Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140304570 A1 (hereinafter Baek), in view of WO 2020258011 A1 (hereinafter Rao) and CN 111478826 A (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Baek teach A method, performed by a first apparatus of a wireless
communication system, the method comprising (Baek Fig. 1, transmitting device 101; [0057] A transmitting device 101 transmits/receives data through a network 105 to/from a receiving device 103. Examples of the transmitting device 101 of FIG. 1 may include, but are not limited to, devices that perform data communication, for example, a desktop, a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a server and a laptop. [0058] Examples of the network 105 of FIG. 1 include a wireless network. Note: transmitting device 101 is the first apparatus; receiving device 103 is the second apparatus.):
obtaining network status information from a second apparatus, the network status information comprising a frame packet loss rate (Baek [0019] receiving feedback information from a receiving device;
[0092] the receiving device may transmit the feedback information to the transmitting device.
[0093] the receiving device may transmit as the feedback information that estimates a channel state by using information that indicates a state of a network such as a jitter, an SNR, a packet loss rate, or an estimated bandwidth.);
determining a forward error correction (FEC) parameter, based on the network status information (Baek Fig. 3, step 301; [0089] a transmitting device determines parameters that adjust an FEC encoding rate. [0090] the parameters that adjust the FEC encoding rate may include at least one of a symbol length, a source block length, and an encoding block unit length.
[0092] information related to the parameters that adjust the FEC encoding rate may be determined based on the feedback information.
[0093] the feedback information that estimates a channel state by using information that indicates a state of a network such as a jitter, an SNR, a packet loss rate, or an estimated bandwidth.
[0095] the transmitting device may determine the information related to the parameters according to the feedback information, and may change the parameters used during an FEC encoding process based on the determined parameters. That is, an immediate response may be made according to a state of a network.);
generating an FEC packet, based on the FEC parameter (Baek Fig. 3, step 303; [0098] In operation 303, the transmitting device generates the symbols that constitute the encoding block unit, according to the parameters determined in operation 301.
[0099] the transmitting device performs FEC encoding according to the encoding block unit. That is, the transmitting device generates repair symbols according to the number of source symbols. The generating of the repair symbols according to the number of the source symbols includes performing FEC encoding on the encoding block unit.);
transmitting the FEC packet to the second apparatus (Baek [0071] a receiving device receives at least one of symbols that constitute an encoding block unit. That is, the transmitting device generates source symbols and repair symbols based on the encoding block unit by using FEC. In response to the transmitting device transmitting the generated source symbols through a network, the receiving device receives at least one of the source symbols and the repair symbols that constitute the encoding block unit.); and
Baek does not explicitly teach a transmission delay; updating a limited number of retransmissions based on the transmission delay; and transmitting, to the second apparatus, a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content, based on the limited number of retransmissions, wherein updating of the limited number of retransmissions comprises: comparing the transmission delay with a preset threshold delay; comparing the frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate.
Rao in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a transmission delay (Rao [0070] Example, as shown in Figure 2, the wireless channel from the remote control end to the controlled end is called the uplink channel, which is used to transmit remote control data; For example, when the control end is an aircraft, the uplink channel is used to transmit flight control commands, as well as control commands such as photography, video, and return to home.
[0074] In an example, the wireless communication module in the controlled end is responsible for calculating the average latency Td of remote control data transmission and sending the average latency Td to the remote control terminal, which takes the received average delay Td as the actual delay data.
Note: remote control terminal is the first apparatus, controlled end is the second apparatus. the actual delay data is the transmission delay.);
updating a limited number of retransmissions based on the transmission delay (Rao [0020] the remote control terminal obtains the expected delay data of remote control data transmission, adjusts the retransmission constraint information according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data.
[0089] the retransmission constraint information is adjusted according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data of the remote control data, comprising:
[0090] adjust the maximum number of retransmissions of remote control data according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data, and the maximum number of retransmissions is used to constrain the number of repeated transmissions of remote control data. ); and
transmitting, to the second apparatus, a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content, based on the limited number of retransmissions (Rao [0021] The remote control terminal sends remote control data to the controlled end according to the adjusted retransmission constraint information, and the controlled end receives the remote control data.
[0089] the retransmission constraint information is adjusted according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data of the remote control data, comprising:
[0090] adjust the maximum number of retransmissions of remote control data according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data, and the maximum number of retransmissions is used to constrain the number of repeated transmissions of remote control data.
[0070] the wireless channel from the remote control end to the controlled end is called the uplink channel, which is used to transmit remote control data; For example, when the control end is an aircraft, the uplink channel is used to transmit flight control commands, as well as control commands such as photography, video …),
By modifying Baek’s teachings of obtaining network status information from a second apparatus, the network status information comprising a frame packet loss rate; determining a forward error correction (FEC) parameter, based on the network status information; generating an FEC packet, based on the FEC parameter; transmitting the FEC packet to the second apparatus; with Rao’s teachings of a transmission delay; updating a limited number of retransmissions based on the transmission delay; and transmitting, to the second apparatus, a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content, based on the limited number of retransmissions, the modification results in
obtaining network status information from a second apparatus, the network status information comprising a transmission delay and a frame packet loss rate; determining a forward error correction (FEC) parameter, based on the network status information; generating an FEC packet, based on the FEC parameter; transmitting the FEC packet to the second apparatus; updating a limited number of retransmissions based on the transmission delay; and transmitting, to the second apparatus, a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content, based on the limited number of retransmissions.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek with Rao’s above teachings. The motivation is effectively improving the performance experience of users (Rao [0045]).
Although Rao teaches wherein updating of the limited number of retransmissions comprises: comparing the transmission delay with a preset threshold delay (Rao [0089] the retransmission constraint information is adjusted according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data of the remote control data, comprising:
[0090] adjust the maximum number of retransmissions of remote control data according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data, and the maximum number of retransmissions is used to constrain the number of repeated transmissions of remote control data.
[0092] For example, if the value of the actual delay data is greater than the value of the expected delay data, the maximum number of retransmissions can be adjusted to a lower value to reduce the delay of remote data transmission.);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek as modified by Rao with Rao’s above teachings. The motivation is effectively improving the performance experience of users (Rao [0045]).
Rao does not explicitly teach comparing the frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate.
Chen in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches comparing the frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate (Chen [0031] In response to the packet loss rate being greater than or equal to the third threshold and the current data delay parameter being less than the fourth threshold, a packet retransmission mechanism is initiated or the number of packet retransmissions is increased.).
By modifying Rao’s teachings of wherein updating of the limited number of retransmissions comprises: comparing the transmission delay with a preset threshold delay with Chen’s teachings of comparing the frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate, the modification results in
wherein updating of the limited number of retransmissions comprises: comparing the transmission delay with a preset threshold delay; comparing the frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek as modified by Rao with Chen’s above teachings. The motivation is improving data transmission efficiency (Chen [0006]).
Claim 14 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 8, Baek teaches A method, performed by a second apparatus of a wireless
communication system, the method comprising (Baek Fig. 1, receiving device 103; [0057] A transmitting device 101 transmits/receives data through a network 105 to/from a receiving device 103. Examples of the receiving device 103 may include, but are not limited to, devices that may transmit/receive data through the network 105, for example, a desktop, a server, a mobile phone, a PDA, a server and a laptop. [0058] Examples of the network 105 of FIG. 1 include a wireless network. Note: transmitting device 101 is the first apparatus; receiving device 103 is the second apparatus.):
Baek teaches receiving, from the first apparatus, at least one forward error correction (FEC) packet and a plurality of frame packets (Baek Fig. 2, step 201; [0071] a receiving device receives at least one of symbols that constitute an encoding block unit. That is, the transmitting device generates source symbols and repair symbols based on the encoding block unit by using FEC. In response to the transmitting device transmitting the generated source symbols through a network, the receiving device receives at least one of the source symbols and the repair symbols that constitute the encoding block unit.
[0070] the term `source symbol` includes any of various types of source data such as a source packet or a payload, includes any of types in which any of various types of headers such as a real time protocol (RTP) or a symbol ID is added to a source packet, and refers to a type of data that is FEC encoded. The term `repair symbol` includes a symbol or a packet such as a parity packet, and refers to a type of data that is FEC encoded. The term `repair symbol` may include any type of data that may be used in order to detect and correct an error including a loss in FEC.);
identifying at least one lost frame packet (Baek Fig. 2, step 205; [0080] the receiving device determines whether an error occurs in the symbols received by the receiving device, and determines whether the error may be corrected. The term `error` used herein includes not only a case where an error occurs in data but also a case where data is omitted or lost.);
obtaining at least one recovered frame packet corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet based on the at least one FEC packet (Baek [0081] The number of errors which the receiving device may correct varies according to an FEC encoding method. in response to an encoding method based on an RS code being used, source symbols, the number of which is equal to the number of repair packets, may be recovered.);
obtaining the data, based on the received plurality of frame packets and the at least one recovered frame packet; and outputting the data (Baek [0081] The number of errors which the receiving device may correct varies according to an FEC encoding method. in response to an encoding method based on an RS code being used, source symbols, the number of which is equal to the number of repair packets, may be recovered.
[0083] when the error may be corrected, the receiving device may correct the error and may use the data.
Note: Baek teaches data recovery and use the data).
Baek does not explicitly teach determining a transmission delay; transmitting, by the second apparatus and to a first apparatus, the determined transmission delay; a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content that are transmitted based on a limited number of retransmissions; wherein the limited number of retransmissions is updated based on the transmission delay.
Rao in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determining a transmission delay; transmitting, by the second apparatus and to a first apparatus, the determined transmission delay (Rao [0070] Example, as shown in Figure 2, the wireless channel from the remote control end to the controlled end is called the uplink channel, which is used to transmit remote control data; For example, when the control end is an aircraft, the uplink channel is used to transmit flight control commands, as well as control commands such as photography, video, and return to home.
[0074] In an example, the wireless communication module in the controlled end is responsible for calculating the average latency Td of remote control data transmission and sending the average latency Td to the remote control terminal, which takes the received average delay Td as the actual delay data.
Note: remote control terminal is the first apparatus, controlled end is the second apparatus. the actual delay data is the transmission delay.);
a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content that are transmitted based on a limited number of retransmissions (Rao [0021] The remote control terminal sends remote control data to the controlled end according to the adjusted retransmission constraint information, and the controlled end receives the remote control data.
[0089] the retransmission constraint information is adjusted according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data of the remote control data, comprising:
[0090] adjust the maximum number of retransmissions of remote control data according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data, and the maximum number of retransmissions is used to constrain the number of repeated transmissions of remote control data.
[0070] the wireless channel from the remote control end to the controlled end is called the uplink channel, which is used to transmit remote control data; For example, when the control end is an aircraft, the uplink channel is used to transmit flight control commands, as well as control commands such as photography, video …);
wherein the limited number of retransmissions is updated based on the transmission delay (Rao [0020] the remote control terminal obtains the expected delay data of remote control data transmission, adjusts the retransmission constraint information according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data.
[0089] the retransmission constraint information is adjusted according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data of the remote control data, comprising:
[0090] adjust the maximum number of retransmissions of remote control data according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data, and the maximum number of retransmissions is used to constrain the number of repeated transmissions of remote control data.), and
By modifying Baek’s teachings of receiving, from the first apparatus, at least one forward error correction (FEC) packet and a plurality of frame packets; identifying at least one lost frame packet; obtaining at least one recovered frame packet corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet based on the at least one FEC packet; obtaining the data, based on the received plurality of frame packets and the at least one recovered frame packet; and outputting the data, with Rao’s teachings of determining a transmission delay; transmitting, by the second apparatus and to a first apparatus, the determined transmission delay; a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content that are transmitted based on a limited number of retransmissions; wherein the limited number of retransmissions is updated based on the transmission delay, and, the modification results in
determining a transmission delay; transmitting, by the second apparatus and to a first apparatus, the determined transmission delay; receiving, from the first apparatus, at least one forward error correction (FEC) packet and a plurality of frame packets corresponding to image content that are transmitted based on a limited number of retransmissions; identifying at least one lost frame packet; obtaining at least one recovered frame packet corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet based on the at least one FEC packet; obtaining the image content, based on the received plurality of frame packets and the at least one recovered frame packet; and outputting the image content, wherein the limited number of retransmissions is updated based on the transmission delay, and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek with Rao’s above teachings. The motivation is effectively improving the performance experience of users (Rao [0045]).
Although Rao teaches wherein the limited number of retransmissions is updated by at least: comparing the transmission delay with a preset threshold delay (Rao [0089] the retransmission constraint information is adjusted according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data of the remote control data, comprising:
[0090] adjust the maximum number of retransmissions of remote control data according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data, and the maximum number of retransmissions is used to constrain the number of repeated transmissions of remote control data.
[0092] For example, if the value of the actual delay data is greater than the value of the expected delay data, the maximum number of retransmissions can be adjusted to a lower value to reduce the delay of remote data transmission.);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek as modified by Rao with Rao’s above teachings. The motivation is effectively improving the performance experience of users (Rao [0045]).
Rao does not explicitly teach comparing a frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate.
Chen in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches comparing a frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate (Chen [0031] In response to the packet loss rate being greater than or equal to the third threshold and the current data delay parameter being less than the fourth threshold, a packet retransmission mechanism is initiated or the number of packet retransmissions is increased.).
By modifying Rao’s teachings of wherein the limited number of retransmissions is updated by at least: comparing the transmission delay with a preset threshold delay; with Chen’s teachings of comparing a frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate, the modification results in
wherein the limited number of retransmissions is updated by at least: comparing the transmission delay with a preset threshold delay; comparing a frame packet loss rate with a preset threshold loss rate based on the transmission delay being equal to or smaller than the preset threshold delay; and increasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the frame packet loss rate being greater than the preset threshold loss rate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek as modified by Rao with Chen’s above teachings. The motivation is improving data transmission efficiency (Chen [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Baek in view of Rao and Chen (hereinafter combination) discloses The
method of claim 8.
Baek teaches further comprising: determining network status information, based on at least one
of information corresponding to the plurality of frame packets or information corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet; and transmitting the determined network status information to the first apparatus (Baek [0083] when the error may not be corrected, the receiving device transmits the feedback information related to the symbols to the transmitting device.
[0086] the term `feedback information` may include information related to the number of errors or losses that occur in the encoding block unit and content that requests retransmission of the symbols of the encoding block unit.
[0087] the term `feedback information` may include channel state, e.g., a state of a channel, information measured by the receiving device. That is, the receiving device may transmit as the feedback information that estimates a channel state by using information that indicates a state of a network such as a jitter, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a packet loss rate, or an estimated bandwidth.).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Rao and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190319645 A1 (hereinafter Tran).
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
Although Baek teaches wherein the network status information (Baek [0093] the receiving
device may transmit as the feedback information that estimates a channel state by using information that indicates a state of a network such as a jitter, an SNR, a packet loss rate, or an estimated bandwidth.), Baek does not explicitly teach further comprises at least one of a burst loss rate, or a residual loss rate.
Tran in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprises at least one of a burst loss rate, or a residual loss rate (Tran [0071] Some of the terminals UE with poor reception conditions may send on a return channel a return message signaling poor reception conditions to the content server CNTP. Thus, the return message may indicate a packet loss rate, a residual loss rate after using the repair symbols, and other features relating to the quality of the received signal.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Tran’s above teachings. The motivation is correcting data errors in a communication channel between a transmitting device and a receiving device (Tran [0001]).
Regarding claim 4, Baek in view of Rao and Chen and Tran discloses The method claim 2.
Baek does not explicitly teach wherein the updating of the limited number of retransmissions comprises: decreasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the transmission delay being greater than the preset threshold delay.
Rao teaches wherein the updating of the limited number of retransmissions comprises: decreasing the limited number of retransmissions by one based on the transmission delay being greater than the preset threshold delay (Rao [0089] the retransmission constraint information is adjusted according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data of the remote control data, comprising:
[0090] adjust the maximum number of retransmissions of remote control data according to the expected delay data and the actual delay data, and the maximum number of retransmissions is used to constrain the number of repeated transmissions of remote control data.
[0092] For example, if the value of the actual delay data is greater than the value of the expected delay data, the maximum number of retransmissions can be adjusted to a lower value to reduce the delay of remote data transmission.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek as modified by Rao and Chen and Tran with Rao’s above teachings. The motivation is effectively improving the performance experience of users (Rao [0045]).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Rao and Chen as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of US 20090119565 A1 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the limited number of retransmissions is
determined by the second apparatus and is received by the first apparatus from the second apparatus.
Park in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the limited number of
retransmissions is determined by the second apparatus and is received by the first apparatus from the second apparatus (Park [0025] data transmitting system … receiving retransmission control information for error-occurring data packet; and a retransmitting section retransmitting the error-occurring data packet according to the retransmission control information. [0028] the retransmission control information comprises a packet number of the error-occurring data packet, and a number of retransmission times. [0038] data receiving system … transmitting retransmission control information of a received error-occurring data packet.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Park’s above teachings. The motivation is controlling retransmission (Park [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses The method of claim 8.
The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising: determining, by the second apparatus, a limited number of retransmissions for the plurality of frame packets corresponding to the image content; and transmitting, by the second apparatus and to the first apparatus, the determined limited number of retransmissions.
Park in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising: determining, by the second apparatus, a limited number of retransmissions for the plurality of frame packets corresponding to the image content; and transmitting, by the second apparatus and to the first apparatus, the determined limited number of retransmissions (Park [0100] At operation 900, the data transmitter 40 transmits the RTP packet containing identifier information of the data. When the data receiver 60 receives the RTP packet, in case of error, at operation 910, the receiver 60 extracts the identifier information from the received RTP packet and transmits retransmission control information using the RTCP standard to the transmitter 40. When the transmitter 40 receives the retransmission control information from the receiver 60, at operation 920, the transmitter 40 retransmits the error-occurring RTP packet according to the received retransmission control information.
[0102] retransmission control is based upon a number of retransmissions and retransmission priority. For example, regarding data packets containing intra image frames, the number of retransmission times can be set to three, while for inter image frames, the number of retransmission times can be set to two. Specifically, the number of retransmissions can be variable or dynamic depending on characteristics of the data, for example, taking into consideration restoration significance of the error-occurring frame. ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Park’s above teachings. The motivation is controlling retransmission (Park [0003]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Rao and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20050160346 A1 (hereinafter Yamane).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the FEC packet comprises corresponding first
timestamp information, and wherein each of the plurality of frame packets comprises corresponding second timestamp information.
Yamane in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the FEC packet comprises corresponding first timestamp information, and wherein each of the plurality of frame packets comprises corresponding second timestamp information (Yamane Fig. 11 timestamp; [0185] FIG. 11 illustrates an RTP packet. [0191] a 32-bit timestamp, which represents the sampling time of the first octet of streaming data contained in the RTP packet.
[0214] The FEC-packet generator 84 may generate an FEC packet or FEC packets in accordance with the FEC block ID and the timestamp contained in the RTP header information supplied from the RTP-packet generator 83. Alternatively, the FEC-packet generator 84 itself may hold and update the RTP timestamp and the FEC block ID.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Yamane’s above teachings. The motivation is efficiently transmitting data (Yamane [0002]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Rao and Chen as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 20080095247 A1 (hereinafter Ohno).
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses The method of claim 9.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the information corresponding to the
plurality of frame packets comprises transmission timestamp information included in a header of a frame packet and reception timestamp information corresponding to a reception of the frame packet, and wherein the network status information comprises a transmission delay.
Ohno in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the information corresponding to
the plurality of frame packets comprises transmission timestamp information included in a header of a frame packet and reception timestamp information corresponding to a reception of the frame packet, and wherein the network status information comprises a transmission delay (Ohno [0064]Packet receiver 22 also extracts information such as the serial number, packet size and time stamp of each packet, based on which statistical data acquirer 23 calculates statistical data such as one-way delay time, packet loss ratio, reception rate and the like.
[0079] it is also possible to measure the delay every packet by inserting transmission time stamps into an extended header portion of RTP packet. The RTP packet format including the transmission time stamps may be one that is shown in FIG. 13, for example.
[0075] The delay time can be determined by subtracting the time stamp given at source device 10 from the reception time at sync device 20.
[0027] a receiver which receives streaming data transmitted from a transmitter, determines a transmission delay of the streaming data and a packet loss ratio of the streaming data, and transmits to the transmitter the transmission delay and the packet loss ratio based on which the transmitter controls a transmission bit rate or an encoding rate.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Ohno’s above teachings. The motivation is optimal transmission bit rate or encoding rate (Ohno [0016]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Rao and Chen as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 20050182850 A1 (hereafter Kohno) and Tran.
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses The method of claim 9.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the information corresponding to the
plurality of frame packets comprises a sequence number included in a header of each frame packet of the plurality of frame packets, wherein the information corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet comprises a sequence number corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet and a number of lost frame packets of the at least one lost frame packet, and wherein the network status information comprises at least one of a burst loss rate, or a residual loss rate.
Kohno in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the information corresponding to the plurality of frame packets comprises a sequence number included in a header of each frame packet of the plurality of frame packets (Kohno Fig. 1, sequence no.; [0005] FIG. 1 is a schematic view showing a typical structure of an RTP header of an RTP packet. As illustrated, the example in FIG. 1 includes: ...a sequence number that indicates the sequence of this RTP packet. ),
wherein the information corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet comprises a sequence number corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet and a number of lost frame packets of the at least one lost frame packet (Kohno [0009] detecting lost packets based on RTP packet sequence numbers. [0014] a cumulative lost packet count.), and
wherein the network status information (Kohno [0011] a receiver report (RR) is sent from the receiver terminal to the sender server at predetermined time intervals and so is a sender report (SR) from the sender server to the receiver terminal. These reports allow the sender server and the receiver terminal to conduct a dynamic data transfer reflecting network status.
[0012] the receiver report includes a header and at least one receiver report block.
[0014] A receiver report block 1 constitutes information created by the receiver terminal based on a packet received from a sender a1 (i.e., sender server a1). The block 1 includes a synchronizing source identifier that identifies the sender a1 (sender server a1) having sent the packet; as well as a packet loss rate, a cumulative lost packet count, a maximum received sequence number...),
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Kohno’s above teachings. The motivation is improving communication quality (Kohno [0009]).
Kohno does not explicitly teach comprises at least one of a burst loss rate, or a residual loss rate.
Tran in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches comprises at least one of a burst loss rate, or a residual loss rate (Tran [0071] Some of the terminals UE with poor reception conditions may send on a return channel a return message signaling poor reception conditions to the content server CNTP. Thus, the return message may indicate a packet loss rate, a residual loss rate after using the repair symbols, and other features relating to the quality of the received signal.).
By modifying the combination with Kohno’s teachings of wherein the information corresponding to the plurality of frame packets comprises a sequence number included in a header of each frame packet of the plurality of frame packets, wherein the information corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet comprises a sequence number corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet and a number of lost frame packets of the at least one lost frame packet, and wherein the network status information with Tran’s teachings of comprises at least one of a burst loss rate, or a residual loss rate, the modification results in
wherein the information corresponding to the plurality of frame packets comprises a sequence number included in a header of each frame packet of the plurality of frame packets,
wherein the information corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet comprises a sequence number corresponding to the at least one lost frame packet and a number of lost frame packets of the at least one lost frame packet, and
wherein the network status information comprises at least one of a burst loss rate, or a residual loss rate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek as modified by Rao and Chen and Kohno with Tran’s above teachings. The motivation is correcting data errors in a communication channel between a transmitting device and a receiving device (Tran [0001]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Rao and Chen as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 20090077194 A1 (hereinafter Ohno II).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses The method of claim 9.
Although Baek teaches wherein the network status information is determined, and wherein the
network status information is transmitted, by the second apparatus, to the first apparatus (Baek [0083], [0086] and [0087] cited above in claim 9 rejection.), Baek does not explicitly teach wherein the network status information is determined in units of frames.
Ohno II in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the network status information is determined in units of frames (Ohno II [0028] screen data is transmitted and received in frames, and a status of the communication network is determined on the basis of a status of a loss of frame data (frame loss).).
By modifying Baek’s teachings of wherein the network status information is determined, and wherein the network status information is transmitted, by the second apparatus, to the first apparatus with Ohno II’s teachings of wherein the network status information is determined in units of frames, the modification results in wherein the network status information is determined in units of frames, and wherein the network status information is transmitted, by the second apparatus, in the units of frames to the first apparatus.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Ohno II’s above teachings. The motivation is controlling transmission in a case of poor reception (Ohno II [0006]).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Rao and Chen as applied to claims 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of CN 107294661 A (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches The method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein updating the limited number of
retransmission comprises keeping the limited number of retransmissions the same based on the frame packet loss rate being less than equal to the preset threshold loss rate.
Yang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein updating the limited number of
retransmission comprises keeping the limited number of retransmissions the same based on the frame packet loss rate being less than equal to the preset threshold loss rate (Yang page 4, if the packet loss rate is less than or equal to the first preset threshold, and the transmission success rate is greater than or equal to the second preset threshold, keeping the HARQ maximum retransmission times is not changed.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the resource utilization rate (Yang page 6).
Claim 16 and 17 recites similar limitations of claim 15 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418