DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/25/2026 has been entered.
The amendment to the claims filed on 02/25/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because claim 11 in the amendment filed on 02/25/2026 has the wrong status identifier, since the words “wire” on line 14 of claim 11 are changed to “wiring”, but the status identifier is “Original”. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 15) about the objection to claim 10, the objection has been overcome by the amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 15-16) about the rejections of claims 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejections have been overcome by the amendment except claims 8 and 11. For the argument (REMARKS pages 15-16) regarding " an eighth wiring", " a ninth wiring", " a tenth wiring", " an eleventh wiring" in claim 8 lines 6-10 and " a twelfth wiring", " a thirteenth wiring", " a fourteenth wiring", " a fifteenth wiring" in claim 11 lines 6-7, 9-10, Examiner disagrees because:
1) claim 8 depends on claims 1-2 and 6-7. None of claims 1-2 and 6-7 mentions a first wiring, second wiring, third wiring, forth wiring, fifth wiring, sixth wiring, and seventh wiring in the sensor. So for the claimed language " an eighth wiring", " a ninth wiring", " a tenth wiring", " an eleventh wiring" in claim 8 lines 6-10, it is not clear in the claimed language in claims 1-2 and 6-8 that whether or not a first wiring, second wiring, third wiring, forth wiring, fifth wiring, sixth wiring, and seventh wiring exist in the sensor. Therefore, “wiring” has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “eighth”. The “ninth”, "tenth", and "eleventh” are based on the “eighth”.
2) claim 11 depends on claims 1 and 9-10. None of claims 1 and 9-10 mentions a first wiring, second wiring, third wiring, forth wiring, fifth wiring, sixth wiring, a seventh wiring, an eighth wiring, a ninth wiring, a tenth wiring, and an eleventh wiring in the sensor. So for the claimed language " a twelfth wiring", " a thirteenth wiring", " a fourteenth wiring", " a fifteenth wiring" in claim 11 lines 6-7, 9-10, it is not clear in the claimed language in claims 1 and 9-11 that whether or not a first wiring, second wiring, third wiring, forth wiring, fifth wiring, sixth wiring, a seventh wiring, an eighth wiring, a ninth wiring, a tenth wiring, and an eleventh wiring exist in the sensor. Therefore, “wiring” has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “twelfth”. The “thirteenth", "fourteenth", and "fifteenth” are based on the “twelfth”.
Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 16-18) about amended Claim 1 is moot based on the new ground rejections.
Examiner’s note
Examiner will exam claims 8 and 11 over prior art after applicant’s clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations " an eighth wiring" in line 6, "a ninth wiring" in line 7, " a tenth wiring" in lines 8-9, " an eleventh wiring" in lines 9-10. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not there are a first wiring, second wiring, third wiring, forth wiring, fifth wiring, sixth wiring, and seventh wiring in the sensor. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claim 11 recites the limitations " a twelfth wiring" in line 6, " a thirteenth wiring" in line 7, " a fourteenth wiring" in line 9, " a fifteenth wiring" in line 10. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not there are a first wiring, second wiring, third wiring, forth wiring, fifth wiring, sixth wiring, a seventh wiring, an eighth wiring, a ninth wiring, a tenth wiring, and an eleventh wiring in the sensor. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanehachi et al. (JP2007228542, hereafter Kanehachi) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2019/0305428, hereafter Hwang) and Yoshida et al. (US 10,747,375, hereafter Yoshida).
Regarding claim 1, Kanehachi (‘542) discloses that A sensor { Title (radar device) }, comprising:
a first glass substrate { Fig.2 item 30 (radar); Fig.6 items 31, 33 (substrate); page 3 lines 12-13 from bottom (radar device 30, first dielectric substrate 31 made of silicon oxide (glass), second dielectric substrate 33 made of silicon oxide (glass)) };
a circuit layer on a side of the first glass substrate { Fig.1; Fig.2 items 38 (phase shifter), 44 (transmit antenna), receiving antennas (see mark below); Fig.6; page 3 lines 10-13 from bottom (radar device 30, first dielectric substrate 31 made of silicon oxide (glass), second dielectric substrate 33 made of silicon oxide (glass), a baseband IC 42 and a RF-IC 43 in which an RF portion is formed) }, wherein the circuit layer is formed directly on the first glass substrate {Fig.6 items 31-33; page 3 lines 10-13 from bottom (first dielectric substrate 31 made of silicon oxide (glass), second dielectric substrate 33 made of silicon oxide (glass), one surface side of the silicon substrate 32, a baseband IC 42 and a RF-IC 43 in which an RF portion is formed,); Examiner’s note: Fig.6 item 32 for “the circuit layer”.} ; and
a radio frequency processing chip on a side of the circuit layer away from the first glass substrate { Fig.2 items 43 (RF-IC); Fig.6; page 3 10-13 from bottom (radar device 30, first dielectric substrate 31 made of silicon oxide (glass), second dielectric substrate 33 made of silicon oxide (glass), a baseband IC 42 and a RF-IC 43 in which an RF portion is formed)}.
However, Kanehachi (‘542) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “the circuit layer is formed directly on the first glass substrate by a panel process and includes a plurality of metal layers and a plurality of insulating layers, and a minimum line width of wirings in the circuit layer is 10 μm or less”. In the same field of endeavor, Hwang (‘428) discloses that
the circuit layer is formed directly on the first glass substrate by a panel process and includes a plurality of metal layers and a plurality of insulating layers {Fig.1 items 200 (substrate), 211 (ground plane), 320 (insulating layers), 340 (interconnect layer); [0045] lines 7-9 (the substrate 200 may be, a glass substrate); [0046] lines 9-10 (The dielectric layer 320 may comprise any suitable insulating layers); [0049] lines 1-2 (the interconnect layer 340 comprises a transmission); [0050] line 2 (ground plane 211); Examiner’s note: Fig.1 for “panel process”. Fig.1 items 211, 340 for “a plurality of metal layers”},
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542) and with the teachings of Hwang (‘428) {use multi-layer circuit board with wire layers and insulation layers} to use multi-layer circuit board with wire layers and insulation layers. Doing so would providing integrated coupling elements in proximity to the feeding terminal so as to significantly improve system performance, as recognized by Hwang (‘428) {[0003] lines 3-5 (microstrip lines on a dielectric substrate backed by a metallic ground plane and fed by a metal via through an aperture on the ground plane); [0042] lines 8-12 (providing the integrated coupling element in proximity to the feeding terminal, performance is significantly improved.)}.
However, Hwang (‘428) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “a minimum line width of wirings in the circuit layer is 10 μm or less”. In the same field of endeavor, Yoshida (‘375) discloses that
a minimum line width of wirings in the circuit layer is 10 μm or less {abstract lines 4-5 (a line width of the metal fine wire is 0.5 to 5.0 µm,)};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542) and Hwang (‘428) with the teachings of Yoshida (‘375) {use metal fine wire (e.g. 0.5 to 5.0 µm width)} to use metal fine wire (e.g. 0.5 to 5.0 µm width). Doing so would provide electronic components (e.g. antenna) with small size so as to minimize occupation of a volume of an electronic device (e.g. mobile terminal device) with low visibility and satisfactory sensitivity, as recognized by Yoshida (‘375) {col.1 lines 22-24 (an antenna having small occupation of a volume of a mobile terminal device, low visibility, and satisfactory sensitivity)}.
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claim 1, Kanehachi (‘542) does not explicitly disclose that “at least one insulating layer of the plurality of insulating layers is arranged between two adjacent metal layers of the plurality of metal layers; the plurality of insulating layers is made of a material including polyimide; and the plurality of metal layers is made of a material including copper, silver, gold, or a combination thereof”. In the same field of endeavor, Hwang (‘428) discloses that
at least one insulating layer of the plurality of insulating layers is arranged between two adjacent metal layers of the plurality of metal layers { Fig.1 item 320 (see mark below); [0046] lines 9-10 (The dielectric layer 320 may comprise any suitable insulating layers); [0049] lines 1-2 (the interconnect layer 340 comprises a transmission); [0050] line 2 (ground plane 211)};
the plurality of insulating layers is made of a material including polyimide { [0046] lines 9-11 (The dielectric layer 320 may comprise any suitable insulating layers, such as, polyimide)}; and
the plurality of metal layers is made of a material including copper, silver, gold, or a combination thereof { [0046] lines 11-12 (The interconnect layer 340 may comprise copper)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542) and Yoshida (‘375) with the teachings of Hwang (‘428) {use multi-layer circuit board with wire layers and insulation layers} to use multi-layer circuit board with wire layers and insulation layers. Doing so would providing integrated coupling elements in proximity to the feeding terminal so as to significantly improve system performance, as recognized by Hwang (‘428) {[0003] lines 3-5 (microstrip lines on a dielectric substrate backed by a metallic ground plane and fed by a metal via through an aperture on the ground plane); [0042] lines 8-12 (providing the integrated coupling element in proximity to the feeding terminal, performance is significantly improved.)}.
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jakoby et al. (US 10,141,620, hereafter Jakoby).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Kanehachi (‘542) discloses that the sensor further comprising
a transmitting antenna array, a receiving antenna array, and a phase shifter { Fig.1; Fig.2 items 38 (phase shifter), 44 (transmit antenna), receiving antennas (see mark below); page 3 lines 1-2 from bottom (slots 44, antenna surface); page 4 lines 6-7 (a phase shifter 38)},
wherein:
the transmitting antenna array, the receiving antenna array, and the phase shifter are all located on the side of the circuit layer { Fig.2 items 38 (phase shifter), 44 (transmit antenna), receiving antennas (see mark above); Fig.6 items 31, 33 (dielectric substrate, glass); page 4 lines 6-7 (a phase shifter 38); page 3 lines 10-13 from bottom (radar device 30, first dielectric substrate 31 made of silicon oxide (glass), second dielectric substrate 33 made of silicon oxide (glass), a baseband IC 42 and a RF-IC 43 in which an RF portion is formed)}.
However, Kanehachi (‘542) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “the transmitting antenna array, the receiving antenna array, and the phase shifter are all located on the side of the circuit layer away from the first glass substrate”. Hwang (‘428) and Yoshida (‘375) do not teach the limitations, which Kanehachi (‘542) does not disclose, as well. In the same field of endeavor, Jakoby (‘620) discloses that
the transmitting antenna array, the receiving antenna array, and the phase shifter are all located on the side of the circuit layer away from the first glass substrate {Fig.5 items 9 (antenna) and items 4-5, 7-8 (phase shift device) away from item 3’ (glass substrate); col.2 line 38 (The top glass and the bottom glass); col.4 lines 64-65 (radiating element, phased array antenna); col.5 lines 30-31 (Fig.5, phase shift device); col.6 line 45 (non-tunable dielectric substrate, glass), 47 (liquid crystal material 7), 52-53 (a second layer 3' of a non-tunable dielectric substrate.); col.9 line 6 (9 antenna patch)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) with the teachings of Jakoby (‘620) {use patch antenna and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer} to use patch antenna and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer. Doing so would provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance so as to comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration, as recognized by Jakoby (‘620) {col.1 lines 6-8 (This phase shift is frequency independent (phase shifter) or frequency dependent (variable delay line).); col.2 lines 15-19 (provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance, that comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration)}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claims 1-2, Kanehachi (‘542) discloses that in the sensor,
;
the transmitting antenna array, the receiving antenna array, and the radio frequency processing chip are all located on the side of the circuit layer { Fig.1; Fig.2 items 43 (RF-IC), 44 (transmit antenna), receiving antennas (see mark below); page 4 lines 6-7 (a phase shifter 38); page 3 10-13 from bottom (radar device 30, first dielectric substrate 31 made of silicon oxide (glass), second dielectric substrate 33 made of silicon oxide (glass), a baseband IC 42 and a RF-IC 43 in which an RF portion is formed)}; and
the transmitting antenna array and the receiving antenna array are both electrically connected to the phase shifter, and the phase shifter is electrically connected to the radio frequency processing chip { Fig.1; Fig.2 (see connections below) }.
However, Kanehachi (‘542) does not explicitly disclose (see word with underlines) “the phase shifter includes a second glass substrate corresponding to the first glass substrate, and a liquid crystal layer located between the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate”, “the first glass substrate includes an extension portion, wherein the extension portion does not overlap with the second glass substrate along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the first glass substrate is located”, and “the transmitting antenna array, the receiving antenna array, and the radio frequency processing chip are all located on the side of the circuit layer away from the extension portion”. Hwang (‘428) and Yoshida (‘375) do not teach the limitations, which Kanehachi (‘542) does not disclose, as well. In the same field of endeavor, Jakoby (‘620) discloses that
the phase shifter includes a second glass substrate corresponding to the first glass substrate, and a liquid crystal layer located between the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate {Fig.5 items 3, 3’(substrate, glass), 7 (liquid crystal); col.2 line 38 (The top glass and the bottom glass); col.6 line 45 (non-tunable dielectric substrate, glass), 47 (liquid crystal material 7), 52-53 (a second layer 3' of a non-tunable dielectric substrate.)};
the first glass substrate includes an extension portion, wherein the extension portion does not overlap with the second glass substrate along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the first glass substrate is located {Fig.6 item 1};
the transmitting antenna array, the away from the extension portion {Fig.5 items 3, 3’, 7-8, 9; Fig.6 items 1, 3, 3’, 7-8, 9};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) with the teachings of Jakoby (‘620) {use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna) and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer on an additional layer } to use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna) and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer on an additional layer. Doing so would provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance so as to comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration, as recognized by Jakoby (‘620) {col.1 lines 6-8 (This phase shift is frequency independent (phase shifter) or frequency dependent (variable delay line).); col.2 lines 15-19 (provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance, that comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration)}.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claims 1-2, Kanehachi (‘542) discloses that in the sensor,
;
the radio frequency processing chip is located on the side of the circuit layer away from the extension portion { Fig.1; Fig.2 items 43 (RF-IC); page 3 10-13 from bottom (radar device 30, first dielectric substrate 31 made of silicon oxide (glass), a baseband IC 42 and a RF-IC 43 in which an RF portion is formed); Examiner’s note: antennas and RF-IC are away from phase shifter 38. “the extension portion” is a bottom layer in phase shifter, therefore “away from the extension portion”.};
the phase shifter includes a first phase shifter and a second phase shifter { Fig.1 item 15b; page 3 line 19 (phase shifters 15b)},
wherein the transmitting antenna array is located on a side of the second glass substrate {Fig.2; Examiner’s note: “glass substrate” is on phase shifter side, therefore the circuit layout in Fig.2 is “away from” the glass substrate.}; and
the transmitting antenna array and the receiving antenna array are both electrically connected to the radio frequency processing chip {Fig.2 (see mark below)}.
However, Kanehachi (‘542) does not explicitly disclose “the phase shifter includes a second glass substrate corresponding to the first glass substrate, and a liquid crystal layer located between the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate”, “the first glass substrate includes an extension portion, wherein the extension portion does not overlap with the second glass substrate along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the first glass substrate is located”, and “the transmitting antenna array is located on a side of the second glass substrate in the first phase shifter away from the first glass substrate”. Hwang (‘428) and Yoshida (‘375) do not teach the limitations, which Kanehachi (‘542) does not disclose, as well. In the same field of endeavor, Jakoby (‘620) discloses that
the phase shifter includes a second glass substrate corresponding to the first glass substrate, and a liquid crystal layer located between the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate {Fig.5 items 3, 3’ (substrate), 7 (liquid crystal); col.2 line 38 (The top glass and the bottom glass); col.6 line 45 (non-tunable dielectric substrate 3, glass), 47 (liquid crystal material 7), 52-53 (a second layer 3' of a non-tunable dielectric substrate.)};
the first glass substrate includes an extension portion, wherein the extension portion does not overlap with the second glass substrate along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the first glass substrate is located {Fig.6 item 1};
the transmitting antenna array is located on a side of the second glass substrate in the first phase shifter away from the first glass substrate {Fig.6 item 9; Col.4 lines 31-32 (the phase shift device is combined with a radiating element to transmit the RF signal); col.7 line 39 (antenna patch 9)};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) with the teachings of Jakoby (‘620) {use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna) and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer on an additional layer } to use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna) and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer on an additional layer. Doing so would provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance so as to comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration, as recognized by Jakoby (‘620) {col.1 lines 6-8 (This phase shift is frequency independent (phase shifter) or frequency dependent (variable delay line).); col.2 lines 15-19 (provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance, that comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration)}.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claims 1-2 and 6, Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) do not explicitly disclose that “the phase shifter further includes a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode is located on a side of the second glass substrate close to the first glass substrate; the circuit layer includes a first metal layer on the side of the circuit layer away from the first glass substrate; and the second electrode is located in the first metal layer”. In the same field of endeavor, Jakoby (‘620) discloses that the phase shifter further includes
a first electrode and a second electrode { Fig.5 item 2 (signal electrode); col.6 lines 25-26 (signal electrode 2)},
wherein the first electrode is located on a side of the second glass substrate close to the first glass substrate { Fig.5 item 2 (signal electrode) on lower side, 3, 3’ (dielectric substrate, glass); col.6 lines 25-26 (signal electrode 2), 45 (non-tunable dielectric substrate 3, glass), 52-53 (a second layer 3' of a non-tunable dielectric substrate.); Examiner’s note: Fig.5 item 3’ is interpreted as “the first glass substrate”};
the circuit layer includes a first metal layer on the side of the circuit layer away from the first glass substrate { Fig.5 items 8 on upper side (control elements) and 9 (antenna) away from item 3’ (substrate); col.6 lines 45 (non-tunable dielectric substrate 3, glass), 52-53 (a second layer 3' of a non-tunable dielectric substrate.), 61 (control elements 8 transmit the bias voltage); col.9 line 6 (9 antenna patch); Examiner’s note: Fig.5 item 8 on upper side is interpreted as “a first metal layer”. Fig.5 item 9 is interpreted as circuit. }; and
the second electrode is located in the first metal layer { Fig.5 item 2 (signal electrode) at upper part is in item 8}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) with the teachings of Jakoby (‘620) {use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna), electrodes, and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer on an additional layer } to use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna), electrodes, and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer on an additional layer. Doing so would provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance so as to comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration, as recognized by Jakoby (‘620) {col.1 lines 6-8 (This phase shift is frequency independent (phase shifter) or frequency dependent (variable delay line).); col.2 lines 15-19 (provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance, that comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration)}.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Kanehachi (‘542) discloses that the sensor further comprising
a transmitting antenna array, a receiving antenna array, and a phase shifter { Fig.1; Fig.2},
wherein:
;
the phase shifter includes a first phase shifter and a second phase shifter { Fig.1 item 15b; page 3 line 19 (phase shifters 15b)};
the transmitting antenna array is located on a side of the second glass substrate {Fig.2; Examiner’s note: “glass substrate” is on phase shifter side, therefore the circuit layout in Fig.2 is “away from” the glass substrate.}.
However, Kanehachi (‘542) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “the phase shifter includes a second glass substrate corresponding to a third glass substrate, a liquid crystal layer located between the third glass substrate and the second glass substrate, a first electrode, and a second electrode”, “wherein the first electrode is located on a side of the second glass substrate close to the third glass substrate and the second electrode is located on a side of the third glass substrate close to the second glass substrate”, and “the transmitting antenna array is located on a side of the second glass substrate in the first phase shifter away from the third glass substrate”. Hwang (‘428) and Yoshida (‘375) do not teach the limitations, which Kanehachi (‘542) does not disclose, as well. In the same field of endeavor, Jakoby (‘620) discloses that
the phase shifter includes a second glass substrate corresponding to a third glass substrate, a liquid crystal layer located between the third glass substrate and the second glass substrate, a first electrode, and a second electrode { Fig.5 items 3, 3’ (dielectric substrate), 2 (signal electrode, upper and lower), 7 (liquid crystal material); col.6 lines 25-26 (signal electrode 2, dielectric substrate 3), 45 (non-tunable dielectric substrate 3, glass), 47 (liquid crystal material 7), 52-53 (a second layer 3' of a non-tunable dielectric substrate.) },
wherein the first electrode is located on a side of the second glass substrate close to the third glass substrate { { Fig.5 item 2 (signal electrode) on lower side, 3, 3’ (dielectric substrate, glass); col.6 lines 25-26 (signal electrode 2), 45 (non-tunable dielectric substrate 3, glass), 52-53 (a second layer 3' of a non-tunable dielectric substrate.); Examiner’s note: Fig.5 item 3’ is interpreted as “the third glass substrate”} } and the second electrode is located on a side of the third glass substrate close to the second glass substrate { Fig.5 item 2 (signal electrode) at upper part};
the transmitting antenna array is located on a side of the second glass substrate in the first phase shifter away from the third glass substrate {Fig.6 item 9; Col.4 lines 31-32 (the phase shift device is combined with a radiating element to transmit the RF signal); col.7 line 39 (antenna patch 9)};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) with the teachings of Jakoby (‘620) {use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna) and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer } to use RF circuit (e.g. patch antenna) and liquid crystal phase shifter device on a side away from a glass layer. Doing so would provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance so as to comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration, as recognized by Jakoby (‘620) {col.1 lines 6-8 (This phase shift is frequency independent (phase shifter) or frequency dependent (variable delay line).); col.2 lines 15-19 (provide for a favorable phase shift device with low response time as well as with a high performance, that comprises both features simultaneously in a compact and planar configuration)}.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), Yoshida (‘375), and Jakoby (‘620) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Paulotto et al . (US 20200321690, hereafter Paulotto).
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claims 1 and 9, Kanehachi (‘542) discloses that in the sensor,
the third glass substrate in the first phase shifter is provided with a first radio frequency connector electrically connected to the transmitting antenna array { Fig.2 (see mark below)};
the third glass substrate in the second phase shifter is provided with a second radio frequency connector electrically connected to the receiving antenna array { Fig.2 (see mark above)};
the side of the circuit layer away from the first glass substrate is provided with a third radio frequency connector and a fourth radio frequency connector { Fig.2 (see mark above)}; and
the first radio frequency connector is electrically connected to the third radio frequency connector
the second radio frequency connector is electrically connected to the fourth radio frequency connector { Fig.2 (see mark above)}.
However, Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), Yoshida (‘375), and Jakoby (‘620) do not disclose connecting (see words with underline) connecting radio frequency connectors “through a second coaxial cable”. In the same field of endeavor, Paulotto (‘690) discloses that
connecting radio frequency connectors through a second coaxial cable { Fig.4 item 32 (coaxial cable); [0044] lines 4-5 (radio - frequency transmission line path 32 may include a coaxial cable) };
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), Yoshida (‘375), and Jakoby (‘620) with the teachings of Paulotto (‘690) {use coaxial cable in radio - frequency transmission line path} to use coaxial cable in radio - frequency transmission line path. Doing so would provide a radio - frequency transmission line path coupled between transceivers and the antennas so as to support millimeter and centimeter wave communications, as recognized by Paulotto (‘690) {[0003] lines 5-6 (Radio - frequency transmission line paths are coupled between the wireless transceivers and the antennas); [0005] lines 3-4 (supports millimeter and centimeter wave communications)}.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Toyao et al. (US 7,002,511, hereafter Toyao).
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 1, Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) do not explicitly disclose that “a resistance module, a capacitive device module, a power supply module, and an I/O chip, wherein: the resistance module, the capacitive device module, the power supply module, and the I/O chip are all electrically connected to the radio frequency processing chip”. In the same field of endeavor, Toyao (‘511) discloses that the sensor further comprising
a resistance module, a capacitive device module, a power supply module, and an I/O chip {Fig.9},
wherein:
the resistance module, the capacitive device module, the power supply module, and the I/O chip are all electrically connected to the radio frequency processing chip { Fig.2; Fig.9}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. sensor (e.g. radar) with related electronic elements (resistors, capacitors, I/O, etc.) for sensor functionality) to a known device (e.g. radar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. radar performs radar function) and result in an improved system (e.g. radar performs radar function as designed, as recognized by Toyao (‘511) {Fig.2; col.3 lines 23-24 (Fig.2, a millimeter wave (MMW) pulsed radar system in)}).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanehachi (‘542), Hwang (‘428), and Yoshida (‘375) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haziza (US 10,505,280, hereafter Haziza).
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 1, Kanehachi (‘542) discloses that in the sensor,
;
the plurality of signal wires is electrically connected to the radio frequency processing chip {Fig.2 (see mark below)};
.
However, Kanehachi (‘542) does not disclose (see words with underline) “the circuit layer includes a plurality of signal wires and a plurality of ground wires” and “a vertical projection of one of the plurality of signal wires on the first glass substrate is located within a vertical projection of a corresponding one of the plurality of ground wires on the first glass substrate”. In the same field of endeavor, Hwang (‘428) discloses that
the circuit layer includes a plurality of signal wires and a plurality of ground wires { Fig.1 items 211 (ground plane), 340 (interconnect layer); [0049] lines 1-2 (the interconnect layer 340 comprises a transmission); [0050] line 2 (ground plane 211)};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kanehachi (‘542) and Yoshida (‘375) with the teachings of Hwang (‘428) {use multi-layer circuit board with wire layers and insulation layers} to use multi-layer circuit board with wire layers and insulation layers. Doing so would providing integrated coupling elements in proximity to the feeding terminal so as to significantly improve system performance, as recognized by Hwang (‘428) {[0003] lines 3-5 (microstrip lines on a dielectric substrate backed by a metallic ground plane and fed by a metal via through an aperture on the ground plane); [0042] lines 8-12 (providing the integrated coupling element in proximity to the feeding terminal, performance is significantly improved.)}.
However, Hwang (‘428) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “a vertical projection of one of the plurality of signal wires on the first glass substrate is located within a vertical projection of a corresponding one of the plurality of ground wires on the first glass substrate”. In the same field of endeavor, Haziza (‘280) discloses that
a vertical projection of one of the plurality of signal wires on the first glass substrate is located within a vertical projection of a corresponding one of the plurality of ground wires on the first glass substrate {Fig.6D}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. circuit board used in a sensor (e.g. radar) with multiple layers distributed grounding lines and signal lines for sensor functionality) to a known device (e.g. radar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. radar performs radar function) and result in an improved system (e.g. radar performs radar function as designed, as recognized by Haziza (‘280) (‘511) {col.2 lines 55-59 ( the variable dielectric layer directly beneath the RF line and that the RF line is activated by an AC voltage through a BiasT, that is to provide a strong impact line as well as two layers for two different corporate feeding networks)}).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims 1-3 but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Please see the Office Action filed on 12/02/2025 for details regarding the allowability of the objected claims 4-5 above over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/Examiner, Art Unit 3648