and the indoor unit operation modes (page 11, lines 22-23: operational mode), the to-be-detected indoor units (page 6, lines 42-44: the target indoor unit interior machine capacity and interior machine type parameter; Based on the multi-gang air-conditioner system, the interior machine capacity of indoor unit total quantity, the target indoor unit in system and interior machine type parameter, calculate the target indoor unit);
acquiring indoor unit information of the target indoor unit (page 12, lines 10-11: target indoor unit in air conditioner system and interior machine type parameter) and outdoor unit information of the heat recovery multi-split air conditioner (page 6, lines 42-45: outdoor unit power consumption); and
determining a total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the indoor unit information and the outdoor unit information (page 7, lines 6-9: Based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake. Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses acquiring the indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units (page 11, lines 22-23: each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode) and determining the target indoor unit by filtering, based on the multi-split air conditioner operation mode (page 11, lines 22-23: operational mode) and the indoor unit operation modes (page 11, lines 22-23: operational mode), the to-be-detected indoor units (page 6, lines 42-44: the target indoor unit interior machine capacity and interior machine type parameter; Based on the multi-gang air-conditioner system, the interior machine capacity of indoor unit total quantity, the target indoor unit in system and interior machine type parameter, calculate the target indoor unit) comprises:
acquiring the indoor unit operation modes of the to-be-detected indoor units (page 11, lines 22-23: each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode), and obtaining matching results by matching the multi-split air conditioner operation mode with the indoor unit operation modes (page 11, lines 22-23: operational mode) (page 7, lines 6-9: based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake, note that the above feature of “the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake” in page 7, lines 6-9 and “operational mode” in page 11, lines 22-23 reads on “obtaining matching results by matching the multi-split air conditioner operation mode with the indoor unit operation modes”); and
obtaining the target indoor unit by filtering, based on the matching results, the to-be- detected indoor units (page 7, lines 6-9: based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake, note that the above feature of “the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake” and “calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake” in page 7, lines 6-9 reads on “obtaining the target indoor unit by filtering, based on the matching results, the to-be- detected indoor units”).
Regarding claim 8, it is an apparatus (multi-split air conditioner) type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above. The additional limitations of multi-split air conditioner (page 6, lines 42-44: multi-gang air-conditioner system), a memory (page 16, lines 18-20: USB flash disk, read-only memory (ROM, Read-Only Memory), arbitrary access are deposited Reservoir (RAM, Random Access Memory), mobile hard disk, magnetic or disk etc. be various to can store program code Medium), a processor (page 15, lines 29-30: processor), indoor unit power consumption program (page 7, lines 6-9: indoor unit power consumption; page 15, lines 29-32: computer program products) stored in the memory (page 16, lines 18-20) and executable on the processor (page 15, lines 29-32: computer program products), taught by Liu.
Regarding claim 14, it is dependent on claim 8 and has similar limitations as of claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, it is a computer storage medium type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above. The additional limitations of power consumption detection program (page 7, lines 6-9: power consumption; page 15, lines 29-32: computer program products), and the processor (page 15, lines 29-30: processor), taught by Liu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu further in view of Luo et al. (US 2017/0198956 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Luo”). Note that the cited paragraphs come from the provided English machine translation of the above document.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Liu teaches determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the indoor unit information and the outdoor unit information (page 7, lines 6-9: see claim 1 above) comprises:
extracting the target indoor unit from the indoor unit information when the multi-split air conditioner operation mode is a predetermined main cooling mode (page 11, lines 22-23: each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode);
extracting outdoor unit power and an outdoor unit operation duration (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake) of the heat recovery (page 11, page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake; lines 22-23: controlled temperature) multi-split air conditioner from the outdoor unit information (page 17, line 29: calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake); and
determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the outdoor unit power (page 7, lines 6-9: based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake), and the outdoor unit operation duration (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake).
Liu does not specifically teach an electronic expansion valve flow coefficient.
However, Luo teaches an electronic expansion valve flow coefficient (para. [0019]: When the opening of the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit reaches the maximum opening …target opening of the second electronic expansion valve is calculated by a formula).
Liu and Luo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a multi-split air-conditioning system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the an electronic expansion valve flow coefficient such as is described in Luo into Liu, in order to control refrigerant distribution of a multi-split air-conditioning system is provided. The multi-split air-conditioning system includes: a re-cooling system including a first heat exchanger, a second heat exchanger, a first electronic expansion valve and a second electronic expansion valve, and a flow distributing device (Luo, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Luo teaches all the limitation of claim 2, in addition, Liu teaches determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the outdoor unit power (Liu, page 7, lines 6-9: based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake), and the outdoor unit operation duration (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake) comprises:
determining current power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the outdoor unit power (page 7, lines 6-9: Based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake); and
determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the current power consumption (page 7, lines 6-9: Based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake) and the outdoor unit operation duration (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake).
Liu does not specifically teach an electronic expansion valve flow coefficient.
However, Luo teaches an electronic expansion valve flow coefficient (para. [0019]: When the opening of the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit reaches the maximum opening …target opening of the second electronic expansion valve is calculated by a formula).
Liu and Luo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a multi-split air-conditioning system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the an electronic expansion valve flow coefficient such as is described in Luo into Liu, in order to control refrigerant distribution of a multi-split air-conditioning system is provided. The multi-split air-conditioning system includes: a re-cooling system including a first heat exchanger, a second heat exchanger, a first electronic expansion valve and a second electronic expansion valve, and a flow distributing device (Luo, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Luo teaches all the limitation of claim 2, in addition, Liu teaches extracting the target indoor unit from the indoor unit information when the multi-split air conditioner operation mode is the predetermined main cooling mode (page 7, lines 6-9: based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake).
Liu does not specifically teach the electronic expansion valve flow coefficient,
extracting electronic expansion valve opening degree of the target indoor unit from the indoor unit information when the multi-split air conditioner operation mode is the predetermined main cooling mode; and determining the electronic expansion valve flow coefficient of the target indoor unit based on the electronic expansion valve opening degree.
However, Luo teaches the electronic expansion valve flow coefficient (para. [0019]: When the opening of the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit reaches the maximum opening …target opening of the second electronic expansion valve is calculated by a formula of eq. 1),
extracting electronic expansion valve opening degree of the target indoor unit from the indoor unit information when the multi-split air conditioner operation mode (para. [0019]; para. [0020]: the total opening may be obtained by calculating in the pure heating mode. When the multi-split air-conditioning system enters the pure heating mode, the discharge superheat, the discharge temperature and the returned-gas superheat of the outdoor unit are controlled by the second electronic expansion valve) is the predetermined main cooling mode (para. [0029]: in the main heating mode, since the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit may also play the role of the second electronic expansion valve, i.e. the refrigerant through the cooling indoor unit, which is satisfied with the requirement of indoor cooling, will also obtain the superheat, such that the effect of avoiding the liquid strike on the compressor may be satisfied, note that the above feature of “the opening calculated by formula, eq 1” in para. [0019], total opening obtained by calculating” in para. [0020], and “the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit may also play the role of the second electronic expansion valve” reads on “extracting electronic expansion valve opening degree of the target indoor unit from the indoor unit information when the multi-split air conditioner operation mode is the predetermined main cooling mod”); and
determining the electronic expansion valve flow coefficient of the target indoor unit based on the electronic expansion valve opening degree (para. [0019]: when the opening of the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit reaches the maximum opening …target opening of the second electronic expansion valve is calculated by a formula of eq. 1).
Liu and Luo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a multi-split air-conditioning system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the extracting the electronic expansion valve flow coefficient such as is described in Luo into Liu, in order to control refrigerant distribution of a multi-split air-conditioning system is provided. The multi-split air-conditioning system includes: a re-cooling system including a first heat exchanger, a second heat exchanger, a first electronic expansion valve and a second electronic expansion valve, and a flow distributing device (Luo, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Liu teaches determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the indoor unit information and the outdoor unit information (page 7, lines 6-9: see claim 1 above) comprises:
extracting an indoor unit ambient temperature from the indoor unit information when the multi-split air conditioner operation mode is a predetermined main heating mode (page 11, lines 22-23: each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode, note that above feature of “controlled temperature reads on “ indoor unit ambient temperature”);
extracting outdoor unit power (page 17, line 29: calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake), and an outdoor unit operation duration from the outdoor unit information (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake); and
determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit, the indoor unit ambient temperature (page 11, lines 22-23: see above), the outdoor unit power (page 7, lines 6-9: Based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake), and the outdoor unit operation duration (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake).
Liu does not specifically teach an indoor unit heat transfer area, an indoor unit heat transfer coefficient, and the exhaust pressure saturation temperature.
However, Luo teaches an indoor unit heat transfer area (para. [0019]: AEV(cooling indoor) is a valve circulating area of the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit, and AEXV2 is a valve circulating area of the second electronic expansion valve, note that the above feature of “cooling indoor unit reads on “heat transfer area”), an indoor unit heat transfer coefficient (para. [0019]: target opening of the second electronic expansion valve is calculated by a formula of eq.1), and the exhaust pressure saturation temperature (paras. [0020], [0032]: superheat).
Liu and Luo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a multi-split air-conditioning system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indoor unit heat transfer coefficient, the indoor unit heat transfer area, and the exhaust pressure saturation temperature such as are described in Luo into Liu, in order to control refrigerant distribution of a multi-split air-conditioning system is provided. The multi-split air-conditioning system includes: a re-cooling system including a first heat exchanger, a second heat exchanger, a first electronic expansion valve and a second electronic expansion valve, and a flow distributing device (Luo, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Luo teaches all the limitation of claim 5, in addition, Liu teaches determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit, indoor unit ambient temperature (page 11, lines 22-23: each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode ), the outdoor unit power (page 6, lines 44-45: outdoor unit power), and the outdoor unit operation duration (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake) comprises:
determining current power consumption of the target indoor unit, the indoor unit ambient temperature (page 11, lines 22-23: each interior machine is communicated, and is received regulation and control instruction (instruction as regulated and controlled temperature and humidity, wind speed, operational mode, note that above feature of “controlled temperature reads on “ indoor unit ambient temperature”), and the outdoor unit power (page 11, lines 22-23: outdoor unit power); and
determining the total power consumption of the target indoor unit based on the current power consumption (page 11, lines 22-23: see above; page 7, lines 6-9: based on the multi-connected machine, the ratio for the outer machine total power consumption that the total power consumption of air-conditioning system, the total power consumption of all indoor units and the target indoor unit need to undertake Example, calculates the outdoor unit power consumption that the target indoor unit need to undertake) and the outdoor unit operation duration (page 7, lines 24-35: the power of motor and operation duration of the outdoor unit power consumption and the target indoor unit that undertake).
Liu does not specifically teach an indoor unit heat transfer area, an indoor unit heat transfer coefficient, and the exhaust pressure saturation temperature.
However, Luo teaches an indoor unit heat transfer area (para. [0019]: AEV(cooling indoor) is a valve circulating area of the electronic expansion valve corresponding to the cooling indoor unit, and AEXV2 is a valve circulating area of the second electronic expansion valve), an indoor unit heat transfer coefficient (para. [0019]: target opening of the second electronic expansion valve is calculated by a formula of eq.1), and the exhaust pressure saturation temperature (paras. [0020], [0032]: superheat).
Liu and Luo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a multi-split air-conditioning system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the indoor unit heat transfer coefficient, the indoor unit heat transfer area, and the exhaust pressure saturation temperature such as are described in Luo into Liu, in order to control refrigerant distribution of a multi-split air-conditioning system is provided. The multi-split air-conditioning system includes: a re-cooling system including a first heat exchanger, a second heat exchanger, a first electronic expansion valve and a second electronic expansion valve, and a flow distributing device (Luo, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, it is dependent on claim 8 and has similar limitations as of claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, it is dependent on claim 9 and has similar limitations as of claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 11, it is dependent on claim 9 and has similar limitations as of claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 12, it is dependent on claim 8 and has similar limitations as of claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, it is dependent on claim 12 and has similar limitations as of claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 16, it is dependent on claim 15 and has similar limitations as of claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17, it is dependent on claim 16 and has similar limitations as of claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 18, it is dependent on claim 16 and has similar limitations as of claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 19, it is dependent on claim 15 and has similar limitations as of claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, it is dependent on claim 15 and has similar limitations as of claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al. (US 2005/0097902 A1) teaches a central control system of air conditioners includes a multi-type air conditioning system, a power meter and a central controller. The air conditioning system includes a plurality of indoor units for air conditioning installed in rooms of a building and an outdoor unit for circulation of refrigerant, where the indoor units share the outdoor unit. The power meter is connected to the outdoor unit to measure power consumption of the air conditioning system when the system operates.
Stanimirovic et al. (US 2005/0006488 A1) teaches method and apparatus pertains namely to the HVAC (Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning) industry, though its many functions extend into any and all forms of air-fluid movement, metering, distribution, and containment.
Kubota et al. (WO 2019180952 A1) teaches that this air-conditioning device comprises: a heat source machine which generates heat to be carried by a heat medium; a plurality of load-side units through which the heat medium flows; and a control device which distributes common electric power to be consumed by the heat source machine.
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858