DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/27/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US. Pub: 2020/0279975 A1~hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) a display device, comprising: a substrate (110) in which a plurality of sub-pixels (see at least fig. 1) is defined; a light emitting element ( 150) disposed in each of the plurality of sub-pixels; a first connection electrode (PE) adjacent to and electrically connected to a first semiconductor layer (153; see figs. 7 and 8B) disposed at a lower part of the light emitting element (150; see at least figs. 7 and 8B); a second connection electrode (CE) in contact with a top surface of the light emitting element (150; see fig. 7); a first planarization layer (115-1) disposed between the first connection electrode (PE) and the second connection electrode (CE; see fig. 7), and a top surface of the first planarization layer (115-1) is lower than a top surface of the first semiconductor layer (153; as evident by at least figs. 7 and 8B); and a second planarization layer (115-2) disposed between the first planarization layer (115-1) and the second connection electrode (CE).
Regarding claim 4, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 7 and 8B) the light emitting element further includes: an emission layer (152) disposed on the first semiconductor layer (153); and a second semiconductor layer (151) disposed on the emission layer (152) and electrically connected to the second connection electrode (see figs. 7 and 8B), and the first semiconductor layer (153) protrudes to an outside of the second semiconductor layer (151) in a lateral direction.
Regarding claim 6, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) the first semiconductor layer (153) protrudes to an outside of the second semiconductor layer (151) from all edges of the second semiconductor layer in a horizontal direction (see figs. 7 and 8B).
Regarding claim 7, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) the first connection electrode (PE) is electrically connected to a first electrode (E2) disposed on a top surface of the first semiconductor layer (153) exposed from the emission layer (152) and the second semiconductor layer (151).
Regarding claim 8, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) the first electrode (E2) is offset to the outside of the light emitting element (152) compared with a center of the top surface of the first semiconductor layer (153) exposed from the emission layer (152) and the second semiconductor layer (151).
Regarding claim 9, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) the first connection electrode (PE) is configured to electrically connect a driving transistor of the sub-pixel to the first semiconductor layer (see at least fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) the first connection electrode (PE) is configured to surround the first semiconductor layer (153).
Regarding claim 11, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) an adhesive layer (114; [0115]) disposed under the light emitting element (150); and a power line (CPL) disposed under the adhesive layer (114; see fig. 7), wherein the adhesive layer (114) includes a first groove overlapping the power line (CPL) and a contact hole below and overlapping the first groove (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) an edge of the first connection electrode (PE) corresponds to an edge of the first groove (see fig. 7), and an edge of the first planarization layer is disposed in the first groove.
Regarding claim 13, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) a passivation layer (113) disposed between the adhesive layer (114) and the power line (CPL); a first reflective electrode (PE; [0123]) disposed between the adhesive layer (114) and the passivation layer (113).
Regarding claim 14, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) the first reflective electrode (PE) is configured to electrically connect the first connection electrode (see fig. 7) to a driving transistor of the sub-pixel.
Regarding claim 15, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) the second connection electrode (CE) is electrically connected to the power line (CPL).
Regarding claim 16, Jung discloses (in at least figs. 1-2, 7 and 8B) an insulating layer (112) surrounds a lower side surface of the light emitting element (150) under the first connection electrode (PE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US. Pub: 2020/0279975 A1~hereinafter “Jung”) in view of Beak et al. (US. Pub: 2020/0135971 A1~ hereinafter “Beak”).
Regarding claim 2, Jung does not expressly disclose an uppermost part of the first connection electrode is disposed in the same plane as the top surface of the first planarization layer.
However, Jung discloses (in at least fig. 7) a first connection electrode (PE) and a planarization layer (115-1).
It is well-known in the art to form a display device comprised of, in part, an uppermost part of the first electrode is disposed in the same plane as the top surface of the first planarization layer as evident by Beak at least fig. 2. An uppermost part of the first connection electrode (141) is disposed in the same plane as the top surface of the first planarization layer (116).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange an uppermost part of the first connection electrode of Jung as taught by Beak, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Jung as modified by Beak discloses (in at least fig. 2 Beak) a side surface of the first connection electrode (141) is disposed in the same plane as a side surface of the first planarization layer (116).
Regarding claim 5, Jung as modified by Beak discloses (in at least fig. 2 Beak) a top surface of the second planarization layer (117) is disposed equal to or lower than a top surface of the second semiconductor layer (134).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US. Pub: 2020/0279975 A1~hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claim 17, Jung does not expressly disclose the light emitting element (150) includes an undercut structure at a lower edge of the light emitting element, filled with the insulating layer.
However, Jung discloses (in at least fig. 7) the display device comprised of, in art, a light emitting element (150) and an insulating layer (112).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited undercut structure through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited undercut structure is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the light emitting element of Jung includes the insulating layer.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875