DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 07/21/2023.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not met their burden of demonstrating that the different inventions do not encompass overlapping subject matter. This is not found persuasive because the claims groupings are drawn to different inventions.
Invention I is a method for tracking a menstrual cycle comprising determining that the first probability meets a second criteria and in response to determining that the first probability meets the second criteria, determining a set of probabilities. As such, Invention I determines if the first probability meets a set probability threshold
Invention II is a method for estimating ovulation of a user comprising determining, at an electronic device, a start date of a first menstrual cycle of the user, determining a start date of a second menstrual cycle subsequent to the first menstrual cycle, determining an updated ovulation date of the first menstrual cycle using the start date of the second menstrual cycle; and displaying a second output on the electronic device based on the updated ovulation date. As such, Invention II provides an iterative prediction of the ovulation date may be provided.
Invention III is an electronic device for tracking menstrual cycles of a user comprising a processor and one or more temperature sensors, an artificial neural network that outputs the set of probabilities and the processor being configured in a second mode to determine that a second subset of the set of temperature measurements associated with a second set of days meets a second criteria; and use a second set of operations to determine a second estimated ovulation date using the second subset of the set of temperature measurements, a start date of a menstrual cycle, and an end date of the menstrual cycle. As such, Invention III determines ovulation dates for several menstrual cycles may be estimated using a processor, temperature sensors and a neural network.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-9 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190357891 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Pardey”).
Regarding claim 1, Pardey teaches A method for tracking a menstrual cycle of a user (paragraph [0150]), the method comprising:
obtaining a first set of temperature data at an electronic device (paragraph [0150]-[0159]);
determining that the first set of temperature data meets a first criteria (paragraph [0150]-[0159]);
in response to determining that the first set of temperature data meets the first criteria, determining a first probability that ovulation occurred during a first set of days using the first set of temperature data (paragraph [0150]-[0159]);
determining that the first probability meets a second criteria (paragraph [0150]-[0159]);
in response to determining that the first probability meets the second criteria, determining a set of probabilities (paragraph [0150]-[0159]);
selecting an estimated ovulation date from the first set of days using the set of probabilities (paragraph [0150]-[0159]); and
displaying an output on the electronic device indicating the estimated ovulation date (paragraph [0270], [0275]), wherein:
the set of probabilities comprises a probability that ovulation occurred for each day in the first set of days (paragraph [0150]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 2, Pardey teaches further comprising:
obtaining a second set of temperature data at the electronic device (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]);
determining that the second set of temperature data meets the first criteria (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]);
in response to determining that the first set of temperature data meets the first criteria, determining a second probability that ovulation occurred during a second set of days using the second set of temperature data (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]); and
determining that the second probability does not meet the second criteria (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]),
wherein:
obtaining the first set of temperature data at the electronic device comprises obtaining the first set of temperature data in response to determining that the second probability does not meet the second criteria (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 3, Pardey teaches further comprising:
determining, after selecting the estimated ovulation date, a duration of the menstrual cycle of the user at the electronic device (paragraphs [0150]-[0159]); and
determining an updated estimated ovulation date using the determined duration of the menstrual cycle (paragraphs [0150]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 4, Pardey teaches wherein determining the updated estimated ovulation date comprises:
identifying a second set of days using the duration of the menstrual cycle (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]);
identifying a third set of days using the duration of the menstrual cycle (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]); and
determining an increase in a temperature of the user from the second set of days to the third set of days (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 7, Pardey teaches further comprising:
determining, prior to obtaining the first set of temperature data, a start date of the menstrual cycle (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]);
estimating a fertile window based on the determined start of the menstrual cycle (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]); and
updating the fertile window using the estimated ovulation date (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 8, Pardey teaches further comprising, in response to updating the fertile window, causing the electronic device to output a notification to the user indicating the updated fertile window (paragraph [0396]).
Regarding claim 9, Pardey teaches further comprising predicting a menstrual cycle end date using the estimated ovulation date (paragraphs [0143]-[0149], [0150]-[0159]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pardey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210407684 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Pho”).
Regarding claim 5, Pardey does not explicitly teach using a classification algorithm and a neural network.
However, Pho teaches determining the first probability comprises inputting the first set of temperature data into a classification algorithm; and determining the set of probabilities comprises inputting the first set of temperature data into an artificial neural network; wherein the classification algorithm comprises a random forest classification model; and the artificial neural network comprises a long short-term memory artificial neural network (paragraph [0161]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pardey, to use a classifier and neural network, as taught by Pho, because doing so provides an adaptable determining program.
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791