DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment, filed 02/04/2026, was received and entered. As the results, independent claims 1, 10 and 19 were amended with the features as following:
(a) "parsing, by the conference system, a voice signal of the audio/video input," (supported by, e.g., paragraphs [0023] and [0040] of the as-filed Specification ("Specification"))
(b) "detecting, by the conference system, an identifier in the voice signal based on the parsing," (supported by, e.g., Specification, paragraphs [0031] and [0040]) and
(c) "determining, by the conference system, the first user is a designated user from the plurality of users based on the detected identifier in the voice signal being associated with the first user." (supported by, e.g., Specification, paragraphs [0031] and [0040]).
No new claims were added and deleted. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application at this time.
Based on the Applicants’ remarks and above features amended to the claims, Examiner performed updated searches and found a new reference. The new ground of rejections to the claims are as followings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tokuchi (US 2022/0224735).
Regarding claim 1, Tokuchi teaches a computer-implemented method (i.e., a method of an online conference) comprising:
associating, by a conference system (i.e., server 10, as shown in figure 2), a first device of a plurality of devices participating in a conference session with a first user of a plurality of users participating in the conference session (i.e., users A, B, C, D, E, F, G are in different places as shown in figures 4 and 5 (par.[0057]-[0058] and [0108]-[0109]); account information of a user who uses an online service is information for logging in and using the online service wherein the user associated with the account information is permitted to participate and use the online service (para.[0034]); and a list of information, e.g., account information, for identifying the user who is logged into the online conference; para.[0114]; a user who speakers next or user D (as a first user) is designated by a user (i.e., a second user) who speaks before the user speaks next, an authorized person, etc.; para.[0120]);
gathering, by the conference system, an audio/video input from a second device of the plurality of devices (i.e., gathering, by the server 10, a sound such as a voice, etc. by the user who speaks before the user D; para.[0121]);
parsing, by the conference system, a voice signal of the audio/video input (i.e., a voice signal, such as a name, nickname, etc. via a microphone and transmitting to the server 10 to identify the user D; para.[0123]);
detecting, by the conference system, an identifier in the voice signal based on the parsing (i.e., the server 10 identifies the user D; para.[0124]);
determining, by the conference system, the first user is a designated user from the plurality of users based on the detected identifier in the voice signal being
associated with the first user (para.[0123] and [0128]); and
modifying, by the conference system, a setting of the conference session based on the designated user (i.e., changing display form of the display region, expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc.; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 2, Tokuchi further teaches the limitations of the claim, such as associating multiple of the plurality of devices participating in the conference session with respective users participating in the conference session (i.e., the users A to G are logged into the online conference and were assigned different regions, as shown in figures 7-8; para.[0102]-[0103] and [0110]-[0112]); and the modifying comprises modifying a display method of the video input of the device associated with the designated user (i.e., if the user D is designed as the next speaker, the display region D associated with the user D blinks, or is decorated; para. [0118]), expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc., as shown in figures 9-15; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 3, Tokuchi further teaches the limitations of the claim, such as identifying a primary user from among the respective users (i.e., identifying the user is currently speaking as a primary user; para.[0115]); and
detecting a change of the primary user to the designated user based on the detected identifier in the voice signal being associated with the first user (i.e., detecting a sound or voice signal (i.e., name, nick name, etc.) spoken from the user who speaks before the user who speaks next; para.[0121] and [0123]); and
wherein modifying the display method of the video input of the device associated
with the designated user comprises setting the video input of the device associated with the designated user as a primary video of the conference session (i.e., if the user D is designed as the next speaker, the display region D associated with the user D blinks, or is decorated; para. [0118]), expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc., as shown in figures 9-15; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 4, Tokuchi further teaches multiple user regions are displayed in variety of grid arrangements, as shown in figures 8-15. Tokuchi further teaches the features of modifying the display method, as discussed above (para.[0015]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 5, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as modification of the setting by pinning a designated user for a predetermined period of time in paragraphs [0135]-[0139].
Regarding claim 6, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as
identifying a second user as a designating user associated with the second device that output the voice signal audio/video cue that was a source for detecting the designated user (i.e., identifying the user who previously speaks may be the user who speaks immediately before the user who speaks next; para.[0120]); and
determining a direction from the designating user to the designated user based on the detecting the identifier in the voice signal by detecting the audio/video cue from the audio/video input (i.e., determining a direction from the designating user by a gesture such as pointing, or by a sight line; para.[0121] and [0124]); and wherein:
modifying the display method of the user region of the designated user in the grid
comprises placing the user region of the designated user at a display location relative to the user region of the designating user in a same direction as the determined direction (i.e., if the user D is designed as the next speaker, the display region D associated with the user D blinks, or is decorated; para. [0118]), expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc., as shown in figures 9-15; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 7, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as assigning each of multiple participants associated with their devices in the corresponding regions as displayed in figures 7-15 as discussed above. Tokuchi further teaches the image or moving image of the designated user is displayed in the expanded or enlarged region to emphasizing the designed user among the plurality of the users, as shown in figures 8-15, paragraphs [0115]-[0118].
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as a gesture such as pointing with a finger or arm, etc. in paragraphs [0121] and [0124].
Regarding claim 10, Tokuchi teaches a conference system (i.e., server 10, as shown in figure 2; para.[0038]), comprising:
a memory (i.e., memory 18; para.[0042]), and
a least one processor coupled to the memory (i.e., processor 20; para.[0043]) and configured to:
associate a first device of a plurality of devices participating in a conference session with a first user of a plurality of users participating in the conference session (i.e., users A, B, C, D, E, F, G are in different places as shown in figures 4 and 5 (par.[0057]-[0058] and [0108]-[0109]); account information of a user who uses an online service is information for logging in and using the online service wherein the user associated with the account information is permitted to participate and use the online service (para.[0034]); and a list of information, e.g., account information, for identifying the user who is logged into the online conference; para.[0114]; a user who speakers next or user D (as a first user) is designated by a user (i.e., a second user) who speaks before the user speaks next, an authorized person, etc.; para.[0120]);
gathering an audio/video input from a second device of the plurality of devices (i.e., gathering, by the server 10, a sound such as a voice, etc. by the user who speaks before the user D; para.[0121]);
parsing a voice signal of the audio/video input (i.e., a voice signal, such as a name, nickname, etc. via a microphone and transmitting to the server 10 to identify the user D; para.[0123]);
detecting an identifier in the voice signal based on the parsing (i.e., the server 10 identifies the user D; para.[0124]);
determine the first user is a designated user from the plurality of users based on the detected identifier in the voice signal being associated with the first user (para.[0123] and [0128]); and
modify a setting of the conference session based on the designated user (i.e., changing display form of the display region, expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc.; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 11, Tokuchi further teaches the limitations of the claim, such as associating multiple of the plurality of devices participating in the conference session with respective users participating in the conference session (i.e., the users A to G are logged into the online conference and were assigned different associated regions, as shown in figures 7-8; para.[0102]-[0103] and [0110]-[0112]); and modifying a display method of the video input of the device associated with the designated user (i.e., if the user D is designed as the next speaker, the display region D associated with the user D blinks, or is decorated; para. [0118]), expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc., as shown in figures 9-15; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 12, Tokuchi further teaches the limitations of the claim, such as identifying a primary user from among the respective users (i.e., identifying the user is currently speaking as a primary user; para.[0115]); and
detecting a change of the primary user to the designated user based on the detected identifier in the voice signal being associated with the first user (i.e., detecting a sound or voice signal (i.e., name, nick name, etc.) spoken from the user who speaks before the user who speaks next; para.[0121] and [0123]); and
wherein modifying the display method of the video input of the device associated
with the designated user comprises setting the video input of the device associated with the designated user as a primary video of the conference session (i.e., if the user D is designed as the next speaker, the display region D associated with the user D blinks, or is decorated; para. [0118]), expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc., as shown in figures 9-15; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 13, Tokuchi further teaches multiple user regions are displayed in variety of grid arrangements, as shown in figures 8-15. Tokuchi further teaches the features of modifying the display method, as discussed above (para.[0015]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 14, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as modification of the setting by pinning a designated user for a predetermined period of time in paragraphs [0135]-[0139].
Regarding claim 15, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as
identifying a second user as a designating user associated with the second device that output the voice signal audio/video cue that was a source for detecting the designated user (i.e., identifying the user who previously speaks may be the user who speaks immediately before the user who speaks next; para.[0120]); and
determining a direction from the designating user to the designated user based on the detecting the identifier in the voice signal by detecting the audio/video cue from the audio/video input (i.e., determining a direction from the designating user by a gesture such as pointing, or by a sight line; para.[0121]); and wherein:
modifying the display method of the user region of the designated user in the grid
comprises placing the user region of the designated user at a display location relative to the user region of the designating user in a same direction as the determined direction (i.e., if the user D is designed as the next speaker, the display region D associated with the user D blinks, or is decorated; para. [0118]), expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc., as shown in figures 9-15; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 16, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as assigning each of multiple participants associated with their devices in the corresponding regions as displayed in figures 7-15 as discussed above. Tokuchi further teaches the image or moving image of the designated user is displayed in the blinking region, expanded or enlarged region, color regions, etc., to emphasize the designed user among the plurality of the users, as shown in figures 8-15, paragraphs [0115]-[0118].
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Tokuchi further teaches limitations of the claim, such as a gesture such as pointing with a finger or arm, etc. in paragraphs [0121] and [0124].
Regarding claim 19, Tokuchi teaches a computer readable storage device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processing devices (i.e., server 10, as shown in figure 2, comprising a memory 18 and processor 20; para.[0038], [0042] and [0043]) to perform operations comprising:
associating, by a conference system (i.e., server 10, as shown in figure 2), a first device of a plurality of devices participating in a conference session with a first user of a plurality of users participating in the conference session (i.e., users A, B, C, D, E, F, G are in different places as shown in figures 4 and 5 (par.[0057]-[0058] and [0108]-[0109]); account information of a user who uses an online service is information for logging in and using the online service wherein the user associated with the account information is permitted to participate and use the online service (para.[0034]); and a list of information, e.g., account information, for identifying the user who is logged into the online conference; para.[0114]; a user who speakers next or user D (as a first user) is designated by a user (i.e., a second user) who speaks before the user speaks next, an authorized person, etc.; para.[0120]);
gathering, by the conference system, an audio/video input from a second device of the plurality of devices (i.e., gathering, by the server 10, a sound such as a voice, etc. by the user who speaks before the user D; para.[0121]);
parsing, by the conference system, a voice signal of the audio/video input (i.e., a voice signal, such as a name, nickname, etc. via a microphone and transmitting to the server 10 to identify the user D; para.[0123]);
detecting, by the conference system, an identifier in the voice signal based on the parsing (i.e., the server 10 identifies the user D; para.[0124]);
determining, by the conference system, the first user is a designated user from the plurality of users based on the detected identifier in the voice signal being
associated with the first user (para.[0123] and [0128]); and
modifying, by the conference system, a setting of the conference session based on the designated user (i.e., changing display form of the display region, expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc.; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 20, Tokuchi further teaches the limitations of the claim, such as associating multiple of the plurality of devices participating in the conference session with respective users participating in the conference session (i.e., the users A to G are logged into the online conference and were assigned different associated regions, as shown in figures 7-8; para.[0102]-[0103] and [0110]-[0112]); and modifying a display method of the video input of the device associated with the designated user (i.e., if the user D is designed as the next speaker, the display region D associated with the user D blinks, or is decorated; para. [0118]), expanding the display region up to a size corresponding to a point that the designed user is speaking, or enlarging the image or moving image, etc., as shown in figures 9-15; para.[0115]-[0117]).
Any response to this action should be mailed or handed carry deliveries to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300
/Binh Kien Tieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694
Date: February 2026