DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ arguments filed September 16, 2026 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-37 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged and has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Scope of Enablement Rejection
Claims 20-28, 36, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treatment of formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2 mediated diseases or disorders using compounds containing short N-formyl modified peptides, does not reasonably provide enablement for treatment of such diseases or disorders using compounds containing any N-formyl modified polypeptide chain up to 52 amino acids in length. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In order to determine compliance with the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), the Federal Circuit developed a framework of factors in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), referred to as the Wands factors to assess whether any necessary experimentation required by the specification is “reasonable” or is “undue.” Consistent with Amgen Inc. et al. v. Sanofi et al., 598 U.S. 594, 2023 USPQ2d 602 (2023), the Wands factors continue to provide a framework for assessing enablement in a utility application or patent, regardless of technology area. These factors include, but are not limited to:
The breadth of the claims;
The nature of the invention;
The state of the prior art;
The level of one of ordinary skill;
The level of predictability in the art;
The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
The existence of working examples; and
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427, F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). To be enabling, the specification of the patent must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
The nature of the invention, state and predictability of the art, and relative skill level
The invention of claims 20-28 and 36 relate to methods of treating diseases or disorders mediated by Formyl Peptide Receptor 1 or 2 using an N-formyl modified peptide conjugated to a poly(2-oxazoline) system. The invention of claim 37 relates to methods of using the same polymer-conjugated peptide system for promoting wound healing, reducing lung inflammation after infection with Pseudomonas aeruginosa, or attenuating mast cell degranulation and IgE production. The peptide portion of the molecule used in these methods contains an N-formyl modified methionine linked to leucine via a canonical peptide bond. This is the start of a chain that can contain an additional 1-50 amino acids.
The relative skill of those in the art who would use such compounds is high, likely that of one who has obtained at a Ph.D. or M.D.
In the art, it is understood that formyl peptide receptors can bind to certain N-formyl modified short peptides, certain non-formyl short peptides, and small molecules in a sequence and structure dependent manner (see Ye, R. D.; et al., Pharmacol. Rev., 2009 – provided by applicant in IDS filed May 6, 2024). These receptors are also capable of binding to longer peptides or even proteins, though this is highly dependent on the sequences (and therefore structure) of these longer polypeptides. It is known that there are many polypeptide sequences that do not effectively bind formyl peptide receptors.
There is generally a lack of predictability in the pharmaceutical art. In re Fisher, 427, F. 2d 833, 166, USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970). While predictions can be made regarding how ligands will bind receptors in silico, these are inconsistent at determining if a ligand will be able to exert a pharmacological effect in a living biological subject. Furthermore, predictions of polypeptide structures are inconsistent.
The breadth of the claims
Claim 20 is broad insofar as N-formyl modified polypeptide chain conjugated to the polymer may be 3-52 amino acids in length. It further requires at least one of the amino acids after the aforementioned leucine to contain a hydroxyl group. At this chain length, the polypeptide chain can readily fold and adopt certain tertiary structures depending on the sequence, possibly encapsulating blocking access to the formyl-modified N-terminus. Claims 26-28 narrow the structure of the poly(2-oxazoline) portion of the molecule for use in the claimed method, but none of the rejected claims limit this polypeptide chain length or sequence. Even considering the first two positions to be defined and requiring that at least one position contain a hydroxyl group (i.e., be Ser, Thr, or Tyr), there are 3 x 2049 (1.68 x 1064) possible options for the sequence of this amino acid chain when all 50 additional amino acids are present, meaning that a significantly greater number of possibilities are being claimed, as there are also many options for the sequence when an additional 49, 48, etc. amino acids are added; meaning that well over 1.68 x 1064 possible compounds are being claimed (even ignoring the variability in the poly(2-oxazoline) region of the structure). The longer forms of these polypeptides would adopt significant secondary and tertiary structures that could meaningfully change with the substitution of even a single amino acid.
The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples
The specification provides little direction or guidance for practicing the claimed invention in its “full scope.” No working examples are provided for the use of any compounds of Formula I for the treatment of any diseases or disorders. No working examples are provided for the use of any compounds of any amino acid chain composition. The guidance provided for the practice of this method of use is very broad, such that it could apply to nearly all pharmaceutical compounds.
The quantity of experimentation necessary
Experimentation to determine a therapeutically or diagnostically effective amount of material to administer to a subject can be significant. Furthermore, determining if any given compound is effective for treatment of certain diseases may span long periods of time. Additionally, determination of what 3-52 amino acid peptide sequences conjugated to the poly(2-oxazoline) system would be therapeutically effective would require significant experimentation. This would likely require testing a significant portion of the more than 1.68 x 1064 possible compounds
Because of the known state of the art, and in the absence of experimental evidence and working examples, it is apparent that the amount of experimentation required to determine which of the claimed structures could be used in the claimed methods of treatment would be efficacious is very significant and unreasonable due to the breadth of the peptide sequence being claimed.
Accordingly, the instant claims do not comply with the enablement requirement of §112(a), since to practice the claimed invention in its “full scope,” a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in an unreasonable amount of experimentation, with no reasonable expectation of success.
Written Description – New Matter Rejection
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 36 is drawn to a method of treating an inflammatory disease or disorder mediated by FPR 1 or 2 wherein the disease or disorder is a respiratory disease or disorder, asthma, COPD, eczema, acute lung injury, arthritis, psoriasis, or intestinal inflammatory disease or disorder; wherein the asthma is allergic asthma. While paragraphs [0009] and [0074] of the instant specification provide written description support for the treatment of asthma, the specification lacks support for specifically treating allergic asthma. No mention of the phrase “allergic asthma” is provided in the specification. Per MPEP § 2163, an adequate description of a genus does not necessarily support claims to a subgenus or species within the genus). Therefore, the disclosure of the genus “asthma” does not adequately provide support for the claim of a method of treating “allergic asthma.” Thus, the examiner concludes that there is insufficient written description to convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Furthermore, as this claim feature was not previously set forth or disclosed, the examiner understands it to constitute new matter. Therefore, claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim 37 is drawn to a method of promoting wound healing, reducing lung inflammation after infection with Pseudomonas aeruginosa, or attenuating mast cell degranulation and IgE production. This is a newly introduced independent claim. Applicant states in the reply filed September 16, 2026 that support for new claim 37 can be found in the working examples. The examiner notes that no example or working example in the instant disclosure discusses or relates to wound healing, reducing lung inflammation after infection with Pseudomonas aeruginosa, or attenuating mast cell degranulation and IgE production. Therefore, the examiner concludes that there is insufficient written description for the claimed methods to convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Furthermore, as this claimed method was not previously set forth or disclosed, the examiner understands it to constitute new matter. Therefore, claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-17, 20-22, 26-33, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mowycal (Houck, et al.; US 8,012,934 B2) in view of Serina (Moreadith, et al.; US 10,314,837 B2 – provided by applicant in IDS filed May 6, 2024) and Moreadith (Moreadith, R.; J.P. Morgan Biotech Showcase Presentation, 2020 – provided by applicant in IDS filed May 6, 2024), as evidenced by Ono (Terakado, et al.; US 9,771,357 B2) and Enterprise (McCarthy, et al.; US 2021/0188855 A1).
Mowycal teaches N-formyl modified small peptides and their use in treating inflammatory diseases and disorders (column 6, lines 50-66). More specifically, Mowycal discloses the following peptides: f-Met-Leu-Tyr (fMLY), f-Met-Leu-Tyr-Phe (fMLYF), f-Met-Leu-Phe-Phe (fMLFF), f-Met-Leu-Phe-Tyr (fMLFY), and f-Met-Leu-Tyr-Tyr (fMLYY) (column 6, lines 50-54; and column 11, Table 1). Mowycal teaches that these peptides may be used in pharmaceutical compositions comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (column 7, lines 29-31). Such formulations may be for inhalation (column 8, lines 63-65), injection (column 9, lines 18-21), or topical administration (column 9, lines 40-42). Mowycal teaches that such compositions prepared for inhalation may contain a mixture of trichloromonofluoromethane and dichlorodifluoromethane (column 8, line 65 to column 9, line 1). Mowycal teaches that these peptides may be used for the treatment of inflammatory diseases and disorders including asthma, eczema, psoriasis, arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and inflammatory bowel disease (column 6, lines 59-66).
Mowycal does not teach conjugating the N-formyl peptide to a poly(2-oxazoline) polymer.
Serina teaches poly(2-oxazoline) polymer drug conjugates (Abstract). The conjugates of Serina can be described by the following formula:
(column 9, lines 44-60), wherein POZ is a poly(oxazoline) polymer; L is a hydrolyzable linker; A is a diagnostic or therapeutic agent; R is an initiating group that may be hydrogen, alkyl, or substituted alkyl groups (such as a C1 to C4 alkyl group or a methyl group); a is a value from 1 to 50 (column 7, lines 46-66; and column 8, lines 53-58); Z is S, O, or N; Q is a terminating group that may be inert or contain a functional group, such as a carboxylic acid (column 10, lines 10-19); and B is an optional linking group that may be an alkylene group (column 9, lines 61-63). More specifically, the above formula can be represented by the following structure further defining the POZ region wherein the variable groups are as defined above (column 11, lines 10-25):
and wherein o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and a is ran which represents a random copolymer or block which represents a block copolymer (column 10, lines 47-50). The dotted box has been added by the examiner and indicates the A group therapeutic agent, rotigotine. Serina further describes that the conjugate may take the form of (dotted box added by examiner):
(column 11, lines 28-56), further defining the linking group and the Z-B-Q portion of the molecule, wherein o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950 (column 10, lines 49-50), p is 1-16 (p represents the alkyl chain described by the variable Serina describes as R6) (column 12, lines 40-48), and the dotted box surrounds the therapeutic agent. An example of the invention of Serina is (dotted box added by examiner):
(column 22, lines 31-58) wherein the dotted box indicates the therapeutic agent (Rotigotine). This structure could be described as a form of the broader structures above wherein o is 10, m is 190, and p is 1. Serina teaches that the agent may be any molecule having a therapeutic or diagnostic application wherein the agent is capable for forming a linkage with a functional group on a POZ polymer or the releasable, hydrolyzable linker (column 14, lines 44-54). Serina also teaches a method of treating a disease comprising administering to a subject an amount of the conjugate (column 19, lines 11-14). Serina further teaches that the compound may be prepared as a pharmaceutical composition, including compositions for injection in aqueous medium and topical formulations (column 23, lines 1-42). Serina teaches that the release of the therapeutic agent by the hydrolyzable linker can be controlled, allowing advantageous release profiles and less frequent therapeutic agent administration (column 18, line 58 to column 19, line 10).
Moreadith teaches a poly(2-oxazoline) drug conjugate system (slide 3). Moreadith teaches that candidate small molecules for such poly(2-oxazoline) conjugate systems must have a chemical handle, highlighting that hydroxyl groups are a useful chemical handle for this purpose (slide 5). Moreadith teaches that this polymer-drug conjugate system provides continuous drug delivery (slide 3) and allows for an extended circulation time (slide 4). Moreadith teaches that this prolonged release enables longer periods of detectable therapeutic agent in plasma of a subject compared to just dosing the free therapeutic agent (slide 18).
Ono teaches compounds that are agonists of ALXR (Abstract). Ono states that ALXR is also known as FPR2 (column 1, lines 25-26), which is formyl peptide receptor 2. Ono discloses that it is known in the art that ALXR/FPR2-associated diseases include asthma, arthritis, and inflammatory bowel diseases (column 19, lines 18-35).
Enterprise teaches compounds useful for the treatment of respiratory diseases and conditions (Abstract). Such respiratory diseases include chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and asthma (pg. 18, [0367]). Enterprise teaches that such compounds may be prepared as pharmaceutical compositions in the form of aerosol formulations containing propellants, stating that suitable propellants include trichloromonofluoromethane and dichlorodifluoromethane (pg. 19, [0383]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Mowycal teaches N-formyl peptides containing hydroxyl groups ( such as fMLFY and fMLYF) on tyrosine residues and their use in treating inflammatory diseases and disorders. It would also be recognized that the Serina and Moreadith references describe the same (or a similar) poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugate system technology as each other, as the disclosures have overlapping authors, are associated with the same company and both describe poly(2-oxazoline)-rotigotine conjugates described similarly. It would be recognized that Moreadith describes that hydroxyl-containing therapeutic agents are suitable for conjugation to the poly(2-oxazoline) system. It would be understood that the poly(2-oxazoline) conjugation system provides beneficial pharmacokinetic parameters to a therapeutic agent, improving said agents. Therefore, it would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art the poly(2-oxazoline) system of Serina and Moreadith could be conjugated to the fMLFY and fMLYF peptides of Mowycal to yield predictable compounds and results such as improved pharmacokinetic profile (MPEP 2143(I)(D)). Additionally, as evidenced by Ono, it would be recognized that the of inflammatory diseases and disorders that Mowycal teaches may be treated using the fMLFY and fMLYF peptides include formyl peptide receptor 2-mediated diseases such as asthma, arthritis, and inflammatory bowel disease. Furthermore, as evidenced by Enterprise, it would be understood that the trichloromonofluoromethane and dichlorodifluoromethane excipients taught by Mowycal in the inhalant formulations of the peptide pharmaceutical compositions are propellants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the N-formyl peptides of Mowycal with the poly(2-oxazoline) conjugation system of Serina and Moreadith, conjugating the polymer system linking group hydrolyzable linker to the hydroxyl on the tyrosine positions. This would result in the predictable result of an FPR-targeting therapeutic agent with an improved release profile.
Regarding claim 1, Mowycal teaches fMLYF and fMLFY peptides (column 6, lines 50-54). Serina teaches the above reproduced poly(2-oxazoline)-pharmaceutical agent conjugate structures (formulas IIa, IIb and H-[(Acetyl-Rotigotine)10(EOZ)109]-COOH) (column 9, lines 56-53; column 11, lines 9-26; column 9, lines 30-56; and column 22, lines 31-58). Moreadith teaches that hydroxyl groups can be used to link to the hydrolyzable linker of poly(2-oxazoline) conjugate systems (slide 5). Modifying the fMLYF and fMLFY peptides of Mowycal with the poly(2-oxazoline) polymer in the same way would generate the following structures:
wherein R is hydrogen, an alkyl group, or a substituted alkyl group (such as a C1-C4 alkyl group), o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and p is an integer from 1-16. These structures read on the claimed Formula I, as the claimed range of values for o and p lie inside the range disclosed in the prior art (MPEP § 2144.05(I)). Furthermore Formulas X-a and X-b read on claimed formula I wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and X is an amino acid chain 2 amino acids in length (in which tyrosine contains a hydroxyl group). Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 1 obvious.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the structures produced in the rejection of claim 1 (formulas X-a and X-b) are structures wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and m is 1-950. The claimed range in both claims is within the taught range. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 2 and 3 obvious.
Regarding claim 4, the structures produced in the rejection of claim 1 (formula X-a and X-b) are structures wherein m is 1-950; o is 1-50; p is 1-16; and R is hydrogen, alkyl, or substituted alkyl. The numerical values claimed are within each of the taught ranges. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 4 obvious.
Regarding claims 5-7, the structures produced in the rejection of claim 1 (formulas X-a and X-b) are structures wherein X is 2 amino acids in length. This is within each of the claimed ranges of claims 5-7. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 5-7 obvious.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the structures produced in the rejection of claim 1 (formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein X is either Tyr-Phe or Phe-Tyr. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 8 and 9 obvious.
Regarding claim 11, the structures produced in the rejection of claim 1 (formulas X-a and X-b) read on claimed compounds I-a and I-b wherein m is 1-950, o is 1-50, and p is 1-16. R may be an alkyl group, which includes methyl. These numerical ranges include the claimed values. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 11 obvious.
Regarding claim 12, Mowycal teaches that the fMLFY and fMLYF peptides may be used in pharmaceutical compositions comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (column 7, lines 29-31). Furthermore, Serina teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be prepared as pharmaceutical compositions (column 23, lines 1-11). Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 12 obvious.
Regarding claim 13, Mowycal teaches that the fMLFY and fMLYF peptides may be used in pharmaceutical compositions prepared in the form of an inhalant containing a mixture of trichloromonofluoromethane and dichlorodifluoromethane (column 8, line 63 to column 9, line 5). As evidenced by Enterprise, trichloromonofluoromethane and dichlorodifluoromethane are propellant compounds (pg. 19, [0383]). Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 13 obvious.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Mowycal teaches that the fMLFY and fMLYF peptides may be prepared as compositions suitable for parental administration (injection) and that such preparations are aqueous (column 9, lines 18-39). Furthermore, Serina teaches that the poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugate compositions may be formulated for parental use (injection) and prepared in aqueous solutions (column 23, lines 26-35). Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 14 and 15 obvious.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Mowycal teaches that the fMLFY and fMLYF peptides may be prepared as compositions suitable for topical administration, including in the form of a cream or ointment (column 9, lines 40-55). Furthermore, Serina teaches that the poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugate compositions may be formulated for topical administration (column 23, lines 36-43). Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 16 and 17 obvious.
Regarding claims 20-22, for the reasons described in the above rejection of claim 1, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith teach the following structures:
wherein R is hydrogen, an alkyl group, or a substituted alkyl group (such as a C1-C4 alkyl group), o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and p is an integer from 1-16. These structures read on the claimed Formula I, as the claimed range of values for o and p lie inside the range disclosed in the prior art (MPEP § 2144.05(I)). Furthermore formulas X-a and X-b read on claimed Formula I wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and X is an amino acid chain 2 amino acids in length (in which tyrosine contains a hydroxyl group). Furthermore, Serina also teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be used in methods of treating a disease comprising administering to a subject an amount of the conjugate (column 19, lines 11-14). Mowycal teaches that the fMLYF and fMLFY peptides may be used for the treatment of inflammatory diseases and disorders including asthma, eczema, psoriasis, arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and inflammatory bowel disease (column 6, lines 59-66). Such methods involved administering a therapeutically effective amount of the peptide (Abstract). As evidenced by Ono, asthma, arthritis, and inflammatory bowel diseases are ALXR (which is another name for formyl peptide receptor 2 – [column 1, lines 25-26])-associated diseases (column 19, lines 18-35). Therefore, as evidenced by Ono, Mowycal teaches methods of treating diseases or disorders mediated by Formyl Peptide Receptor 2. Thus, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 20-22 obvious.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and m is 1-950. The claimed ranges of both claims fall within the taught range. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 26 and 27 obvious.
Regarding claim 28, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein m is 1-950; o is 1-50; p is 1-16; and R is hydrogen, alkyl, or substituted alkyl. The numerical values claimed are within each of the taught ranges. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 28 obvious.
Regarding claims 29-31, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein X is 2 amino acids in length. This is within each of the claimed ranges of claims 29-31. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 29-31 obvious.
Regarding claim 32-33, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein X is either Tyr-Phe or Phe-Tyr. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claims 32 and 33 obvious.
Regarding claim 35, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b read on claimed compounds I-a and I-b wherein m is 1-950, o is 1-50, and p is 1-16. R may be an alkyl group, which includes methyl. These numerical ranges include the claimed values. Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 35 obvious.
Regarding claim 36, Mowycal teaches the use of the N-formyl peptides to treat a model of allergy-induced asthma (Example 12, columns 11-22). More specifically, Mowycal teaches using an OVA-induced asthma mouse model (column 11, lines 59-67). Mowycal teaches administering the N-formyl peptides as a means of treating the asthma (column 14, lines 25-29). Mowycal teaches that the N-formyl peptide can effectively be used to treat allergic asthma by demonstrating a reduction in airway influx of eosinophils (column 14, Table 2A) and an improved mucus plug score (column 15, Table 3). Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 36 obvious.
Regarding claim 37, for the reasons described in the above rejection of claim 1, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith teach at least the following structures:
wherein R is hydrogen, an alkyl group, or a substituted alkyl group (such as a C1-C4 alkyl group), o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and p is an integer from 1-16. These structures read on the Formula I of claim 1, as the claimed range of values for o and p lie inside the range disclosed in the prior art (MPEP § 2144.05(I)). Furthermore formulas X-a and X-b read on claimed Formula I wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and X is an amino acid chain 2 amino acids in length (in which tyrosine contains a hydroxyl group). Furthermore, Serina also teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be used in methods of treating a disease comprising administering to a subject an amount of the conjugate (column 19, lines 11-14). Mowycal teaches that the N-formyl peptides have mast cell degranulation inhibition activity (column 4, lines 15-19; Figure 2; column 11, Table 1; and column 18, lines 4-7). Such methods involved administering a therapeutically effective amount of the peptide (Abstract). Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise render claim 37 obvious.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise, as applied to claims 1-9, 11-17, 20-22, 26-33, and 35 above; further in view of Celgene (Schafer, et al.; US 2013/0116204 A1).
As described above, Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith combine to teach compounds of formulas Xa and Xb. Furthermore, Mowycal teaches that the fMLFY and fMLYF peptides may be used in pharmaceutical compositions comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (column 7, lines 29-31). Mowycal teaches that such topical formulations may take the form of a cream or ointment (column 9, lines 40-55). Mowycal teaches that these peptides may be used for the treatment of inflammatory diseases and disorders including asthma, eczema, psoriasis, arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and inflammatory bowel disease (column 6, lines 59-66). Additionally, Serina teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be prepared as pharmaceutical compositions (column 23, lines 1-11) including forms for topical formulations (column 23, lines 36-43).
The combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise do not teach topical formulations of the N-formyl peptide containing pharmaceutical composition further comprising analgesic or non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs.
Celgene teaches compounds that inhibit PDE4, enabling a decrease in cAMP levels, making the compounds suitable for the treatment of inflammatory diseases (pg. 1, [0002] – [0006]). Celgene further teaches methods of treating diseases using such anti-inflammatory compounds (pg. 4, [0043]. Such inflammatory diseases include asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disorder, arthritis, psoriasis, dermatitis, and ulcerative colitis (pg. 4, [0044]). Celgene teaches that pharmaceutical compositions containing the anti-inflammatory compounds may be topical formulations (pg. 14, [0113]) and may include a second active ingredient (pg. 4-5, [0014]). Such second active ingredients include opioid analgesics and NSAIDs (pg. 11, [0092]). Celgene states that some combinations of the PDE4 anti-inflammatory compounds and second active agents may synergistically treat some diseases or disorders (pg. 9, [0083]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the N-formyl peptides taught by Mowycal and the PDE4-inhibiting compounds of Celgene are both anti-inflammatory compounds for use in the treatment of inflammatory diseases including psoriasis, eczema, asthma, and arthritis. Furthermore, it would be recognized that Celgene describes that anti-inflammatory drugs may be combined with opioid analgesics or NSAIDs in a pharmaceutical composition. This would be recognized as a method known in the art (MPEP § 2143(I)(A) that may enable synergistic treatment of a disease or disorder. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to apply the second agent co-formulation technique of Celgene and apply it to the compounds of Mowycal or the compounds taught by the combination of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith; as co-formulation is understood in the art of pharmaceuticals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topical formulation of a pharmaceutical composition containing the N-formyl peptide-poly(2-oxazoline) conjugates of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith with the second active agent as taught by Celgene. This would result in the predictable result of a topical pharmaceutical composition comprising compounds of formulas X-a or X-b further comprising a second active compound such as an opioid analgesic or NSAID. As described in the above claim interpretation in the associated 112(b) rejection of claim 19, “opioid analgesic” reads on the limitation of “analgesic excipient.” Therefore, the combined teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, Enterprise, and Celgene render claims 18 and 19 obvious.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (Ryu, et al.; US 2003/0224987 A1) in view of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith, as evidenced by Ono.
Ryu teaches peptides that bind to formyl peptide receptor (Abstract). Ryu also teaches methods of treating diseases using these peptides, including inflammatory diseases (pg. 4, [0047]). The method comprises administering to a host in need of such treatment a therapeutically effective amount of the peptide. Ryu teaches that the disease or disorder may be ulcerative colitis, asthma, psoriasis, lung inflammation, or hyper IgE syndrome (pg. 4-5, [0056]).
Ryu does not teach methods of treating ulcerative colitis or hyper-IgE syndrome using a compound of formula I.
As described above, Mowycal, and Serina combine to teach compounds of formulas Xa and Xb. Furthermore, Serina teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be used in methods of treating a disease comprising administering to a subject an amount of the conjugate (column 19, lines 11-14). Mowycal teaches that the fMLYF and fMLFY peptides may be used for the treatment of inflammatory diseases and disorders including asthma, eczema, psoriasis, arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, and inflammatory bowel disease (column 6, lines 59-66). As evidenced by Ono, asthma, arthritis, and inflammatory bowel diseases are formyl peptide receptor 2-associated diseases (column 19, lines 18-35). Furthermore, Mowycal teaches that the fMLYF and fMLFY peptides can be used to block IgE activation of lymphocytes (column 5, lines 34-36).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both Mowycal and Ryu teach formyl peptide receptor binding peptides that can be used in the treatment of FPR-mediated diseases. It would be understood that one could substitute the peptides of Mowycal or the polymer-peptide conjugates of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith in place of the peptides taught by Ryu in Ryu’s methods of treating ulcerative colitis and hyper IgE syndrome, as both entities have similar pharmacological activity (MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Additionally, a person or ordinary skill in the art would understand that autosomal dominant hyper IgE syndrome is characterized by mutation to the STAT3 gene causing the disease. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a method of treating hyper IgE syndrome in general that targets IgE activation of lymphocytes could be used for the treatment of the autosomal dominant form of the syndrome.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the FPR-targeting peptides of Ryu with the N-formyl peptide-poly(2-oxazoline) conjugates of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith in the method of treating ulcerative colitis or hyper-IgE syndrome. This would result in the predictable result of an alternative effective therapeutic method comprising compounds of formulas X-a or X-b.
Regarding claim 23, ulcerative colitis is a form of colitis. Therefore, the combined teachings of Ryu, Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, and Ono render claim 23 obvious.
Regarding claim 24, Ryu teaches using anti-inflammatory peptides in a method of treating hyper-IgE syndrome 9 9pg. 4-5, [0056]). Therefore, the combined teachings of Ryu, Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, and Ono render claim 24 obvious.
Regarding claim 25, Mowycal teaches that the fMLYF and fMLFY peptides can be used to block IgE activation of lymphocytes (column 5, lines 34-36). Ryu teaches using peptides that bind to formyl peptide receptor to treat hyper IgE syndrome (pg. 4-5, [0056]), which includes autosomal dominant hyper-IgE syndrome. Therefore, the combined teachings of Ryu Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, and Ono render claim 25 obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 14-16, and 20-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/224,888 in view of Serina (Moreadith, et al.; US 10,314,837 B2 – provided by applicant in IDS filed May 6, 2024) and Moreadith (Moreadith, R.; J.P. Morgan Biotech Showcase Presentation, 2020 – provided by applicant in IDS filed May 6, 2024).
The claims of copending application 18/224,888 are drawn to a method of treating an inflammatory disease or disorder or a HIES mediated by formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2 comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of an N-formyl modified peptide. The peptide contains an N-formyl methionine residue linked via canonical peptide bond to a leucine residue. The leucine is connected to an amino acid chain between 1 and 50 amino acids in length. The disease or disorder to be treated is an inflammatory disease or disorder, including respiratory disease, arthritis, and autosomal dominant hyper IgE syndrome. The copending application claims provide several different embodiments of peptides that may be used for such methods of treatment. Many of these embodiments contain tyrosine.
The claims of copending application 18/224,888 do not teach N-formyl modified peptides conjugated to a poly(2-oxazoline) system.
As described above, Serina teaches poly(2-oxazoline) polymer drug conjugates (Abstract). The conjugates of Serina can be described by the following formula:
(column 9, lines 44-60), wherein POZ is a poly(oxazoline) polymer; L is a hydrolyzable linker; A is a diagnostic or therapeutic agent; R is an initiating group that may be hydrogen, alkyl, or substituted alkyl groups (such as a C1 to C4 alkyl group or a methyl group); a is a value from 1 to 50 (column 7, lines 46-66; and column 8, lines 53-58); Z is S, O, or N; Q is a terminating group that may be inert or contain a functional group, such as a carboxylic acid (column 10, lines 10-19); and B is an optional linking group that may be an alkylene group (column 9, lines 61-63). More specifically, the above formula can be represented by the following structure further defining the POZ region wherein the variable groups are as defined above (column 11, lines 10-25):
and wherein o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and a is ran which represents a random copolymer or block which represents a block copolymer (column 10, lines 47-50). The dotted box has been added by the examiner and indicates the A group therapeutic agent, rotigotine. Serina further describes that the conjugate may take the form of (dotted box added by examiner):
(column 11, lines 28-56), further defining the linking group and the Z-B-Q portion of the molecule, wherein o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950 (column 10, lines 49-50), p is 1-16 (p represents the alkyl chain described by the variable Serina describes as R6) (column 12, lines 40-48), and the dotted box surrounds the therapeutic agent. An example of the invention of Serina is (dotted box added by examiner):
(column 22, lines 31-58) wherein the dotted box indicates the therapeutic agent (Rotigotine). This structure could be described as a form of the broader structures above wherein o is 10, m is 190, and p is 1. Serina teaches that the agent may be any molecule having a therapeutic or diagnostic application wherein the agent is capable for forming a linkage with a functional group on a POZ polymer or the releasable, hydrolyzable linker (column 14, lines 44-54). Serina also teaches a method of treating a disease comprising administering to a subject an amount of the conjugate (column 19, lines 11-14). Serina teaches that the release of the therapeutic agent by the hydrolyzable linker can be controlled, allowing advantageous release profiles and less frequent therapeutic agent administration (column 18, line 58 to column 19, line 10).
Moreadith teaches a poly(2-oxazoline) drug conjugate system (slide 3). Moreadith teaches that candidate small molecules for such poly(2-oxazoline) conjugate systems must have a chemical handle, highlighting that hydroxyl groups are a useful chemical handle for this purpose (slide 5). Moreadith teaches that this polymer-drug conjugate system provides continuous drug delivery (slide 3) and allows for an extended circulation time (slide 4). Moreadith teaches that this prolonged release enables longer periods of detectable therapeutic agent in plasma of a subject compared to just dosing the free therapeutic agent (slide 18).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that copending application teaches using N-formyl peptides containing hydroxyl groups on tyrosine residues for the treatment of diseases or disorders. This therefore also teaches the peptides themselves. It would also be recognized that the Serina and Moreadith references describe the same poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugate system technology as each other, as the disclosures have overlapping authors, are associated with the same company and both describe poly(2-oxazoline)-rotigotine conjugates. It would be recognized that Moreadith describes that hydroxyl-containing therapeutic agents are suitable for conjugation to the poly(2-oxazoline) system. It would be understood that the poly(2-oxazoline) conjugation system provides beneficial pharmacokinetic parameters to a therapeutic agent, improving said agents. Therefore, it would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art the poly(2-oxazoline) system of Serina and Moreadith could be conjugated to the N-formyl peptides of copending application 18/224,888 to yield predictable compounds and results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the N-formyl peptides of copending application 18/224,888 with the poly(2-oxazoline) conjugation system of Serina and Moreadith, conjugating the polymer system linking group hydrolyzable linker to the hydroxyl on the tyrosine positions in the claimed peptides. This would result in the predictable result of an FPR-targeting therapeutic agent with an improved release profile and methods of using the conjugate for treating diseases.
Regarding instant claim 1, conflicting claim 21 of the copending application teaches peptides of sequences fMLYF, fMLFF, fMLFY, fMLYY, fMLFFY, fMLFYF, fMLYFF, and fMLYYY. These are all peptides that contain hydroxyl groups that could be conjugated to the poly(2-oxazoline) system of Serina and Moreadith (Moreadith, slide 5). Among other products, the conjugation of the polymer system would result in structures including the following:
wherein R is hydrogen, an alkyl group, or a substituted alkyl group (such as a C1-C4 alkyl group), o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and p is an integer from 1-16. These structures read on the instantly claimed Formula I, as the claimed range of values for o and p lie inside the range disclosed in the prior art (MPEP § 2144.05(I)). Furthermore Formulas X-a and X-b read on instantly claimed formula I wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and X is an amino acid chain 2 amino acids in length (in which tyrosine contains a hydroxyl group). Additionally, conflicting claim 1 allows for the peptide to instead by 1-50 amino acids in length.
Regarding instant claims 2 and 3, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and m is 1-950. The claimed range in both claims is within the taught range and is therefore obvious.
Regarding instant claim 4, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein m is 1-950; o is 1-50; p is 1-16; and R is hydrogen, alkyl, or substituted alkyl. The numerical values claimed are within each of the taught ranges and are therefore obvious.
Regarding instant claims 5-7, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein X is 2 amino acids in length. This is within each of the claimed ranges of claims 5-7. Additionally, conflicting claim 1 allows for the peptide linked to f-Met-Leu to be 1-50 amino acids in length, which the claimed ranges lie within. Therefore, the claimed ranges of amino acid chain length are obvious.
Regarding instant claims 8-10, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein X is either Tyr-Phe or Phe-Tyr. Furthermore, conflicting claim 18 provides additional sequences for X that read on the instantly claimed sequences, all containing a hydroxyl group, which would enable conjugation to the poly(2-oxazoline) system. Additionally, conflicting claim 20 allows for X to by Tyr-Tyr-Tyr.
Regarding instant claim 11, the structures produced in the rejection of claim 1 (formulas X-a and X-b) read on claimed compounds I-a and I-b wherein m is 1-950, o is 1-50, and p is 1-16. R may be an alkyl group, which includes methyl. These numerical ranges include the claimed values. Furthermore, conflicting claim 21 also includes fMLYY and fMLYYY peptides that may similarly be conjugated to the poly(2-oxazoline) system, which would then read on instantly claimed formulas I-c and I-g.
Regarding instant claim 12, Serina teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be prepared as pharmaceutical compositions that may comprise carriers (column 23, lines 1-11).
Regarding instant claims 14 and 15, Serina teaches that the poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugate compositions may be formulated for parental use (injection) and prepared in aqueous solutions (column 23, lines 26-35).
Regarding instant claim 16, Serina teaches that the poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugate compositions may be formulated for topical administration (column 23, lines 36-43).
Regarding instant claim 20, for the reasons described in the above non-statutory double patenting rejection of instant claim 1, the combined teachings of copending application 18/224,888, Serina, and Moreadith teach the following structures:
wherein R is hydrogen, an alkyl group, or a substituted alkyl group (such as a C1-C4 alkyl group), o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and p is an integer from 1-16. These structures read on the claimed Formula I, as the claimed range of values for o and p lie inside the range disclosed in the prior art. Furthermore formulas X-a and X-b read on claimed Formula I wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and X is an amino acid chain 2 amino acids in length (in which tyrosine contains a hydroxyl group). Furthermore, Serina also teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be used in methods of treating a disease comprising administering to a subject an amount of the conjugate (column 19, lines 11-14). Copending application (conflicting claim 1) teaches methods of using the aforementioned peptides, including the fMLYF and fMLFY peptides of formulas X-a and X-b, for the treatment of a disease or disorder mediated by Formyl Peptide Receptor 1 or 2 comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of the compound.
Regarding instant claim 21, conflicting claim 2 teaches the disease or disorder being an inflammatory disease or disorder.
Regarding instant claim 22, conflicting claims 3-11 teach the disease or disorder being characterized by mucosal inflammation, respiratory disease, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, eczema, acute lung injury, arthritis, psoriasis, or an intestinal inflammatory disease or disorder.
Regarding instant claim 23, conflicting claim 12 of the copending application teaches the intestinal inflammatory disease or disorder being colitis.
Regarding instant claim 24, conflicting claim 13 of the copending application teaches the disease or disorder being a hyper-IgE syndrome.
Regarding instant claim 25, conflicting claim 14 of the copending application teaches the HIES being autosomal dominant hyper-IgE syndrome.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and m is 1-950. The claimed ranges of both claims fall within the taught range.
Regarding instant claim 28, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein m is 1-950; o is 1-50; p is 1-16; and R is hydrogen, alkyl, or substituted alkyl. The numerical values claimed are within each of the taught ranges.
Regarding instant claims 29-31, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein X is 2 amino acids in length. This is within each of the claimed ranges of claims 29-31. Additionally, conflicting claim 1 allows for the peptide linked to f-Met-Leu to be 1-50 amino acids in length, which the claimed ranges lie within. Therefore, the claimed ranges of amino acid chain length are obvious.
Regarding instant claim 32-34, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b are structures wherein X is either Tyr-Phe or Phe-Tyr. Furthermore, conflicting claim 18 provides additional sequences for X that read on the instantly claimed sequences, all containing a hydroxyl group, which would enable conjugation to the poly(2-oxazoline) system. Additionally, conflicting claim 20 allows for X to by Tyr-Tyr-Tyr.
Regarding instant claim 35, the structures of formulas X-a and X-b read on claimed compounds I-a and I-b wherein m is 1-950, o is 1-50, and p is 1-16. R may be an alkyl group, which includes methyl. These numerical ranges include the claimed values. Furthermore, conflicting claim 21 also includes fMLYY and fMLYYY peptides that may similarly be conjugated to the poly(2-oxazoline) system, which would then read on instantly claimed formulas I-c and I-g.
Regarding instant claim 36, conflicting claim 22 of the copending ‘888 application teaches the asthma being allergic asthma.
Regarding instant claim 37, for the reasons described in the above non-statutory double patenting rejection of instant claim 1, the combined teachings of the conflicting claims of copending application 18/224,888, Serina, and Moreadith teach the following structures:
wherein R is hydrogen, an alkyl group, or a substituted alkyl group (such as a C1-C4 alkyl group), o is an integer from 1-50, m is an integer from 1-950, and p is an integer from 1-16. These structures read on the claimed Formula I, as the claimed range of values for o and p lie inside the range disclosed in the prior art. Furthermore formulas X-a and X-b read on claimed Formula I wherein Q is poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline) and X is an amino acid chain 2 amino acids in length (in which tyrosine contains a hydroxyl group). Furthermore, Serina also teaches that poly(2-oxazoline)-drug conjugates may be used in methods of treating a disease comprising administering to a subject an amount of the conjugate (column 19, lines 11-14). The copending ‘888 application (conflicting claim 23) teaches methods of using the aforementioned peptides, including the fMLYF and fMLFY peptides of formulas X-a and X-b, to promote wound healing, reduce lung inflammation after infection with Pseudomonas aeruginosa, or attenuate mast cell degranulation and IgE production comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of the compound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant asserts that the specification fully enables the methods of claims 20-28. Applicant asserts that the specification demonstrates that compounds of Formula (I) attenuate mast cell degranulation and IgE production in vitro and in vivo, promote wound healing, reduce inflammatory cell infiltration in a validated in vivo model of allergic asthma, and reduce inflammatory sequelae of Pseudomonas aeruginosa infection relevant to the tissue pathology experienced by HIES patients. Applicant asserts that in view of the state of the art and the data disclosed, persons of ordinary skill in the art would correlate the disclosed data to the amended claims. Applicant also asserts that the specification discloses that compounds of Formula (I) bind and activate FPR1 and FPR2 irrespective of the particular amino acid sequence of X and that varying X in terms of length would not cause forfeiture of the biological activity of the compound.
Second, Applicant asserts that the collective teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise provide no rationale for allowing a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention (of claims 1-9, 11-17, 21-22, 26-33, and 35) with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant asserts that none of the cited references discloses or suggests conjugating the POZ moiety to a peptide.
Third, Applicant asserts that the collective teachings of Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, Ono, and Enterprise further in view of Celgene provide no rationale that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention of claims 18 and 19 with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant further asserts that Celgene does not disclose or suggest co-formulating an NSAID or analgesic agent with an FPR-binding peptide-polyoxazoline conjugate of the type claimed.
Fourth, Applicant asserts that the collective teachings of Ryu, Mowycal, Serina, Moreadith, and Ono provides no rationale that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant asserts that Ryu does not disclose or suggest a POZ conjugate of peptides that bind formyl peptide receptors.
Fifth, Applicant asserts that the collective teachings of the claims of the copending Application No. 18/224,888 in view of Serina and Moreadith provide no rationale that would have allowed a person skilled in the art to modify the compounds of the ‘888 claims in a manner alleged in the nonstatutory double patenting rejection with a reasonable expectation of success. It is asserted that the ‘888 claims are silent regarding conjugating any such peptide to a poly(2-oxazoline) polymer system and that neither Serina nor Moreadith discloses or suggests conjugating a POZ moiety to a peptide.
First, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Firstly, the instant disclosure contains no working examples relating to the use of compounds of Formula (I) to attenuate mast cell degranulation and IgE production, promote wound healing, reduce inflammatory cell infiltration in a model of allergic asthma, or reduce inflammatory sequelae of Pseudomonas aeruginosa infection. As stated above, no working examples are provided for the use of any compounds of Formula (I) for the treatment of any diseases or disorders, and no working examples are provided for the use of any compounds of any amino acid chain composition. Thus, the skilled artisan has no disclosed data to combine with the state of the art regarding the enablement of the claimed methods. Secondly, the specification provides no data to support that compounds of Formula (I) bind and activate FPR1 and FPR2 irrespective of the particular amino acid sequence of X. Generally, there is generally a lack of predictability in the pharmaceutical art. As described above, the state of the art provides support for short peptides of specific sequences binding to FPR1 and FPR2. This data does not enable all amino acid sequences permitted in Formula (I) to bind to FPR1 and FPR2. Small changes in sequence can significantly impact biological activity and target binding of a peptide. Additionally, longer sequences will allow for formation of secondary and tertiary structure, which may prevent the N-formyl-Met-Leu portion of Formula (I) from being solvent-exposed and being accessible to the receptors for binding.
Second, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as described above, Moreadith teaches that the poly(2-oxazoline) (POZ) group may be conjugated to therapeutic agents comprising a chemical handle, specifically highlighting hydroxyl groups as useful chemical handles for this purpose. As Mowycal teaches that N-formyl peptides containing hydroxyl groups (fMLFY and fMLYF) are useful therapeutic agents, it would be prima facie obvious in view of at least Moreadith to modify these therapeutic peptides with the POZ of Moreadith and Serina. As described in the above rejection, Serina and Moreadith teach that POZ conjugation provides pharmacokinetic benefits to a therapeutic agent, which would motivate the skilled artisan to make this modification. As Serina and Moreadith provide examples of such POZ conjugation to other therapeutic agents, there is support for a reasonable expectation of success making this modification with the therapeutic N-formyl peptides of Mowycal. Furthermore, the examiner notes the additional explicit reference to the rationale described in MPEP § 2143(I)(D) in the rejection on page 13 of the prior Office Action.
Third, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as described above, Celgene teaches that anti-inflammatory compounds can be provided in formulations further comprising opioid analgesics and NSAIDS. As Mowycal teaches that the N-formyl peptides are anti-inflammatory compounds, the skilled artisan would recognize in view of Celgene that these peptide-based therapeutic agents could be combined with NSAIDS and analgesic agents. As described above, second agent co-formulation is understood in the art of pharmaceuticals; thus, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success making this modification. Furthermore, the examiner notes the additional explicit reference to the rationale described in MPEP § 2143(I)(A) in the rejection on page 19 of the prior Office Action.
Fourth, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Firstly, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Secondly, as described in the rejection above, the examiner relies on the combination of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith to teach the POZ-conjugated N-formyl peptides of Formula (I), not the teachings of Ryu. Thirdly, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as described above, the skilled artisan would recognize that the peptides of Mowycal and Ryu target the same receptors and are explicitly taught to be useful for the treatment of some of the same diseases and disorders. Therefore, the skilled artisan could substitute the POZ-conjugated N-formyl peptides of the combination of Mowycal, Serina, and Moreadith in place of the peptides of Ryu in Ryu’s method of treating ulcerative colitis and HIES and would have a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, the examiner notes the additional explicit reference to the rationale described in MPEP § 2143(I)(B) in the rejection on page 21 of the prior Office Action.
Fifth, respectfully, this argument is not persuasive. Firstly, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Secondly, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as described above, Moreadith teaches that the poly(2-oxazoline) (POZ) group may be conjugated to therapeutic agents comprising a chemical handle, specifically highlighting hydroxyl groups as useful chemical handles for this purpose. As the ‘888 application teaches that N-formyl peptides containing hydroxyl groups can be used as therapeutic agents to treat inflammatory diseases or HIES, it would be prima facie obvious in view of at least Moreadith to modify these therapeutic peptides with the POZ of Moreadith and Serina. As described in the above rejection, Serina and Moreadith teach that POZ conjugation provides pharmacokinetic benefits to a therapeutic agent, which would motivate the skilled artisan to make this modification. As Serina and Moreadith provide examples of such POZ conjugation to other therapeutic agents, there is support for a reasonable expectation of success making this modification with the therapeutic N-formyl peptides of the conflicting ‘888 application claims.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612