DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s remarks received on Jan. 27th, 2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged and are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment. Currently claims 1 and 3-10 remain rejected; and claim 2 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting
4. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,755,264 in further view of Pan et al (US Pub: 2013/0201518) and Baker (WO 91/06071).
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is an obvious variation of that of claim 7 in the referenced patent publication of US Patent: 11,755,264. The referenced patent publication and the instant application are claiming similar subject matter as indicated in in the table below.
Instant Application
1. An application server comprising: a memory; a processor, the processor capable of operating a process comprising: receiving a print request, the print request comprising a print job and a target zone for the print job; querying a host server for a list of printers located in the target zone, the host server being different from the application server; receiving, from the host server, the list of printers located in the target zone based on respective printer location signals; selecting a printer from the list of printers in the target zone; and transmitting the print job to the selected printer, wherein the print request is automatically generated and sent by a weight sensor when triggering a predetermined threshold or a maximum threshold of the weight sensor.
Patent: 11,755,264
1. A system for choosing a printer based on proximity, the system comprising: a beacon configured to broadcast a transmission including a beacon ID; a printer configured to: receive the transmission, determine a received signal strength indicator for the transmission, and generate and transmit a printer location signal including the beacon ID, the received signal strength indicator, and a printer ID associated with the printer; a host server including a processor and a memory, the server configured to: receive the printer location signal from the printer, determine a printer location based on a predetermined beacon location of the beacon, the beacon ID, and the received signal strength indicator, and associate the printer location with a printer zone; a printer proximity application configured to: receive a print request, the print request including a print data and a target zone, select the printer IP address by comparing the target zone to the printer zone, and transmit the print data to the printer via the printer IP address.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the printer proximity application is further configured to: query the host server for a list of printers associated with the printer zone corresponding to the target zone, select a printer from the list of printers, and transmit the print job to the selected printer.
11,755,264 does not specify a different server. In the same field of endeavor, Pan et al further teaches: querying a host server for a list of printers located in the target zone, the host server being different from the application server [fig. 4: 70, p0058, p0059]; receiving, from the host server, the list of printers located in the target zone based on respective printer location signals [p0059, abstract (Proximity which reflects a printer location respective to a user is usually determined by using Received Signal Strength Indicator through Bluetooth Low Energy or Ultra-Wideband.)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to send print request for a list of printers within specified target zone for locating and selecting a printer within the zone associated with the user location for improved user convenience.
11,755,264 in view of Pan et al does not generate a print request triggered by a weight sensor. In the same field of endeavor, Baker teaches: wherein the print request is automatically generated and sent by a weight sensor when triggering a predetermined threshold or a maximum threshold of the weight sensor [fig. 2: 109-130 (When a monitored stable weight change meets a predetermined condition, a print request is initiated.)]. Therefore, given Baker’s disclosure on monitoring weight signal and waiting for weight change to meet a predetermined condition for initiating printing, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to initiate printing request to a printer based on weight signal for selected label printing.
The nonstatutory obviousness double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al (US Pub: 2013/0201518) (Previously cited reference) and in further view of Ikeda (US Pub: 20190268955) and Baker (WO 91/06071).
Regarding claim 1 (currently amended), Pan et al teaches: An application server comprising: memory; a processor, the processor capable of operating a process comprising: receiving a print request, the print request comprising a print job and a target zone for the print job [fig. 4: 90, p0059 (User 90 could be working on an application server for sending a print request. Location of the user is identified for proximity determination.)]; querying a host server for a list of printers located in the target zone, the host server being different from the application server [fig. 4: 70/12, p0058, p0059]; receiving, from the host server, the list of printers located in the target zone based on respective printer location signals [p0059, abstract (Proximity which reflects a printer location respective to a user is usually determined by using Received Signal Strength Indicator through Bluetooth Low Energy or Ultra-Wideband.)]; selecting a printer from the list of printers in the target zone; and transmitting the print job to the selected printer [p0060, fig. 6: R17, R18].
For a teaching on providing a list of printers based on printer location signals such as a beacon signal in compliance with BLE, Ikeda in the same field of endeavor further discloses: receiving, from the host server, the list of printers located in the target zone based on respective printer location signals [p0042, p0072, p0073]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to detect and receive a list of printer within a zone/proximity using printer location signals such as RSSI through BLE for improved user experience and convenience.
Pan et al in view of Ikeda does not generate a print request triggered by a weight sensor. In the same field of endeavor, Baker teaches: wherein the print request is automatically generated and sent by a weight sensor when triggering a predetermined threshold or a maximum threshold of the weight sensor [fig. 2: 109-130 (When a monitored stable weight change meets a predetermined condition, a print request is initiated.)]. Therefore, given Baker’s disclosure on monitoring weight signal and waiting for weight change to meet a predetermined condition for initiating printing, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to initiate printing request to a printer based on weight signal for selected label printing.
Regarding claim 3 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al further teaches: The application server of claim 1, wherein the print request is manually sent by a user [p0004].
Regarding claim 4 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al further teaches: The application server of claim 1, wherein the selected printer is selected automatically [p0064 (selected automatically)].
Regarding claim 5 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al further teaches: The application server of claim 1, wherein the list of printers in the target zone is maintained on the host server [p0059].
Regarding claim 6 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al further teaches: The application server of claim 1, wherein selecting a printer from the list of printers in the target zone is done via a user interface of a mobile computing device [fig. 4, p0050 (Job request and printer selection done by cloud consumers can be implemented and performed on any computing device.)].
Regarding claim 7 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al further teaches: The application server of claim 1, wherein the list of printers in the target zone is maintained in a database on the application server [p0058 (The entire system can be on one cloud server/computing environment.)].
Regarding claim 8 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al further teaches: The application server of claim 1, wherein the print job comprises instructions for the selected printer to complete a task [abstract].
Regarding claim 9 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al or Ikeda does not teach label printing. In the same field of endeavor, Baker further teaches: The application server of claim 8, wherein the task is to print a label [abstract].
7. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al (US Pub: 2013/0201518) (Previously cited reference), Ikeda (US Pub: 20190268955), and Baker (WO 91/06071); and in further view of Ogawa (US Pub: 2022/0137902) (Previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 10 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Pan et al in view of Ikeda and Baker does not display an alert. In the same field of endeavor, Ogawa teaches: The application server of claim 8, wherein the task is to display an alert on the user interface of the selected printer [p0046]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to display an alert on printer user interface for reminding purpose.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682