DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS); Stage 3; (Release 17)", 3GPP STANDARD; TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION; 3GPP TS 24.501, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), vol. V17.7.1, 27 June 2022 (Year: 2022) herein ETSI.
Claim 1, ETSI discloses A method, comprising: maintaining a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G network, wherein the PDU session has a PDU session ID (PSI) (6.1.4.1 /6.1.4.2 - Interworking with EPS is supported for a PDU session, if the PDU session includes the mapped EPS bearer context(s) or has association(s) between QoS flow and mapped EPS bearer after inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode);
joining one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) sessions that are associated with the PDU session (6.1.4.1 /6.1.4.2, MBS joining and transferring session; the UE has any PDU sessions associated with one or more MBS multicast sessions);
performing an intersystem change from 5G to 2/3G by the UE, or transferring the PDU session in 5G to a Protocol Data Network (PDN) connection in 4G (6.4.1 a, After the 5G-SRVCC handover from NG-RAN to UTRAN); and
locally leaving the one or more MBS sessions that are associated with the PDU session (6.4.1 a: After the 5G-SRVCC handover from NG-RAN to UTRAN).
Claim 2 ETSI discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the intersystem change from 5G to 2/3G is triggered by a handover from NG-RAN to UTRAN (6.4.1 a).
Claim 3, ETSI discloses The method of Claim 2, wherein the handover is performed for 5G-SRVCC (Single Radio Voice Call Continuity) (6.4.1 a: After the 5G-SRVCC handover from NG-RAN to UTRAN).
Claim 4, ETSI discloses The method of Claim 2, wherein the UE locally releases the PDU session (6.4.1 a).
Claim 5, ETSI discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the PDU session is established in 5G over 3GPP access to be associated with the one or more MBS sessions (6.4.1 a, all the PDU sessions of the UE are locally released at the UE and the network).
Claim 6, ETSI discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the PDN connection is established via an evolved packet data gateway (ePDG) connected to an evolved packet core (EPC) in 4G over non- 3GPP access (6.1.5, When the UE establishes a new PDN connection via an ePDG connected to EPC).
Claim 7, ETSI discloses The method of Claim 6, wherein the UE sets a PDU Session ID field to the PSI of the PDU session, and associates the PSI with the PDN connection that is being established (6.1.4.2: After inter-system change from Nl mode to Sl mode, the UE shall associate the PDU session identity with the default EPS bearer context).
Claim 8, ETSI discloses The method of Claim 6, wherein the UE associates Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) of the PDU session and a related PLMN ID with the PDN connection that is being established (6.1.4.2,"After inter-system change from Nl mode to Sl mode, the UE shall associate the PDU session identity with the default EPS bearer context. If the PDU session being transferred is a non-emergency PDU session, the UE shall in addition associate the S-NSSAI and the PLMN ID of the current PLMN with the default EPS bearer context").
Claim 9, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 10, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 11, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 12, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 13, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 14, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 7.
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 8.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claims 3 and 4.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 7.
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 8.
Claim 21, as analyzed with respect to the limitation as discussed in claim 9.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12192753 B2 - Techniques are provided for managing the provisioning of voice services to a user equipment (UE) in a fifth generation (5G) network. For example, the UE generates a registration request message that includes 5G mobility management (5GMM) capabilities of the UE that are indicative of whether the UE supports voice over internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS), and transmits the registration request message to a next generation radio access network (NGRAN) node in the 5G wireless network. Based on the 5GMM capabilities, the NG-RAN node can determine whether voice over IMS can be provided to UE by comparing the 5GMM capabilities to capabilities of the NG-RAN node.
Conclusion
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419