DETAILED ACTION
The examiner of record has changed. Please direct all further correspondence to ZACHARY J MIKNIS whose telephone number is (571) 272-7008.
Status of the Application
Applicants’ amendment and election of 6 March 2026 are entered.
Claims 1-21 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Formula I-a and hyper-IgE syndrome in the reply filed on 6 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites that the method is achieved by administration of a compound of Formula (I): X-Leu-Met-N-formyl. The BRI of this is a N- to C-terminal arrangement of the peptide, such that an X sequence of an amino acid chain of 2 to 50 residues is placed at the N-terminus of the peptide followed by the Leu-Met-N-formyl, where the -N-formyl is attached to the C-terminus of the peptide.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 because it does not contain a "Sequence Listing" as a separate part of the disclosure or a CRF of the “Sequence Listing.”.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
A "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure; together with
An amendment specifically directing its entry into the application in accordance with 37 CFR 1.825(a)(2);
A statement that the "Sequence Listing" includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.821(a)(4); and
A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.825(a)(3).
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) a) or b) above, Applicant must also provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) c) or d) above, applicant must also provide:
A CRF in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) or 1.821(e)(2) as required by 1.825(a)(5); and
A statement according to item 2) a) or b) above.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). See both the claims and specification disclosing peptide of four or more specifically enumerated L-amino acids.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The enablement rejection for claims 1-20 rests upon issues concerning the compound of Formula (I) as discussed in the claim interpretation above, and more fully below with respect to the relevant Wands factors.
“[T]o be enabling, the specification of a patent must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without ‘undue experimentation.’” Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk 108 F.3d 1361, 1365, 42 USPQ2d 1001, 1004 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Wright 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993); See also Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 1212, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1026 (Fed. Cir. 1991); In re Fisher 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). Further, in In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988) the court stated:
Factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation have been summarized by the board in Ex parte Forman [230 USPQ 546, 547 (BdPatAppInt 1986)]. They include (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredict-ability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Nature of the Invention
The invention is drawn to a method of treating a disease or disorder mediated by formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2 by administering to a subject a compound of Formula (I) X-Leu-Met-N-formyl, where X is an amino acid chain between 1-50 residues in length.
Breadth of the Claims
As noted above, the BRI of the claimed compound is that it provides in an N- to C-terminal arrangement a peptide X-L-M-N--formyl. The X portion being a peptide between 1 to 50 amino acids in length provides for a broad compound. The disease or disorder is broadly claimed as one mediated by formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2.
State of the Prior Art
Short peptides such as formyl-MLF, formyl-MLFF, and formyl-MMYALF are recognized as binding to formyl peptide receptors (see e.g. Pinilla et al. Mol. Pharmcol. 84:314-324, published September 2013 and He H and Ye R Molecules 22:455, published 13 March 2017). The art does not recognize a compound X-L-M-N-formyl as binding to formyl peptide receptors 1 or 2.
Relative Skill of those in the Art
The relative skill of those in the art is high.
Predictability or Unpredictability of the Art
There is a general lack of predictability in the pharmaceutical art. In re Fisher, 427, F. 2d 833, 166, USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970).
Amount of Direction or Guidance Given
The disclosure includes compounds in an opposite arrangement as compared to the X-L-M-N-formyl as claimed. This includes fMLYF, fMLFF, fMLFY, fMLYY, fMLFFY, fMLFYF, fMLYFF, and fMLYYY. No compounds are disclosed or guidance given on species that match the BRI of the N- to C-terminal arrangement of X-L-M-N-formyl.
Presence/Absence of Working Examples
The working examples utilize fMLFF and fMLYF. No examples show any other peptides as useful, nor that any meet the BRI of the X-L-M-N-formyl arrangement as claimed.
Quantity of Experimentation Necessary
All experimentation is placed on the part of the skilled artisan. The Applicants have not disclosed any peptides reading upon the genus as claimed, but rather those that are in an opposite N- to C-terminal arrangement. As noted, the X-L-M-N-formyl is broad given the limitations of the X moiety being between 1 and 50 amino acid residues in length. There is no reasonable assurance that such a compound actually binds to formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2. Likewise, there is no reasonable assurance that the genus or species within serve to treat a disease or condition mediated by formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2.
Since all experimentation in this instance is placed on the skilled artisan, the number of species is broad, and the conditions to be treated are broad, the collective experimentation is undue.
In view of the Wands factors as discussed above, it is the Examiner’s opinion that the claims are not fully enabled and one of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to practice the invention as claimed herein, without a reasonable assurance of success.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating allergic asthma, promoting wound healing, reducing lung inflammation after infection with Pseudomonas aeruginosa, and attenuating mast cell degranulation and IgE production by administering a compound of Formula (Ia) through (Ig) or a stereoisomer or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of treating any disease or disorder mediated by formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2 by administering a compound of Formula (Ia) through (Ig) or a stereoisomer or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Nature of the Invention
The invention is drawn to a method of treating a disease or disorder mediated by formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2 by administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I), X-Leu-Met-N-formyl, where X is an amino acid chain between 1 and 50 amino acids in length. More narrow claims restrict the disease or condition to be treated, and claim 21 recites a series of eight specific formylated peptides.
Breadth of the Claims
The claims are broad concerning both the disease or disorder to be treated as well as the compound itself. The disease or disorder is defined by a particular target rather than by the disease or disorder itself. The compound is broad since the X element allows for significant variability, with no guidance on at what point the additional residues impact binding to FPR1 or FPR2. As noted additionally above, the BRI of the genus of Formula (I) includes compounds that do not read upon any species as disclosed. Even assuming that the generic peptide should be represented by a formula N-formyl-Met-Leu-X, there is a broad genus associated with the X element.
State of the Prior Art
As noted above, the prior art recognizes formyl peptides such as fMLF and fMLFF. The prior art does not recognize formyl peptides that serve as a therapeutic for any disease or disorder mediated by FPR1 or FPR2, i.e. a nexus between FPR1 or FPR2 and treatment of any disease or condition involving those receptors.
Relative Skill of those in the Art
The relative skill of those in the art is high.
Predictability or Unpredictability of the Art
There is a general lack of predictability in the pharmaceutical art. In re Fisher, 427, F. 2d 833, 166, USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970).
Amount of Direction or Guidance Given
The specification generically links FPR binding to an antigen to various effects including myeloid cell migration, inflammatory-mediator release, increased phagocytosis, and gene transcription (see e.g. p.2). The specification also alleges that manipulation of FPRs with modified peptides can inhibit inflammatory effects caused by IgE binding to an antigen that is generically linked to anti-myeloid effects encompassing lung infiltration in asthma (see e.g. p.2).
The claims allow for X to be an amino acid chain of between 1 and 50 residues, but the only guidance presented regards single amino acids, dipeptides and tripeptides. As noted above, a single amino acid is not an amino acid chain. The eight formulas found in claim 21 are disclosed as exemplary species.
Presence/Absence of Working Examples
The working examples concern usage of only fMLFF and fMLYF. In the Examples, the peptides can promote wound healing in a model based upon A649 cells, treat mice in a model of allergic asthma, reduce inflammatory response to P. aeruginosa infection, and attenuate mast cell degranulation and IgE production in vivo. No Examples link the generic peptide or other formyl peptides to treatment of any disease or disorder mediated by FPR1 or FPR2.
Quantity of Experimentation Necessary
Nearly all efforts are placed on the part of the skilled artisan rather than being disclosed in the specification as filed. Firstly, the skilled artisan is presented with a broad assortment of potential peptides reading upon Formula (I), even disregarding the issues with arrangement as compared to disclosed species. Secondly, the artisan is presented with a method of treatment that focuses only on the receptor to be targeted rather than any specific diseases or disorders, which is similarly broad. This is also viewed in light of the specification only disclosing eight peptides, only two of which are utilized for any actual experiments. Those experiments as noted above are focused on narrow diseases or conditions rather than establishing a general structure-function nexus between modulation of FPR1 or FPR2 and treatment of any disease or condition mediated by those receptors.
Collectively, the skilled artisan is presented with an undue burden in having to both prepare compounds from the genus and establish model systems that reasonably correlate FPR1 or FPR2 modulation with treatment of any disease mediated by those receptors. Again, this is also viewed in light of no actual species reading upon the BRI of Formula (I) being disclosed. Merely having to prepare compounds of Formula (I) might be possible through extensive but not undue experimentation, but having to establish a broad structure-function correlation to enable the claimed method places the level of experimentation at an undue level.
In view of the Wands factors as discussed above, it is the Examiner’s opinion that the claims are not fully enabled and one of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to practice the invention as claimed herein, without a reasonable assurance of success.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
At issue with respect to written description is the discrepancy between the claimed method utilizing a compound X-L-M-N-formyl and the disclosed compounds. As noted above, the BRI of the X-L-M-N-formyl compound of formula (I) is one where the elements are present in an N- to C-terminal order. Taking into account that X can be any amino acid chain between 2 and 50 amino acids in length, this is a broad genus of compounds. The further restrictions on X indicate that generally it ranges from 1 to 3 amino acids, but this is not found in all claims.
The peptides as claimed are required to treat a disease or disorder mediated by formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2. This is a broad genus of conditions defined by a target rather than actual conditions. Certain claims do restrict this to a smaller genus or a specific condition, such as claims 2-14.
The claims require treatment. The art is generally considered unpredictable. The disclosure indicates eight compounds were reduced to practice: fMLYF, fMLFF, fMLFY, fMLYY, fMLFFY, fMLFYF, fMLYFF, and fMLYYY. All of these are in opposite order from the BRI of Formula (I) as claimed.
The prior art recognizes fMLFF as targeting formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2, for instance in US 9,310,364 B1. There is no indication that the prior art recognizes compounds of X-Leu-Met-N-formyl as targeting formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2.
Accordingly, there would be no reasonable conclusion that any peptides reading upon the generic Formula (I) of structure X-Leu-Met-N-formyl were possessed by Applicants. Since there were no peptides possessed by Applicants reading upon the genus of Formula (I), it also follows that the method of treatment using compounds of Formula (I) was not possessed by Applicants.
None of the dependent claims narrow the limitations such that a species reading upon Formula (I) is present.
Since the claims are drawn to a broad genus, the art does not recognize the generic formula as one that targets formyl peptide receptor 1 or 2, and the specification does not disclose any species reading upon the genus as claimed, the Examiner finds that written description is lacking in the claims.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 depends from claim 1, but recites compounds that are in a different orientation than found in claim 1, such that it is unclear whether the Applicants are claiming a compound of formula X-L-M-N-formyl. The compounds of claim 21 are all such that the format in N- to C-terminus is N-formyl-M-L-X. Given this confusion, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
For the purposes of applying prior art, the Examiner will interpret the product as being in an N-formyl-M-L-X configuration in accordance with the disclosed species of Formulas Ia through Ig.
Claims 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claims 15-18, independent claim 1 indicates that X is “an amino acid chain between 1-50 amino acids in length”. Accordingly, a single amino acid as in claims 15-17 or a claimed single amino acid such as Tyr, Ser, or Thr as in claim 18 does not further limit the claim, as it is not an amino acid chain but rather a single amino acid.
With respect to claim 21, as noted above, claim 1 recites a compound X-L-M-N-formyl, which is interpreted as being arranged in N- to C-terminus order. However, all of the compounds of claim 21 are presented in an opposite arrangement where the N-formyl-Met is present as the N-terminal residue such that all compounds are represented by a generic formula N-formyl-Met-Leu-X. This fails to further limit the generic formula of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 15-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He H and Ye R (Molecules 22;455, published 2017, hereafter referred to as He) and Pinilla et al. (Molecular Pharmacology 84:314-324, published 2013, hereafter referred to as Pinilla).
The He art discloses that FPR1 and FPR2 are involved in a variety of diseases including inflammation, metastasis of glioma cells, systemic amyloidosis, Alzheimer’s disease, atherosclerosis, systemic lupus erythermatosus, and ovarian cancer metastasis among others (see e.g. p.2). He indicates that agonists for FPR family members are most classically N-formylated peptides, with the canonical example being fMLF (see e.g. Section 3.1).
The difference between He and the claimed invention is that He does not disclose or suggest the species as claimed.
Pinilla discloses FPR1 and FPR2 as being implicated in a variety of diseases or conditions overlapping with that found in He (see e.g. Abstract). Pinilla describes fMLFF as being a FPR1-specific blocking peptide (see e.g. p.316).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the FPR ligands of He could have been used in methods of treating the inflammatory diseases as claimed, and furthermore one of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted one known FPR ligand in fMLF with another in the form of fMLFF as disclosed by Pinilla. The simple substitution comes from both being formylated peptides directed towards the same target such that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same if not better response from fMLFF as compared to fMLF. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because He indicates N-formylated peptides were useful to target FPR and Pinilla shows the fMLFF is an agonist for FPR1. The invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 2-4, the He art in discussing the role of FPRs in disease cites Li et al. (J. Leukocyte Biol. 99:425-435) which indicates a role for FPRs in allergic airway inflammation (i.e. allergic asthma). This reasonably reads upon an inflammatory disease or disorder as in claim 2, is characterized by mucosal inflammation as in claim 3, and is a respiratory disease or disorder as in claim 4.
With respect to claims 15-17, in accordance with the claim interpretation for prior art as discussed in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the fMLFF is such that X is a chain of 2 amino acids.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, the fMLFF is such that X is Phe-Phe.
With respect to claim 21, the fMLFF is the same as Formula I-b.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ZACHARY J MIKNIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658