Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant's amendment filed 12/30/2025.
In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1, 7, 12, and 16
Claims 2-4, 8-10, and 13-15 are cancelled
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-12, 16-18 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on December 30th, 2025 have been fully considered. Respectfully the applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the examiner maintains the rejection status. Following is the response.
The Applicant in the remark stressed in the amendment done in the independent claims 1, 7 and 12 and in the light argues the claims are patentable.
The Applicant argues (with respect to 35 USC §102 rejection of Claim 12)
Applicant submits that “While Salim mentions a common DRX configuration for groupcast and broadcast communication, it does not disclose specific steps of transmitting UE determining and signaling different UE-specific cycles determined as multiples of that common cycle to different receiving UEs. In other words, Salim lacks the refined control of having a base ''common cycle'' for general reachability while simultaneously maintaining individual ''UE-specific cycles'' for optimized traffic, all linked via the claimed multiple-based derivation.”
The Examiner’s Response to the above argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 102 rejection of claim 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Applicant argues (with respect to 35 USC §103 rejection of Claims 1 and 7)
Applicant submits that “Thus, the cited references do not suggest a mechanism where a transmitting UE receives a set of candidate multiples from a base station and then selects and indicates a specific multiple to a receiving UE to derive a synchronized SL DRX cycle from a Uu DRX cycle.”
The Examiner’s Response to the above argument
As explained below, Salim talks about the selecting of additional drx configuration using a known formula, which could be a multiple/fraction. It also clearly mentions “…In a particular example the device-specific DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle period…” means the same concept as multiplying. Also Salim mentions “…Once the UEs have established communications they can exchange DRX cycle information and align on periods to allow further communications…” – which helps to synchronize. Therefore, the examiner does not agree with the applicant that, Salim lacks the concept that UE receives a set of candidate multiples from a base station and then selects and derive a synchronized SL DRX cycle from a Uu DRX cycle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20220312543 A1, hereinafter, Wu) in view of Salim et al. (US 20230397295 A1, hereinafter, Salim)
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses, a method of a transmitting user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, information indicating a Uu discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle ("...when executed by a first user equipment (UE), cause the computer to: provide a Uu RRC message to a gNB to report SL engagements and DRX configurations; and receive from the gNB an RRCReconfigure message to align DRX cycles." [¶0113]);
receiving, from the base station, information on a mapping relationship between the Uu DRX cycle and one or more sidelink (SL) DRX cycles ("To address the aforementioned issue, FIG. 9 shows shows an example of restricting Uu DRX configuration to that of SL-DRX (match or alight Uu-DRX towards SL-DRX). In general, the gNB will decide what is the best alignment that can be provided, and then gNB shares this aligned configuration (common for both Uu and SL) to UE L More specifically, the gNB (and neighboring gNBs) will broadcast supported DRX cycle and offset (limited number of choices) to all UEs in the cell..."[¶0067]); Here the offset discloses the mapping relationship between UuDRX and SL DRX.
Wu doesn’t explicitly disclose, the information on the mapping relationship including a first multiple and a second multiple with respect to the Uu DRX cycle;
transmitting, to a first receiving UE, first indication information indicating the first multiple selected from the first multiple and the second multiple included in the information on the mapping relationship;
performing reception operation for the base station based on the Uu DRX cycle; and
performing first SL communication with the first receiving UE based on a first SL DRX cycle determined by applying the first multiple indicated by the first indication information to the Uu DRX cycle, wherein the Uu DRX cycle is set for a Uu link between the base station and the transmitting UE, and the first SL DRX cycle is set for a side link (SL) between the transmitting UE and the first receiving UE.
However, Salim, in analogous art discloses, the information on the mapping relationship including a first multiple and a second multiple with respect to the Uu DRX cycle ("FIG. 6 shows an example of a DRX configuration in which a hierarchy of configurations are defined in an effort to avoid congestion in a single aligned DRX on interval. A first set of DRX on times are common to all sidelink UEs for a particular sidelink frequency configuration (BWP), and a second part of DRX on times that are device-specific..." [¶0084], see also, "In order to configure a set of hierarchical DRX cycles the longest DRX cycle (with DRX offset as appropriate) may be specified as the common DRX cycle. One or more device-specific DRX cycles may then be defined which UEs may use in addition to the common DRX cycle. In a particular example the device-specific DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle period. In this approach, multiple DRX configurations are derived from the common DRX configuration..."[¶0085])
transmitting, to a first receiving UE, first indication information indicating the first multiple selected from the first multiple and the second multiple included in the information on the mapping relationship ("As described above for the DRX configuration, UEs in Mode 2 may select their preferred DRX configurations, and in Mode 1 the base station may select the DRX configuration and transmit it to the UE, potentially based on a preference transmitted from the UE to the base station. A set of device-specific DRX configurations may be configured and each UE can select the appropriate configuration for it. The selection of configuration may be performed as described above, for example based on a parameter of the UE, or derived using a known formula. The selection of additional DRX configurations, above the common one, may be based on the QoS target for active communications of the UE." [¶0086- ¶0087]); Here the known formula (could be a multiple) gives the mapping relation of drx cycles from the common one.
performing reception operation for the base station based on the Uu DRX cycle (Fig. 2, "...The base station 102 is arranged to wirelessly communicate over respective connections 154 with each of the SL Tx UE 150 and the SL Rx UE 152. The SL Tx UE 150 and the SL Rx UE 152 are arranged to wirelessly communicate with each other over a sidelink 156." [¶0042], see also, "FIG. 3 shows a basic DRX configuration in which a single (long) DRX Cycle is configured. The UE will attempt to receive scheduling and control commands (for example paging messages) during the on periods and shut down its receive elements during the rest of the DRX cycle." [¶0049]); and
performing first SL communication with the first receiving UE based on a first SL DRX cycle determined by applying the first multiple indicated by the first indication information to the Uu DRX cycle, wherein the Uu DRX cycle is set for a Uu link between the base station and the transmitting UE, and the first SL DRX cycle is set for a side link (SL) between the transmitting UE and the first receiving UE ("In order to configure a set of hierarchical DRX cycles the longest DRX cycle (with DRX offset as appropriate) may be specified as the common DRX cycle. One or more device-specific DRX cycles may then be defined which UEs may use in addition to the common DRX cycle. In a particular example the device-specific DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle period. In this approach, multiple DRX configurations are derived from the common DRX configuration..."[¶0085], see also, "The common DRX on periods may be used to start communications between UEs when at least one UEs has DRX enabled. Once the UEs have established communications they can exchange DRX cycle information and align on periods to allow further communications. UEs may be permitted to update or modify device-specific DRX configurations to align with other UEs to facilitate communications. The sharing of information may be achieved utilising sidelink RRC sidelink messages. The preferred parameters may be communicated to the base station in Mode 1, or to other sidelink UEs in Mode 2." [¶0087- ¶0088], see also, "FIG. 8 shows a message exchange in which a transmitting sidelink UE can request a DRX configuration for its intended destination UE. The transmitting UE identifies a DRX configuration that it considers appropriate for the QoS of the transmission, and optionally DRX preferences received from the destination UE, and transmits that as a request to the destination UE." [¶0096]). Here the “DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle” means the same concept as multiplying by certain number (like ¼).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Wu of enabling the Sidelink DRX configuration to be synchronized with or proportional to the Uu link DRX cycle as disclosed by Salim. The rationale for using this mechanism is to enables the SL DRX configuration to be synchronized with or proportional to the Uu link DRX cycle, allowing the UE to efficiently manage both Uu-based RRC operations and sidelink communications without excessive power usage.
Regarding Claim 7, Wu discloses, a method of a receiving user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving information indicating a Uu discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle ("...when executed by a first user equipment (UE), cause the computer to: provide a Uu RRC message to a gNB to report SL engagements and DRX configurations; and receive from the gNB an RRCReconfigure message to align DRX cycles." [¶0113]);
receiving, from a transmitting UE, information on a mapping relationship between the Uu DRX cycle and a sidelink (SL) DRX cycle, the information on the mapping relationship including a multiple with respect to the Uu DRX cycle ("To address the aforementioned issue, FIG. 9 shows shows an example of restricting Uu DRX configuration to that of SL-DRX (match or alight Uu-DRX towards SL-DRX). In general, the gNB will decide what is the best alignment that can be provided, and then gNB shares this aligned configuration (common for both Uu and SL) to UE L More specifically, the gNB (and neighboring gNBs) will broadcast supported DRX cycle and offset (limited number of choices) to all UEs in the cell..."[¶0067]); Here the offset discloses the mapping relationship between UuDRX and SL DRX.
Wu doesn’t explicitly disclose, determining the SL DRX cycle by applying the multiple to the Uu DRX cycle; and
performing reception operation for the receiving UE based on the SL DRX cycle, wherein the Uu DRX cycle is set for a Uu link between a base station and the transmitting UE, and the SL DRX cycle is set for a SL between the transmitting UE and the receiving UE.
However, Salim, in analogous art discloses, determining the SL DRX cycle by applying the multiple to the Uu DRX cycle ("FIG. 6 shows an example of a DRX configuration in which a hierarchy of configurations are defined in an effort to avoid congestion in a single aligned DRX on interval. A first set of DRX on times are common to all sidelink UEs for a particular sidelink frequency configuration (BWP), and a second part of DRX on times that are device-specific..." [¶0084], see also, "In order to configure a set of hierarchical DRX cycles the longest DRX cycle (with DRX offset as appropriate) may be specified as the common DRX cycle. One or more device-specific DRX cycles may then be defined which UEs may use in addition to the common DRX cycle. In a particular example the device-specific DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle period. In this approach, multiple DRX configurations are derived from the common DRX configuration..."[¶0085]); and
performing reception operation for the receiving UE based on the SL DRX cycle, wherein the Uu DRX cycle is set for a Uu link between a base station and the transmitting UE, and the SL DRX cycle is set for a SL between the transmitting UE and the receiving UE ("In order to configure a set of hierarchical DRX cycles the longest DRX cycle (with DRX offset as appropriate) may be specified as the common DRX cycle. One or more device-specific DRX cycles may then be defined which UEs may use in addition to the common DRX cycle. In a particular example the device-specific DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle period. In this approach, multiple DRX configurations are derived from the common DRX configuration..."[¶0085], see also, "The common DRX on periods may be used to start communications between UEs when at least one UEs has DRX enabled. Once the UEs have established communications they can exchange DRX cycle information and align on periods to allow further communications. UEs may be permitted to update or modify device-specific DRX configurations to align with other UEs to facilitate communications. The sharing of information may be achieved utilising sidelink RRC sidelink messages. The preferred parameters may be communicated to the base station in Mode 1, or to other sidelink UEs in Mode 2." [¶0087- ¶0088], see also, "FIG. 8 shows a message exchange in which a transmitting sidelink UE can request a DRX configuration for its intended destination UE. The transmitting UE identifies a DRX configuration that it considers appropriate for the QoS of the transmission, and optionally DRX preferences received from the destination UE, and transmits that as a request to the destination UE." [¶0096]). Here the “DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle” means the same concept as multiplying by certain number (like ¼).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Wu of enabling the Sidelink DRX configuration to be synchronized with or proportional to the Uu link DRX cycle as disclosed by Salim. The rationale for using this mechanism is to enables the SL DRX configuration to be synchronized with or proportional to the Uu link DRX cycle, allowing the UE to efficiently manage both Uu-based RRC operations and sidelink communications without excessive power usage.
Claims 5-6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Salem in view of Li et al. (US 20230309016 A1, hereinafter, Li).
Regarding Claim 5, Combination of Wu and Salim disclose the method according to claim 1.
Combination of Wu and Salim don’t explicitly disclose, further comprising: transmitting, to a second receiving UE, second indication information based on the information on the mapping relationship; and
performing second SL communication with the second receiving UE based on a second SL DRX cycle determined by the Uu DRX cycle and the second indication information, wherein the second SL DRX cycle is set independently of the first SL DRX cycle.
Li discloses, further comprising: transmitting, to a second receiving UE, second indication information based on the information on the mapping relationship (" In some aspects, the first UE may receive, from the base station, an indication of a second DRX configuration to be used (e.g., reconfiguration from the base station), transmit, to the at least one second UE, an indication of the second DRX configuration, and receive, from the at least one second UE, an indication of whether the second DRX configuration is accepted for the communication." [¶0060]); and
performing second SL communication with the second receiving UE based on a second SL DRX cycle determined by the Uu DRX cycle and the second indication information, wherein the second SL DRX cycle is set independently of the first SL DRX cycle ((Fig. 8a, see also, "...At operation 4, the UE 812 and UEs 814 begin a SL DRX cycle with the second SL DRX configuration (e.g., sl-drx-config2, or sl-drx-config-id2 or sl-drx-config-index2 of sl-drx-config-list2 or codepoint2)." [¶0081], see also, "...However, SL DRX information or SL DRX configurations at a lower layer (e.g., SL DRX with RRC configuration) may also be indicated to higher layer's data traffic management for different services or communications to accommodate different SL DRX configurations at the lower layer for improving power saving as well as meeting performance specifications with balanced traffic load on sidelink. For example, the higher layer may form data traffic with a different latency specification into SL DRX configurations with different SL DRX cycle lengths, respectively..." [¶0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Wu and Salem with the idea of second SL communication with the second receiving UE based on a second SL DRX as disclosed by Li. The rationale of having an independent or different SL DRX is “…for improving power saving as well as meeting performance specifications with balanced traffic load on sidelink…” [Li, ¶0085].
Regarding Claim 6, Combination of Wu and Salim disclose the method according to claim 1.
Wu doesn’t explicitly disclose, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, information of Uu DRX cycle candidates, wherein the Uu DRX cycle is one of the Uu DRX cycle candidates .
However, Li discloses, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, information of Uu DRX cycle candidates, wherein the Uu DRX cycle is one of the Uu DRX cycle candidates ("...receiving, from the base station, an indication of a second DRX configuration to be used; transmitting, to the at least one second UE, an indication of the second DRX configuration; and receiving, from the at least one second UE, an indication of whether the second DRX configuration is accepted for the at least one sidelink communication." [¶0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Wu and Salim with the idea of having multiple Uu DRX cycles to select from as disclosed by Li. The rationale of having multiple Uu DRX cycles is to provide the network with flexibility to optimize power consumption for the UE based on dynamic network conditions and application requirements.
Claim 11 is very similar to Claim 6, except for Claim 11 UE are receiving while in Claim 6, UE are transmitting. Claim 6 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of Claim 6. Claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6.
Claims 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem in view of Balasubramanian (2021/0227619, hereinafter, Bala)
Regarding Claim 12, Salim discloses, A method of a transmitting user equipment (UE), the method comprising: .
transmitting configuration information of the common DRX cycle to a first receiving UE and a second receiving UE ("...During the group setup phase each UE selects its DRX configuration based on the group-specific DRX configuration & parameters. For broadcast communication, the UEs may choose a configuration which uses the cast type (broadcast) parameter or a DRX configuration which is common over the transmission resource pool so that all the UEs in DRX mode may be able to receive that communication." [¶0081], see also, "Also, higher layer (RRC) messages are proposed through which sidelink UEs can exchange DRX configuration information with the network or with other sidelink UEs.To make the communication with a UE wishing to reduce power consumption more efficient, it is disclosed that a transmitting UE may request the use of a particular DRX configuration at a destination UE." [¶0057];
performing the broadcast communication with the first receiving UE and the second receiving UE on a sidelink (SL) based on the common DRX cycle ("For sidelink broadcast transmissions the cast type field in the second stage sidelink control information (SCI) message may be associated with a DRX configuration. UEs receiving the broadcast transmission may thus adopt that DRX configuration and hence are able to receive future related broadcast messages made in alignment with the indicated DRX cycle. Each UE is thus aware of the DRX on period and hence can align its broadcast transmissions with that period to ensure they are received by relevant sidelink UEs in the vicinity of the transmitting UE." [¶0083], see also "FIG. 6 shows an example of a DRX configuration in which a hierarchy of configurations are defined in an effort to avoid congestion in a single aligned DRX on interval. A first set of DRX on times are common to all sidelink UEs for a particular sidelink frequency configuration (BWP), and a second part of DRX on times that are device-specific. All relevant sidelink UEs (Devices 1 and 2 in this example) are active in the first set of DRX on times such that communications are possible between them without any need to explicitly indicate DRX cycles.” [¶0084]);
transmitting, to the first receiving UE, first indication information indicating a first UE-specific DRX cycle for the first receiving UE ("...In FIG. 8, SL UE1 intends to transmit data to SL UE2 and so transmits a DRX setup request message to SL UE2 indicating the preferred DRX configuration for the transmitting UE. The receiving UE, SL UE2, may update its DRX configuration according to the request and reply with a setup confirmation message..."[¶0096], see also, “As described above for the DRX configuration, UEs in Mode 2 may select their preferred DRX configurations, and in Mode 1 the base station may select the DRX configuration and transmit it to the UE, potentially based on a preference transmitted from the UE to the base station. A set of device-specific DRX configurations may be configured and each UE can select the appropriate configuration for it…”[¶0086- ¶0087]); and
transmitting, to the second receiving UE, second indication information indicating a second UE- specific DRX cycle for the second receiving UE, wherein the first indication information is a first multiple with respect to the common DRX cycle, the first UE-specific DRX cycle is determined by applying the first multiple to the common DRX cycle, the second indication information is a second multiple with respect to the common DRX cycle, the second UE-specific DRX cycle is determined by applying the second multiple to the common DRX cycle, and each of the first multiple and the second multiple is a rational number. ("In order to configure a set of hierarchical DRX cycles the longest DRX cycle (with DRX offset as appropriate) may be specified as the common DRX cycle. One or more device-specific DRX cycles may then be defined which UEs may use in addition to the common DRX cycle. In a particular example the device-specific DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle period. In this approach, multiple DRX configurations are derived from the common DRX configuration..."[¶0085], see also, "The common DRX on periods may be used to start communications between UEs when at least one UEs has DRX enabled. Once the UEs have established communications they can exchange DRX cycle information and align on periods to allow further communications. UEs may be permitted to update or modify device-specific DRX configurations to align with other UEs to facilitate communications. The sharing of information may be achieved utilising sidelink RRC sidelink messages. The preferred parameters may be communicated to the base station in Mode 1, or to other sidelink UEs in Mode 2." [¶0087- ¶0088], see also, "FIG. 8 shows a message exchange in which a transmitting sidelink UE can request a DRX configuration for its intended destination UE. The transmitting UE identifies a DRX configuration that it considers appropriate for the QoS of the transmission, and optionally DRX preferences received from the destination UE, and transmits that as a request to the destination UE." [¶0096]). Here the “DRX configurations may be defined as an integer division of the common DRX cycle” means the same concept as multiplying by certain number (like ¼).
Salim doesn’t explicitly disclose, determining a common discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for broadcast communication.
Bala in analogous art discloses, determining a common discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for broadcast communication (“UE 115-a may determine a common DRX cycle based on which to monitor (e.g., transmit and receive) on sidelink 210 with UE 115-b. UE 115-a may determine the common DRX cycle based on a negotiation within UE 115-a. For example, a processing layer of UE 115-a may negotiate with other layers of UE 115-a, such as applications in an application layer, to determine a common DRX cycle. UE 115-a may use the common DRX cycle to monitor sidelink 210. UE 115-a may use the common DRX cycle to monitor communications of different RATs, as well as transmit and receive unicast and broadcast communications. The common DRX cycle may allow UE 115-a to more efficiently operate during wake-up times, rather than being in an always-on mode.” [¶0077], see also, Fig.6, “At 620, UE 115-d may determine, based on the number of sets of DRX cycle parameters, a common DRX cycle to satisfy each of the set of applications 610. UE 115-d may determine a common set of DRX cycle parameters that satisfy either individual DRX cycles associated with the number of sets of DRX cycle parameters or adjusted DRX cycles associated with adjusted sets of DRX cycle parameters. In cases where the processing layer 605 is a sidelink layer, processing layer 605 may determine an initial common DRX cycle based on the number of sets of DRX cycle parameters.” [¶0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Salim with the idea that a TX UE determines a "common" DRX cycle that will be shared among a group of UEs as disclosed by Bala. The rational for doing this is to ensure that when the TX UE broadcasts data, all intended receivers are in their "On-Duration" (active) state at the same time, thereby, synchronize the receivers and reduce latency.
Regarding Claim 17, Salim and Bala disclose the method according to claim 12.
Salim also teaches, wherein the common DRX cycle is set cell- specifically, resource pool (RP)-specifically, or cast type (CT)-specifically ("...The use of a common parameter and relationship avoids the need for processes to identify a common DRX cycle and parameters that are suitable for all relevant UEs. During the group setup phase each UE selects its DRX configuration based on the group-specific DRX configuration & parameters. For broadcast communication, the UEs may choose a configuration which uses the cast type (broadcast) parameter or a DRX configuration which is common over the transmission resource pool so that all the UEs in DRX mode may be able to receive that communication." [¶0081]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salim and Bala in view of Pan et al. (US 20230397163 A1, hereinafter, Pan) and further in view of Dhanda et al. (US 20200245396 A1, hereinafter, Dhanda).
Regarding Claim 16, Combination of Salim and Bala discloses the method according to claim 12.
Combination of Salim and Bala don’t explicitly teach, wherein when the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set for unicast communication, the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set differently from each other, and when the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set for groupcast communication, the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set identically to each other.
Pan, in related art teaches, wherein when the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set for unicast communication, the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set differently from each other ("In one embodiment, the remote UE could transmit an identity of the remote UE and a UE specific DRX cycle to the relay UE. The remote UE may not initiate any PDU session establishment toward the network due to the request for paging reception from the upper layers or the upper layer application. The remote UE could initiate a procedure to release the PC5 unicast link if the other PC5 unicast link is established between the remote UE and the relay UE using a different RSC..." [¶0352]), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Salim and Bala with the idea of using different DRX cycles for unicast communication as disclosed by Pan. The rationale to configure different DRX cycles so that network can manage resources more efficiently.
Yet , Combination of Salim, Bala and Pan don’t explicitly teach when the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set for groupcast communication, the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set identically to each other.
Dhanda, in analogous art discloses, when the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set for groupcast communication, the first UE-specific DRX cycle and the second UE-specific DRX cycle are set identically to each other ("UE 606 is operating in CE mode A and therefore selects a UE specific DRX cycle from among a second set of UE specific DRX cycles used for paging under CE Mode A. The second set may be predefined (e.g. in the memory of the UE), or may be broadcast by the base station 602...As another example, the second set may comprise the same number or more UE specific DRX cycles as the first set..." [¶0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Salim, Bala, and Pan with the idea of having identical (UE)-specific Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycles to, these cycles may be set to be identical to each other as disclosed by Dhanda. The rationale for doing that is to streamline the communication process and reduce the complexity of managing multiple cycles, ensuring that all participating UEs are synchronized for receiving the groupcast message.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salim and Bala in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230328840 A1, hereinafter, Cheng).
Regarding Claim 18, Combination Salim and Bala discloses the method according to claim 12.
Combination of Salim and Bala don’t explicitly disclose, wherein the common DRX cycle is determined as a common multiple between a first SL DRX cycle of the first receiving UE and a second SL DRX cycle of the second receiving UE.
Cheng, in related art relates, wherein the common DRX cycle is determined as a common multiple between a first SL DRX cycle of the first receiving UE and a second SL DRX cycle of the second receiving UE ("...The common sidelink DRX configuration may define a DRX cycle 505, which may include an active DRX duration 510 and an inactive DRX duration 515. The DRX cycle 505 may be a common DRX cycle for the remote UE 115-h and the remote UE 115-i. As such, the active DRX duration 510 may be a common active DRX duration for the remote UE 115-h and the remote UE 115-i. Likewise, the inactive DRX duration 515 may be a common inactive DRX duration for the remote UE 115-h and the remote UE 115-i." [¶0161], see also, "...In the example of FIG. 7, a single group of UEs 115 may include one or more relay UEs 115 and a remote UE. The group of UEs may share a same active DRX duration of a DRX cycle. The remote UE's monitoring window may be the same as a DRX common ON duration." [¶0171]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Salim and Bala with the idea of a common Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle as a common multiple of the individual DRX cycles as disclosed by Cheng. The rationale for using this concept is to synchronize their sleep and wake-up patterns and avoids unnecessary transmissions, reduces latency for multi-party communication, and prevents UEs from having to maintain multiple receive schedules for different peers.
Conclusion
References cited but not used: 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #113-e (R2-2100623)
Electronic meeting, Jan 25- Feb 5, 2021; Agenda item: 8.15.2.3; Source: Intel Corporation
Title: Alignment of Uu and SL DRX active time,
can be used for independent claims 1, 7, and 12 in addition to the one used.
References cited but not used: 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #113-e; (R2-2101727)
E-meeting, January 2021; Source: LG (rapporteur)
Title:[702] [SLe] High-level principles for SL DRX (LG),
can be used for independent claims 1, 7, and 12 in addition to the one used.
References cited but not used: Wang et al. (US 20240073991 A1) can be used for independent claims 1, 7, and 12 in addition to the one used.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD AINUL HUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 4126
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467