DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, resulting in a modification of the previous prior art rejection.
On page 10 of the Remarks section as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant summarizes the amendments to the claims and Abstract in response to the previous claim objections, Specification objection, and previous 112 rejections. In response, the Examiner has withdrawn the previous objections and 112 rejections.
On pages 10-11, Applicant begins arguments against the previous 103 prior art rejection of independent Claim 1, specifically regarding the added limitation "an injection exhaust in fluid communication with the entry location and configured to vent the fluid sample as the fluid sample is injected into the first segment so that a flow rate of the fluid sample into the first segment is controlled". On pages 11-14, Applicant describes the invention of primary reference Linker et al., (“Linker”, US 6,345,545), arguing that it does not disclose the above limitation. Particularly, Applicant argues that the hole 68/jet 52 of Linker is not equivalent to the claimed in-line exhaust, and Linker’s valve 22’ is not equivalent to the injection exhaust. Applicant asserts that jet 52 is a source of thrust gas, not an exhaust to vent to an external environment, and hole 68 is not disclosed as an exhaust positioned at the connection between two chromatography column segments. In response, the Examiner notes that the thrust jet ejects a certain amount of air out of the device, (See column 3, lines 66-67, column 4, lines 1-6), which would meet the definition of “exhaust”. The Examiner notes it is not specified how much of the fluid sample should be vented or exhausted as argued by Applicant. Applicant also argues that hole 68 is not disclosed as an exhaust located between two chromatography-column segments. The Examiner notes that the hole 68 leads to jet 52 which does release an amount of air out of the system, and that this hole 68 is located between the 1st stage of air stream and the 2nd stage of preconcentrator 50, finding Applicant’s argument here unpersuasive.
Applicant also argues that during subsequent desorption and transfer toward the hole 66, valves 22 and 22’ are closed, concluding that valve 22’ does not vent the fluid sample as the fluid sample is injected into the first segment. The Examiner notes that the first segment includes the 1st stage of air stream, in which valve 22 is open as the first segment receives or has air injected through it via gas inlet 34, (See column 5, lines 49-56, Linker), thus finding this argument unpersuasive.
On page 12, Applicant characterizes more of Linker’s invention, arguing that it does not have a chromatography column with first and second segments, an in-line exhaust at the connection of the segments, or an injection exhaust at the entry location. Again, the Examiner refers to the remarks above demonstrating that Linker does have an in-line exhaust at the connection of both a first and second segment, and an injection exhaust at the entry location. The Examiner also notes that Linker is directed to chromatography, but does not specify that its tube-like arrangement is a column, so secondary reference Gygi et al., (“Gygi”, US 2002/0146349), discloses this feature instead. Thus, the Examiner finds Applicant’s argument against chromatography columns to be piecemeal analysis. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant also argues that Linker is “silent” regarding the specific timed closure leading to higher flow in the first segment before closure versus lower flow through both segments after closure. Again, the Examiner notes that Gygi discloses this feature instead, “wherein a flow rate of the fluid sample through the first segment before the in-line exhaust closes is higher than a flow rate of the fluid sample through the first and second segments after the in- line exhaust closes,” (See Abstract, Gygi; Valve is open and flow rate is higher than when valve is closed and flow rate drops; “Thereafter, when the valve closes…the sample than passes…at a much slower flow rate”). Thus, the Examiner finds Applicant’s argument against this feature to be piecemeal analysis. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On page 13, Applicant argues that funnel 42 is not an entry location through which a fluid sample is initially introduced into a first segment of a chromatography column. Here, the Examiner notes that the 1st stage of air stream is part of the first segment which receives or has air (fluid sample) injected through it via gas inlet 34, (See column 5, lines 49-56, Linker). The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
On pages 13-14, Applicant argues that the holes are flow passages, not first and second segments of a chromatography column. The Examiner notes that the 1st stage of air stream as shown in Figure 1 would be the first segment and that the preconcentrator 10/50 would be another (second) segment. The holes themselves are not considered segments. The chromatography apparatus as disclosed in Linker is modified by Gygi to be applicable to a “column” as well. The Examiner refers back to the sections above in this response regarding the in-line and injection exhaust. The Examiner finds Applicant’s arguments here unpersuasive.
On page 14, Applicant keeps reiterating the same argument regarding the in-line and injection exhausts. The Examiner notes that the first segment is the 1st stage of air stream with valve 22’ at the entry location for releasing air outside the segment, and that the second segment includes preconcentrator 10/50 and that jet 52/hole 68 are located at the connection to the 1st stage air stream and vents a certain amount of air. These features have been discussed in detail above, and the Examiner finds this remark also unpersuasive.
On pages 14-16, Applicant begins arguments against secondary reference Gygi. Applicant summarizes the disclosure of Gygi, and then describes the “alteration” of the position and nature of the sample-enrichment trap, along with the alteration of the magnitude and direction of fluid motion. Applicant argues that Claim 1 is not directed to the location or configuration of a sample enrichment trap. The Examiner notes that Linker already discloses the majority of the claimed invention, and that Gygi is relied upon for a particular feature. This argument by Applicant is piecemeal analysis. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On pages 15-16, Applicant argues that Gygi does not disclose “a second, separate injection exhaust” as in claim 1. The Examiner notes that Linker already discloses this feature instead. Furthermore, Gygi discloses the general configuration that overlaps with Linker to demonstrate adjusting the flow rates as claimed. Again, the Examiner finds the piecemeal analysis unpersuasive for the reasons explained above.
On pages 16-17, Applicant continues to argue that Gygi does not disclose two separate exhausts as claimed. Again, the Examiner notes as demonstrated above, Linker already discloses these exhausts, so this is piecemeal analysis. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner also notes that Linker still discloses these exhausts for the reasons already stated above in this response.
On pages 17-18, Applicant argues that the reasons for combining Gygi with Linker do not explain why one of ordinary skill would apply the features taught in Gygi to the invention of Linker. The Examiner notes that Linker is concerned with “improved performance”, (See column 3, lines 18-23, Linker), and Gygi demonstrates improved performance as well, (See paragraph [0007], Gygi), while achieving “improved sample throughput”, (See paragraph [0011], Gygi). The Examiner notes that increasing throughput while improving or not sacrificing performance would be a reason to pursue such a modification, finding Applicant’s argument here unpersuasive.
On page 18, Applicant asserts that the modification made here would change the disclosed function and coordinated operating sequence of Linker, but the Examiner notes that no evidence has been provided here to demonstrate that the function and sequence of Linker would be changed detrimentally. The Examiner refers to the paragraph above demonstrating the rational underpinning to seek out an advantage or improvement by modifying Linker with Gygi. The Examiner finds these remarks unpersuasive.
On pages 18-20, Applicant argues against the combination of secondary reference Roques because it does not demonstrate applying its “thermal modulation technique” to “such fluidic architecture”. The Examiner notes that this argument is piecemeal analysis since Linker and Gygi already disclose the features of the exhausts and flow rates. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Additionally, when incorporating the aspects from Roques into Linker, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks here unpersuasive as a result.
On pages 20-22, Applicant reiterates the same arguments against independent Claims 9 & 15, as to independent Claim 1 above. The Examiner repeats the same response for Claim 1 to the arguments against these claims, finding them unpersuasive.
On page 22, the Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks against dependent Claims 3-8, 10 & 14 moot since no arguments have been made against these claims.
On pages 22-23, Applicant argues against dependent Claim 12, asserting that the cited disclosure of Gygi does not establish that Linker’s coolers would be incorporated into Gygi’s packed column to adjust the temperature of its stationary phase. Here, the Examiner notes that Linker is the base reference so the coolers of Linker were already present, and that the highlighted features selected from Gygi have been combined into Linker, not vice versa. There is no reason to explain the coolers of Linker when they are already disclosed in the primary reference. The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive.
On page 23, Applicant continues to argue that Linker does not disclose Claim 16, arguing that it does not disclose using valve 22 to control the flow rate while the fluid sample is injected into the alleged first segment. The Examiner reiterates the analysis made above in which the first segment includes the 1st stage of air stream, in which valve 22 is open as the first segment receives or has air injected through it via gas inlet 34, (See column 5, lines 49-56, Linker). The valve 22 is at the entry location for the 1st stage of air stream, not the preconcentrator. For these reasons, the Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive.
On pages 23-24, Applicant argues that the rejection does not disclose dependent Claim 18. The Examiner notes that the first segment is the 1st stage air stream which joins to the preconcentrator stage 10/50 at port 66, and that the in-line exhaust 52 connects to the connection at port 66 via ports 68 and 64 in housing 62, which constitute a third segment within the second segment. The Examiner notes that the term “segment” is a broad term that can include subsections of different parts. The Examiner finds this remark also unpersuasive.
On page 24, Applicant argues that Linker does not disclose dependent Claim 19 because it does not disclose the claimed chronological sequence of first detecting compounds that have moved through the chromatography column and then opening the in-line exhaust. The Examiner notes that the preconcentator itself measures and detects the compounds and then the thrust jet 52 is turned on at some point afterwards during the sequence. The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive as a result.
On page 24-25, Applicant argues the rejection does not establish that Linker’s screen-heating operation would be incorporated into Gygi’s chromatography column in combination with opening the in-line exhaust as required by claim 20. Here, the Examiner notes that Linker is the base reference so the screen-heating operation of Linker was already present, and that the highlighted features selected from Gygi have been combined into Linker, not vice versa. There is no reason to explain the heating process of Linker when it is already disclosed in the primary reference. The Examiner finds this remark unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-16 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linker et al., (“Linker”, US 6,345,545), in view of Gygi et al., (“Gygi”, US 2002/0146349).
Regarding Claims 1, 3-8, & 12-14, Linker discloses a fluid chromatography device, comprising: a. a first segment of a tube configured to connect with an entry location that is configured to receive a fluid sample, (Funnel 42 or Pathway with Hole 66 in Housing 62, which can connect with Preconcentrator 10, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 44-65, Linker); b. a second segment of the tube in fluid communication with the first segment at a connection, (Input Port 84 of Housing 82 joins with Housing 62/Pathway with Hole 66, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 44-65, See column 4, lines 50-58, Linker); c. an in-line exhaust in fluid communication with the first segment at the connection between the first and second segments, wherein the in-line exhaust is configured to vent the fluid sample from the first segment until closed, (Hole 68/Jet 52 between Pathway with Hole 66 and Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 66-67, column 4, lines 1-17, Linker); and d. an injection exhaust in fluid communication with the entry location and configured to vent the fluid sample as the fluid sample is injected into the first segment so that a flow rate of the fluid sample into the first segment is controlled, (Fluid flow out of Valve 22’ at First Preconcentrator, See Figure 1, See column 2, lines 1-9, See column 5, lines 49-57, Linker), wherein the in-line exhaust is configured to close a period of time after the fluid sample is injected into the first segment, (See column 3, lines 61-65, Linker).
Linker does not disclose the tube being a column, wherein a flow rate of the fluid sample through the first segment before the in-line exhaust closes is higher than a flow rate of the fluid sample through the first and second segments after the in- line exhaust closes.
Gygi discloses a fluid chromatography device, (See Abstract, Gygi), where the tube being a column, (“Pre-concentration trapping column and chromatography separation column”, See Abstract, Gygi), wherein a flow rate of the fluid sample through the first segment before the in-line exhaust closes is higher than a flow rate of the fluid sample through the first and second segments after the in- line exhaust closes, (See Abstract, Gygi; Valve is open and flow rate is higher than when valve is closed and flow rate drops; “Thereafter, when the valve closes…the sample than passes…at a much slower flow rate”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid chromatography device of Linker by incorporating the tube being a column wherein a flow rate through the fluid sample of the first segment before the in-line exhaust closes is higher than a flow rate through the fluid sample of the first and second segments after the in- line exhaust closes as in Gygi so it “alters the position and nature of the sample enrichment [preconcentrator] trap to obtain improved performance”, (See paragraph [0006], Gygi), and “throughput can be doubled by coupling” the columns “using a…valve”, (See Abstract, Gygi).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 3: The fluid chromatography device of claim 1, further comprising: a. the entry location in fluid communication with the first segment and configured to receive the fluid sample before injection into the first segment, (First Preconcentrator 10 receives fluid from 34 before communicating it to Hole 66, See Figure 1, See column 2, lines 62-67, column 3, lines 31-45, Linker).
Claim 5: The fluid chromatography device of claim 1, wherein the entry location is configured to concentrate the fluid sample before entry into the first segment, (Entry location is a preconcentrator 10, See Figure 1, See column 2, lines 61-67, column 3, lines 1-10, Linker).
Claim 6: The fluid chromatography device of claim 1, further comprising: a. a third segment in fluid communication with the in-line exhaust, the second segment, and the first segment at the connection, (Hole 64 or 68 in pathway with Hole 66 and continuing on to Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 54-65, Linker).
Claim 7: The fluid chromatography device of claim 1, further comprising: a. a detector in fluid communication with the second segment and configured to detect molecules of the fluid sample after the fluid sample has moved through the column, (Detector 36 in communication with Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 57-58, and See column 6, lines 62-64, Linker).
Claim 8: The fluid chromatography device of claim 1, wherein the entry location is configured as an injection port or a pre-concentrator, (Entry location is a preconcentrator 10, See Figure 1, See column 2, lines 61-67, column 3, lines 1-10, Linker).
Claim 12: The fluid chromatography device of claim 1, further comprising: a. a temperature control device configured to adjust a temperature of a stationary phase of the column, (Coolers 99a/99b, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 59-67, column 5, lines 1-3, Linker; See paragraph [0024], Gygi; “tubing packed with a bed of…particles”).
Claim 13: The fluid chromatography device of claim 12, wherein the temperature control device is configured to cool the temperature of the column and control the stationary phase, (Coolers 99a/99b, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 59-67, column 5, lines 1-3, Linker).
Claim 14: The fluid chromatography device of claim 1, wherein a detector comprises a mass spectrometer, a flame ionization detector, a photoionization detector, electron capture detector, an ion mobility spectrometer, a thermal iconic detector, an ultraviolet detector, a fluorescence detector, a thermal conductivity detector, a flame photometric detectors, or any combination thereof, (Detector 36 in communication with Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 57-58, and See column 6, lines 62-64, Linker).
Regarding Claims 9-11, Linker discloses a fluid chromatography device, comprising: a. an inlet configured to receive a fluid sample, (Funnel 42 or Pathway with Hole 66 in Housing 62, which can connect with Preconcentrator 10, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 44-65, Linker); b. an outlet connectable with a detector, (Detector 36 in communication with Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 57-58, and See column 6, lines 62-64, Linker); c. a tube that extends between the inlet and outlet, comprising: i. a first segment connected with the inlet, (Pathway with Hole 66 in Housing 62, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 44-65, Linker); and ii. a second segment that is in fluid communication with the first segment and configured to connect with a detector at the outlet, (Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 57-58, and See column 6, lines 62-64, Linker); and d. an in-line exhaust configured to vent the fluid sample from the first segment until closed, (Hole 68/Jet 52 between Pathway with Hole 66 and Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 66-67, column 4, lines 1-17, Linker), b. an injection exhaust in fluid communication with the first segment, (Fluid flow out of Valve 22’ at First Preconcentrator, See Figure 1, See column 2, lines 1-9, See column 5, lines 49-57, Linker), and configured to vent the fluid sample as the fluid sample is injected into the first segment so that a flow rate of the fluid sample is controlled, (See column 5, lines 49-57, Linker)
Linker does not disclose where the tube is a column or wherein after the in-line exhaust closes, the fluid flow rate of the fluid sample decreases in the column.
Gygi discloses a fluid chromatography device, (See Abstract, Gygi), where the tube being a column, (“Pre-concentration trapping column and chromatography separation column”, See Abstract, Gygi), wherein after the in-line exhaust closes, the fluid flow rate of the fluid sample decreases in the column, (See Abstract, Gygi; Valve is open and flow rate is higher than when valve is closed and flow rate drops; “Thereafter, when the valve closes…the sample than passes…at a much slower flow rate”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid chromatography device of Linker by incorporating the tube being a column wherein after the in-line exhaust closes, the fluid flow rate of the fluid sample decreases in the column as in Gygi so it “alters the position and nature of the sample enrichment [preconcentrator] trap to obtain improved performance”, (See paragraph [0006], Gygi), and “throughput can be doubled by coupling” the columns “using a…valve”, (See Abstract, Gygi).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 10: The fluid chromatography device of claim 9, wherein the fluid sample flows at a first flow rate through the first segment when the in-line exhaust is opened, wherein the fluid sample flow at second flow rate when the in-line exhaust is closed, and wherein the first flow rate is greater than the second flow rate, (See Abstract, Gygi; Valve is open and flow rate is higher than when valve is closed and flow rate drops; “Thereafter, when the valve closes…the sample than passes…at a much slower flow rate”).
Regarding Claims 15, 16, & 18-20, Linker discloses a method, comprising: a. injecting a fluid sample into a first segment of a tube that is open to an external environment through an in-line exhaust at a first flow rate, (Funnel 42 or Pathway with Hole 66 in Housing 62, communicates with Hole 68/Jet 52 between Pathway with Hole 66 and Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 44-65, See column 3, lines 66-67, column 4, lines 1-17, Linker); b. controlling the first flow rate of the fluid sample into the first segment by venting the fluid sample through an injection exhaust in fluid communication with an entry location of the first segment, (Fluid flow out of Valve 22’ at First Preconcentrator, See Figure 1, See column 2, lines 1-9, See column 5, lines 49-57, Linker), and c. detecting one or more molecules of the fluid sample after the one or more molecules have moved through the column, (Detector 36 in communication with Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 57-58, and See column 6, lines 62-64, Linker).
Linker does not explicitly disclose the tube being a column, or c. closing the in-line exhaust to change the first flow rate of the fluid sample to a second flow rate that is less than the first flow rate.
Gygi discloses a fluid chromatography device, (See Abstract, Gygi), where the tube being a column, (“Pre-concentration trapping column and chromatography separation column”, See Abstract, Gygi), and b. closing the in-line exhaust to change the first flow rate of the fluid sample to a second flow rate that is less than the first flow rate, (See Abstract, Gygi; Valve is open and flow rate is higher than when valve is closed and flow rate drops; “Thereafter, when the valve closes…the sample than passes…at a much slower flow rate”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid chromatography device of Linker by incorporating the tube being a column and b. closing the in-line exhaust to change the first flow rate of the fluid sample to a second flow rate that is less than the first flow rate as in Gygi so it “alters the position and nature of the sample enrichment [preconcentrator] trap to obtain improved performance”, (See paragraph [0006], Gygi), and “throughput can be doubled by coupling” the columns “using a…valve”, (See Abstract, Gygi).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 16: The method of claim 15, further comprising: a. before injecting the fluid sample into the first segment, injecting the fluid sample into the entry location that is in fluid communication with the first segment, (Funnel 42 or Pathway with Hole 66 in Housing 62, which can connect with Preconcentrator 10, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 44-65, Linker), and an injection exhaust, wherein the injection exhaust is configured to control the first flow rate, (Fluid flow out of Valve 22’ at First Preconcentrator, See Figure 1, See column 2, lines 1-9, See column 5, lines 49-57, Linker); and b. after injecting the fluid sample into the first segment, closing a fluid connection between the first segment and a injection port or pre-concentrator, (See column 4, lines 13-17, Linker).
Claim 18: The method of claim 15, wherein the first segment and a second segment connect at a connection, (Input Port 84 of Housing 82 joins with Housing 62/Pathway with Hole 66, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 44-65, See column 4, lines 50-58, Linker), and wherein the in-line exhaust connects to the connection through a third segment, (Hole 64 or 68 in pathway with Hole 66 and continuing on to Pathway with Hole 84, See Figure 1, See column 3, lines 54-65, Linker).
Claim 19: The method of claim 18, further comprising: a. opening the in-line exhaust to vent the fluid sample, after detecting one or more compounds at a detector, (See column 6, lines 20-42, Linker).
Claim 20: The method of claim 15, further comprising: a. while, before or after opening the in-line exhaust to vent the fluid sample, applying heat to the column, (See column 4, lines 18-26, Linker; and See column 5, lines 49-67, Linker).
Claim(s) 2 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linker et al., (“Linker”, US 6,345,545), in view of Gygi et al., (“Gygi”, US 2002/0146349), in further view of Roques, (US 2006/0283324).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Linker discloses the fluid chromatography device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: a. a temperature control device configured to lower a temperature of the first segment so that stationary phase in the column is controlled.
Roques discloses further comprising: a. a temperature control device configured to lower a temperature of the first segment so that stationary phase in the column is controlled, (See paragraph [0029], Roques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid chromatography device of modified Linker by incorporating further comprising: a. a temperature control device configured to lower a temperature of the first segment so that stationary phase in the column is controlled as in Roques to “provide a means to thermally modulate multiple individual…column assemblies independently” which is “useful in situation where it is necessary to perform ‘stream-splitting’,” or “backflushing”, (See paragraph [0029], Roques), as discussed in Gygi, (See paragraph [0030], Gygi).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Linker discloses the method of claim 15, but does not disclose further comprising: a. cooling the first segment before, while, or after injecting the fluid sample into the first segment.
Roques discloses further comprising: a. cooling the first segment before, while, or after injecting the fluid sample into the first segment, (See paragraph [0029], Roques; it must perform during one of the three scenarios listed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid chromatography device of modified Linker by incorporating further comprising: a. cooling the first segment before, while, or after injecting the fluid sample into the first segment as in Roques to “provide a means to thermally modulate multiple individual…column assemblies independently” which is “useful in situation where it is necessary to perform ‘stream-splitting’,” or “backflushing”, (See paragraph [0029], Roques), as discussed in Gygi, (See paragraph [0030], Gygi).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779