DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4-7, 12-16, and 20 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 1 and 16 are amended. Claims 2-3, 8-11, and 17-19 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on June 17, 2026 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pgs 5-11, filed June 17, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 4-7, 12-16, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented and that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is entirely trapped in the first liquid conducting member, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and the first liquid conducting member.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously applied references in combination with a newly found prior art reference.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lord (US 2015/0157055 A1) in view of Zhou (US 2025/0185713 A1) and Fraser (US 2019/0133186 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 4, Lord, directed to atomizing assemblies ([0051]-[0052], Figs. 1-2; Electronic cigarette 1 comprises vaporizer 6. [0056], Vaporiser 6 (atomizing assembly) comprises a heating element 17 and a heating element support 20. [0069]-[0074], In operation, the heating element 17 vaporizes a liquid to form a vaporised liquid which may condense, producing a fine suspension of liquid droplets (an atomized liquid) in the airflow), teaches an atomizing assembly ([0056], Vaporiser 6 (atomizing assembly)), comprising
a first liquid conducting member ([0056], Figs. 1-2; Vaporiser 6 (atomizing assembly) comprises a heating element 17 and a heating element support 20 (first liquid conducting member). [0124]-[0126], Fig. 24 shows an alternate embodiment of the vaporizer 6, wherein heating element support 20 is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. [0127], the heating element support 20 could be made from a porous material to allow liquid storage within the support 20),
a heating assembly ([0056], [0124]-[0126], Figs. 1-2, 24; Vaporiser 6 (atomizing assembly) comprises a heating element 17 (heating assembly) and a heating element support 20 (first liquid conducting member)) and
at least one electrode ([0059], Figs. 3-6; The heating element 17 is formed of a single wire and comprises two leads 24 (electrodes) at its ends. The leads 24 are connected to the electrical contacts 16 and are thereby configured to route electrical power, provided by the power cell 9, to the heating element 17);
wherein the first liquid conducting member is configured for adsorbing an atomizable medium ([0127], Fig. 24; The heating element support 20 (first liquid conducting member) could be made from a porous material to allow liquid storage within the support 20. [0069]-[0074], The liquid is an atomizable medium configured to be atomized by heating element 17);
wherein the heating assembly is fixed to the first liquid conducting member through sewing ([0124]-[0126], Fig. 24; A heating element support 20 is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. The limitation: “fixed to the first liquid conducting member through sewing” is directed to the method of production of the atomizing assembly of Claim 1. The determination of patentability is based upon the product structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product, and the product of Lord is capable of being made in the claimed manner); and
wherein the at least one electrode is connected to the heating assembly ([0059], Figs. 3-6; The heating element 17 (heating assembly) is formed of a single wire and comprises two leads 24 (electrodes) at its ends),
so that the heating assembly heats and atomizes the atomizable medium in the first liquid conducting member when electrified ([0069]-[0074], When electrified, the heating element 17 (heating assembly) vaporizes the liquid (atomizable medium) in the heating element support 20 (first liquid conducting member) to form a vaporised liquid which may condense, producing a fine suspension of liquid droplets (an atomized liquid) in the airflow),
wherein the heating assembly comprises a first wire that is flexible, wherein the first wire is electrically conductive ([0059], Heating element 17 formed of a single wire. The heating element may be formed of Nichrome (an electrically conductive material). [0126], Fig. 24; Heating element 17 must be flexible to be threaded through the apertures 83), and
wherein the first liquid conducting member comprises two opposite sides ([0124]-[0126], Fig. 24; Heating element support 20 (liquid conducting substrate) is a flat substrate comprising two opposite sides),
wherein the first wire is sewn to the first liquid conducting member from one of the two opposite sides ([0124]-[0126], Fig. 24; A heating element support 20 is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. Fig 24 shows that the heating element 17 is threaded from one of the two opposite sides),
but does not teach the atomizing assembly i) wherein the first liquid conducting member is flexible, wherein the heating assembly comprises a second wire that are flexible, wherein the second wire is electrically conductive, and wherein the first wire and the second wire are respectively sewn to the first liquid conducting member from two opposite sides of the first liquid conducting member and are interwoven with each other, the resistance of the second wire is smaller than the resistance of the first wire; and ii) an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is entirely trapped in the first liquid conducting member, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and the first liquid conducting member.
With respect to i), Zhou, directed to atomizing assemblies ([0001]), teaches an atomizing assembly ([0148], Fig. 1; Atomizer 930 (atomizing assembly) comprises an atomizer wicking element 932 and a mesh heating element 931 wrapped around the outer peripheral surface of the atomizer wicking element 932) comprising:
a first liquid conducting member ([0148], [0150], Fig. 1; Atomizer 930 (atomizing assembly) comprises an atomizer wicking element 932 (first liquid conducting member) which is used to transport the liquid to be atomized to the atomizer 930),
wherein the first liquid conducting member is flexible ([0315], Fig. 1; Atomizer wicking element 932 is used to transport the liquid to be atomized to the atomizer 930, and its material can include fibers or powders containing cellulose, cotton rope, carbon fibers, glass fibers, ceramic fibers, porous ceramics, etc, Cotton is a known flexible material; see instant specification, [0034]);
a heating assembly ([0148], Fig. 1; Atomizer 930 (atomizing assembly) comprises a mesh heating element 931 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating assembly comprises a first wire and a second wire that are flexible ([0154], Figs. 1, 3-10; the mesh heating element 931 is formed by weaving or cross-winding one or more resistance wires 9311 (a first and second wire). The resistance wires 9311 must be flexible in order to be woven around the cylindrical wicking element 932),
wherein the first and second wire is electrically conductive ([0152], Figs. 1, 3-10; The resistance wires 9311 generally refers to metal or non-metal wires that have a certain resistance and can generate heat when energized, such as nickel-chromium alloy wire, iron-chromium alloy wire, etc (electrically conductive materials)), and
wherein the first wire and the second wire are provided onto the first liquid conducting member from two opposite sides of the first liquid conducting member and are interwoven with each other ([0148], [0159], Figs. 1, 5; As shown in Fig. 5, the mesh heating element 931 comprises two left-handed resistance wires 9311a and two right-handed resistance wires 9311b, and it can be seen that the left-handed resistance wire 9311a and the right-handed resistance wire 9311b spiral upwards and intersect each other to form a 360-degree surrounding mesh structure. As shown in Figs. 1 and 5, a first left-handed resistance wire 9311a and a first right-handed resistance wire 9311b is provided onto wicking element 932 (first liquid conducting member) from a first side of the wicking element 932. A second left-handed resistance wire 9311a and a second right-handed resistance wire 9311b is provided onto wicking element 932 from a side of the wicking element 932 which opposes the first side. The wires 9311 are interwoven with each other),
wherein an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is flush with a surface of the first liquid conducting member ([0148], [0159], Figs. 1, 5; As shown in Fig. 1 an interwoven position of the wires 931 is flush with a surface of wicking element 932 (first liquid conducting member),
wherein the resistance of the second wire is smaller than the resistance of the first wire ([0154], Figs. 1, 3-10; the mesh heating element 931 is formed by weaving or cross-winding one or more resistance wires 9311. The resistance value of the resistance wires 9311 of the weaved mesh heating element 931 can be the same or different. If the resistance values of the wires are different, a second wire must have a smaller resistance than the first wire).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing assembly of Lord wherein the first liquid conducting member is flexible as taught by Zhou because Lord and Zhou are directed to atomizing assemblies, Lord states that the first liquid conducting member may be a porous material such as porous ceramic (Lord, [0127]), Zhou demonstrates that cotton rope is a most commonly used material for liquid conducting members and has good taste reductibility for atomized liquids (Zhou, [0315]), and this involves substituting one material liquid conducting member material for another to yield predictable results.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing assembly of Lord in view of Zhou wherein the heating assembly comprises a first wire and a second wire that are flexible, wherein the second wire is electrically conductive, and wherein the first wire and the second wire are respectively sewn to the first liquid conducting member from two opposite sides of the first liquid conducting member and are interwoven with each other, wherein an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is in the first liquid conducting member similarly taught by Zhou because Lord and Zhou are directed to atomizing assemblies, Lord states that the heating assembly is sewn to the first liquid conducting member (Lord, [0124]-[0126], Fig. 24), Zhou demonstrates that this configuration increases the surface area of the first liquid conducting member which is covered by the heating assembly, thereby lowering the resistance of the atomizing assembly and extending the lifespan of a device battery (Zhou, [0318]), Zhou demonstrates that weaving the wires improves the overall strength, shape retention, and atomization efficiency of the atomizing assembly (Zhou, [0161]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Additionally, because Lord states that the first wire is woven through gaps in the first liquid conducting member (Lord, [0124]-[0126], Fig. 24), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the disclosures of Lord and Zhou to weave the second wire through the gaps in the first liquid conducting member such that an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is in the first liquid conducting member to further increase the surface area of the first liquid conducting member which is covered by the heating assembly.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing assembly of Lord in view of Zhou wherein the resistance of the second wire is smaller than the resistance of the first wire as taught by Zhou because Zhou states that lowering the resistance of the atomizing assembly extends the lifespan of a device battery (Zhou, [0318]), Zhou states that the material composition, resistance value, wire diameter, quantity and mesh number of the resistance wire 9311 can be flexibly selected to increase the heating assembly’s range of resistance to meet different application needs (Zhou, [0316]-[0318]), and the teachings in Zhou would have motivated one to provide the assembly wherein the resistance of the second wire is smaller than the resistance of the first wire to optimize the resistance value of the heating assembly.
With respect to ii), Fraser, directed to atomizing assemblies ([0033]), teaches an atomizing assembly ([0033], Fig. 2; The wick 37 and the heater 36 may be collectively referred to as a vaporizer or an atomizer 15 (atomizing assembly)), comprising
a first liquid conducting member ([0033], Fig. 2; Atomizer 15 comprises wick 37 (first liquid conducting member) configured to draw liquid from reservoir 38 via capillary action),
a heating assembly configured to heat and atomize an atomizable medium in the first liquid conducting member when electrified ([0033], Fig. 2; Atomizer 15 comprises heater 36 (heating assembly). When electrified, heater 36 is configured to heat and atomize the source liquid (atomizable medium) in wick 37 (first liquid conducting member)),
wherein the heating assembly comprises a first wire that is flexible, wherein the first wire is electrically conductive ([0040]-[0041], Fig. 2; Heating element 36 formed of a flexible electrically conductive (metallic) wire 39 (first wire). The heating element may be formed of Nichrome (an electrically conductive material). [0126], Fig. 24; Heating element 17 must be flexible to form the zigzag shape shown in Fig. 2),
wherein a portion of the first wire is entirely trapped in the first liquid conducting member, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and the first liquid conducting member ([0040]-[0041], Fig. 2; The portion of wire 39 (first wire) between the two endpoints 36a is entirely trapped in wick 37, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and wick 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing assembly of Lord in view of Zhou wherein an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is entirely trapped in the first liquid conducting member, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and the first liquid conducting member similarly taught by Fraser because Lord, Zhou, and Fraser are directed to atomizing assemblies, Fraser demonstrates that the contact between the wire and the wick is the interface at which the majority of the vapor formation happens, so an embedded configuration maximizes the interface area for a given length of wire (Fraser, [0044]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 5-7, Lord in view of Zhou and Fraser teaches the atomizing assembly of claim 1. Lord further teaches the atomizing assembly wherein the heating assembly comprises a second wire interposed in the first liquid conducting member ([0126], Fig. 24; A heating element support 20 (first liquid conducting member) is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns (interposed in the heating element support 20) such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. Lord has been modified in view of Zhou and Fraser to include a first and second electrically conductive wire sewn and interwoven in the liquid conducting member),
and the second wire is electrically conductive ([0059], Heating element 17 formed of a single wire and comprises a heating element coil 23 and two leads 24. For example, the heating element may be formed of Nichrome (an electrically conductive material)),
wherein the second wire is interposed between two opposite sides of the first liquid conducting member ([0126], Fig. 24; A heating element support 20 is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate),
wherein the second wire comprises at least one heating section, and wherein the at least one heating section comprises a first section located on a first surface of the first liquid conducting member, a second section interposed in the first liquid conducting member and a third section located on a second surface of the first liquid conducting member ([0126], Fig. 24; Heating element 17 is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. Heating element 17 comprises a first heating section located on the upper (first) surface of the heating element support 20 (first liquid conducting member), a second section interposed in the heating element support 20, and a third heating section located on the lower (second surface of heating element support 20).
Regarding Claim 12, Lord further teaches an atomizing device, comprising: the atomizing assembly of claim 1 ([0051]-[0052], Figs. 1-2; Electronic cigarette 1 (atomizing device) comprises vaporizer 6. [0056], Vaporiser 6 (atomizing assembly) comprises a heating element 17 and a heating element support 20. Lord has been modified in view of Zhou and Fraser such that the vaporizer 6 reads on the atomizing assembly of Claim 1).
Regarding Claims 13-14, Lord in view of Zhou and Fraser teaches the atomizing assembly of claim 1. Zhou further teaches the atomizing assembly wherein the heating assembly comprises a first wire and a second wire that are flexible ([0154], Figs. 1, 3-10; the mesh heating element 931 is formed by weaving or cross-winding one or more resistance wires 9311 (a first and second wire). The resistance wires 9311 must be flexible in order to be woven around the cylindrical wicking element 932),
wherein the first and second wire is electrically conductive ([0152], Figs. 1, 3-10; The resistance wires 9311 generally refers to metal or non-metal wires that have a certain resistance and can generate heat when energized, such as nickel-chromium alloy wire, iron-chromium alloy wire, etc (electrically conductive materials)), and
wherein the first wire and the second wire are sewn onto the first liquid conducting member from two opposite sides of the first liquid conducting member and are interwoven with each other ([0148], [0159], Figs. 1, 5; As shown in Fig. 5, the mesh heating element 931 comprises two left-handed resistance wires 9311a and two right-handed resistance wires 9311b, and it can be seen that the left-handed resistance wire 9311a and the right-handed resistance wire 9311b spiral upwards and intersect each other to form a 360-degree surrounding mesh structure. As shown in Figs. 1 and 5, a first left-handed resistance wire 9311a and a first right-handed resistance wire 9311b is provided onto wicking element 932 (first liquid conducting member) from a first side of the wicking element 932. A second left-handed resistance wire 9311a and a second right-handed resistance wire 9311b is provided onto wicking element 932 from a side of the wicking element 932 which opposes the first side. The wires 9311 are interwoven with each other. Lord has been modified in view of Zhou such that the first wire and the second wire are sewn onto the first liquid conducting member from two opposite sides of the first liquid conducting member and are interwoven with each other),
wherein the resistance of the second wire is smaller than the resistance of the first wire ([0154], Figs. 1, 3-10; the mesh heating element 931 is formed by weaving or cross-winding one or more resistance wires 9311. The resistance value of the resistance wires 9311 of the weaved mesh heating element 931 can be the same or different. If the resistance values of the wires are different, a second wire must have a smaller resistance than the first wire).
Regarding Claim 15, Lord in view of Zhou and Fraser teaches the atomizing device of claim 12. Lord further teaches the atomizing device wherein the heating assembly comprises a second wire interposed in the first liquid conducting member ([0126], Fig. 24; A heating element support 20 (first liquid conducting member) is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns (interposed in the heating element support 20) such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. Lord has been modified in view of Zhou and Fraser to include a first and second electrically conductive wire sewn and interwoven in the liquid conducting member),
and the second wire is electrically conductive ([0059], Heating element 17 formed of a single wire and comprises a heating element coil 23 and two leads 24. For example, the heating element may be formed of Nichrome (an electrically conductive material)).
Regarding Claim 16, Lord, directed to atomizing assemblies ([0051]-[0052], Figs. 1-2; Electronic cigarette 1 comprises vaporizer 6. [0056], Vaporiser 6 (atomizing assembly) comprises a heating element 17 and a heating element support 20. [0069]-[0074], In operation, the heating element 17 vaporizes a liquid to form a vaporised liquid which may condense, producing a fine suspension of liquid droplets (an atomized liquid) in the airflow), teaches a manufacturing process of an atomizing assembly ([0056], Vaporiser 6 (atomizing assembly). [0124]-[0126], Fig. 24 shows an alternate embodiment of the vaporizer 6, wherein heating element support 20 is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. The implicit steps of providing heating element support 20 and threading the heating element 17 through the apertures 83 forms a manufacturing process of the vaporizer 6 (atomizing assembly)), comprising:
providing a liquid conducting substrate ([0124]-[0126], Fig. 24 shows an alternate embodiment of the vaporizer 6, wherein heating element support 20 (liquid conducting substrate) is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. [0127], the heating element support 20 could be made from a porous material to allow liquid storage within the support 20); and
sewing a heating assembly to the liquid conducting substrate ([0124]-[0126], Fig. 24 shows an alternate embodiment of the vaporizer 6, wherein heating element support 20 (liquid conducting substrate) is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. The step of threading the heating element 17 through the apertures 83 of heating element support 20 (liquid conducting substrate) is a sewing step),
providing a first wire that is flexible and electrically conductive ([0059], Heating element 17 formed of a single wire. The heating element may be formed of Nichrome (an electrically conductive material). [0126], Fig. 24; Heating element 17 must be flexible to be threaded through the apertures 83);
wherein the liquid conducting substrate comprises two opposite sides ([0124]-[0126], Fig. 24; Heating element support 20 (liquid conducting substrate) is a flat substrate comprising two opposite sides), and
sewing the first wire to the liquid conducting substrate from one of the two opposite sides, and fixing the first wire to the first liquid conducting member from one of the two opposite sides ([0124]-[0126], Fig. 24; A heating element support 20 is a flat substrate comprising substrate apertures 83 and a zig-zag heating element 17. In this example, the heating element 17 wire is threaded in and out of the substrate apertures 83 on respective turns such that the heating element 17 lies of both surfaces of the flat substrate. Fig 24 shows that the heating element 17 is threaded from one of the two opposite sides. Sewing is a process of fixing a wire to a liquid conducting member; see instant Claim 1),
but does not teach the manufacturing process wherein the liquid conducting substrate is flexible, comprising: providing a second wire that is flexible, wherein the second wire is electrically conductive, and sewing the first wire and the second wire to the liquid conducting substrate from two opposite sides of the liquid conducting substrate to be interwoven with each other to form the heating assembly, and respectively fixing the first wire and the second wire to the first liquid conducting member from two sides; and ii) an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is entirely trapped in the first liquid conducting member, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and the first liquid conducting member.
With respect to i), Zhou, directed to atomizing assemblies ([0001]), teaches an atomizing assembly ([0148], Fig. 1; Atomizer 930 (atomizing assembly) comprises an atomizer wicking element 932 and a mesh heating element 931 wrapped around the outer peripheral surface of the atomizer wicking element 932) comprising:
a liquid conducting substrate ([0148], [0150], Fig. 1; Atomizer 930 (atomizing assembly) comprises an atomizer wicking element 932 (liquid conducting substrate) which is used to transport the liquid to be atomized to the atomizer 930),
wherein the liquid conducting substrate is flexible ([0315], Fig. 1; Atomizer wicking element 932 is used to transport the liquid to be atomized to the atomizer 930, and its material can include fibers or powders containing cellulose, cotton rope, carbon fibers, glass fibers, ceramic fibers, porous ceramics, etc, Cotton is a known flexible material; see instant specification, [0034]);
a heating assembly ([0148], Fig. 1; Atomizer 930 (atomizing assembly) comprises a mesh heating element 931 (heating assembly));
wherein the heating assembly comprises a first wire and a second wire that are flexible ([0154], Figs. 1, 3-10; the mesh heating element 931 is formed by weaving or cross-winding one or more resistance wires 9311 (a first and second wire). The resistance wires 9311 must be flexible in order to be woven around the cylindrical wicking element 932),
wherein the first and second wire are electrically conductive ([0152], Figs. 1, 3-10; The resistance wires 9311 generally refers to metal or non-metal wires that have a certain resistance and can generate heat when energized, such as nickel-chromium alloy wire, iron-chromium alloy wire, etc (electrically conductive materials)), and
wherein the first wire and the second wire are provided onto the liquid conducting substrate from two opposite sides of the liquid conducting substrate and are interwoven with each other ([0148], [0159], Figs. 1, 5; As shown in Fig. 5, the mesh heating element 931 comprises two left-handed resistance wires 9311a and two right-handed resistance wires 9311b, and it can be seen that the left-handed resistance wire 9311a and the right-handed resistance wire 9311b spiral upwards and intersect each other to form a 360-degree surrounding mesh structure. As shown in Figs. 1 and 5, a first left-handed resistance wire 9311a and a first right-handed resistance wire 9311b is provided onto wicking element 932 (liquid conducting substrate) from a first side of the wicking element 932. A second left-handed resistance wire 9311a and a second right-handed resistance wire 9311b is provided onto wicking element 932 from a side of the wicking element 932 which opposes the first side. The wires 9311 are interwoven with each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing assembly of Lord wherein the liquid conducting substrate is flexible as taught by Zhou because Lord and Zhou are directed to atomizing assemblies, Lord states that the liquid conducting substrate may be a porous material such as porous ceramic (Lord, [0127]), Zhou demonstrates that cotton rope is a most commonly used material for liquid conducting substrates and has good taste reductibility for atomized liquids (Zhou, [0315]), and this involves substituting one liquid conducting substrate material for another to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the manufacturing process of Lord in view of Zhou further comprising: providing a second wire that is flexible, the second wire electrically conductive, and sewing the first wire and the second wire to the liquid conducting substrate from two opposite sides of the liquid conducting substrate to be interwoven with each other such that the first wire and the second wire are respectively fixed to the first liquid conducting member from two sides to form the heating assembly as taught by Zhou because Lord and Zhou are directed to atomizing assemblies, Zhou demonstrates that this configuration increases the surface area of the liquid conducting substrate which is covered by the heating assembly, thereby lowering the resistance of the atomizing assembly and extending the lifespan of a device battery (Zhou, [0318]), Zhou demonstrates that weaving the wires improves the overall strength, shape retention, and atomization efficiency of the atomizing assembly (Zhou, [0161]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
With respect to ii), Fraser, directed to atomizing assemblies ([0033]), teaches an atomizing assembly ([0033], Fig. 2; The wick 37 and the heater 36 may be collectively referred to as a vaporizer or an atomizer 15 (atomizing assembly)), comprising
a first liquid conducting member ([0033], Fig. 2; Atomizer 15 comprises wick 37 (first liquid conducting member) configured to draw liquid from reservoir 38 via capillary action),
a heating assembly configured to heat and atomize an atomizable medium in the first liquid conducting member when electrified ([0033], Fig. 2; Atomizer 15 comprises heater 36 (heating assembly). When electrified, heater 36 is configured to heat and atomize the source liquid (atomizable medium) in wick 37 (first liquid conducting member)),
wherein the heating assembly comprises a first wire that is flexible, wherein the first wire is electrically conductive ([0040]-[0041], Fig. 2; Heating element 36 formed of a flexible electrically conductive (metallic) wire 39 (first wire). The heating element may be formed of Nichrome (an electrically conductive material). [0126], Fig. 24; Heating element 17 must be flexible to form the zigzag shape shown in Fig. 2),
wherein a portion of the first wire is entirely trapped in the first liquid conducting member, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and the first liquid conducting member ([0040]-[0041], Fig. 2; The portion of wire 39 (first wire) between the two endpoints 36a is entirely trapped in wick 37, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and wick 37).
Because Lord states that the first wire is woven through gaps in the first liquid conducting member (Lord, [0124]-[0126], Fig. 24), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the disclosures of Lord and Zhou to weave the second wire through the gaps in the first liquid conducting member such that an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is in the first liquid conducting member to further increase the surface area of the first liquid conducting member which is covered by the heating assembly (Zhou, [0318]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing assembly of Lord in view of Zhou wherein an interwoven position of the second wire and the first wire is entirely trapped in the first liquid conducting member, thereby increasing a contact area between the heating assembly and the first liquid conducting member similarly taught by Fraser because Lord, Zhou, and Fraser are directed to atomizing assemblies, Fraser demonstrates that the contact between the wire and the wick is the interface at which the majority of the vapor formation happens, so an embedded configuration maximizes the interface area for a given length of wire (Fraser, [0044]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lord (US 2015/0157055 A1) in view of Zhou (US 2025/0185713 A1) and Fraser (US 2019/0133186 A1) as applied to Claim 16, and further in view of Huang (US 2022/0279853 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Lord further teaches manufacturing process wherein the heating assembly is provided with an electrode ([0059], Figs. 3-6; The heating element 17 (heating assembly) is formed of a single wire and comprises two leads 24 (electrodes) at its ends),
but does not teach the manufacturing provides wherein a number of heating assemblies are sewn on the liquid conducting substrate in a zoned manner, and the atomizing assembly with the heating assembly and the electrode is formed by slitting.
Huang, directed to atomizing assemblies ([0001]), teaches a manufacturing process of an atomizing assembly ([0034], Fig. 1 shows a preparation method (manufacturing process) of an atomizing assembly), comprising:
providing a liquid conducting substrate ([0034]-[0037], Fig. 1; The preparation method comprises providing a substrate 1, wherein the substrate is a liquid conducting substrate) and
providing a heating assembly on a surface of the liquid conducting substrate ([0034]-[0047], Fig. 1; The preparation method comprises providing a substrate 1; plating the heating layers 120 (heating assembly) on the surface of the substrate 1 (liquid conducting substrate)),
wherein the heating assembly is provided with an electrode ([0048], Fig. 1; Each heating layer 120 may include two electrode contacts 121)
wherein a number of heating assemblies are provided on the liquid conducting substrate in a zoned manner ([0034]-[0047], Fig. 1; A number of heating layers 120 (heating assemblies) are provided on substrate 1 (liquid conducting substrate) in a zoned manner), and
the atomizing assembly is formed by slitting ([0034]-[0054], Fig. 1; The preparation method comprises providing a substrate 1; plating the heating layers 120 (heating assembly) on the surface of the substrate 1 (liquid conducting substrate); and slitting the substrate 1 to form a plurality of atomizing assemblies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the manufacturing process of Lord in view of Zhou and Fraser wherein a number of heating assemblies are sewn on the liquid conducting substrate in a zoned manner, and the atomizing assembly with the heating assembly and the electrode is formed by slitting as taught by Huang because Lord, Zhou, Fraser, and Huang are directed to atomizing assemblies, Huang demonstrates that slitting the liquid conducting substrate into a plurality of separated atomizing assemblies increases the production efficiency and the product consistency (Huang, [0028]), and this involves combining steps from known prior art methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755