DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is in reply to papers filed on 2026-04-21. Claims 1-20, 22 are pending, following Applicant's cancellation of claim 21 and addition of new claim 22. Claims 1, 8, 15 is/are independent.
The rejection(s) of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
With respect to claim(s) 1 (see page(s) 11 of Applicant’s Remarks), Applicant argues that the prior art of record (in particular, particular, U.S. Patent 11100548 to Gray (hereinafter "Gray '548")) does not disclose variations on providing either audio data or video data to particular of the user's devices. However, U.S. Publication 20180083961 to Lewis et al. (hereinafter "Lewis '961") discloses a media system in which one of the user's authenticated devices controls which data is streamed to particular of the user's other authenticated devices, e.g. TV, speakers, video projector, etc., and how it is played back [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]. Lewis '961 likewise discloses not providing audio or not providing video to particular of the user's devices (claims 8, 15) [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058] and providing controls on one of the user's devices of what data stream goes where and how it is played back (claim 22) [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]. As detailed in the rejections below, it would have been obvious to have modified the conference system of Gray '548 with the data stream and playback control of Lewis '961. Accordingly, Applicant's arguments are found unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the remaining claim(s) is/are based on Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and have been considered as detailed above.
Summary of Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
The following table summarizes the rejections set forth in detail below of the claims over the prior art.
Claim No.
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 in view of Krishnan '471
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 in view of Allain '615
1
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
2
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
3
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
4
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
5
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
6
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
7
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
8
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
9
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
10
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
11
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
12
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
13
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
14
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
15
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
16
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
17
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
18
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
19
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
20
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
22
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 15-17, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11100548 to Gray (hereinafter "Gray '548") in view of U.S. Publication 20180083961 to Lewis et al. (hereinafter "Lewis '961"). Gray '548 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2). Lewis '961 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 1 (independent):
Gray '548 discloses a computer-implemented method for a conference system (voice and data exchange conference session [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44 – c. 3. l. 3]; multi-party conference [Gray '548 c. 9 l. 46-51])
Gray '548 discloses authenticating, by the conference system, a first device by a first authentication method, wherein the authenticating includes associating the first device with a user (first user on first device authenticates via login credentials to being session [Gray '548 Fig. 5, c. 12 l. 26-32, c. 8 l. 7-40] for reviewing access controlled information [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 7-12, c. 2. l. 31-35])
Gray '548 discloses providing, by the conference system, access to the conference system to the first device based on the first device being associated with the user identifier (first user on first device engages in session [Gray '548 Fig. 5, c. 12 l. 26-32])
Gray '548 discloses receiving, by the conference system, a request to authenticate a second device associated with the user to the conference system (first user on first device requests additional device be authorized [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 34-42; Fig. 5])
Gray '548 discloses providing, responsive to the request, information for a second authentication method utilizing both the first device and the second device to authenticate the second device associated with the user, to at least one of the first device and a second device (sends session-specific code to first device [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] as QR code to be scanned by second device [Gray '548 c. 10 l. 58-67])
Gray '548 discloses the information includes an identification of the user of the first device (session-specific code [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] identifies first user [Gray '548 c. 10 l. 47-67]; system associates second device with first user based one session-specific code without requiring login credentials from second device [Gray '548 c. 11 l. 6-11, c. 8 l. 50-62])
Gray '548 discloses verifying, by the conference system, that the user of the second device is the user of the first device based on the identification (once verified, second device can perform privileged actions as first user [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 42-65]; second device is same user or different user [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 15-16, c. 3 l. 18-62, c. 8 l. 21-49])
Gray '548 discloses authenticating, by the conference system, the second device by the second authentication method, wherein the authenticating the second device includes associating the second device with the user after the verifying (once verified, second device can perform privileged actions as first user [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 42-65, c. 8 l. 8-40]; second device is same user or different user [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 15-16]; session specific code is unique to user of first device [Gray '548 c. 9 l. 41-51] who is authenticated to sign financial documents using second device once it is authenticated via that unique code [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44-59, c. 11 l. 51-62])
Gray '548 discloses providing, by the conference system, access to the conference system to the second device based on the second device being associated with the user (once verified, second device can perform privileged actions as first user [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 42-65, c. 8 l. 8-40]; second device is same user or different user [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 15-16])
Gray '548 does not disclose providing, by the conference system and based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device
However, Gray '548 discloses providing, by the conference system and based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, media data of the conference (voice and data exchange conference session [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44 – c. 3. l. 3]; multi-party conference [Gray '548 c. 9 l. 46-51])
Further:
Lewis '961 discloses providing, by the media system and based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device (a user device with suitable GUI capabilities, e.g. a smartphone or tablet, controls what is streamed to various authenticated user output devices, e.g. TV, speakers, video projector, etc. [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; first and/or second user device controls playback by user output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; audio only output devices, video only output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Gray '548 with the coordination between the user's devices of Lewis '961 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
providing, by the conference system and based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because coordination between the user's devices would allow each device of the user to be used to render particular content suitable for that device, e.g. routing audio-only data to a set of speakers, routing video-only data to a projector, and showing playback controls on yet another of the user's devices. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Lewis '961 teaches [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058] modifying a conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] such as that of Gray '548 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Gray '548 and Lewis '961 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (coordinating data to be output between the user's devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (coordinating data to be output between the user's devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]) to known devices and/or methods (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] coordinates data to be output between the user's devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 2 (dependent on claim 1):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Gray '548 discloses providing, responsive to the request, information for a second authentication method comprises providing, by the conference system, information for a second authentication method to the first device; and the second authentication method comprises sensing the information using a sensing device of the second device (sends session-specific code to first device [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] as QR code to be scanned by second device [Gray '548 c. 10 l. 58-67])
Per claim 3 (dependent on claim 2):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 2 above, incorporated herein by reference
Gray '548 discloses the information is visible information; the sensing device is a camera of the second device; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the second device comprises sensing the visible information shown in the first device by using the camera (sends session-specific code to first device [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] as QR code to be scanned by second device [Gray '548 c. 10 l. 58-67])
Per claim 4 (dependent on claim 2):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 2 above, incorporated herein by reference
Gray '548 discloses the visible information is shown in a conference screen of the first device (sends session-specific code to first device [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] as QR code to be scanned by second device [Gray '548 c. 10 l. 58-67]; voice and data exchange conference session [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44 – c. 3. l. 3]; multi-party conference [Gray '548 c. 9 l. 46-51])
Per claim 8 (independent):
Gray '548 discloses a conference system comprising a memory configured to store operations and one or more processors configured to perform the operations (authenticates second user for access to conference, event, session, etc. [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44 – c. 3. l. 3; c. 9 l. 46-51]; processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Gray '548 c. 13 l. 49 – c. 14 l. 26])
Gray '548 does not disclose providing, based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, data not comprising audio data to the first device and data not comprising video data to the second device
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Further:
Lewis '961 discloses providing, based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device (a user device with suitable GUI capabilities, e.g. a smartphone or tablet, controls what is streamed to various authenticated user output devices, e.g. TV, speakers, video projector, etc. [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; first and/or second user device controls playback by user output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; audio only output devices, video only output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Gray '548 with the coordination between the user's devices of Lewis '961 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
providing, based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device
Per claim 9 (dependent on claim 8):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 8 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 2 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 10 (dependent on claim 9):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 3 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 11 (dependent on claim 9):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 4 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 15 (independent):
Gray '548 discloses a computer readable storage device having instructions stored thereon, execution of which, by one or more processing devices, causes the one or more processing devices to perform operations (authenticates second user for access to conference, event, session, etc. [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44 – c. 3. l. 3; c. 9 l. 46-51]; processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Gray '548 c. 13 l. 49 – c. 14 l. 26])
Gray '548 does not disclose providing, based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Further:
Lewis '961 discloses providing, based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device (a user device with suitable GUI capabilities, e.g. a smartphone or tablet, controls what is streamed to various authenticated user output devices, e.g. TV, speakers, video projector, etc. [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; first and/or second user device controls playback by user output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; audio only output devices, video only output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Gray '548 with the coordination between the user's devices of Lewis '961 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
providing, based on the first device and the second device being associated with the user identifier, only video data to the first device and only audio data to the second device
Per claim 16 (dependent on claim 15):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 15 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 2 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 17 (dependent on claim 16):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 16 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 3 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 22 (dependent on claim 1):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Gray '548 does not disclose displaying, by the conference system, audio and video settings to at least one of the first device and the second device; and receiving, by the conference system, selection of one or more settings of the audio and video settings from at least one of the first device and the second device, wherein the providing only the data to the first device and only the audio data to the second device is based on the received selection
However, Gray '548 discloses displaying, by the conference system, audio and video data (voice and data exchange conference session [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44 – c. 3. l. 3]; multi-party conference [Gray '548 c. 9 l. 46-51])
Further:
Lewis '961 discloses displaying, by the media system, audio and video settings to at least one of the first device and the second device; and receiving, by the conference system, selection of one or more settings of the audio and video settings from at least one of the first device and the second device, wherein the providing only the data to the first device and only the audio data to the second device is based on the received selection (a user device with suitable GUI capabilities, e.g. a smartphone or tablet, controls what is streamed to various authenticated user output devices, e.g. TV, speakers, video projector, etc. [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; first and/or second user device controls playback by user output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058]; audio only output devices, video only output devices [Lewis '961 ¶ 0027-0030, 0058])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Gray '548 with the coordination between the user's devices of Lewis '961 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
displaying, by the conference system, audio and video settings to at least one of the first device and the second device; and receiving, by the conference system, selection of one or more settings of the audio and video settings from at least one of the first device and the second device, wherein the providing only the data to the first device and only the audio data to the second device is based on the received selection
Claim(s) 5, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gray '548 in view of U.S. Publication 20140064471 to Krishnan et al. (hereinafter "Krishnan '471"). Krishnan '471 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 5 (dependent on claim 2):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 2 above, incorporated herein by reference
Gray '548 does not disclose the information is audio information; the sensing device is a microphone of the second device; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the second device comprises sensing the audio information played by the first device by using the microphone
Further:
Krishnan '471 discloses the information is audio information; the sensing device is a microphone of the second device; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the second device comprises sensing the audio information played by the first device by using the microphone (new devices capture conference identifier as audio [Krishnan '471 ¶ 0039-0040])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Gray '548 with the audio or visual provision of the conference identifier Krishnan '471 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the information is audio information; the sensing device is a microphone of the second device; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the second device comprises sensing the audio information played by the first device by using the microphone
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because visual provision of the conference identifier via a conference screen or provision of an audio conference identifier would simplify authentication for users present in the proximity. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Krishnan '471 teaches [Krishnan '471 ¶ 0038-0040] modifying a conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] such as that of Gray '548 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Gray '548 and Krishnan '471 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (audio or visual provision of the conference identifier [Krishnan '471 ¶ 0038-0040]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (audio or visual provision of the conference identifier [Krishnan '471 ¶ 0038-0040]) to known devices and/or methods (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] via audio or visual provision of the conference identifier [Krishnan '471 ¶ 0038-0040]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 12 (dependent on claim 9):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 9 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 5 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 18 (dependent on claim 16):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 16 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 5 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gray '548 in view of U.S. Publication 20150222615 to Allain et al. (hereinafter "Allain '615"). Hessler '699 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2). Allain '615 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Per claim 6 (dependent on claim 1):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Gray '548 does not disclose providing, responsive to the request, information for a second authentication method comprises providing, by the conference system, information for a second authentication method to the second device; and the second authentication method comprises sensing the information using a sensing device of the first device
Further:
Allain '615 discloses providing, responsive to the request, information for a second authentication method comprises providing, by the conference system, information for a second authentication method to the second device; and the second authentication method comprises sensing the information using a sensing device of the first device (untrusted device displays access code that trusted device senses [Allain '615 ¶ 0085-0089, Fig. 6]; conference [Allain '615 ¶ 0003] access code is QR code sensed by camera or sound sensed by microphone [Allain '615 ¶ 0064-0065])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Gray '548 with the reversed authentication transmissions of Allain '615 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
providing, responsive to the request, information for a second authentication method comprises providing, by the conference system, information for a second authentication method to the second device; and the second authentication method comprises sensing the information using a sensing device of the first device
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because reversing the authentication transmissions would allow the user to perform all authentication interactions from their own already trusted device, rather than using the untrusted terminal for some of them. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Allain '615 teaches [Allain '615 ¶ 0085-0089, Fig. 6; ¶ 0040, 0026] modifying a conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] such as that of Gray '548 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Gray '548 and Allain '615 are in the same field of endeavor; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (reversed authentication transmissions [Allain '615 ¶ 0085-0089, Fig. 6; ¶ 0040, 0026]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (reversed authentication transmissions [Allain '615 ¶ 0085-0089, Fig. 6; ¶ 0040, 0026]) to known devices and/or methods (conference authentication scheme [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (conference authentication scheme authenticates new devices [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] via reversed authentication transmissions [Allain '615 ¶ 0085-0089, Fig. 6; ¶ 0040, 0026]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 7 (dependent on claim 6):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 in view of Allain '615 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 6 above, incorporated herein by reference
Gray '548 does not disclose the information is visible information; the sensing device is a camera of the first device; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the first device comprises sensing the visible information shown in the second device by using the camera
However, Gray '548 discloses the information is visible information; the sensing device is a camera of one of the devices; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the one of the devices comprises sensing the visible information shown in the other of the devices by using the camera (sends session-specific code to first device [Gray '548 c. 12 l. 37-50; Fig. 5] as QR code to be scanned by second device [Gray '548 c. 10 l. 58-67]; voice and data exchange conference session [Gray '548 c. 2 l. 44 – c. 3. l. 3]; multi-party conference [Gray '548 c. 9 l. 46-51])
Further:
Allain '615 discloses the information is visible information; the sensing device is a camera of the first device; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the first device comprises sensing the visible information shown in the second device by using the camera (untrusted device displays access code that trusted device senses [Allain '615 ¶ 0085-0089, Fig. 6]; conference [Allain '615 ¶ 0003] access code is QR code sensed by camera or sound sensed by microphone [Allain '615 ¶ 0064-0065])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 6, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Hessler '699 with the reversed authentication transmissions of Allain '615 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the information is visible information; the sensing device is a camera of the first device; and sensing the information using a sensing device of the first device comprises sensing the visible information shown in the second device by using the camera
Per claim 13 (dependent on claim 8):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 8 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 6 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 14 (dependent on claim 13):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 in view of Allain '615 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 13 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 7 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 19 (dependent on claim 15):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 15 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 6 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Per claim 20 (dependent on claim 19):
Gray '548 in view of Lewis '961 in view of Allain '615 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 19 above, incorporated herein by reference
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 7 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
/THEODORE C PARSONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494