DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the empty boxes (e.g. 101, 102, 110, 116-119, 130, 180, 202, 230-238, 285, 286, 306, 380, 352-356, 367, 380, 219, 202, 381, 382) in figures 1-3 and 5 should contain symbols or text indicating their functionality. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 11 recites “the associated output voltage phase angle”, which should be -- the associated target output phase angle -- because in this way is used through the claims this term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4, line 5 recites “the associated target output voltage phase angle”, which should be -- the associated target output phase angle -- because in this way is used through the claims this term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8, line 2 recites “the energy storage”, which should be -- the energy storage apparatus—because in this way was previously presented this term in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, line 4 recites “an inverter”, which should be --the inverter-- because this term was previously presented in the claim; Claim 9, line 10 recites “the target output voltage phase angle”, which should be – the target output phase angle -- because in this way was previously presented in the claim; Claim 9, line 16-17 recites “the target output voltage phase angle”, which should be – the target output phase angle -- because in this way was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10, line 4 recites “a target output voltage of the inverter”, which should be -- the target output voltage of the inverter -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choon et al. (L. Dong-Choon et al., “A Novel Overmodulation Technique for Space-Vector PWM Inverters”, IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, Vol. 13, No. 6, November 1998, 1144-1151.), hereinafter Choon.
Regarding claim 1, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) a power converter (figure 10) comprising: an energy storage apparatus (figure 10, part dc link capacitor between rectifier and inverter); an inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) electrically coupled to the energy storage apparatus (figure 10, part dc link capacitor between rectifier and inverter); and a voltage boost system (figure 10, part voltage boost system inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY) configured to: determine a modulation index (page 1145; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; first paragraph; The modulation index for PWM inverters is defined here as MI = V* / (2/π)*Vdc (1), where V* is the phase voltage reference and Vdc is the inverter input voltage. According to the modulation index, the PWM range is divided into three regions as follows) based on a DC voltage of the energy storage apparatus (figure 10, part Vdc) and a target output voltage of the inverter (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M); and determine whether the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in a voltage boost region based on the modulation index (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; A. Linear Modulation [0 ≤ MI ˂ 0.906]; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952]; C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]); if the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in the voltage boost region (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; voltage boost region at B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; The overmodulation mode I is operated when the magnitude of a compensated voltage reference vector Vc* which is boosted to produce a desired fundamental voltage of V* is between two radii of an inscribed circle and a circumscribed circle of the hexagon): determine an adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and αh at Overmodulation Mode II; a relationship between the MI and αr the which gives a linearity of the output voltage is determined, which is plotted in a solid line in Fig. 3; The holding angle αh controls the time interval the active switching state remains at the vertices, which uniquely controls the fundamental voltage) based on the modulation index (figure 3, part αr vs. MI) (figure 6, part αh vs. MI); and adjust one or more of the target output voltage (figure 10, part adjustment of target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M; at Overmodulation Mode I or Overmodulation Mode II) and an associated output voltage phase angle (figure 10, part adjustment of associated output voltage phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M; at Overmodulation Mode I or Overmodulation Mode II) based on the adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and αh at Overmodulation Mode II; a relationship between the MI and αr the which gives a linearity of the output voltage is determined, which is plotted in a solid line in Fig. 3; The holding angle αh controls the time interval the active switching state remains at the vertices, which uniquely controls the fundamental voltage).
Regarding claim 2, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) determine an inverter command (figure 10, part inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+) based on the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) and the associated target output phase angle (figure 10, part target output voltage phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M); and provide the inverter command (figure 10, part inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+) to the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M).
Regarding claim 3, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) if the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in the voltage boost region (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; voltage boost region at B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; The overmodulation mode I is operated when the magnitude of a compensated voltage reference vector Vc* which is boosted to produce a desired fundamental voltage of V* is between two radii of an inscribed circle and a circumscribed circle of the hexagon), the voltage boost system (figure 10, part voltage boost system inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) is configured to determine whether the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in one of a first voltage boost region (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; first voltage boost region at B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952]) and a second voltage boost region. (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; second voltage boost region at C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]).
Regarding claim 4, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) if the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in the first voltage boost region (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; first voltage boost region at B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952]), the voltage boost system (figure 10, part voltage boost system inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) is configured to adjust the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) based on the adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I; a relationship between the MI and αr the which gives a linearity of the output voltage is determined, which is plotted in a solid line in Fig. 3); and if the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in the second voltage boost region (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; second voltage boost region at C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]), the voltage boost system (figure 10, part voltage boost system inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) is configured to adjust the associated target output voltage phase angle (figure 10, part target output voltage phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M) based on a second adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; second adjustment value αh at Overmodulation Mode II).
Regarding claim 5, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) the adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and αh at Overmodulation Mode II; a relationship between the MI and αr the which gives a linearity of the output voltage is determined, which is plotted in a solid line in Fig. 3; The holding angle αh controls the time interval the active switching state remains at the vertices, which uniquely controls the fundamental voltage) comprises an adjustment angle (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and αh at Overmodulation Mode II) that is a function of the modulation index (figure 3, part αr vs. MI) (figure 6, part αh vs. MI).
Regarding claim 6, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) the voltage boost system (figure 10, part voltage boost system inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) is configured to determine the adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and αh at Overmodulation Mode II; a relationship between the MI and αr the which gives a linearity of the output voltage is determined, which is plotted in a solid line in Fig. 3; The holding angle αh controls the time interval the active switching state remains at the vertices, which uniquely controls the fundamental voltage) from a pre-determined look-up table (page 1148; IV. EXPERIMENTS AND DISCUSSIONS; second paragraph; Let us consider a case using lookup tables for data angle. First, the reference and holding angles are calculated off line and stored in the memory with regard to the increment of 0.001 from MI to . If a desired reference voltage is given, a modulation index is calculated by (1) and the reference angle or holding angle corresponding to it is read out from the lookup table).
Regarding claim 7, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) a rectifier (figure 10, part rectifier) electrically connected to the energy storage apparatus (figure 10, part dc link capacitor between rectifier and inverter).
Regarding claim 9, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) a control system (figure 10, part DSP control system) for an inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M), the control system (figure 10, part DSP control system) comprising: a boost module (figure 10, part voltage boost module inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) configured to: access a target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) and target output phase angle (figure 10, part target output phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M) of the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M); determine a modulation index (page 1145; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; first paragraph; The modulation index for PWM inverters is defined here as MI = V* / (2/π)*Vdc (1), where V* is the phase voltage reference and Vdc is the inverter input voltage. According to the modulation index, the PWM range is divided into three regions as follows) based on a DC bus voltage (figure 10, part Vdc) of an inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) and the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) of the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M); determine whether the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in a linear region of the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) (pages 1145; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; A. Linear Modulation [0 ≤ MI ˂ 0.906]) or a voltage boost region of the inverter based on the modulation index (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952]; C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]); if the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in the voltage boost region (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; voltage boost region at B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; The overmodulation mode I is operated when the magnitude of a compensated voltage reference vector Vc* which is boosted to produce a desired fundamental voltage of V* is between two radii of an inscribed circle and a circumscribed circle of the hexagon): determine an adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and adjustment value αh at Overmodulation Mode II; a relationship between the MI and αr the which gives a linearity of the output voltage is determined, which is plotted in a solid line in Fig. 3; The holding angle αh controls the time interval the active switching state remains at the vertices, which uniquely controls the fundamental voltage) based on the modulation index (figure 3, part αr vs. MI) (figure 6, part αh vs. MI); and adjust one or more of the target output voltage (figure 10, part adjustment of target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M; at Overmodulation Mode I or Overmodulation Mode II) and the target output voltage phase angle (figure 10, part adjustment of output voltage phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M; at Overmodulation Mode I or Overmodulation Mode II) based on the adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and αh at Overmodulation Mode II; a relationship between the MI and αr the which gives a linearity of the output voltage is determined, which is plotted in a solid line in Fig. 3; The holding angle αh controls the time interval the active switching state remains at the vertices, which uniquely controls the fundamental voltage); and if the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is in the linear region of the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) (pages 1145; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; A. Linear Modulation [0 ≤ MI ˂ 0.906]), the boost module (figure 10, part voltage boost module inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) is configured to not adjust the target output voltage (figure 10, part not adjustment of target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M; at Linear Modulation) and the target output phase angle (figure 10, part not adjustment of output voltage phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M; at Linear Modulation) (pages 1145; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; A. Linear Modulation [0 ≤ MI ˂ 0.906]); and a command module (figure 10, part command module inside of DSP controller that output inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+) configured to: determine an inverter command (figure 10, part inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+) based on the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) and the target output voltage phase angle (figure 10, part target output voltage phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M); and control the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) based on the inverter command (figure 10, part inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+).
Regarding claim 10, claim 1 or 9 have the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, claim 6 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) generating the lookup table (figure 10, part lookup table inside of DSP controller) by varying the angle adjustment value (pages 1145-1147; II. A NOVEL OVERMODULATION STRATEGY; B. Overmodulation Mode I [0.906 ≤ MI ˂ 0.952] and C. Overmodulation Mode II [0.952 ≤ MI ˂ 1.0]; angle adjustment value αr at Overmodulation Mode I and αh at Overmodulation Mode II) for a plurality of different values of the target output phase angle (figure 10, part target output phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M) (page 1148; IV. EXPERIMENTS AND DISCUSSIONS; second paragraph; Let us consider a case using lookup tables for data angle. First, the reference and holding angles are calculated off line and stored in the memory with regard to the increment of 0.001 from MI to . If a desired reference voltage is given, a modulation index is calculated by (1) and the reference angle or holding angle corresponding to it is read out from the lookup table).
Regarding claim 13, claim 2 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) controlling the inverter based on the inverter command (figure 10, part inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+) causes the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) to output the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M), and the target output voltage has a peak voltage (figure 10, part peak voltage of target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) that is the same as or greater than a peak voltage of an AC input (figure 10, part peak voltage of AC power source 3ϕ) (page 1149; right column; first paragraph; Since the inverter input voltage is decreased, the modulation index is boosted so that the fundamental component of the output voltage can be kept the same).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choon et al. (L. Dong-Choon et al., “A Novel Overmodulation Technique for Space-Vector PWM Inverters”, IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, Vol. 13, No. 6, November 1998, 1144-1151.), hereinafter Choon, in view of Kerkman et al. (R. Kerkman, et al., "Operation of PWM Voltage Source-Inverters in the Overmodulation Region", IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, Vol. 43, No. 1, February 1996, 132-141), hereinafter Kerkman.
Regarding claim 8, Choon discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Choon discloses (see figures 1-17) the energy storage (figure 10, part dc link capacitor between rectifier and inverter), an alternating current (AC) power source (figure 10, part AC power source 3ϕ), and wherein the voltage boost system (figure 10, part voltage boost system inside of DSP controller that control overmodulation modes) is configured to determine an inverter gate command (figure 10, part inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+) based on the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) and the associated target output phase angle (figure 10, part associated target output phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M) ; and provide the inverter gate command (figure 10, part inverter command from SVPWM DSP to inverter connected to motor 1.M; through A-/A+/B-/B+/C-/C+) to the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) to control the inverter (figure 10, part inverter connected to motor 1.M) to produce the target output voltage (figure 10, part target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) at the target output voltage phase angle (figure 10, part associated target output phase angle of inverter connected to motor 1.M), and the peak voltage of the target output voltage (figure 10, part peak voltage of target output voltage V* of inverter connected to motor 1.M) is the same or greater than the peak voltage of the AC power source (figure 10, part peak voltage of AC power source 3ϕ) (page 1149; right column; first paragraph; Since the inverter input voltage is decreased, the modulation index is boosted so that the fundamental component of the output voltage can be kept the same). However, Choon does not expressly disclose a filter system electrically connected to the energy storage, the filter system configured to electrically connect to an alternating current (AC) power source.
Kerkman teaches (see figures 1-17) a filter system (figure 1, part filter system generated by inductor at input of converter [rectifier]) electrically connected to the energy storage (figure 1, part capacitor between converter and inverter), the filter system (figure 1, part filter system generated by inductor at input of converter [rectifier]) configured to electrically connect to an alternating current (AC) power source (figure 1, part AC power source AC).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the filter system as taught Kerkman to the power converter of Choon and obtain a filter system electrically connected to the energy storage, the filter system configured to electrically connect to an alternating current (AC) power source, and wherein the voltage boost system is configured to determine an inverter gate command based on the target output voltage and the associated target output phase angle; and provide the inverter gate command to the inverter to control the inverter to produce the target output voltage at the target output voltage phase angle, and the peak voltage of the target output voltage is the same or greater than the peak voltage of the AC power source, because it provides more efficient power conversion with more clean signal.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838