DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed 12/22/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 18, and 1 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2023, 05/17/2024, 09/12/2024, and 01/06/2026 are acknowledged. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the high potential power lines" in the last paragraph of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The high potential power lines are first defined in the scenario where the low potential power line contact portion has a bar shape, and are further limited in that scenario by requiring they be disposed outside of outermost flexible films. When the high potential power lines are invoked in the scenario where the low potential power line contact portion has a ring shape there is no antecedent basis for that scenario and it is unclear if the high potential power lines should inherit the limitation of being disposed outside of outermost flexible films.
Claims 10-16 as being dependent from claim 9 are similarly rejected.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the second hole of which the another part is exposed" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seo et al. (see, e.g., FIGS. 1 and 2) discloses an electroluminescent display device (10 and 20), comprising: a display part (10) including an active area (DA) and a non-active area (NA); an encapsulation part (EN) disposed over the display part; one or more flexible films (20) attached to one side of the display part; a low potential (paragraph [0040]: “common voltage ELVSS”) power line (177) supplied with low potential power from the one or more flexible films; and a conductive element (195) on a side surface of the encapsulation part (see annotated Fig. 2: “Side Surface”) adjacent the one or more flexible films and connected to the low potential power line.
Regarding claim 2, Seo et al. discloses the electroluminescent display device according to claim 1, wherein the encapsulation part (EN) includes: a sealing member (391 and 392) disposed over the display part; and a reinforcing substrate (393) disposed over the sealing member.
Regarding claim 20, Seo et al. (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-3) teaches a display device (10 and 20), comprising: a display part (10); an encapsulation part (EN) disposed on the display part; flexible films (20, 165, 185, 365, and 400) on a periphery of the display part; a power line (129, 179, 127, and 177) extending between an adjacent pair of the flexible films (165 and 185), and having an exposed portion (see annotated FIG. 2: “exposed portion”) defined by at least one hole (see annotated FIG. 2: “open hole”); and a conductive element (195) extending from the encapsulation part toward the power line on an outer periphery of the encapsulation part, and electrically connecting the power line to the encapsulation part at the at least one hole, wherein the conductive element includes a conductive material, including copper or tin (paragraph [0047]: “copper”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Graff et al. (US 6923702 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Seo et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 2) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 2, wherein the sealing member (391 and 392) includes: a first adhesive layer (392); and a barrier layer (391).
However, Seo et al. fails to teach a second adhesive layer, that the barrier layer is disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, and that the barrier layer includes a second metal material.
Graff et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 2) teaches an encapsulation part (230, 260, and 280) including a sealing member (230 and 260) and a reinforcing substrate (280), wherein the sealing substrate includes: a first adhesive layer (240); a second adhesive layer (270); and a barrier layer (265) disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer and including a second metal material (col. 5 lines 55-60) for the purpose of preventing the deterioration of the display device (col. 1 lines 56-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encapsulation part as described by Graff et al. into the electroluminescent display device as described by Seo et al. for the purpose of preventing deterioration (col. 1 lines 56-62).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1) as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Seo et al. teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 2.
However, Seo et al. fails to explicitly teach that the reinforcing substrate includes one of glass or a plastic polymer.
Seo et al. does teach of a need for an encapsulation layer to prevent the penetration of water (paragraph [0052]).
Seo et al. further teaches of a finite number of possible materials that should be used to form the encapsulation layer (paragraph [0052]: “such as a silicon oxide (SiO-x), a silicon nitride (SiNx), and the like”).
Silica, a form of silicon dioxide (SiO-2) is a type of glass that is chemically inert and thermally stable and can be used as a barrier against water penetration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select silicon dioxide from amongst the list of materials as described by Seo et al. as a known potential material to solve the problem of water penetration with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Suk et al. (KR 20140096635 A).
Regarding claim 5, Seo et al. teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 2.
However, Seo et al. fails to teach that the conductive element extends to an upper surface of the reinforcing substrate so as to cover a part of the upper surface of the reinforcing substrate.
Suk et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 2) teaches that the conductive element (156 and 170) extends to an upper surface of the reinforcing substrate (130) so as to cover a part of the upper surface of the reinforcing substrate for the purpose of effectively removing static buildup (paragraph [0022] of translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the conductive element extending to an upper surface as described by Suk et al. to the electroluminescent display device as described by Seo et al. for the purpose of removing static buildup (paragraph [0022] of translation).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bang et al. (US 20220173197 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Seo et al. (see, e.g., Figs. 2 and 3) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a link line (179) supplied with a power voltage or a data voltage (paragraph [0066]) from the one or more flexible films; a first short bar (127) connected to the link line and disposed in one direction (x) of the display part; and a plurality of high potential power lines (178) disposed in another direction (y) in the active area.
However, Seo et al. fails to expressly teach that the high potential power lines are connected to the first short bar; and a second short bar connected to the high potential power lines and disposed in the one direction of the display area.
Bang et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 1) teaches a display device comprising: a link line (DL) supplied with a power voltage or a data voltage from the one or more flexible films (PAa, BA, and PAb); a first short bar (ELV) connected to the link line and disposed in one direction (D1) of the display part (AAU and AAL); a plurality of high potential power lines (ELH) connected to the first shot bar and disposed in another direction (D2) in the active area; and a second short bar (ELV) connected to the high potential power lines and disposed in the one direction of the display part for the purpose of reducing excess heat generation and power consumption (paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the line structure as described by Bang et al. to the electroluminescent display device as described by Seo et al. for the purpose of reducing excess heat generation (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Seo et al. teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 7.
However, Seo et al. fails to expressly teach that the low potential power line is disposed between link lines connected to adjacent pair of the one or more flexible films.
Bang et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 4) teaches that the low potential (paragraph [0046]) power line (ELHmp) is disposed between link lines (DLm-1 and DLm) connected to adjacent pair of the one or more flexible films (PAa, BA, and PAb) for the purpose of reducing excess heat generation (paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the line structure as described by Bang et al. to the electroluminescent display device as described by Seo et al. for the purpose of reducing excess heat generation (paragraph [0002]).
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 11164933 B2) in view of Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han et al. (see, e.g., Figs. 1 and 4) teaches an electroluminescent display device (col. 4 lines 5-10), comprising: a display part (NA, AA, and GP) including an active area (AA) and a non-active area (NA); one or more flexible films (430) attached to one side of the display part; a low potential power line (200) supplied with low potential power from the one or more flexible films; and a conductive element (170) connected to the low potential power line.
However, Han et al fails to teach an encapsulation part disposed over the display part, and that the conductive element is on a side surface of the encapsulation part adjacent the one or more flexible films.
Seo et al. teaches an encapsulation part (EN) disposed over the display part and a conductive element (195) on a side surface of the encapsulation part (see annotated Fig. 2) adjacent the one or more flexible films for the purpose of preventing damage to the light emitting elements (paragraph [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encapsulation part as described by Seo et al. to the electroluminescent display device as described by Han et al. for the purpose of preventing damage to the light emitting elements (paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Han et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 1) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a low potential power line contact portion (CP) disposed over the low potential power line and connected to the low potential power line, wherein the low potential power line contact portion has one of: an inverse triangular shape between adjacent pair of the one or more flexible films (CP between 430), a bar shape parallel to one direction between the adjacent pair of the one or more flexible films and the active area and does not overlap high potential power lines respectively disposed outside of outermost flexible films of the one or more flexible films on left and right, or a ring shape excluding a left upper end and a right upper end of the display part where the high potential power lines are respectively disposed and is in contact with an edge of the encapsulation part.
Regarding claim 10, Han et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 4) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 9, further comprising a planarization layer (150) extending to the outside of the encapsulation part so as to cover a part of the low potential power line contact portion.
Regarding claim 11, Han et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 4) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 10, wherein the planarization layer includes a first open hole (filled by 210 and 220) prepared by removing a part of the planarization layer to expose a part of an upper surface of the low potential power line contact portion.
Claims 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 11164933 B2) in view of Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 20160043348 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Han et al. (see, e.g., Fig. 4) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 11, further comprising: a bank (160) extending to an outside of the encapsulation part so as to cover the planarization layer.
However, Han et al. fails to teach that the bank fully covers the planarization layer.
Zhang (see, e.g., FIG. 2) teaches a bank (21: “pixel defining layer”) that fully covers a planarization layer (19) for the purpose of later forming a dam having a closed ring shape surrounding the display region in order to simplify the manufacturing process and extend the service life of the device (paragraph [0057] explains how forming the dam integrally with the bank is beneficial and paragraph [0051] and [0061] explains how having the dam have a closed ring shape surrounding the display is beneficial).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bank fully covering the planarization layer as described by Zhang to the electroluminescent display device as described by Han et al. in view of Seo et al. for the purpose of simplifying manufacturing and extending service life (paragraphs [0051], [0057], and [0061]).
An annotated exemplary figure is provided below showing the potential modification made to Han et al. by Seo et al. and Zhang by claims 1 and 12 for the purpose of better communicating the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 13, Han et al. in view of Seo et al., and further in view of Zhang (see, e.g., annotated modified Fig. 4) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 12, wherein the bank is disposed to cover a part of an edge of the low potential power line contact portion (see annotated modified Fig. 4: “covering portion”) except a central portion (central portion being defined as the area filled by 210 220 and 170) of the low potential power line contact portion, and includes a second hole (see annotated modified Fig. 4: “hole 2”, no matter what shape the bank portion added by the modification for the rejection on claim 12 takes, there will always be a second hole defined by the fact that the conductive element 170 needs to contact both 220 and E2) through which the central portion of the low potential power line contact portion is exposed (electrically exposed by 220, 210, and 170).
Regarding claim 15, Han et al. teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 13.
However Han et al. fails to expressly teach that a tip of the encapsulation part is located within a second open hole so as to be in contact with the low potential power line contact portion through the second hole, and wherein the tip end of the encapsulation part is located only in a part of the second open hole, and another part of the second open hole is exposed.
Seo et al. (see, e.g., FIG. 2) teaches that a tip of the encapsulation part (EN) is located within a second open hole (see annotated FIG. 2: “encapsulation contact” and “open hole”) so as to be in contact with the low potential power line contact portion (177) through the second hole, and wherein the tip end of the encapsulation part (sidewall covering 195) is located only in a part of the second open hole, and another part of the second open hole is exposed (see annotated FIG. 2: “exposed portion”) for the purpose of protecting the light emitting elements while reducing the weight of the device (paragraph [0003], leaving another part exposed reduces the total area the encapsulation part needs to cover thereby reducing the weight and the EN makes contact to ensure the light emitting element is still protected from outside elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a tip end of the encapsulation located within a hole with another part exposed as described by Seo et al. to the electroluminescent display device described by Han et al. for the purpose of reducing weight while still protecting the light emitting elements (paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, Han et al. (see, e.g., annotated modified Fig. 4) teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 15, wherein the conductive element (170) is in contact (electrical contact by way of 210 and 220) with the low potential power line contact portion (200) through the second hole (see annotated modified Fig. 4: “hole 2”) of which the another part is exposed.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 11164933 B2) in view of Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1) and Zhang (US 20160043348 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shim et al. (US 20160293888 A1).
Regarding claim 14 Han et al. (see, e.g., FIG. 4) teaches the electroluminescent device according to claim 13.
However, Han et al. fails to teach the device further comprising: a cathode extending to the non-active area and in contact with a part of the low potential power line contact portion through a second open hole.
Shim et al (see, e.g., FIG. 5) teaches a device further comprising: a cathode (480) extending to the non-active area (CONTACT) and in contact with a part of the low potential power line contact portion (520) through a second open hole (590) for the purpose of reducing or eliminating degradation in brightness (paragraph [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cathode in contact with the low potential power line contact portion in an open hole as described by Shim et al. to the electroluminescent display device as described by Han et al. in view of Seo et al. and Zhang for the purpose of preventing degradation of screen brightness (paragraph [0008]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20200135835 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moyer (US 20180346371 A1).
Regarding claim 17 Seo et al. teaches the electroluminescent display device according to claim 1.
However Seo et al. fails to teach that the conductive element includes a silver paste.
Moyer teaches a silver paste (paragraph [0002]) for use in shielding and carrying current for the purpose of reducing contact resistance (paragraph [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of silver paste as described by Moyer to the electroluminescent display device as described by Seo et al. for the purpose of reducing contact resistance (paragraph [0016]).
Conclusion
/AIDAN D BANKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 February 26, 2026