Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,9-17,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (20200202869).
As per claim 1, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches a method for processing an audio mixture formed by one or a combination of concurrent and sequential utterances of multiple speakers (as processing mixed audio data which includes at least 2 speakers and background noise – Fig. 5), wherein the method uses a processor coupled with stored instructions implementing the method, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor carry out steps of the method, comprising:
receiving the audio mixture and identification information in a form of a time-invariant speaker embedding for each of the multiple speakers (as, receiving audio – Fig 3, subblock 302, with ground-truth audio data used to create the embedding – para 0038, see also Fig. 2);
processing the audio mixture with a deep neural network including: a speaker-independent layer, applied to the audio mixture of multiple speakers and producing a speaker-independent output common to all of the multiple speakers (as, using a CNN processing the time-frequency spectrogram, which includes all possible speakers – Figure 3, subblock 306 int the voice filter model, the first step being the CNN (314);
and a speaker-biased layer, applied to the speaker-independent output once independently for each of the multiple speakers to produce speaker-biased outputs, the speaker biased outputs comprising a speaker biased output for each of the multiple speakers, each application of the speaker-biased layer being individually assigned to a corresponding speaker by inputting the corresponding time-invariant speaker embedding (as, the speaker embedding is input into the RNN – see Fig. 3, subblock 318 into 316; and para 0042, so that the output of the RNN is speaker-affected by the speaker embeddings, which contain information trained for a particular speaker – para 0009, using groundtruth information – para 0039; and not for a single speaker but t for multiple speakers – para 0049);
extracting data indicative of time-frequency activity regions of each speaker of the multiple speakers in the audio mixture from a combination of speaker-biased outputs; and rendering the extracted data (as, combining the predicted mask, with the audio spectrogram -- see figure 3, subblock 306 to 308, including the mask (322), wherein the mask emphasis a particular speaker para 0048).
As per claim 2, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the time-invariant speaker embedding remains constant for the entire execution of the deep neural network (as, the voice filter model takes the audio spectrogram input – see Fig. 3, subblock 312, performs the predicted mask output, without changing the speaker embedding 318- examiner notes, the speaker embedding is output only; ie, no feedback/updating from the neural networks).
As per claim 3, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: partitioning the audio mixture into a sequence of audio segments; and executing the deep neural network for the sequence of audio segments, wherein the time-invariant speaker embedding is shared between processing of different audio segments of the sequence of audio segments (as, the CNN-RNN-Fully connected operates on the audio segments of the audio mixture – Figure 3, and the speaker embedding is integrated based on the speaker identified, in some instances – para 0042, see commentary around “given speaker”).
As per claim 4, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein rendering the extracted data comprises outputting a time-frequency mask comprising: an estimate of the time-frequency activity regions of each speaker of the multiple speakers, subjected to a non-linearity function (as filtering the regions, including multiple speakers or nonspeakers, for the one particular speaker – para 0042, or noise – see para 0054, and figure 5, mixed audio data).
As per claim 5, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: combining the outputted time-frequency mask with the audio mixture; and generating an output for a single speaker from the multiple speakers based on the combination (as, combining the predicted mask, with the audio spectrogram -- see figure 3, subblock 306 to 308, including the mask (322), wherein the mask emphasis a particular speaker para 0048).
As per claim 6, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the output for the single speaker comprises a text output indicative of speech transcription data of the single speaker (as providing text output – after the refinement of the speaker audio – para 0007 – see, voice-to-text).
As per claim 7, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the deep neural network is trained with weakly supervised training process comprising training the deep neural network based on training data comprising time annotation data associated with the audio mixture (as, using time based audio, from the ground-truth audio, for a particular speaker – para 0038).
As per claim 9, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the time-invariant speaker embedding comprises a speaker embedding vector obtained on the basis of audio segments of speech forming the audio mixture, when only a single speaker is active (as, a speaker embedding vector – para 0008, and using a VAD to determine and mark, the instance of active speech by the speaker – para 0008).
As per claim 10, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the deep neural network comprises a combined estimation layer for extracting the data indicative of time-frequency activity regions of each speaker of the multiple speakers (as, multilayered variations of a neural network – para 0037, and using the layers operating on spectrograms (time-frequency) for a activity for a particular speaker – para 0042 – masking the spectrogram so as to separate a particular speaker from the other voices).
Claims 11-17,19,20 are sound system processing claims that perform the steps found in method claims 1-7,9,10 above and as such, claims 11-17,19,20 are similar in scope and content to claims 1-7,9,10; therefore, claims 11-17,19,20 are rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 1-7,9,10 above. Furthermore, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches a processor executing the stored steps in memory – para 0083.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (20200202869) in view of Park et al (20230352041) .
As per claims 8,18, Wang et al (20200202869) teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the deep neural network is trained on the time annotation data comprising ground truth data including: data for diarization information and data for ground-truth separated sources (as using ground-truth information from the ground-truth database, for speaker embedding – para 0039), such that: Wang et al (20200202869) teaches one of the loss functions, but does not teach a separate diarization loss; Park et al (20230352041) teaches a dual loss function including diarization loss, as well as regular loss (para 0055, 0056) associated with a differential between the estimated and actual samples (See para 0036; and para 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of speaker separation using neural networks to expand upon the loss function of Wang et al (20200202869) with a dual loss function for both diarization and signal estimate errors, as taught by Park et al (20230352041) because it allow for adding auxiliary losses to each individual encoding block (para 0073), to provide a more accurate model of the system efficiency/inefficiencies (see para 0081, where, by using the error function, discovering that a residual connection reduced the error).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2025 have been fully considered; the changes to the title and corrected drawings are accepted; the arguments toward multiple speakers have been considered but they are not persuasive. As per applicants arguments toward multiple speaker biased outputs, examiner notes that the system in Wang is not restricted to a single voice filter, but trained for multiple unique human speakers – see e.g. para 0049. In other words, as the system is trained to separate one speaker from multiple speakers, the other speakers are not precluded/prevented from being the next speaker to be separated. Examiner also notes applicants arguments are toward the neural network layer structure; examiner proposes that to further differentiate from the Wang et al reference, further claim amendments towards the data calculation/vectors themselves, to include parallel processing of multiple speakers simultaneously, would advance prosecution. Examiner further notes, on the updated search, the Sharifi et al (11557278) reference teaching the use of enrolled speakers and developing a speaker vector set for multiple speakers “Each enrolled speaker vector is associated with a different respective enrolled user of the assistant-enabled device. When the first speaker-discriminative vector matches one of the enrolled speaker vectors, the method includes identifying the user that spoke the utterance as the respective enrolled user associated with the one of the enrolled speaker vectors that matches the extracted speaker-discriminative vector.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In further detail, the following references were found, pertinent to applicants claim features and/or spec:
Sharifi et al (11557278) reference teaching the use of enrolled speakers and developing a speaker vector set for multiple speakers
Nachami et al (202102569930 teaches multi-layer RNN/CNN performing speaker separation, using embedding from trained VGG networks, taking advantage of groundtruth information – para 0041.
Ozturk et al (20220291328) teaches speaker separation of multiple speakers using voice activity, as one parameter (para 0253) including other embedded data as well – para 0091.
Xu et al (20240005941) teaches target speaker separation, using speaker related cue information, as well as auditory signal representation.
/Michael N Opsasnick/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658 11/28/2025