DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments as filed 05/26/2026 have been filed but do not overcome the 103 rejections are previously put forth in non-final office action mailed 02/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20030207166-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hara’
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Hara teaches a solid oxide cell stack (Hara, “The present invention relates to a thin-film solid oxide fuel cell using a metal support.”, see [0002]) comprising: first and second interconnects (Hara, collector plate, 8, Fig. 6); and a solid oxide cell disposed between the first and second interconnects (Hara, air and fuel electrode, 6 and 7, Fig. 6) wherein the solid oxide cell comprises: a fuel electrode (Hara, fuel electrode, 7, Fig. 6) ; an electrolyte including a base portion disposed on the fuel electrode (Hara, electrolyte, 5, Fig. 6) , a dam portion disposed on the base portion, and a recess portion surrounded by the dam portion; and an air electrode disposed in the recess portion of the electrolyte ,wherein a region in which the fuel electrode and the electrolyte overlap each other in a thickness direction of the electrolyte is greater than to a region in which the air electrode and the electrolyte overlap each other electrolyte (Hara, air electrode, 6, Fig. 2B)(the examiner notes that the fuel electrode is disposed in the recess portion, but exchanging the air and fuel electrodes being exchanged would be obvious as a matter of rearrangement of parts. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C))).
Regarding Claim 17,
Hara teaches the solid oxide cell stack according to claim 11, wherein each of the first and second interconnects includes a flow path through which gas is diffused (see annotated figure below).
Claim 1, 3, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20030207166-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hara’ in view of (US-20150357655-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Choi’
Regarding Claim 1,
Hara teaches a solid oxide cell comprising (Hara, “The present invention relates to a thin-film solid oxide fuel cell using a metal support”, see [0002]): a fuel electrode (Hara, fuel electrode, 7, Fig. 2B); an electrolyte including a base portion disposed on the fuel electrode (Hara, electrolyte layer, 5, Fig. 2B), a dam portion disposed on edge of the base portion (see annotated figure below), and a recess portion surrounded by the dam portion; and an air electrode disposed in the recess portion of the electrolyte (Hara, air electrode, 6, Fig. 2B)(the examiner notes that the fuel electrode is disposed in the recess portion, but exchanging the air and fuel electrodes being exchanged would be obvious as a matter of rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C))) , wherein a region in which the fuel electrode and the electrolyte overlap each other in a thickness direction of the electrolyte is greater than or equal to a region in which the air electrode and the electrolyte overlap each other (The examiner interprets this limitation as the electrode thickness is less than the dam on the electrolyte).
Hara does not teach wherein the air electrode is spaced apart from the dam portion.
Choi teaches where the air electrode is spaced apart from the dam portion (see annotated figure below) .
Choi teaches that the maintenance of the gap prevents further shorting from occurring between layers of the fuel cell (Choi, “In addition, in the stack structure 1000, the frame 200 and the interconnector 100 can be electrically shorted even though the insulating combined functional layer 210 is disposed between the frame 200 and the interconnector 100 in the edge region EA. In order to completely exclude this, the stack structure 1000 may further include at least one gap maintaining unit 500 uniformly maintaining the gap between them.”, see [0050]).
Hara and Choi are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell arrangements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a gap between the electrolyte and the cathode in order to prevent any possibility of short circuit between the layers of the fuel cell.
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide cell according to claim 1, wherein the base portion and the dam portion are integrated (see annotated figure above ).
Regarding Claim 7,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide fuel cell according to claim 1, wherein the fuel electrode and the air electrode have substantially the same width (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide fuel cell according to claim 1, wherein the fuel electrode is wider than the air electrode (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 9,
Modified Hara teaches wherein the solid oxide cell according to wherein the fuel electrode and the electrolyte have substantially the same width (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide cell according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the dam portion is less than or equal to a thickness of the air electrode (see annotate figure below).
Regarding Claim 12,
Hara does not teach a sealing material disposed outside of the solid oxide cell between the first and second interconnects.
Choi teaches a sealing material disposed outside of the solid oxide cell between the first and second interconnects (Choi, second sealing units, 300 and 400, Fig. 2)
Choi teaches that the sealing units prevent leakage and mixing of air and fuel gas (Choi, “The first and second sealing units 300 and 400 may prevent leakage and mixing of an air and a fuel gas flowing to the cathode layer 14 and the anode layer 16 of the fuel cell 10.”, see [0040]).
Hara and Choi are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught in Hara to include the seal as taught in Choi in order to prevent leakage.
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide cell stack according to claim 12, wherein the sealing material is in contact with the dam portion (Choi, second sealing units, 300 and 400, Fig. 2)(The examiner notes that the combined structure would be in contact the same way Choi is in contact with the frame and functional layer 210 in Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide cell stack according to claim 12, wherein the sealing material is in contact with an upper surface and an external side surface of the dam portion (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide cell stack according to claim 12, wherein the sealing material is in contact with the upper surface, the external side surface, and an internal side surface of the dam portion (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Hara teaches the solid oxide cell stack according to claim 12, wherein the air electrode is spaced apart from the sealing material (see annotated figure below).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20030207166-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hara’ in view of (US-20150357655-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Choi’ in view of (US-20120021325-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim’
Regarding Claim 4,
Hara does not teach the solid oxide cell according to claim 1, wherein the base portion and the dam portion include different materials.
Kim teaches wherein the base portion and the dam portion include different materials (Kim electrolyte membrane, 21, Fig. 4) (Kim protective layer, 23, Fig. 4).
Kim teaches that the protective layer prevents gas diffusion from contacting the electrolyte and the generation of pin holes (Kim, “According to the exemplary embodiments of the present invention, because the protrusion contacts the inner side of the edge protective layer to prevent the gas diffusion layer from directly contacting the polymer electrolyte membrane, it is possible to prevent pin holes from being generated in the polymer electrolyte membrane.”, see [0021]).
Hara and Kim are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell membranes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte as taught in Hara to replace it with a protective layer of a different material in order to prevent degradation of the electrolyte.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20030207166-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hara’ in view of (US-20150357655-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Choi’ in view of (US-20160172702-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Batawi’
Regarding Claim 5,
Hara teaches the solid oxide cell according to claim 1 wherein the base portion includes 8 mol% yttria-stabilized zirconia (8YSZ) (Hara, “(a mixed composite of NiO and 8 mol % yttria-stabilized zirconia in a mass ratio of 75:25) was deposited by the RF sputtering method at a heat of 700° C”, see [0052]) (Hara, “As to the solid electrolyte, materials conventionally known in public, for example, material that contains, as a main component, stabilized zirconia containing neodymium oxide (Nd 2O3), samarium oxide (Sm2O3), yttrium oxide (Y2O3),”, see [0045]),
Hara does not teach the dam portion includes 3 mol% yttria- stabilized zirconia (3YSZ)
Batawai teaches 3 mol% yttria- stabilized zirconia (3YSZ) (Batawai, “Electrolyte 5 may be made of a highly ionically conductive material, such as SSZ, while electrodes 3 and 7 may be made of a higher strength, lower ionic conductivity material, such as YSZ. For example, 3 molar percent yttria YSZ (3YSZ) is used for the electrodes 3, 7.”, see [0028]).
Batwai teaches that 3 mol% yttria- stabilized zirconia (3YSZ) is higher strength and lower conductivity (Batawai, “Electrolyte 5 may be made of a highly ionically conductive material, such as SSZ, while electrodes 3 and 7 may be made of a higher strength, lower ionic conductivity material, such as YSZ. For example, 3 molar percent yttria YSZ (3YSZ) is used for the electrodes 3, 7.”, see [0028]).
Hara and Batawai are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dam portion of the electrolyte with 3% yttria- stabilized zirconia in order to strengthen the dam portion while allowing it to act as a lower ion conductor.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20030207166-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hara’ in view of (US-20150357655-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Choi’ in view of (US-20190376193-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Liu’
Regarding Claim 6,
Hara teaches the solid oxide cell according to claim 1, The solid oxide cell according to wherein the base portion includes a Yttria Stabilized Zirconia-based (YSZ-based) ion conductor (Hara, “(a mixed composite of NiO and 8 mol % yttria-stabilized zirconia in a mass ratio of 75:25) was deposited by the RF sputtering method at a heat of 700° C”, see [0052]),
Hara does not teach that the dam portion includes alumina includes alumina.
Liu teaches alumina in the fuel cell (Liu, “One function of the membrane separator 108 in an electrochemical conversion device is to keep the electrodes 104, 106 of opposite charges insulated from each other. Thus, durable insulating materials, such as zirconia oxide, ceria, alumina oxide, and silicone oxide, are preferred”, see [0071]).
Liu teaches that aluminum is durable and allows the electrodes to be separated preventing short circuit (Liu, “One function of the membrane separator 108 in an electrochemical conversion device is to keep the electrodes 104, 106 of opposite charges insulated from each other. Thus, durable insulating materials, such as zirconia oxide, ceria, alumina oxide, and silicone oxide, are preferred”, see [0071]).
Hara and Liu are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dam to include alumina which would strength the dam region while additionally providing insulation to prevent a short circuit between the electrodes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 6, the applicant argues:
“In the principal embodiment of Hara, the overlap areas are equal. Moreover, even
assuming arguendo that the positions of the fuel electrode and air electrode in the embodiment of Figure 4B of Hara were interchanged as alleged by the Office Action, the resulting configuration would still produce an overlap relationship contrary to that presently claimed.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Hara neither teaches nor renders
obvious the amended limitation of claim 11, and therefore respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection.”
However, this is not convincing. The examiner notes that the fuel cell layer 7 and electrolyte, in Hara, has greater area than where the air electrode 6 and the electrolyte overlap each other. This would still be true even if the electrodes were rearranged. The relationship between the area and the electrode, as understood by the examiner is outlined below.
On pg. 7, the applicant argues:
“Choi's interconnector 100 with the claimed air electrode, and Choi's frame 200 with the claimed dam portion. However, Choi in fact discloses cathode layer 14 and anode layer 15, which considered electrodes, along with electrolyte layer 12. As shown above annotated FIG. 2 of Choi, cathode layer 14 and anode layer 15 are not spaced apart from electrolyte layer 12, and electrolyte layer 12 does not include a dam portion. Therefore, Choi therefore does not teach or suggest the air electrode (130) is spaced apart from the dam portion (122).”
However, this is not convincing. The examiner argues that the combination of references teaches the features as claimed in the now amended claim 1. Hara teaches the dam disposed on the base portion as can be seen in Fig. 2B of Hara with the curved electrolyte. Choi teaches the electrode with a gap. Choi teaches a problem present in fuel cells where the cathode reacts with other materials (Choi, “In this case, during the operation of the fuel cells at the high temperature, the metal material is volatilized from the frame or diffused at an interface and then transferred to the cathode layer in contact with the air, and the metal volatile matter or diffusate generated thereby reacts with the material included in the cathode layer, thereby generating a composite oxide”, see [0011]). Choi teaches that the stack taught prevents said reactions (Choi, “The present invention is directed to providing a stack structure for fuel cells, which is formed by stacking solid oxide fuel cells to prevent volatilization or diffusion of a metal material included in a frame for reinforcing a strength”, see [0014]). Choi teaches one feature included in this would be the gap (Choi, “The stack structure according to an exemplary embodiment may further include a gap maintaining unit to regularly maintain a gap between the interconnector and the combined functional layer of the frame in the edge region.”, see [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the general structure a taught in Hara and add a gap to prevent unwanted reactions. The examiner points to the combination as obvious and not each reference individually (see MPEP 2145 (IV))
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752