DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claimed subject matter “the two or more chambers” has no antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a lighting module configured to illuminate” “an imaging module” in claim 1.
Applicant teaches the lighting module comprises light emitters (0016).
Applicant recites the imaging module comprises a camera in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8, 9, & 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In regards to claims 8, , 9, & 16, the claim subject matter “one or more chambers comprises two or more chambers” is rendered indefinite. Examiner notes it is unclear as to how one chamber (fig 6a, 422) is divided into two or more chambers. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI EP 3663760 in view of Diagnostic Biosystems, “Diagnostic BioSystems HighLighter™ Automated Slide Stainer”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEReOEnllOQ, Jun 18, 2020 hereafter Diagnostic Biosystems.
With respect to claim 1, Takahashi teaches a biological imaging analyzer comprising:
a staining module (fig 1, 204) configured to produce stained cells, the staining module comprising:
a heater (fig 1, 204) configured to heat the biological sample and the staining composition;
a lighting module (fig 15, 321) configured to illuminate the stained cells (fig 15, 311); and
an imaging module (fig 15, 354) configured to capture images of the stained cells.
Takashi does not teach one or more chambers configured to receive a biological sample and a staining composition.
Diagnostic Biosystems, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of staining, teaches a staining unit (fig 3) comprising chambers configured to receive biological samples and a staining composition (fig 1 & 2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Diagnostic Biosystem’s chambers with Takashi staining unit as a means to hold both the sample and stain during staining.
With respect to claim 2 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the biological imaging analyzer further comprising a flow cell (fig 15,13 Takashi) configured to flow the stained cells therethrough, the flow cell further comprising an imaging region (fig 15 Takashi) where the images are captured.
With respect to claim 3 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the biological imaging analyzer
wherein the imaging module comprises a camera (TDI) camera (0164, lines 1-2 Takashi).
With respect to claim 10, the Takashi does not teach a staining module in a biological imaging analyzer comprising:
a heater (fig 1, 204) configured to heat a biological sample.
Takashi does not teach one or more chambers configured to receive a biological sample and a staining composition.
Diagnostic Biosystems, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of staining, teaches a staining unit (fig 3) comprising chambers configured to receive biological samples and a staining composition (fig 1 & 2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Diagnostic Biosystem’s chambers with Takashi staining unit as a means to hold both the sample and stain during staining.
With respect to claim 13 according to claim 10, the combination teaches the staining module wherein biological sample includes a blood sample (0031Takahashi).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI EP 3663760 in view of Diagnostic Biosystems, “Diagnostic BioSystems HighLighter™ Automated Slide Stainer”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEReOEnllOQ, Jun 18, 2020 hereafter Diagnostic Biosystems in further view of QI US 20210041361.
With respect to claim 4 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach a lysing composition.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of lysing and staining of blood cells (fig 2 Takahashi) (0052, lines 31-32 Takahashi), teaches a staining composition comprising a lysing compound (0008). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to combine Qi’s staining composition to simultaneously stain and dye red blood cells in a more efficient manner.
With respect to claim 5 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the staining composition further comprises a lysing compound.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of lysing and staining of blood cells (fig 2) (0052, lines 31-32 Takashi), teaches staining composition comprising a lysing compound (0008). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Qi’s staining composition with the combination’s chamber to efficiently identify red blood cells by simultaneously staining and dying blood samples.
With respect to claim 11 according to claim 10, the combination does not teach a lysing composition.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of lysing and staining of blood cells (fig 2) (0052, lines 31-32 Takashi), teaches staining composition comprising a lysing compound (0008). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Qi’s staining composition with the combination’s chamber to efficiently identify red blood cells by simultaneously staining and dying blood samples.
With respect to claim 12 according to claim 10, the combination does not teach the staining composition further comprises a lysing compound.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of lysing and staining of blood cells (fig 2) (0052, lines 31-32 Takashi), teaches staining composition comprising a lysing compound (0008). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Qi’s staining composition with the combination’s chamber to efficiently identify red blood cells by simultaneously staining and dying blood samples.
Claim(s) 6 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI EP 3663760 in view of Diagnostic Biosystems, “Diagnostic BioSystems HighLighter™ Automated Slide Stainer”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEReOEnllOQ, Jun 18, 2020 hereafter Diagnostic Biosystems in further view of SOMMER EP 1500932.
With respect to claim 6 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the biological imaging analyzer wherein the stained cells are white blood cells (fig 8 Takashi).
The combination does not teach a stained nuclear region.
Sommer, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of lysing and staining of blood cells and flow cytometry, teaches staining the nuclei of permeabilized white blood cells in lysed blood products allows the white blood cells to be identified based on their light absorption or light scattering characteristics (0027, lines 35-40). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to stain nuclear region of white blood cells within the combination’s chambers to enable concentration measurements of white blood cells.
With respect to claim 14 according to claim 13, the combination teaches the staining module wherein the staining composition is configured to provide white blood cells (fig 8 Takashi).
The combination does not teach a stained nuclear region.
Sommer, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of lysing and staining of blood cells and flow cytometry, teaches staining the nuclei of permeabilized white blood cells in lysed blood products allows the white blood cells to be identified based on their light absorption or light scattering characteristics (0027, lines 35-40). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to stain nuclear region of white blood cells within the combination’s chambers to enable concentration measurements of white blood cells.
Claim(s) 7 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI EP 3663760 in view of Diagnostic Biosystems, “Diagnostic BioSystems HighLighter™ Automated Slide Stainer”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEReOEnllOQ, Jun 18, 2020 hereafter Diagnostic Biosystems in further view of LIU CN 110794889.
With respect to claim 7 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the heater comprises an induction coil.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of temperature control staining, teaches a heater comprising an induction coil ( pg. 2, ¶ 7, lines 1-3). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lui’s induction coil with the combination’s heater to precisely heat a sample for a desired staining (abstract, lines 10-13 Liu).
With respect to claim 15 according to claim 10, the combination does not teach the heater comprises an induction coil.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of temperature control staining, teaches a heater comprising an induction coil ( pg. 2, ¶ 7, lines 1-3). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lui’s induction coil with the combination’s heater to precisely heat a sample for a desired staining (abstract, lines 10-13 Liu).
Claim(s) 8 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI EP 3663760 in view of Diagnostic Biosystems, “Diagnostic BioSystems HighLighter™ Automated Slide Stainer”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEReOEnllOQ, Jun 18, 2020 hereafter Diagnostic Biosystems in further view of paper of Sakura, “Tissue-Tek Genie Advanced Staining System” https://www.sakuraus.com/Products/Advanced-staining/Tissue-Tek-Genie-Advanced-Staining-System.html September 24, 2020 hereafter Sakura.
With respect to claim 8 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the heater is linked to all of the one or more chambers.
Sakura, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of temperature control staining, teaches a heater is linked to one or more chambers (fig 1) in order to heat individual samples (pg. 2, 30 independent stations). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Sakura’s heater with the combination’s chambers to enable efficient temperature change for each chamber.
With respect to claim 16 according to claim 10, the combination does not teach the heater is linked to all of the one or more chambers.
Sakura, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of temperature control staining, teaches a heater is linked to one or more chambers (fig 1) in order to heat individual samples (pg. 2, 30 independent stations). At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Sakura’s heater with the combination’s chambers to enable efficient temperature change for each chamber.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI EP 3663760 in view of Diagnostic Biosystems, “Diagnostic BioSystems HighLighter™ Automated Slide Stainer”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEReOEnllOQ, Jun 18, 2020 hereafter Diagnostic Biosystems in further view of paper of Sakura, “Tissue-Tek Genie Advanced Staining System” https://www.sakuraus.com/Products/Advanced-staining/Tissue-Tek-Genie-Advanced-Staining-System.html September 24, 2020 hereafter Sakura in further view of Zhang CN 205761709.
With respect to claim 9 according to claim 8, the combination does not teach a mounting bracket connected to all of one or more chambers, and a heating element mounted to the mounting bracket.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of mixing samples and reagents (pg. 12, ¶ 11, lines 1-2 Zhang), teaches a mounting bracket (fig 9, 608) connected to a chamber (fig 9, 604), configured to fix a heating element (fig 1, 602) to the chamber. At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang’s mounting bracket with Takashi’s heater and chamber to keep the heater stationary during staining.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI EP 3663760 in view of Diagnostic Biosystems, “Diagnostic BioSystems HighLighter™ Automated Slide Stainer”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEReOEnllOQ, Jun 18, 2020 hereafter Diagnostic Biosystems in further view of Zhang CN 205761709.
With respect to claim 17 according to claim 10, the combination does not teach a mounting bracket
connected to all of the chambers, and a heating element mounted to the mounting bracket.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor as Takashi of mixing samples and reagents (pg. 12, ¶ 11, lines 1-2 Zhang), teaches a mounting bracket (fig 9, 608) connected to a chamber (fig 9, 604), configured to fix a heating element (fig 1, 602) to the chamber. At the time prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang’s mounting bracket with Takashi’s heater and chambers to keep the heater stationary during staining.
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877